Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Item# 25494
The ST80i inverter-based stick welder with TIG option from Northern Industrial Welders features powerful 115V inverter technology that can be used almost anywhere. The inverter-based system offers increased power output from a smaller transformer, resulting in an extremely lightweight system that weighs about 50 less than comparably powered traditional models. It even includes a shoulder strap for ultimate portability. This versatile welder works as hard as you do, handling mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron and hard surfacing. Amps 90, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 5 x 9, Electrode Cable Length ft. 10, Amperage Adjustments 20-75, Power Cord ft. 5, Range Selection Infinite, Volts 115, Weldable Metals Mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron, hard surfacing, Welding Amperage Range 20 - 90 AC, Electrode Size in. 1/16, 5/64, 3/32, Welds Up To in. 1/8, Duty Cycle 20 @ 75A, Phase Single, Welding Processes Stick, TIG. Increased power in a super lightweight package for exceptional portability The inverter system easily turns fluctuations in input power to consistent output for better welds Requires less input amperage, reducing the overall input power requirement by about 25 when compared to traditional transformer welders Welds with 1/16in., 5/64in. or 3/32in. electrodes Smooth DC inverter arc, hot start and anti-stick features for easy operation Amperage output 20 - 75, 90+ peak Optional TIG torch Item# 20462 - sold separately available for lift start on mild and stainless steel materials Includes shoulder strap for portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.897 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to welding but impressed by this welder

,
February 10, 2014
By MrMikeK
from Pittsboro, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've never welded before but I've always wanted to learn. If you do your research online, like I did, all you'll see is "Get a Lincoln", "Get a Miller", "Those 110v welders are pieces of junk". Most of those people weld for a living or do a lot of welding so of course they need the more heavy duty welders.
I haven't owned this welder for long but I would venture to say that it will do almost anything the typical homeowner/hobbyist would throw at it. Even if I decide I need an upgrade to a 220v welder, I would still want to keep this little welder handy just because of the portability and compatibility (not everyone has a 220v outlet available).
The duty cycle, although only 20% (another big complaint from pro/heavy welders), was never an issue. I never had to stop to wait for the welder to cool down or anything.
Like I said, this is my first welder so I have nothing to compare it to but I was impressed. I bought a piece of 1/8" x 3" x 3' flat bar to practice. After burning only 4 rods, I felt confident enough to tackle a broken hoe I had in my shed (picture attached). After that, I used my angle grinder to cut off the section of flat bar I had been practicing on and then I welded the 2 pieces back together at a 90 degree angle (picture attached). I know, I have a long way to go before my welds look nice but they seem to be strong.
I don't know if anyone should be taking advice from me yet but I do have a few tips for other people new to welding:
1.) Get an auto-darkening welding helmet. I bought the auto-darkening welding helmet from Northern Tool and I can't imagine trying to learn using a traditional helmet. It worked great and I think it really helped me catch on a lot quicker than I would have with a standard helmet.
2.) Besides 6011, get some 6013 welding rods. They are great for learning travel speed and technique because you can pretty much drag them across the metal instead of having to maintaining the gap required to keep the arc going with the 6011. On my test piece I ran the rods at around 50 amps. When working on the hoe, I had to turn it up closer to 60 amps to get a smooth arc.
3.) Flash burn is no joke. I pride myself on being careful because I understand the dangers of welding. However, I had my helmet flipped to get a good look at my work, before I had set the electrode down. When I did, it touched the edge of the metal and flashed for a split second. I was disappointed in my momentary carelessness but all seemed well. A few hours later, my eye (the one facing the flash) was watering and burning pretty bad. My face also felt like I had been out in the sun a little too long. All that from a flash that lasted less than a second. Lesson learned."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I can say is WOW!

,
April 26, 2013
By Stanprophet
from Hampton VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have not been fabricating as much as I have been in the past, but use to build race cars some years ago. I had a decent amount of MIG under my belt, but not SMAW. I am a Automotive Master Technician, and like to have quality tools I can rely on, but when I am not using something every day it is hard to drop huge cash on a big name tool. After reading all the reviews on this little welder, it really seem to fit my needs very well.
I have plenty of people around with big welders for heavy fabrication, so I really did not need something large, Small compact for light fabrication work on my truck, something I can use at work on occasion, and something I could tote around.
Well the welder came in and I ran down to northern to grab a slag hammer and a helmet. Got over to work and started running some beads. Stick is a very different beast than MIG, but after about 2 beads I was amazed at the quality of this little thing. I was running 3/32 E-6013 rods on 1x2 box steel and 1.5 inch 1030 DOM .120 wall tube. At max rating this thing was getting full penetration with ease. Welding the tube to the box I used a beveled joint and 2 passes and it was no problem.
Now I had no previous stick welding experience so I cannot compare between other machines, but all I can say is this machine is very easy to start the arch as long as the heat range in correct for the work, and it does an amazing job.
If someone is looking for a small portable welder, this is the ticket, it does what it is advertised to do, and does it well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

90 amp welder

,
July 27, 2014
By pivot225
from florida
"this is a really good product for our service techs all our trucks have 10000 watt inverters on them and this allows us to perform smaller welding repairs while using minimum space on our trucks . we plan to have on all 23 trucks over the next 6 months"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive performance

