Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H

Item# 25370
"This Northern Industrial Welders compact locking metal welding cabinet measures just 25 1/2in.H, making it short enough to store under benches or shelving, but sturdy enough to handle up to 135 lbs. Perfectly sized to accept a portable MIG welder and 7 1/2in. shielding gas cylinder. Tires - Rear 2 tires, Material Type Metal, Product Type Cabinet, Casters qty. 2, Tire Type Rubber, Tire Size in. 6, Capacity lbs. 135, Lockable Locking door. Stowaway compartment with locking door is roomy enough to securely store your helmet, gloves and other welding supplies Built-in hangers keep cable organized Two 6in. solid rubber tires Two swivel casters"
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 17(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light duty welding cabinet

,
January 27, 2016
By
from California
Got this to put my Klutch 220si welder on. Welder fits on top with room to spare. Decent storage in bottom of cart with room for small tanks and cable on cable hooks. This is a light duty cabinet but will work fine for me needs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weld cart

,
January 24, 2016
By
from Center point iowa
Very nice cart. Easy to assemble and looks great.it is well built and sturdy. Fits my welder nice with storage fot other tools and my welding helmet
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cart for the money

,
November 20, 2015
By
from Maryland
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased this cart for my Millermatic 211 welder which is a little larger then most MIG's out there. I was looking for something with some enclosed storage space and enough room on top to hold my 20"x11" welder. I also wanted something with a tall holder for my 80CF gas cylinder. This cart arrived packaged really nicely and the quality of most stuff in the kit was top notch. I had tons of extra bolts and nuts left over (i guess they give you extra) and the only CON i can say about this is that the rear wheels dont really have anything to hold them from rubbing on the inner frame but they are rubber so i doubt it will even matter. The door hinge is also a little flimsy but overall im very happy with my purchase.
I had to drill some holes in the back for my gas and power connections but everything came out super clean!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Idea, but is an adventure

,
November 8, 2015
By
from MN
As the box says when it shows up is an economy cart. In the end it is a decent cart, and would be a good one, with a few small changes.
But have to warn you that it is an adventure getting it together. The manual only has one exploded view of the cart and is extremely small in the manual (much larger in the version on this website....this could actually help you if you decide to go on the adventure)/ The items in the picture are really hard to see. Can't tell if nut, bolt, screw or has flat or split washers. This is complicated by all the hardware components coming in a single bag, and the quantities not matching the quantities listed in the "included contents" list. So even after sorting them all out, probably about 100 -150 pieces total, left me scrathing my head. But then the illustration didn't seem to have all nuts/bolts shown in it, and for those that were shown, not all seemed to have ID #s to tie them to the key, which really had me guessing as to which items to use where. But the icing on the cake was that some that did haveIDs had the wrong names listed on the key. I gave up on instructions, but to give an example, #8 is not a Nut (it is a screw), and #10 is not a chain holder (it holds the welder). Guessing that whoever created the manual didn't understand the product, or maybe didn't know English very well? Sure there were probably more mislabeled items, but tossed the manual aside. In the end I got it all together, in about twice the time it should have taken. I think it was right, but had about 15 extra pieces. This was probably intentional by Mfr, but based on process to get it all together, not at all sure.
In the end, am going to return it.
When you turn the cabinet, and the front casters turn they hit the mounting bolts and stick. So you have to give the cabinet a shove. I originally had a washer and a splt washer on the casters, but removed both, and works better.
Also the inside of the storage cabinet, has all the bolts from mounting things sticking into it. So will have to be careful that a welding helmet (for instance) is put in there carefully to avoid scratching up the lense.
The door on the compartment won't stay shut unless you lock it. I don't want to have to keep the key in there, and risk losing it and having to use the jaws of life to get my stuff out. Would think for anyone using this, a simple magnetic catch would be better.....my wife is not after my welding helmet....and any thief will be unlikely to walk past 100 other tools to try to jimmy the lock on the welding cabinet :-)
The bracket used to keep the welder from sliding all the way back on the top shelf (#10 on diagram), has mounting bolts that hit the feet on the bottom of my welder (Hobart 210MVP) so it will not sit on the top shelf without wobbling. Could have drilled different holes or used a different spacer, but getting to be a lot.
Last thing that seemed kinda odd, was the brackets for looping the hoses and cords on the side of the cabinet are way on the back of the cart. So hoses would run the full length of the cabinet to the back and then the loops would stick past the back of the cart....odd. Would maybe have been better to have in the middle.
Overall, decent. Really close to being a really good inexpensive cabinet, but in the end, death by a thousand scratches. It is going back.
In my case, I wasted a week waiting for this to arrive, a couple hours putting it together and taking it apart. For now, Northern wins, I will be looking at the next step up cabinet, before I start looking elsewhere.
Hope this helps you decide if this would be a good fit for you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Cart

