Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L

EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L

Item# 25536
EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader has a 12 Volt motor with vinyl coating and mounts to front or rear luggage rack, with lever and gauge mounts to either side. Fits most brands of ATVs and comes with wiring harness for easy installation. Free Rain Cover. U.S.A. Spread-able Material Seed, fertilizer, Spreader Type Broadcast, Volts 12, Walk or Pull Pull, Load Capacity lbs. 80. 80-lb. rustproof poly hopper EV-N-SPRED 3-hole drop shutoff system ensures even coverage 12V motor is housed in a durable thermoplastic enclosure Epoxy powder-coated frame with 100-lb. load bearing capacity Designed for horizontal mounting on front or rear luggage racks Lever and gauge can be mounted on either side for easy access Comes with a wiring harness with on/off switch, quick-connect mounting hardware and a heavy-duty rain cover
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Review 1 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
April 24, 2014
By rbair
from SC
"Easy to set up, worked beautifully.
Just be sure the fertilizer you use is dry so it wont stop up in the bottom.
Able to spread 3 acres of lawn fertilizer in about 20 minutes with good even coverage.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

,
April 13, 2011
By bvsmith
from Monticello, Iowa
"I can't recommend this spreader. I think it lacks at least two design features that are necessary for it to operate properly, and should be included with this spreader, especially since they are included in Earthway's lesser-expensing spreaders. First, push-type rotary spreaders that I have owned in the past have had some form of agitator, typically a pin attached to the shaft of the spinning disk, near the bottom of the hopper that breaks up small clumps of material that would block the drop-holes. This electric spreader does not have any form of agitator, and mine frequently needs to be emptied to clear these blockages. I have looked at the motor shaft to see if there is some way to add an agitator, but the electric motor is not very strong. I think if I add the agitator, and make it long enough to cover all three drop holes, it will stall the motor. Also, the design of the bottom of the hopper will not allow an agitator long enough to sweep over the entire drop-hole. Second, the hole through the bottom of the hopper, which acts as a bearing for the motor shaft, is too small and the shaft binds in it. This friction slows the spinning plate's speed so that the spread area is reduced, and the motor runs warm. Cheap design, altogether. While I'm at it, I could also mention that the length of the control cable is pretty short, which limits the mounting locations. The picture on the Earthway web page shows the control mounted behind the driver so that they must turn around to operate the control. I think the control should be mounted so that the operator can use it while looking ahead. Also, the calibration procedure in the manual is basically a cut-and-try recipe - if the rate is too high or too low, try a different setting and re-measure. I found a "Broadcast Setting Matrix" guide on the Earhway web site, and it appears to be helpful. I looked for it after a particularly difficult set-up today, complete with numerous blockages, and the table values are about what I ended up with after several calibration runs. Why isn't this table in the user manual???"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good solid equipment for price

,
March 16, 2011
By skippy01
from bangor, pa
"would recommend to others works good, nice hopper nice unit for the price easy to install works fine, there was one piece missing it was in the mail from manufactor next day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1kountryboy

,
August 30, 2010
By 1kountryboy
"Product easy to assemble works great on John Deere Gater. Discharges a consederable amount of seed to the front into the bed of the Gater. Ordered 3-Sided Deflector Kit, hope this helps"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more push speader for me

,
February 22, 2010
By mikedee
from Covington La.
"Attached this spreader to the front of my 0 turn mower using simple hose clamps. Clipped the power cables to the battery and presto. This thing works great. Spread a 4 acre yard in less than 30 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Earthway spreader

,
February 22, 2010
By swampy83
from Hooker OK
"This spreader is great! I have had this for over 5 years now and it is still doing its job, I use it every spring and fall. Very durable and has a very reliable motor on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food Plot

,
November 2, 2009
By FoodPlot
from Tennessee
"This spreader is easy to use and attaches to your 4 wheeler easily. It evenly distributed the seed on my food plot, however it would get clogged more easily when I was only spreading one type of seed. I started putting a little of each type of seed all together in the spreader and didn't have any more trouble. I spread oats, wheat, and ladino clover. Worth the money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple machine, great results

,
August 11, 2008
By muddy
from Roosevelt, Utah
"I really like my spreader though I've only used it once. It's everything as
advertised and although it's designed as an ATV attachment I have a rack
similar to the ones found on ATV's which I mount on my riding mower as
I also have a 16 gallon sprayer that I use with the mower. I used the spreader
to spread a soil conditioner product on my lawn and also on a large veggie garden, I used to use a walk behind spreader but some products would clog it
up but not this spreader, I was amazed at how fast I got the job done with
this machine. I also take care of the lawn at our church which is quite large
so I know I'll be using this spreader a lot.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 21, 2008
By Camo2007
from Franklin, Vermont.
"This product performed exactly as stated. Very easy to use. Durable and rugged. I have recommended this product numerous times. I use it for wildlife foodplot maintenance. It works well with very small seeds, I have also used it for broadcasting whole corn and pelletized lime. It is easy to adjust, easy to install, and easy to use. I give this spreader 5 stars. Don't be afraid to buy this one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EarthWay ATV Broadcast Spreader - 12 Volt, 80-Lb. Capacity, Model# M20L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

handy for small areas

,
July 9, 2007
By laurel
from Bellingham, WA
"Handy little spreader. Great for small areas. Hard to get consistant coverage, but I'd still recommend it to others. I've used it to seed up to 2 acres at a time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.