Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp

Item# 25494
The ST80i inverter-based stick welder with TIG option from Northern Industrial Welders features powerful 115V inverter technology that can be used almost anywhere. The inverter-based system offers increased power output from a smaller transformer, resulting in an extremely lightweight system that weighs about 50 less than comparably powered traditional models. It even includes a shoulder strap for ultimate portability. This versatile welder works as hard as you do, handling mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron and hard surfacing. Amps 90, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 5 x 9, Electrode Cable Length ft. 10, Amperage Adjustments 20-75, Power Cord ft. 5, Range Selection Infinite, Volts 115, Weldable Metals Mild steel, stainless steel, cast iron, hard surfacing, Welding Amperage Range 20 - 90 AC, Electrode Size in. 1/16, 5/64, 3/32, Welds Up To in. 1/8, Duty Cycle 20 @ 75A, Phase Single, Welding Processes Stick, TIG. Increased power in a super lightweight package for exceptional portability The inverter system easily turns fluctuations in input power to consistent output for better welds Requires less input amperage, reducing the overall input power requirement by about 25 when compared to traditional transformer welders Welds with 1/16in., 5/64in. or 3/32in. electrodes Smooth DC inverter arc, hot start and anti-stick features for easy operation Amperage output 20 - 75, 90+ peak Optional TIG torch Item# 20462 - sold separately available for lift start on mild and stainless steel materials Includes shoulder strap for portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive performance

,
July 18, 2014
By Bubba49
from Donnybrook, ND
"This little machine is a lifesaver! I own several larger machines including engine driven arc welders, but none are as handy as this inexpensive little wonder. Set up is super easy and I have used 1/8 and 1/16 7018 rods for many small repairs. I found the arc to be smoother running reverse polarity (electrode negative) and have so far never ran over it's duty cycle. The small size and portability of being powered by a household outlet makes this machine an option for anyone that needs to weld but can't justify the expense of a bigger machine or the need for 240 volt outlets. This is not a production machine, but for small repairs there is nothing finer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
July 16, 2014
By MooresMom
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this for my Dad and he loves it! He mentioned that it was really easy to use and worked better than he had expected. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
July 12, 2014
By holdon
from Tallapoosa, GA
"I will and already have recommended this awesome little welder. I build production machines for a living. I am so impressed with how well it handled the 3/32 7018's. I can't wait to try out some smaller rods with it and see just how well I can fine tune it. the manual says not to use an extension cord longer than I believe it was 25 ft. Well I had 125 ft. of cord and had no power shortage issues. I was even able to run them rods vertical uphill without any issues. I now have one trailer done and will start a larger one soon. I can't wait to get the TIG attachment for it. I have used one of these little suitcase welders by another well respected company in the industry. For a fraction of the cost of those, if it TIG welds as well as they did, I will be very impressed and thankful I gave it a try! Even if it didn't it is still an awesome little portable stick welder. I will purchase more Northern Tool brand equipment. I already have a few in my sights!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stick welder

,
May 31, 2014
By BigAl444
from Brainerd, MN
"This little welder welds real well for what it is. It strikes an arc better than all other arc welders I've used and maintains it fairly well. I have also yet to run into any overheating issues with hours of welding. It's great an excellent value for home handy work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remember its only 90 AMPS

,
May 18, 2014
By BCM191
from Indiana
"For the home SMALL projects it OK. Built well and its small size,115V its perfect. You HAVE TO use SMALL rod or its useless, So if your not a well versed welder beware!
Small thin metal is hard to weld with a stick welder. You'd be better off buying a mig if you really intend to weld.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy dandy little welder

,
April 29, 2014
By Dillmag
from Kamloops BC
"I have only welded once with this little welder and it made a decent job using 3/32 7018 welding rod"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

st80i

,
April 29, 2014
By scoutblue5
from greenwood,ar
"The little welder worked well, performed great and did all that was asked of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable

,
April 24, 2014
By RancherGuy
from Bradley, Ca
"Got this for small welding jobs where I don't have 240 voltage. Nice little welder for small stuff. Can also run it off my generator. Don't expect to weld a pipeline with it, but for a welder you can carry around, the price is right and it does a nice job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level Welder

,
April 14, 2014
By Woodymcf
from Parker, CO
"This is an excellent product for the beginner welder that is doing small repairs and hobbies around the house. I wouldn't expect to see a professional using this device to put together a suspension bridge, because that's not what it is designed for. Lightweight and compact, it takes up little space in my workshop where space is at a premium. Easy to set up and user friendly, I was welding in 5 minutes after opening the box (I had already purchased welding rods beforehand)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder

