Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"

"Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"

Item# 254221
"Unbreakable wand is fitted to commercial-grade shutoff valve. Stainless steel filter screen. Adapts to virtually all competitive sprayers. Adjustable Spray Yes, Fitting Size in. 3/8, Spray Pattern Stream to mist, flat fan, Wand Length in. 28."
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Review 1 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great People to deal with

,
September 2, 2014
By GBSBodyShop2004
from Northport, Alabama
"Fast shipping also great product will deal again when need too"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
August 13, 2014
By Tigers11
from Louisiana
"Product works great, seems durable and does not leak in joints like other wands I have purchased, Adjusts easily for a wide variety of spray applications"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my 20 gallon sprayer

,
July 3, 2014
By DottyDot
from texas
"Nice handle , just did not fit. I will use it on another and be by to get the right one that I need . my mistake not Northern's"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

review title?

,
June 27, 2014
By mikecarlson
from Palisade,MN
"Not a direct replacement for the one on the original sprayer--a cheap (?) fragile repo."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wand 28 inch Universal

,
June 8, 2014
By RobbyBobby
from Pensacola, FL
"Very good wand, perfect to attach to my backpack weed sprayer. Exactly as described. Quick delivery. Northern Tools has Never let me down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new sprayer wand

,
June 5, 2014
By Funefarmer2
from Fremont, WI
"Last winter my old wand froze and broke. I ordered this one hoping it would work. It went right on and worked perfectly! No leaks, drips, or spills!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Universal spray wand replacement.

,
June 4, 2014
By maniactrucker
from Northwest Louisiana
"I ordered wand to replace the wand on a Northern Star 15 gallon spray unit. I use this sprayer on my dump type golf cart around my small farm. I had concerns about the plastic wand, but after laying garden tools on the wand and it didn't break, no more concerns.
Spray wand has a 1/4 inch and 3/8 hose connector. I cut the 1/4 inch connector off, trim the hose end, placed the included hose clamp over hose, installed hose and tightened clamp. Ready to go to in less then 5 minutes.
Yes, would recommend this product and will buy again if for another replacement if needed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170

,
May 31, 2014
By ldfunk
from newton Iowa
"I very easily renewed the use of a older srayer on my lawn tractor for a fraction of replacement cost. Very happy with the ease on convertion and the function of the Universal wand Assembly.
Thank you LD Funk
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plastic fitting to hose breaks off easily

,
May 20, 2014
By irgu4u
from Ohio
"I have to admit that I have only used this for less than one hour. I ordered two wands and one arrived with the hose connector snapped off the bottom end. I called Northern Tool and they sent a replacement, which was nice. Today I finally got a chance to put one to use with my sprayer. Within an hour the plastic end that connects to the hose snapped off inside the hose. It was not under stress at all, just normal use while spraying with it in my hand. Very cheaply made plastic connector."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLO wand

,
April 25, 2014
By Coarsegold
from Coarsegold, CA
"Excellent product. As described and just what I needed to replace my Stihl wand. Perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
February 4, 2014
By Dan26
from Riverside, Ca
"We have several models of sprayers we use, Hudson , Gilmour, Ecoscape. Hand held and backpack sprayers, this wand easily retrofits to any of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern is great on replacment parts.

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymous
from Houston, TX
"This wand is an exact replacment of the one that came on the full unit. More important Northern Equipment's customer service is outstanding. Many times for a small replacment part I end up buying a whole unit but these people really have a desire to help you solve your problem even though it's just a small purchase they treated me like I was buying a new car. Thank's Northern and keep up the good work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solo replacement wand

,
May 7, 2012
By Bently
from va
"This wand is an exact replacement for the original on a solo back pack sprayer. It is very easy to install and even includes a hose clamp. It appears that solo has improved the design of the spray head adjustment as the new wand has been easier to adjust. This replacement has proved to be well worth the effort."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for the money

,
May 30, 2011
By Anonymous
from Stockton, CA
"I mounted this spray wand to a tank mounted on the back of my ATV; I needed something rugged & durable that the previous spray wand (metal, at that) could not handle.
This spray wand handled rough use very well, and looks just as good as it did when I removed it from the package. The included 2 tips work very well, however, I found that the adjustable nozzle (it came attached to the wand in the package) worked superbly, even in high winds and delivered a large volume of herbicide accurately up to 15 feet without wind and 8-10 feet with heavy winds.
I really liked the locking trigger function, to ease the strain on my hands. The wand is very light, yet very strong and durable.
Overall, it is very rugged, easy to use, has lots of nice features, and I enjoyed using it. It is the best spray wand I've ever used and makes weed spraying enjoyable and effortless. I highly recommend this spray wand to all users."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value, well constructed

,
April 23, 2011
By BobinBaltimore
from Baltimore, MD
"I purchased this to replace an original off of my Northern Tool sprayer which was damaged due to freezing. It fit perfectly using the 3/8 inch barbed connector. While the stalk is flexible, it is sturdy. The valve and trigger action is firm and clean. Flow is good and the spray tips included work very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home spray user:

,
August 23, 2010
By GaylordW
from East Bangor, Pa.
"I have a 1989 Mantis Sprayer, that the spray wand leaked at handle. Upon checking with Mantis, I decided to look for a more reasonable replacement to fit my Retirement Income. Checking my Northerner Magazine, I located this model and decided to give it a try, even though I was going from brass to a plastic wand with concerns. To my surprise, this wand works just as good, and maybe even better than the original. I would highly recommend this for anyone with a 11-Gallon, battery operated Mantis Sprayer. Spray is from fine to long distance for short tree spraying. Should work with any comparable sprayer to my Mantis. Hope you will be as pleased as I am."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SPRAY GUN

,
February 22, 2010
By CLD2007
from ALMA, ARKANSAS
"I have a 15 gal. sprayer that I have mounted on a small trailor that I pull behind my mower.The spray handle broke,so i contacted the company that made it and was qupted a price for a replacement,which was almost as much as I gave for the whole outfit,needless to say I didn't but their replacement gun.I started looking on the internet and found Northern Tools site.I found a gun for half the price quoted by the manafacturer.It looked like it would be ok and the price was right,so I ordered it.Let me tell you I am very happy I did,it works as good as if not better than the original.I would recommend them to everyone.Great product at a great price.Item # 4900170N SOLO 28 in. UNIVERSAL WAND."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay for the $$$

,
August 20, 2008
By doggie
"Basically this wand works well. I didn't like the hose clamp method of fastening the tube to the gun because the hose clamp would snag my sleaves when spraying under leaves, reaching around, etc. I wound up wrapping the clamp with tape. Other than that it works well."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spray Wand

,
January 14, 2008
By SouthernBoy
from Victoria, TX
"Good product, substational plastic construction."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for the money

,
July 15, 2007
By cajun369
from Port Barre, La.
"I purchased this wand as a replacement for and old metal wand that was broken. I like the plastic wand because there is a less chance of bending or breaking. I use it with a 16 gallon spray rig with a 1.8 gpm pump and it works real well. This product also comes with a "fan" nozzle that works great when spraying at low pressures and an ajustable nozzle that covers a wide range of spraying applications. I recommend this wand as a great replacement or building your own spray rig."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.