,
July 18, 2014
By Bubba49
from Donnybrook, ND
"This little machine is a lifesaver! I own several larger machines including engine driven arc welders, but none are as handy as this inexpensive little wonder. Set up is super easy and I have used 1/8 and 1/16 7018 rods for many small repairs. I found the arc to be smoother running reverse polarity (electrode negative) and have so far never ran over it's duty cycle. The small size and portability of being powered by a household outlet makes this machine an option for anyone that needs to weld but can't justify the expense of a bigger machine or the need for 240 volt outlets. This is not a production machine, but for small repairs there is nothing finer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
July 16, 2014
By MooresMom
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this for my Dad and he loves it! He mentioned that it was really easy to use and worked better than he had expected. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
July 12, 2014
By holdon
from Tallapoosa, GA
"I will and already have recommended this awesome little welder. I build production machines for a living. I am so impressed with how well it handled the 3/32 7018's. I can't wait to try out some smaller rods with it and see just how well I can fine tune it. the manual says not to use an extension cord longer than I believe it was 25 ft. Well I had 125 ft. of cord and had no power shortage issues. I was even able to run them rods vertical uphill without any issues. I now have one trailer done and will start a larger one soon. I can't wait to get the TIG attachment for it. I have used one of these little suitcase welders by another well respected company in the industry. For a fraction of the cost of those, if it TIG welds as well as they did, I will be very impressed and thankful I gave it a try! Even if it didn't it is still an awesome little portable stick welder. I will purchase more Northern Tool brand equipment. I already have a few in my sights!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stick welder

,
May 31, 2014
By BigAl444
from Brainerd, MN
"This little welder welds real well for what it is. It strikes an arc better than all other arc welders I've used and maintains it fairly well. I have also yet to run into any overheating issues with hours of welding. It's great an excellent value for home handy work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remember its only 90 AMPS

,
May 18, 2014
By BCM191
from Indiana
"For the home SMALL projects it OK. Built well and its small size,115V its perfect. You HAVE TO use SMALL rod or its useless, So if your not a well versed welder beware!
Small thin metal is hard to weld with a stick welder. You'd be better off buying a mig if you really intend to weld.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy dandy little welder

,
April 29, 2014
By Dillmag
from Kamloops BC
"I have only welded once with this little welder and it made a decent job using 3/32 7018 welding rod"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

st80i

,
April 29, 2014
By scoutblue5
from greenwood,ar
"The little welder worked well, performed great and did all that was asked of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable

,
April 24, 2014
By RancherGuy
from Bradley, Ca
"Got this for small welding jobs where I don't have 240 voltage. Nice little welder for small stuff. Can also run it off my generator. Don't expect to weld a pipeline with it, but for a welder you can carry around, the price is right and it does a nice job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level Welder

,
April 14, 2014
By Woodymcf
from Parker, CO
"This is an excellent product for the beginner welder that is doing small repairs and hobbies around the house. I wouldn't expect to see a professional using this device to put together a suspension bridge, because that's not what it is designed for. Lightweight and compact, it takes up little space in my workshop where space is at a premium. Easy to set up and user friendly, I was welding in 5 minutes after opening the box (I had already purchased welding rods beforehand)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder

,
April 2, 2014
By DJmech
from Fl.
"This is a great little welder. This welder should and does lay a nice bead with 3/32 7018. When I received mine it seemed the heat was a bit low with the 7018 with the machine on max. I put a DC amp clamp on the lead and sure enough it was putting out 65 to 70 amps on max. I exchanged it for another one and it is perfect.75 to 88 amps. Just a heads up for those who think it is "sticky" with the 3/32. Customer service is quick and awesome also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder, just not at 3/32

,
March 28, 2014
By allinkedup
from Pa
"I really like this little welder... That being said, I advise to stick with 1/16 or 5/64 electrodes... She's a little too sticky with 3/32, in my opinion. It will run 3/32 at max amps for quite a few electrodes in a row without hitting its limits, but it's just not a smooth experience.... For a 120v machine, this thing will push 1/16 & 5/64 all day long, stick free...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing welder (words or my dad)

,
February 10, 2014
By PaulandDad
from Mexico city
"In my last trip to the USA I bought this little guy for my dad. He had the chance to work with this until the past weekend and when I asked to him"- Did you like it?" he only said "- I love it! this is the most amazing welder I've ever had " That was enought for me."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
February 6, 2014
By txcowboy79
from Baytown, TX
"I received this little welder two days ago in great condition it was packaged very well and shipping was very fast. I waited 10 days to get it but it was back ordered from the factory. I burned a dozen 1/8 inch 6010 5p+ rods with it so far and it handled them with ease. This machine will not handle big jobs but it works perfect for small jobs around the house or farm. It's very small, lite,compact and very easy to transport. This little welder is built very well and seems like it will last a very long time. I have not had a chance to build or repair anything yet but I will be updating this review when I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By 65Bugle
from Monticello,Ut
"I have an off-grid power system that has a 8500w backup gen set. 6500w continuous. I can run this little welder on its highest settings without any problems. I was skeptical that it wouldn't be worth buying. Long story short is that I love this little guy. Just be patient and let it do its job and you'll love it too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

little welder

,
December 12, 2013
By Express1870
from Baytown,Tx
"I used this little welder to build a bbq pit out of 1/4 inch thick pipe using 1/8 6011 rods , it performed great, no problem what so ever ,I was very impressed ,I highly recommend this welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portable welder at a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By Anonymous
from Edison, NJ
"Wow. I was very impressed with this welder. It is very small and lightweight yet tackled a 3/8" welding job I had with no problem in two passes. It is also very quiet and the parts seem to be high quality. I highly recommend this welder for small jobs or jobs in the field away from a home or shop welder. I am going to purchase the TIG attachment now too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesomeness

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbyngenny
from morganton
"this little welder does anything you want it too and more....can't go wrong buying this little welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.