,
April 2, 2014
By DJmech
from Fl.
"This is a great little welder. This welder should and does lay a nice bead with 3/32 7018. When I received mine it seemed the heat was a bit low with the 7018 with the machine on max. I put a DC amp clamp on the lead and sure enough it was putting out 65 to 70 amps on max. I exchanged it for another one and it is perfect.75 to 88 amps. Just a heads up for those who think it is "sticky" with the 3/32. Customer service is quick and awesome also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder, just not at 3/32

,
March 28, 2014
By allinkedup
from Pa
"I really like this little welder... That being said, I advise to stick with 1/16 or 5/64 electrodes... She's a little too sticky with 3/32, in my opinion. It will run 3/32 at max amps for quite a few electrodes in a row without hitting its limits, but it's just not a smooth experience.... For a 120v machine, this thing will push 1/16 & 5/64 all day long, stick free...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing welder (words or my dad)

,
February 10, 2014
By PaulandDad
from Mexico city
"In my last trip to the USA I bought this little guy for my dad. He had the chance to work with this until the past weekend and when I asked to him"- Did you like it?" he only said "- I love it! this is the most amazing welder I've ever had " That was enought for me."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to welding but impressed by this welder

,
February 10, 2014
By MrMikeK
from Pittsboro, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've never welded before but I've always wanted to learn. If you do your research online, like I did, all you'll see is "Get a Lincoln", "Get a Miller", "Those 110v welders are pieces of junk". Most of those people weld for a living or do a lot of welding so of course they need the more heavy duty welders.
I haven't owned this welder for long but I would venture to say that it will do almost anything the typical homeowner/hobbyist would throw at it. Even if I decide I need an upgrade to a 220v welder, I would still want to keep this little welder handy just because of the portability and compatibility (not everyone has a 220v outlet available).
The duty cycle, although only 20% (another big complaint from pro/heavy welders), was never an issue. I never had to stop to wait for the welder to cool down or anything.
Like I said, this is my first welder so I have nothing to compare it to but I was impressed. I bought a piece of 1/8" x 3" x 3' flat bar to practice. After burning only 4 rods, I felt confident enough to tackle a broken hoe I had in my shed (picture attached). After that, I used my angle grinder to cut off the section of flat bar I had been practicing on and then I welded the 2 pieces back together at a 90 degree angle (picture attached). I know, I have a long way to go before my welds look nice but they seem to be strong.
I don't know if anyone should be taking advice from me yet but I do have a few tips for other people new to welding:
1.) Get an auto-darkening welding helmet. I bought the auto-darkening welding helmet from Northern Tool and I can't imagine trying to learn using a traditional helmet. It worked great and I think it really helped me catch on a lot quicker than I would have with a standard helmet.
2.) Besides 6011, get some 6013 welding rods. They are great for learning travel speed and technique because you can pretty much drag them across the metal instead of having to maintaining the gap required to keep the arc going with the 6011. On my test piece I ran the rods at around 50 amps. When working on the hoe, I had to turn it up closer to 60 amps to get a smooth arc.
3.) Flash burn is no joke. I pride myself on being careful because I understand the dangers of welding. However, I had my helmet flipped to get a good look at my work, before I had set the electrode down. When I did, it touched the edge of the metal and flashed for a split second. I was disappointed in my momentary carelessness but all seemed well. A few hours later, my eye (the one facing the flash) was watering and burning pretty bad. My face also felt like I had been out in the sun a little too long. All that from a flash that lasted less than a second. Lesson learned."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
February 6, 2014
By txcowboy79
from Baytown, TX
"I received this little welder two days ago in great condition it was packaged very well and shipping was very fast. I waited 10 days to get it but it was back ordered from the factory. I burned a dozen 1/8 inch 6010 5p+ rods with it so far and it handled them with ease. This machine will not handle big jobs but it works perfect for small jobs around the house or farm. It's very small, lite,compact and very easy to transport. This little welder is built very well and seems like it will last a very long time. I have not had a chance to build or repair anything yet but I will be updating this review when I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By 65Bugle
from Monticello,Ut
"I have an off-grid power system that has a 8500w backup gen set. 6500w continuous. I can run this little welder on its highest settings without any problems. I was skeptical that it wouldn't be worth buying. Long story short is that I love this little guy. Just be patient and let it do its job and you'll love it too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

little welder

,
December 12, 2013
By Express1870
from Baytown,Tx
"I used this little welder to build a bbq pit out of 1/4 inch thick pipe using 1/8 6011 rods , it performed great, no problem what so ever ,I was very impressed ,I highly recommend this welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portable welder at a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By Anonymous
from Edison, NJ
"Wow. I was very impressed with this welder. It is very small and lightweight yet tackled a 3/8" welding job I had with no problem in two passes. It is also very quiet and the parts seem to be high quality. I highly recommend this welder for small jobs or jobs in the field away from a home or shop welder. I am going to purchase the TIG attachment now too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesomeness

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbyngenny
from morganton
"this little welder does anything you want it too and more....can't go wrong buying this little welder"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This machine is AMAZING! I love it!

