Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100

Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100

Item# 255351
This Buyers ATV spreader mounts to the rear metal luggage rack of most ATVs to spread free-flowing materials. Poly hopper holds up to 100 lbs. of seed, fertilizer or game feed. Hopper Material Polyethylene, Load Capacity lbs. 100, Spread-able Material Game feed, fertilizer, seed, Walk or Pull Pull, Spreader Type Broadcast, Volts 12. Rustproof 12.5-gallon poly hopper Holds up to 100 lbs. of material Mounts to any ATV with a rear metal luggage rack Heavy-duty sealed 12V motor Direct linkage controls for precise flow control Easy quick-connect mounting system Good for spreading seed, fertilizer and game feed Powder-coated frame Includes wiring harness, rain cover and installation hardware Toggle switch to turn unit on and off
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 18(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Review 1 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

fine after new part sent to us.

,
October 13, 2014
By sassyboots
from Powell, Wy.
"This was not spreading evenly at all, so my husband called and talked to someone there who said they had a problem with that and sent him a part to put on the spreader and now it works just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12-volt ATV SPREADER

,
June 1, 2014
By Smac2
from Idaho Falls. Idaho
"The product is effective and useful. Meets my expectations. There are several comments for product improvement.
1. Connecting mechanism while effective for an ATV rack, it does not work directly with my Polaris configuration. I have needed to retrofit the attachment. Consideration to a more effective means to attach the spreader would improve the product.
2. The on/off switch is not located in a easy to reach configuration. As the wiring connections run from the battery to the back of the ATV, there should be a switch which can be located on the handle bars for convenience.
Thanks for this opportunity
Scott Mac"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

SPREADER

,
May 19, 2014
By RR22
from ALABAMA
"THIS PRODUCT IS NOT A GOOD BUY . DOSE NOT HAVE GOOD DIRECTIONS AND IT SAYS IT WILL FIT MOST FOUR WHEELERS BUT THIS IS NOT TRUE.I HAVE A 2000 HONDA FOURTRAX 300 THAT IT WILL NOT FIT. I REGRET BUYING THIS PRODUCT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Speed Control

,
February 6, 2014
By BUM83858
from Spirit Lake, ID
"I use the spreader to throw sand down on my 400' plus driveway, during icy conditions. I found the motor speed to be so fast that a lot of it goes off the intended area and up behind the seat of my atv. I think that installing a speed control for the motor would help this, or possibly some kind of deflector."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buyers ATV Spreader

,
January 9, 2012
By Rooster24
from Theresa, NY
"Excellent spreader. Attaches easily to my ATV. It sure beats trying to push/pull my old ground driven spreader around our food plots. Also worked well with lawn care fertilizers. I would advise immediate clean up when using fertlizers and other corrosives to prevent damage to any metal parts. My son also used the spreader attached to his lawn tractor. It attaches easily to the lawn tractor by drilling four small holes, two in each fender. We wired in an adapter for the power cord and it all worked very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good all purpose spreader

,
June 13, 2011
By DoubleJC1
from Missouri
"I purchased this spreader for use on the lawn and to plant food plots. Be aware that the motor hookup is designed to plug into an accessory outlet. I did not have one on my older model atv so I had to improvise. An adaptor may be available. Overall, a very good product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spreader

,
March 14, 2011
By balernbud
from Wi
"It is a good spearder for the money. Well priced and works as good as higher priced ones."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product for the money.

,
November 25, 2010
By Camo2007
from Franklin, Vermont.
"I used this spreader for my foodplot maintenance for 3 years. I guess the fertilizer dust finally got to it and it has stopped working. I was very happy with the product and it only cost me about 30 bucks a year to use it. I will be purchasing another for next years maintenance. Thanks for a great product at a great price. I check with Northern Tool first for all my needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
November 23, 2010
By hunt04
"bought last lear, have used on spreading fertilizer and spreading seed. has easy adjustments. with the motor being in the hopper it is alot more compact. Great product."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the Best - Factory Must have listened

,
June 4, 2010
By Thunderhorse
from Mt Holly, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recieved the unit yesterday,, last night I assembled it,, and found Nylon nuts for evey bolt,, And listen close Facorty I don't have a ATV... I have a UTV, Utility All Terrain Vehical... Kawasaki 750, Tyrex... tail gate and all... So all you John Deere users it works like a champ... I threw the (U-Bolts) away...(well, not away but for the next project).. Assembled the unit as instructed,,, lowered the tail gate, aligned the unit for clearance and drilled two Hole in the bed of Rex....slide two bolts up and used wing nuts...almost half of the support bracket is supported by the tailgate... It takes less than a couple minutes to take off and store.... One more adder,, opposed to the cotter pin I used a small bolt and nylon nut... It works perfect... I stored ofcourse eight bags of lime in Rex but spread 10 bags of lime and never broke a sweat..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
May 24, 2010
By 6Wyoming
from Wyoming
"The spreader was a disappointment as the sliding door does not fit tight and small seeds leak out, even when the door is closed. Also, when spreading fertilizer, it throws the fertilizer in the direction of the driver and doesn't spread well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
May 24, 2010
By boytharness
from Osceola, IA
"Super easy assembly! I modified this to fit in the back of my Kawasaki Mule with ease. This is a quality product that should last for years!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for my 75 acres

,
February 15, 2010
By moto06
from Venezuela
"For my 75 acres divide in 70 small pieces it work good for me, I can use my son 12 year old to do the job without no problem."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buyers ATV Spreader

,
October 20, 2009
By foxrider
"Awesome Speader Does a great job . U joints that hold it on a little weak but that was no problem. Buy it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Spreader

,
July 13, 2009
By goracing131
from Crossville, TN
"This is one of the best lawn care items that I have ever purchased. It works great and is easy to get an even distribution of fertilizer and lime on the lawn. The only thing that I would change on it is to add something to stir the fertilizer at the bottom of the bin over the openings that control the flow on to the spreader wheel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best bang for the buck

,
March 23, 2009
By bronco74
from union dale, pa
"This spreader worked better than expected. I spread 2 tons of lime and 1 ton of fertilizer. I had no trouble at all. The mounting bolts are a little too long. It cleans very easy and mounts and dismounts quickly. It worked on par with a much more expensive spreader."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

100 lbs ATV spreader

,
March 24, 2008
By logger1
from Shipman, VA
"I have used this spreader for many lime, fertilizer and seed runs this Spring. It mounted easily to my ATV, although I did have to buy different sized U-bolts for mounting. The included U-bolts were too long. The spreader and motor have worked fine. However, the locking nuts on the open/close handle and the handle stop work free much too easily from use and vibration. I lost both nuts while using the spreader. I recommend immediately replacing the included nuts with nylon lock nuts. This will save you a trip to the hardware store in the middle of your work when they fall off in the field."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buyers 12 Volt ATV Spreader - 100-Lb. Capacity, Model# ATVS100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
November 1, 2007
By sparksfly
from Frankfort, KY
"Ideal for the lawncare business. With a little fabricating, a mount can be made to fit any type of mower to apply fertilize/ herbicides very efficiently."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.