Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Item# 25494
The ST80i inverter-based stick welder with TIG option from Northern Industrial Welders is an extremely lightweight welder with powerful 115V inverter technology that can be used almost anywhere. It even includes a shoulder strap for ultimate portability. This versatile welder works as hard as you do, handling mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron and hard surfacing. Duty Cycle 20 @ 75A, Welding Processes Stick / TIG, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 5 x 9, Weldable Metals Mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron, hard surfacing, Amps 90, Volts 115, Welds Up To in. 1/8, Range Selection Infinite, Electrode Cable Length ft. 10, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6 1/2, Welding Amperage Range 20 - 90 AC, Power Cord ft. 5, Phase Single phase, Electrode Size in. 1/16, 5/64, 3/32, Amperage Adjustments 20-75. Welds with 1/16in., 5/64in. or 3/32in. electrodes Smooth DC inverter arc, hot start and anti-stick features for easy operation Amperage output 20 - 75, 90+ peak Optional TIG torch Item# 20462 - sold separately available for lift start on mild and stainless steel materials Includes shoulder strap for portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to welding but impressed by this welder

,
February 10, 2014
By MrMikeK
from Pittsboro, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've never welded before but I've always wanted to learn. If you do your research online, like I did, all you'll see is "Get a Lincoln", "Get a Miller", "Those 110v welders are pieces of junk". Most of those people weld for a living or do a lot of welding so of course they need the more heavy duty welders.
I haven't owned this welder for long but I would venture to say that it will do almost anything the typical homeowner/hobbyist would throw at it. Even if I decide I need an upgrade to a 220v welder, I would still want to keep this little welder handy just because of the portability and compatibility (not everyone has a 220v outlet available).
The duty cycle, although only 20% (another big complaint from pro/heavy welders), was never an issue. I never had to stop to wait for the welder to cool down or anything.
Like I said, this is my first welder so I have nothing to compare it to but I was impressed. I bought a piece of 1/8" x 3" x 3' flat bar to practice. After burning only 4 rods, I felt confident enough to tackle a broken hoe I had in my shed (picture attached). After that, I used my angle grinder to cut off the section of flat bar I had been practicing on and then I welded the 2 pieces back together at a 90 degree angle (picture attached). I know, I have a long way to go before my welds look nice but they seem to be strong.
I don't know if anyone should be taking advice from me yet but I do have a few tips for other people new to welding:
1.) Get an auto-darkening welding helmet. I bought the auto-darkening welding helmet from Northern Tool and I can't imagine trying to learn using a traditional helmet. It worked great and I think it really helped me catch on a lot quicker than I would have with a standard helmet.
2.) Besides 6011, get some 6013 welding rods. They are great for learning travel speed and technique because you can pretty much drag them across the metal instead of having to maintaining the gap required to keep the arc going with the 6011. On my test piece I ran the rods at around 50 amps. When working on the hoe, I had to turn it up closer to 60 amps to get a smooth arc.
3.) Flash burn is no joke. I pride myself on being careful because I understand the dangers of welding. However, I had my helmet flipped to get a good look at my work, before I had set the electrode down. When I did, it touched the edge of the metal and flashed for a split second. I was disappointed in my momentary carelessness but all seemed well. A few hours later, my eye (the one facing the flash) was watering and burning pretty bad. My face also felt like I had been out in the sun a little too long. All that from a flash that lasted less than a second. Lesson learned."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I can say is WOW!

,
April 26, 2013
By Stanprophet
from Hampton VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have not been fabricating as much as I have been in the past, but use to build race cars some years ago. I had a decent amount of MIG under my belt, but not SMAW. I am a Automotive Master Technician, and like to have quality tools I can rely on, but when I am not using something every day it is hard to drop huge cash on a big name tool. After reading all the reviews on this little welder, it really seem to fit my needs very well.
I have plenty of people around with big welders for heavy fabrication, so I really did not need something large, Small compact for light fabrication work on my truck, something I can use at work on occasion, and something I could tote around.
Well the welder came in and I ran down to northern to grab a slag hammer and a helmet. Got over to work and started running some beads. Stick is a very different beast than MIG, but after about 2 beads I was amazed at the quality of this little thing. I was running 3/32 E-6013 rods on 1x2 box steel and 1.5 inch 1030 DOM .120 wall tube. At max rating this thing was getting full penetration with ease. Welding the tube to the box I used a beveled joint and 2 passes and it was no problem.
Now I had no previous stick welding experience so I cannot compare between other machines, but all I can say is this machine is very easy to start the arch as long as the heat range in correct for the work, and it does an amazing job.
If someone is looking for a small portable welder, this is the ticket, it does what it is advertised to do, and does it well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level Welder