,
August 28, 2013
By Southernreign2001
from Charlotte, NC
"If you are reading this, it is probably for the same reason I read countless hours of countless reviews of countless different welders...I can share with you WHY I choose this one over every other one out there that can be choosen from whether MIG or flux core, tig, AC Stick, AC/DC Stick, 220 volts and 115 volts, inverter and non- inverter.
Now, let me start off to say that I am new to this type of welder. (I never used an inverter welder) and I have not welded in over 25 years, and that was with an old gas AC miller welder to weld for water pressurized steel piping. I was looking for a welder for simple hand tool repairs like shovel repairs and digging tool reinforcements and adding steel attachments to my 8 x 5 trailer. Nothing crazy- but maybe ;). I was thinking of mig. ( pro- no slag) negative was that it works best with shielding gas which adds to your "up-front" cost of getting started. If you are welding different types of metals the welding wire needs to be painfully changed out. And I have seen the rat nest that can happen with sticky feeding mechs. Stick welding is simple as just a matter of switching sticks for metals type and thickens you are welding- old school YES but easy!!! Tig... is much more expensive for your up front cost, and, I never did it before. Now the 220 volt verses 115? I have both set ups in my garage/shop which most people do not. I was really leaning toward the Hobart LX 235 AC/DC welder which is 500 clams. I really think it is a SOLID machine but it is that 220 volts 47.5 amps max power demand issue . But this for the price off a the LX235 I can get this light weight baby little inverter welder, extended warranty, two good auto-darkening welding helmets, great long extension cord, two pair of welding gloves, grinder, chimping hammer with steel brush, clamps, and lots of rods for 500 dollars or less. I then thought that I would be using this possibly at clients' properties for simple landscaping repairs. (fences/gates) And there the 220 volt problem again...Most people do not have 220 circuits for 220 volt with a 30amp or worse a 50 amp circuit and even if they did, what about reaching the areas I may need to reach? 220 volt extension cords can cost you hundreds of dollars also which is another negative. Now a 115 volt 15/20 amp circuit no problem for any house hold. And 20 amp extension cords are really inexpensive compared to 220 volt cords. This welder needs at least volt 105 AC at plug and no more than 132 volts AC via the user manual. If using an extension cord... test your usable voltage at the end of the extension cord or where ever you are plugging the welder into. I have used a 75 foot 10 gauge cord with no problem with the welder. 12 gauge 25 foot extension cord wire is required if being used. Manual says no longer than 25 feet. LOL. Buy a 10/3 extension cord and you will not have ANY problems with getting your welder to work where you need it! The grounding cord and working cord are plenty long enough with your welder plugged in with a good extension cord. (If you do not have at least a 12/3 25 foot extension cord, expect to add that into yoiur welder cost.
You will need your auto darking welding helmet shade set with at 10 or more.
The anti-stick feature works great too. Rods do still stick but nothing like I remember... but unstick very easily with a lite twist-pull on this machine. The arc is very easy to start and re-starting the arc is easy and the arc is very smooth! WOW, was I surprised that this lunch box sized welder works this well! I actually burned through some tube steel I was repairing that I had set at 65 amps welding with a e6013 3/32 rod. I thought the unit was set low... could not believe I had to turn the AMPS down to 52. Producing and holding a good welding pool is easy and the quality of the welds are great too!
Now, I have only used 3/32 rods. This welder comes with a 1 year warranty... I bought the two year extended warranty for 25 dollars more. Worth it if you ask me.
I have no doubt this can handle steel and other metals with no problem up to 3/8 in thickness with proper preparation and multi passes on the thick stuff. Grinder with any welder is a must!
I had no problem with the duty cycle.
I will update as I have used this more. At this time I am very happy with this purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders ST80i Inverter-Based Stick Welder with TIG Option - 115 Volt, 20 - 90 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value / performance

,
August 8, 2013
By metal2
from Longwood, FL
"I used this welder today for the first time welding 1/8 x 1" x 1" mild steel tubing. It performed great using a 3/32" 7018 rod. I prepped the miter joints by grinding a bevel at the weld. The set-up couldn't be easier, just attach the leads, plug it in and go. I was hesitant to buy a 120 volt machine but I'm pleasantly surprised how well this machine works. It's small size and light weight are a real plus."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.