Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N

Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N

Item# 254221
Unbreakable wand is fitted to commercial-grade shutoff valve. Stainless steel filter screen. Adapts to virtually all competitive sprayers. Fitting Size in. 3/8, Spray Pattern Stream to mist, flat fan, Wand Length in. 28, Adjustable Spray Yes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Review 1 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
February 4, 2014
By Dan26
from Riverside, Ca
"We have several models of sprayers we use, Hudson , Gilmour, Ecoscape. Hand held and backpack sprayers, this wand easily retrofits to any of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern is great on replacment parts.

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymous
from Houston, TX
"This wand is an exact replacment of the one that came on the full unit. More important Northern Equipment's customer service is outstanding. Many times for a small replacment part I end up buying a whole unit but these people really have a desire to help you solve your problem even though it's just a small purchase they treated me like I was buying a new car. Thank's Northern and keep up the good work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solo replacement wand

,
May 7, 2012
By Bently
from va
"This wand is an exact replacement for the original on a solo back pack sprayer. It is very easy to install and even includes a hose clamp. It appears that solo has improved the design of the spray head adjustment as the new wand has been easier to adjust. This replacement has proved to be well worth the effort."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for the money

,
May 30, 2011
By Anonymous
from Stockton, CA
"I mounted this spray wand to a tank mounted on the back of my ATV; I needed something rugged & durable that the previous spray wand (metal, at that) could not handle.
This spray wand handled rough use very well, and looks just as good as it did when I removed it from the package. The included 2 tips work very well, however, I found that the adjustable nozzle (it came attached to the wand in the package) worked superbly, even in high winds and delivered a large volume of herbicide accurately up to 15 feet without wind and 8-10 feet with heavy winds.
I really liked the locking trigger function, to ease the strain on my hands. The wand is very light, yet very strong and durable.
Overall, it is very rugged, easy to use, has lots of nice features, and I enjoyed using it. It is the best spray wand I've ever used and makes weed spraying enjoyable and effortless. I highly recommend this spray wand to all users."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value, well constructed

,
April 23, 2011
By BobinBaltimore
from Baltimore, MD
"I purchased this to replace an original off of my Northern Tool sprayer which was damaged due to freezing. It fit perfectly using the 3/8 inch barbed connector. While the stalk is flexible, it is sturdy. The valve and trigger action is firm and clean. Flow is good and the spray tips included work very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home spray user:

,
August 23, 2010
By GaylordW
from East Bangor, Pa.
"I have a 1989 Mantis Sprayer, that the spray wand leaked at handle. Upon checking with Mantis, I decided to look for a more reasonable replacement to fit my Retirement Income. Checking my Northerner Magazine, I located this model and decided to give it a try, even though I was going from brass to a plastic wand with concerns. To my surprise, this wand works just as good, and maybe even better than the original. I would highly recommend this for anyone with a 11-Gallon, battery operated Mantis Sprayer. Spray is from fine to long distance for short tree spraying. Should work with any comparable sprayer to my Mantis. Hope you will be as pleased as I am."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SPRAY GUN

,
February 22, 2010
By CLD2007
from ALMA, ARKANSAS
"I have a 15 gal. sprayer that I have mounted on a small trailor that I pull behind my mower.The spray handle broke,so i contacted the company that made it and was qupted a price for a replacement,which was almost as much as I gave for the whole outfit,needless to say I didn't but their replacement gun.I started looking on the internet and found Northern Tools site.I found a gun for half the price quoted by the manafacturer.It looked like it would be ok and the price was right,so I ordered it.Let me tell you I am very happy I did,it works as good as if not better than the original.I would recommend them to everyone.Great product at a great price.Item # 4900170N SOLO 28 in. UNIVERSAL WAND."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay for the $$$

,
August 20, 2008
By doggie
"Basically this wand works well. I didn't like the hose clamp method of fastening the tube to the gun because the hose clamp would snag my sleaves when spraying under leaves, reaching around, etc. I wound up wrapping the clamp with tape. Other than that it works well."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spray Wand

,
January 14, 2008
By SouthernBoy
from Victoria, TX
"Good product, substational plastic construction."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Solo 28in. Universal Wand Assembly, Model# 4900170N
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for the money

,
July 15, 2007
By cajun369
from Port Barre, La.
"I purchased this wand as a replacement for and old metal wand that was broken. I like the plastic wand because there is a less chance of bending or breaking. I use it with a 16 gallon spray rig with a 1.8 gpm pump and it works real well. This product also comes with a "fan" nozzle that works great when spraying at low pressures and an ajustable nozzle that covers a wide range of spraying applications. I recommend this wand as a great replacement or building your own spray rig."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.