,
April 14, 2014
By Woodymcf
from Parker, CO
"This is an excellent product for the beginner welder that is doing small repairs and hobbies around the house. I wouldn't expect to see a professional using this device to put together a suspension bridge, because that's not what it is designed for. Lightweight and compact, it takes up little space in my workshop where space is at a premium. Easy to set up and user friendly, I was welding in 5 minutes after opening the box (I had already purchased welding rods beforehand)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder

,
April 2, 2014
By DJmech
from Fl.
"This is a great little welder. This welder should and does lay a nice bead with 3/32 7018. When I received mine it seemed the heat was a bit low with the 7018 with the machine on max. I put a DC amp clamp on the lead and sure enough it was putting out 65 to 70 amps on max. I exchanged it for another one and it is perfect.75 to 88 amps. Just a heads up for those who think it is "sticky" with the 3/32. Customer service is quick and awesome also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder, just not at 3/32

,
March 28, 2014
By allinkedup
from Pa
"I really like this little welder... That being said, I advise to stick with 1/16 or 5/64 electrodes... She's a little too sticky with 3/32, in my opinion. It will run 3/32 at max amps for quite a few electrodes in a row without hitting its limits, but it's just not a smooth experience.... For a 120v machine, this thing will push 1/16 & 5/64 all day long, stick free...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing welder (words or my dad)

,
February 10, 2014
By PaulandDad
from Mexico city
"In my last trip to the USA I bought this little guy for my dad. He had the chance to work with this until the past weekend and when I asked to him"- Did you like it?" he only said "- I love it! this is the most amazing welder I've ever had " That was enought for me."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
February 6, 2014
By txcowboy79
from Baytown, TX
"I received this little welder two days ago in great condition it was packaged very well and shipping was very fast. I waited 10 days to get it but it was back ordered from the factory. I burned a dozen 1/8 inch 6010 5p+ rods with it so far and it handled them with ease. This machine will not handle big jobs but it works perfect for small jobs around the house or farm. It's very small, lite,compact and very easy to transport. This little welder is built very well and seems like it will last a very long time. I have not had a chance to build or repair anything yet but I will be updating this review when I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By 65Bugle
from Monticello,Ut
"I have an off-grid power system that has a 8500w backup gen set. 6500w continuous. I can run this little welder on its highest settings without any problems. I was skeptical that it wouldn't be worth buying. Long story short is that I love this little guy. Just be patient and let it do its job and you'll love it too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

little welder

,
December 12, 2013
By Express1870
from Baytown,Tx
"I used this little welder to build a bbq pit out of 1/4 inch thick pipe using 1/8 6011 rods , it performed great, no problem what so ever ,I was very impressed ,I highly recommend this welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portable welder at a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By Anonymous
from Edison, NJ
"Wow. I was very impressed with this welder. It is very small and lightweight yet tackled a 3/8" welding job I had with no problem in two passes. It is also very quiet and the parts seem to be high quality. I highly recommend this welder for small jobs or jobs in the field away from a home or shop welder. I am going to purchase the TIG attachment now too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesomeness

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbyngenny
from morganton
"this little welder does anything you want it too and more....can't go wrong buying this little welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine is AMAZING! I love it!

