Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Item# 25494
The ST80i inverter-based stick welder with TIG option from Northern Industrial Welders features powerful 115V inverter technology that can be used almost anywhere. The inverter-based system offers increased power output from a smaller transformer, resulting in an extremely lightweight system that weighs about 50 less than comparably powered traditional models. It even includes a shoulder strap for ultimate portability. This versatile welder works as hard as you do, handling mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron and hard surfacing. Amps 90, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 5 x 9, Electrode Cable Length ft. 10, Amperage Adjustments 20-75, Power Cord ft. 5, Range Selection Infinite, Volts 115, Weldable Metals Mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron, hard surfacing, Electrode Size in. 1/16, 5/64, 3/32, Welds Up To in. 1/8, Duty Cycle 20 @ 75A, Phase Single, Welding Processes Stick, TIG, Welding Amperage Range 20-90 AC. Increased power in a super lightweight package for exceptional portability The inverter system easily turns fluctuations in input power to consistent output for better welds Requires less input amperage, reducing the overall input power requirement by about 25 when compared to traditional transformer welders Welds with 1/16in., 5/64in. or 3/32in. electrodes Smooth DC inverter arc, hot start and anti-stick features for easy operation Amperage output 20 - 75, 90+ peak Optional TIG torch Item# 20462 - sold separately available for lift start on mild and stainless steel materials Includes shoulder strap for portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.881 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great welder

,
August 13, 2012
By fierostud
from michigan
"I bought this welder for use on a car restoration. I have been able to weld different thickness metals from 20 to 16 gauge with excellent results. The welder has performed flawlessly so far with several hours of actual weld time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I can say is WOW!

,
April 26, 2013
By Stanprophet
from Hampton VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have not been fabricating as much as I have been in the past, but use to build race cars some years ago. I had a decent amount of MIG under my belt, but not SMAW. I am a Automotive Master Technician, and like to have quality tools I can rely on, but when I am not using something every day it is hard to drop huge cash on a big name tool. After reading all the reviews on this little welder, it really seem to fit my needs very well.
I have plenty of people around with big welders for heavy fabrication, so I really did not need something large, Small compact for light fabrication work on my truck, something I can use at work on occasion, and something I could tote around.
Well the welder came in and I ran down to northern to grab a slag hammer and a helmet. Got over to work and started running some beads. Stick is a very different beast than MIG, but after about 2 beads I was amazed at the quality of this little thing. I was running 3/32 E-6013 rods on 1x2 box steel and 1.5 inch 1030 DOM .120 wall tube. At max rating this thing was getting full penetration with ease. Welding the tube to the box I used a beveled joint and 2 passes and it was no problem.
Now I had no previous stick welding experience so I cannot compare between other machines, but all I can say is this machine is very easy to start the arch as long as the heat range in correct for the work, and it does an amazing job.
If someone is looking for a small portable welder, this is the ticket, it does what it is advertised to do, and does it well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing!!!!

,
November 21, 2012
By MauserMan
from Oak Harbor, Wa
"This is an absolutely amazing little welder, and I do mean little, this thing is about the size of a lunch box. But man can it weld!! Within minutes of setting it up I was running 3/32 E6011rod with no problems, at approximately 45 amps. My son "The Gorilla" had just finished assembling Nothern Tools inexpensive (definitely not "Cheap") welding table, during which he snapped one of the bolts holding on the leg. Rather than look for a replacement bolt we decided to weld the hole closed, thereby securing the leg. Useing 3/32 E7014 rod I was able to weld the leg to the table with ease, although I did have to increase to 50 amps. As a professional gunsmith I highly recommend this little welder!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little welder

,
May 8, 2013
By MosesLk
from Moses Lake Wa.
"For such a small welder it does a great job of welding. Used 7018 welding rod, it was easy to start and ran very smooth at 60 amp, The same rod on a gas powered welder I run around 90 to 120 amps. I was looking at one of the 220 volt welders but thought I would try this one. was a good choice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little welder

,
November 15, 2012
By bd4422
from Adamsville, Alabama
"I have to say right out of the box the stick did prefect beads, I have other welders and wanted to try tig for a little money ,if the tig works as good as the stick you have a very great welder, I'm waiting on my tank for the tig but from what I see you can not find a better welder for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Welder!