,
April 4, 2015
By
from St Louis, MO
I bought this for a Hobart wire feed welder and it works great. Low profile allows me to put under my work bench and storage compartment is great for helmet and extra spools. This is a quality product and I am very pleased.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made

,
February 27, 2015
By
from Santa Ana CA
I was able to assembly the cart without any problems. It hold the welder firmly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Cabinet

,
February 25, 2015
By
from Johnstown, OH
This cabinet is designed really well and meets my needs. It holds my welder and all the required equipment.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welder Cart / Cabinet

,
February 11, 2015
By
from Killingworth, CT
Very good value. Exactly as expected and just what I wanted and needed. My welder was purchased at another retailer (sorry Northern, it was a gift -;)) and they didn't have nearly the cart selection Northern did.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Could be alot better!

,
January 26, 2015
By
from Missouri
I bought this cabinet along with the Hobart 210 MVP. There are a few things that could be improved to make this cabinet a lot better.
The good:
1. The welder that I have (Hobart 210 MVP), fits on the top shelf.
2. The storage area in the cabinet is big enough to hold 2 all the welding consumables that you would generally have. IE tips, nozzles, wire, etc..
1. The door on the front does not stay shut unless you lock it. Meaning it does not have any sort of latch besides the lock itself. Could be an easy fix with a trip to the hardware store and a kitchen cabinet magnetic latch, however I thought it should have been part of the design. Call me crazy, but I really don't like to have to leave my key in the cabinet door just to open and close it.
2. The rear wheels are CHEAP plastic. I only roll this thing around inside a garage, on a nice concrete surface. I've had this cart/cabinet for a year or so now and the center of both rear wheels are completely busted out. Its not like I'm putting a lot of miles on this thing or dragging it around at highway speeds! They are just cheap, not sure what else to say. Again, a trip to the local hardware store will be needed to get a new set of rear wheels.
3. The hangers for the plug in, gun and ground could be located a bit more forward. Not a huge deal, just something I would improve on.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding cart

,
January 5, 2015
By
from South Carolina
Product is ideal for the application we are using it for. Heavy enough to hold up to the demands yet easy enough to move from one site to the next. Great purchase.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mig Welder Cart

,
March 3, 2014
By
from VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The unit arrived today, it was packaged well, and went together easy. It is light weight, but very sturdy. It handles the Lincoln 180 just fine. I would recommend this product for a small mig welder. I bolted the welder to the cart and I really like the storage underneath. This unit exceeded my expectations. Thanks for a great product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant

,
February 10, 2014
By
from pittsfield ma
excellent cart. works great
really nice storage area underneath.
well built
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wire Welding Cart

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Louisiana
I purchased this cart to hold my wire welder and was a bit skeptical at the price. When it arrived it was quite easy to assemble and my machine is a larger machine and it fits perfectly. The bottle is held on the tray very well. The wheels seem a bit small and low quality but work very well when completely loaded with machine; bottle and accessories. The lower cabinet offers great storage space for hood and extra reels of wire.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Locking Welding Cabinet

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Lexington KY
I am very happy with the cabinet. It is pretty sturdy and handles my Lincoln 180 very well! I like the locking cabinet for storing the helmet, keep it clean and in the dark to save batteries!
I wish the cable hangers were larger and a handle was added above the cabinet. It would make it easier to move around the shop. May add one!
I WOULD recommend it to a friend, and if needed would buy another one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good welding/cutting cart

,
April 24, 2013
By
from Largo, Florida
I have 2 of these carts, one for welding (complete with a gas tank strapped to the back) and one for plasma cutting (with a torch setup on the back). They're pretty well built considering how light weight the cart is. The front wheels do good on smooth surfaces but if your driveway is stone or you have cracks in your concrete it will bind up a bit when moving it. Holds my heavy MIG without a problem. Compartments are great for storing my extra welding supplies.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for me

,
April 23, 2013
By
from 78217
This cart was perfect, stores my gear does exacly what I needed, I keep it in my service truck works great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Compact Locking Welding Cabinet - 25 1/2in.H
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built

,
August 20, 2012
By
from prescott,az
I am a welder and a fabricator. I have several welders and i bought two of these carts. They are well built and the compartments are very nice for organization. they roll nice on concrete but not that great on dirt. the front handle is a little low but its better than nothing. very clean looking product as well. makes the shop look more professional
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.