,
August 28, 2013
By Southernreign2001
from Charlotte, NC
"If you are reading this, it is probably for the same reason I read countless hours of countless reviews of countless different welders...I can share with you WHY I choose this one over every other one out there that can be choosen from whether MIG or flux core, tig, AC Stick, AC/DC Stick, 220 volts and 115 volts, inverter and non- inverter.
Now, let me start off to say that I am new to this type of welder. (I never used an inverter welder) and I have not welded in over 25 years, and that was with an old gas AC miller welder to weld for water pressurized steel piping. I was looking for a welder for simple hand tool repairs like shovel repairs and digging tool reinforcements and adding steel attachments to my 8 x 5 trailer. Nothing crazy- but maybe ;). I was thinking of mig. ( pro- no slag) negative was that it works best with shielding gas which adds to your "up-front" cost of getting started. If you are welding different types of metals the welding wire needs to be painfully changed out. And I have seen the rat nest that can happen with sticky feeding mechs. Stick welding is simple as just a matter of switching sticks for metals type and thickens you are welding- old school YES but easy!!! Tig... is much more expensive for your up front cost, and, I never did it before. Now the 220 volt verses 115? I have both set ups in my garage/shop which most people do not. I was really leaning toward the Hobart LX 235 AC/DC welder which is 500 clams. I really think it is a SOLID machine but it is that 220 volts 47.5 amps max power demand issue . But this for the price off a the LX235 I can get this light weight baby little inverter welder, extended warranty, two good auto-darkening welding helmets, great long extension cord, two pair of welding gloves, grinder, chimping hammer with steel brush, clamps, and lots of rods for 500 dollars or less. I then thought that I would be using this possibly at clients' properties for simple landscaping repairs. (fences/gates) And there the 220 volt problem again...Most people do not have 220 circuits for 220 volt with a 30amp or worse a 50 amp circuit and even if they did, what about reaching the areas I may need to reach? 220 volt extension cords can cost you hundreds of dollars also which is another negative. Now a 115 volt 15/20 amp circuit no problem for any house hold. And 20 amp extension cords are really inexpensive compared to 220 volt cords. This welder needs at least volt 105 AC at plug and no more than 132 volts AC via the user manual. If using an extension cord... test your usable voltage at the end of the extension cord or where ever you are plugging the welder into. I have used a 75 foot 10 gauge cord with no problem with the welder. 12 gauge 25 foot extension cord wire is required if being used. Manual says no longer than 25 feet. LOL. Buy a 10/3 extension cord and you will not have ANY problems with getting your welder to work where you need it! The grounding cord and working cord are plenty long enough with your welder plugged in with a good extension cord. (If you do not have at least a 12/3 25 foot extension cord, expect to add that into yoiur welder cost.
You will need your auto darking welding helmet shade set with at 10 or more.
The anti-stick feature works great too. Rods do still stick but nothing like I remember... but unstick very easily with a lite twist-pull on this machine. The arc is very easy to start and re-starting the arc is easy and the arc is very smooth! WOW, was I surprised that this lunch box sized welder works this well! I actually burned through some tube steel I was repairing that I had set at 65 amps welding with a e6013 3/32 rod. I thought the unit was set low... could not believe I had to turn the AMPS down to 52. Producing and holding a good welding pool is easy and the quality of the welds are great too!
Now, I have only used 3/32 rods. This welder comes with a 1 year warranty... I bought the two year extended warranty for 25 dollars more. Worth it if you ask me.
I have no doubt this can handle steel and other metals with no problem up to 3/8 in thickness with proper preparation and multi passes on the thick stuff. Grinder with any welder is a must!
I had no problem with the duty cycle.
I will update as I have used this more. At this time I am very happy with this purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value / performance

,
August 8, 2013
By metal2
from Longwood, FL
"I used this welder today for the first time welding 1/8 x 1" x 1" mild steel tubing. It performed great using a 3/32" 7018 rod. I prepped the miter joints by grinding a bevel at the weld. The set-up couldn't be easier, just attach the leads, plug it in and go. I was hesitant to buy a 120 volt machine but I'm pleasantly surprised how well this machine works. It's small size and light weight are a real plus."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little welder

,
May 8, 2013
By MosesLk
from Moses Lake Wa.
"For such a small welder it does a great job of welding. Used 7018 welding rod, it was easy to start and ran very smooth at 60 amp, The same rod on a gas powered welder I run around 90 to 120 amps. I was looking at one of the 220 volt welders but thought I would try this one. was a good choice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good welder

,
April 26, 2013
By Mickscrit
from utah
"This welder is fine for light duty work. Its not for welding Ibeams or heavy duty fabrication but for fixing up tools ect its great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tig

,
April 24, 2013
By 9inchjoint
from vancouver bc
"Was very suprised how fast it came and the consistancy the arc was"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best buzz for the buck

,
April 24, 2013
By JW1981
from North Carolina
"Key points I have found with this welder:
1: High quality product
2: Very very small
3: Amazing that 120 volt AC welder can weld as good as it does. Which is great
4: Fast shipping from northern tools.
5: Ive even had recent success welding some shims to a 2" square solid steel trailer hitch with no problem.
6: Has not overheated yet after welding continuously with 7018 and the welder settings on high.
7: easy to use and portable
8: I made the lower shelf of my toolbox the welders home.
Thanks northern tools"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine, great price

,
April 24, 2013
By HandyHusband
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This little welder is an awesome machine. I spent the extra money and bought the TIG torch also. It does a great job for its little size. This is a perfect machine for basic garage jobs and to take on the road. I have done quite a bit of work with it and it performs flawlessly every time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ST80i inverter stick welder

,
April 23, 2013
By emarr
from CA
"This little welder is amazing for small projects around your house. This machine is light weight and it has a TIG option which is great for steel and stainless steel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

" The Little Welder That Could "

,
April 23, 2013
By Lee11
from Dallas, TX
"I was wanting a welder for home. I had put off buying one, because of cost. This one came on sell and caught my eye. I was orignally looking at Millers and Lincolns. But I could not pass this up. Yes, it's small and light weight, but has all the power you will need for any home project. I have used it now for 5 months, I've burned 6011, 6013, and 7014 with no problems. The only issue I had was the length of the leads, but I made a 25' extension cord up, and resolved that issue. I'm very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.