Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420

Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420

Item# 253420
The Grip telescoping rolling magnetic sweeper picks up nails, staples, tacks, screws and other ferrous material. Pulling Power lbs. 50, Product Style Retrieving magnet, Handle Length in. 35 1/2-50, Height in. 30, Dimensions L x W in. 30 x 3, Wheel Type Rubber.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 36(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Review 1 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Tool Around the Barn

,
September 17, 2013
By HobbyFarmGuy
from Richmond Virginia
"I use this to pick up dropped nails after working around the barn. Its wide magnet is great for quickly sweeping the aisles to make sure I didn't leave any nails where they could injure a horse. Easy to maneuver, durable and handy to have around as my eyes don't spot rusty nails on the floor as well as they used to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

magnetic sweeper

,
May 8, 2013
By Masterwelder1991
from dunellon florida
"this I must say is the best tool in my shop I use this every time I weld or do some type of metal fabrication work, I could not believe how much metal it picked up, that I l was leaving behind after cleaning my shop before I got this.i would recommend this to anybody who does metal work you wont be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as it should

,
November 21, 2012
By nino1
from Independence, La
"work at machine shop use sweeper to pick up chips that have gotten on cement floor, works better than n broom.....unit will also release chips from magnet, four star because of wheels....made of rubber and will have to replace with of steel"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

magnetic sweeper

,
October 10, 2011
By Mikey107
from White Plains, NY
"Product works well but not on uneven ground. works best on smooth asphalt/concrete, not so well on rough ground/broken pavement or grass. Strong magnet picks up all ferrous metal including shavings"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kids can help

,
June 17, 2011
By dldrent
"This is an awesome product for any project! And cheaper that replacing tires! And light enough that the kids can help on the jobsite! Have used for many jobs, goes over rocks, grass, pavement, mud, just about anything...and picks up what you need it to!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need Easy Adjustment

,
June 13, 2011
By alc1
from RI
"Decent magnet, It really needs a way to adjust the wheel height w/o first loosening or removing wheels to get at adjustment nuts. Also, be sure to smooth out the back edge of the arm adjustment thumb screw before you get cut on it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean sweep

,
June 13, 2011
By Oldfortman
from southern Indiana
"I had to help clean up a old farm to ready it for sale and this tool saved a lot of labor. I was able to sweep several large areas for nails, screws and other small scrap metal peices without breaking my back bending over thousands of times.
The release handle works good and the wheels can be adjusted for height with a adjustable wrench.
Don't let too much metal build up on the bottom or it will take 50 pounds of pull on the handle to release the scrap.
I think the tool will last a long time as I have used it hard (in dirt and ashes of a large burn pile) for at least 20 hours and it still works great.
In the burn pile I collected over 7 cubice feet volume of nails, screws, wire, staples and the like. What a labor saver!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

magnetic sweeper

,
March 14, 2011
By TroyW
from Colorado Springs Colorado
"The only thing I don't like about it is the handle for removing metal. I grab it by mistake alot just trying to move it to put in the waste bin."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great but...

,
March 6, 2011
By SmokeyinOhio
from Columbus, OH
"A worthwhile investment that for me worked well on rough surfaces including gravel and lawn. The retractable magnet is what sold me. But, the nut that receives the bolt used to tighten the handle parts stripped the first time I put it together. Easily overcome with a hose clamp and thus not worth the trouble to return."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pick it up

,
November 23, 2010
By Pickmeup
from VA
"I got this to pickup nails after live burns and this works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

,
November 23, 2010
By KUHCON
from PA
"This magnetic sweeper does the job! We don't have to worry about pieces of metal, nails or nuts and bolts laying around that can cause damage to our trucks. Very sturdy and magnet is strong."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cleaning the shop

,
November 19, 2010
By spendlifelucid
from Punta Gorda, Florida
"I bought one of these for the body shop where I work. This is our second magnetic broom, the first went missing. The new one from Northern was much better designed. When you are done using it or its full, you just pickup on the lower handle and it releases everything. With our old one, we had to scrape everything off. I would recomend this product to anyone wanting to clean up a business that works with steel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Magneic sweeper

,
August 31, 2010
By PaulPRO
from TEXAS
"The sweeper works well on fairly even surfaces. I sometimes use it on uneven dirt and it tends to bottom out causing some difficulty in picking up metal that might be pulled off the magnet when hitting the dirt. It has plenty of pick up power for all other uses and works very well on parking areas, etc."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for picking up horseshoe nails

,
August 30, 2010
By turbodiesel
from WB, MA
"great for picking up horseshoe nails. Great for cleaning up after a roofing job. heavy duty, powerful, and fair priced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

rolling magnet

,
August 30, 2010
By RickS75
from St. Cloud, FL
"Very powerful. Picks up nails and screws burried in dirt. The only problem is that it bottoms out easy on rough terrain. If that is where you want to use it, you may want a narrow one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

magnetic sweeper

,
August 30, 2010
By oldcarsarecool
"I had a large construction job and the dumpster was on a gravel driveway. I bought this sweeper hoping it would get most of the nails out of the gravel. It worked better than I could have hoped for. Since then my friend has used it at his house during reroofing. It really works great. The only drawback is the height adjustment. You need to use a wrench and when you go from a driveway to grass area it takes a few minutes to change the height."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenominal driveway magnet

,
August 30, 2010
By BigDanH
from Lake Chelan, WA
"Ordered and used this product to clean up around an old burn pile just off the side of my lower driveway. It worked absolutely beautifully. We had been burning misc. scrap wood w/ the occasional nail and also the occasional pallet(s) which are full of both nails and staples.
I never would have guessed how many nails and staples were going to be in this small 10-15ft. diameter area. However, w/ the 30" width, I had this area cleaned up in no time. I even took a second pass across the area at a 90 degree angle to my first passes and picked up a few stragglers that I missed the first time. The large wheels also made it roll across the top of the gravel very nicely.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it should...

,
May 31, 2010
By JunkmanCT
from Stratford, CT
"Affordable, easy to assemble and use, works very well. Picked up a ton of nails even after I swept my lot. Will save a lot by cutting down on flats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable - Works great

,
May 24, 2010
By BrianTexas
"Very Affordable, does a excellent job. No complaints"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Grip Telescopic Rolling Magnetic Sweeper - 30in., Model# 53420
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnetic Sweeper

,
February 15, 2010
By 1946jeep
from Wichita, KS
"Excellent for picking up nails around a construction site. Had a new building build, lots of nails were on ground from carpenters, roofers, etc. Made the job of picking up the nails fast and easy. Also, works well in shop when have a spill of metallic objects"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.