,
January 16, 2013
By Hoosier1
from Indiana
"I bought this welder because of the low cost. I was amazed at the simplicity of this welder. I welded stainless steel pipe with ease. Thinking about purchasing the tig welder attachment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value / performance

,
August 8, 2013
By metal2
from Longwood, FL
"I used this welder today for the first time welding 1/8 x 1" x 1" mild steel tubing. It performed great using a 3/32" 7018 rod. I prepped the miter joints by grinding a bevel at the weld. The set-up couldn't be easier, just attach the leads, plug it in and go. I was hesitant to buy a 120 volt machine but I'm pleasantly surprised how well this machine works. It's small size and light weight are a real plus."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
April 3, 2013
By Cuzzie
from New York ny
"This little welder is great for small jobs.Iwelded fence repair.welded nuts on broken studs.the best thing it's on regular current.I have a bigger welder but I can take this welder any ware.i think this is a great product and the best thing is the price.MUst have 10hrs welding time on it so far so good also repaired some of my friend steel fence for him.i would buy it again.way to go northen tool.only wish u guys had a store in nyc.welded with 3/32 rod also welded with 1/8 rod worked great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stick welder

,
May 31, 2014
By BigAl444
from Brainerd, MN
"This little welder welds real well for what it is. It strikes an arc better than all other arc welders I've used and maintains it fairly well. I have also yet to run into any overheating issues with hours of welding. It's great an excellent value for home handy work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Professional Welder Friends were Amazed

,
April 23, 2013
By HelpingU
from MN
"I have a few friends that weld professionally and some that are back yard fix it guys. So when I saw this welder on sale I went to the welding supply shop where I get all my supplies and they were sceptical but I went against their recommendation of spending at least a grand on something that was much bigger and clumsy. I bought it and they asked to test it, and they were impressed. I use it for remote projects. My generator can power it to fix things broke in the field.
It works great. I am very happy. One small thing is that the internal contacts had some kind of protectant on them and it took a few welds to burn it off then it worked perfect.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine, great price

,
April 24, 2013
By HandyHusband
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This little welder is an awesome machine. I spent the extra money and bought the TIG torch also. It does a great job for its little size. This is a perfect machine for basic garage jobs and to take on the road. I have done quite a bit of work with it and it performs flawlessly every time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder

,
April 2, 2014
By DJmech
from Fl.
"This is a great little welder. This welder should and does lay a nice bead with 3/32 7018. When I received mine it seemed the heat was a bit low with the 7018 with the machine on max. I put a DC amp clamp on the lead and sure enough it was putting out 65 to 70 amps on max. I exchanged it for another one and it is perfect.75 to 88 amps. Just a heads up for those who think it is "sticky" with the 3/32. Customer service is quick and awesome also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder, just not at 3/32

,
March 28, 2014
By allinkedup
from Pa
"I really like this little welder... That being said, I advise to stick with 1/16 or 5/64 electrodes... She's a little too sticky with 3/32, in my opinion. It will run 3/32 at max amps for quite a few electrodes in a row without hitting its limits, but it's just not a smooth experience.... For a 120v machine, this thing will push 1/16 & 5/64 all day long, stick free...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesomeness

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbyngenny
from morganton
"this little welder does anything you want it too and more....can't go wrong buying this little welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy dandy little welder

,
April 29, 2014
By Dillmag
from Kamloops BC
"I have only welded once with this little welder and it made a decent job using 3/32 7018 welding rod"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

st80i

,
April 29, 2014
By scoutblue5
from greenwood,ar
"The little welder worked well, performed great and did all that was asked of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level Welder

,
April 14, 2014
By Woodymcf
from Parker, CO
"This is an excellent product for the beginner welder that is doing small repairs and hobbies around the house. I wouldn't expect to see a professional using this device to put together a suspension bridge, because that's not what it is designed for. Lightweight and compact, it takes up little space in my workshop where space is at a premium. Easy to set up and user friendly, I was welding in 5 minutes after opening the box (I had already purchased welding rods beforehand)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By 65Bugle
from Monticello,Ut
"I have an off-grid power system that has a 8500w backup gen set. 6500w continuous. I can run this little welder on its highest settings without any problems. I was skeptical that it wouldn't be worth buying. Long story short is that I love this little guy. Just be patient and let it do its job and you'll love it too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive performance

,
July 18, 2014
By Bubba49
from Donnybrook, ND
"This little machine is a lifesaver! I own several larger machines including engine driven arc welders, but none are as handy as this inexpensive little wonder. Set up is super easy and I have used 1/8 and 1/16 7018 rods for many small repairs. I found the arc to be smoother running reverse polarity (electrode negative) and have so far never ran over it's duty cycle. The small size and portability of being powered by a household outlet makes this machine an option for anyone that needs to weld but can't justify the expense of a bigger machine or the need for 240 volt outlets. This is not a production machine, but for small repairs there is nothing finer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
July 16, 2014
By MooresMom
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this for my Dad and he loves it! He mentioned that it was really easy to use and worked better than he had expected. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.