Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"

"Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"

Item# 254213
"Get more use out of your garden tractor with serious gardening cultivation. Square steel tubing frame can be used as a weight tray for added ground breaking penetration. The disc cultivator includes a tandem hitch for adding another cultivator. Requires assembly. U.S.A. Disc Diameter in. 11, Working Width in. 30-38, Application Cultivator. Frame Sturdy steel construction Size Adjustable from 30in. to 38in. Disks Eight 11in. notched disks Adjustments Disks angle from 10 to 20 Weight tray Requirements Requires sleeve hitch"
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 16(69%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Review 1 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

disc cultivator

,
October 19, 2009
By hyme
from hopkinsville kentucky
"good at breaking up freshly tilled soil .........fits perfect on sleeve hitch of garden tractor.........easy to maintain.........perfect for small garden .i really enjoy using mine .........."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Small Disc Cultivator

,
September 17, 2009
By Casco
from Casco, Wisconsin
"My lawn mower is about the same width as the cultivator, 38 inches. In order to get the cultivator to dig into the ground I had to add over 200 pounds of weight. The trouble is, the tires of the lawn mower pack down the ground from driving, and the cultivator discs can not dig up the tire tracks. The other problem is the more weight you add to get the cultivator to dig, the harder it is for the tractor to pull. So a normal lawn mower just doesnt' work with this cultivator. You need a bigger tractor, and if you have a bigger tractor, then the cultivator is not wide enough because it won't extend beyond the width of the tires."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Disc Cultivator

,
July 14, 2009
By Kittles
"Easy to put to together and use.. Saves a great deal of time in garden work.. I have a mid.-large garden every year.. Normaly I would use a small push Cultivator but it I hated useing it cause of my back.. This is a great product and realy easy to just hook up to lawn trackor and go.. turn the disks one way to help brake up the ground.. Turn it the other for a simple and quick way to make that hill for taters.."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

,
November 18, 2008
By franklee95
from Oxford,OH
"for this product all you need is a couple of heavy weights to put on it so it digs in to the ground"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disc cultivator

,
August 18, 2008
By LonnieB
from Houston, Texas
"Cuts ground good. Hard to add weight. Had to make box to add suffecient wieght. hooks up and pulls easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

disc cultivator

,
August 11, 2008
By lucky1spp
from Pinconning Mi.
"I had purchased this disc cultivator to add to my colloection of 3 pt tools that i have built for my Polaris Sportsman, for the garden and working up areas for deer food plots.
I made a 3pt hook up utilizing the existing frame and discs. This system is very easy to assemble, adjusts easily with one wrench.
The greaseable spindles help it to function with ease.
The serated disc's really cut through the weeds and dirt with ease, (Use as much weight as possible to get the best cutting effect).
I would recommend this system to any sportsman or gardener."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garden disc

,
July 30, 2008
By arkie1
from Arkansas
"I have used this little disc a lot behind my atv. I have a sleeve hitch hook up on my fourwheeler and with 50-70lbs added to the disc it works very well. The discs are notched on the one I received, not solid as shown in the picture."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Disc Cultivator

,
April 21, 2008
By barbiezken
from California
"I was able to attach to my yard Tractor without sleeve hitch. Added 2-75lb dumbells and went to work. Very happy with the job done as I have 2.5acres to maintain"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Disc Cultivator

,
April 13, 2008
By artman
from Reno, NV
"This thing works great. The only problem was the hitch. I used a piece of pipe and a ball hitch to tow it behind my quad. I was able to clear the fence line around our 20 acres in no time. I found keeping the quad's speed at about 5mph max worked the best. Well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disc Cultivator

,
October 15, 2007
By Rickey
from Texas
"I put it together and it only took about 30 min. The biggest problem that I had and most people will have is the hitch is not long enough for you to actually use it the way that it come. In the product description it recomends a sleave hitch, I did not find where to buy that product at. I have a welder and welded a 4ft long and 3 inch wide piece of strap to the hitch to make it long enough to use. As for the actual use it seems to work as long as you have atleast the 100lbs of weight added to it that is recomended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator

,
July 14, 2007
By Thompsonelli
from Colorado
"I have two acres that needed cultivating before I planted some grass seed. I have a 24hp lawn tractor that easily pulled this around. I was able to add weight on top of the disc-cultivator and it kept it from bouncing and dug into the earth easier. I was also able to attach a harrow drag behind the disc-cultivator to help smooth out the dirt. I would recommend disc, if you have a yard or garden tractor. It is a great attachment if this is what you are looking for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good product

,
July 10, 2007
By smith20
from IL
"This is a good overall product. You get what you pay for. I use mine behind an atv and the only problem i find is getting enough weight to cut through the hard packed ground. I think this is a very good buy for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool

,
July 9, 2007
By Maddawg
from Coarsegold, Ca.
"I used the cultivator to disc in tall grass on my 5 acres and it worked great. I got done in hours instead of days. The grass has stayed low enough that I won't have to go over the area again this season, in the past I have to cut the grass a couple of times in the season but now I don't have to worry about until next season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

The tow behind cultivator

,
July 9, 2007
By xcopper
from Bonners Ferry Idaho
"I tried towing this thing in behind my lawn tractor, with & without weights, discs turned in a variety of positions, in a variety of soil types. When you turn, be careful or the outside disc will dig into your tire. Bottom line, this thing works very poorly at best, did not even break into the soil beyond an inch or two. Not worth the investment."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Handy

,
June 9, 2007
By digger
from Wyoming
"I bought one of these with a garden tractor. It is a good idea but it doesn't work!
I used this one in loose back fill material around a cement pad. It wouldn't pull down in the gorund because it isn't heavy enough and it made a wind row inbetween the discs. It needs another set of discs to offset the ones it has, along with being heavier. Keep looking!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Disc Cultivator - 38in. Width, Model# 45-0266"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

spend the extra money

,
November 16, 2006
By wineguy
from Bay Area, CA
"I tried using this in a small vineyard, just to scrape the surface to prep it for seeding the covercrop. I didn't penetrate much at all, even with 3 bags of cements on it for extra weight. It would probably have been worth it to spend the extra money on the bigger nicer discing options from Northern. This would probably do alright in very small/light applications like small gardens, etc., but not much else."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.