Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y

King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y

Item# 256032
King Kutter II gear-driven rotary tiller is designed to perform with cast iron gear box and square tube frame. With 6 tines per flange, you get maximum soil mix for preparing planting beds, gardens, incorporating fertilizer, landscaping or other jobs. Features patented kick stand for convenient hookup. This Category 1 tiller includes a PTO shaft with heavy-duty slip clutch. U.S.A. Flanges qty. 7, Hitch Type 3-pt., Product Type Tiller, Blade Type L Shaped, Blades qty. 42, Category Type 1, Required HP 25-40, Working Depth in. 8, Working Width in. 60. Adjustable skids control cutting depth while rear shield controls soil mix Heavy-duty cast iron gearbox Gearbox is greased for convenience Heavy-duty gear drive for dependable performance Vented side gear box operates in oil bath 540 RPM PTO drive Shielded PTO shaft with slip clutch driveline protection Heavy-duty square tube reinforced frame with extra gussets Perfect for vegetable or hobby farmers, landscape contractors, municipal maintenance, nurseries and much more Patent-pending kick stand for convenient hook up
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Review 1 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tiller

,
June 1, 2014
By Farmer1086
from Cameron, il
"I have run many tillers in the past and this is by far the best I have ever used from quality to ease of use!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

King Kutter II 5ft rotary tiller

,
April 23, 2013
By YakYak
from Kentucky
"Owned this for tow years, I put in about an acre garden and till up neighbors as well. This tiller tears up the ground whether plowed or not. It creates a bed of fine soil for planting. Do not know what I did with out it, cuts my garden preparation in half. Great piece of equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it

,
January 17, 2013
By Rickerauto
from Waller, TX
"Compared to my 16" Troy-Bilt push tiller, there is no camparison. I have a Mahindra 3616 (36 hp) pulling this with no problem. The trick on virgin sod is to make a few shallow passes to get the residue chopped, then make a deep pass to bury and mix it in. I can get mine down to about 8-9" deep. No problems so far with the paint coming off, and I store mine outside in the weather. I have about a dozen people who are lined up every spring for me to come over and prep their garden with it. I put over 300 hours a year on this thing, and I've had it since 2008. Never had to change blades yet. Another neat thing is the swing up door in the back that you can lock in position when you run over some buried hay twine and get it tangled in the tines..love that feature and it comes in handy at our place.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

King Kutter Tiller

,
May 7, 2012
By daverde36
from Maryland
"Ordering, shipment and delivery was smooth.
Other reviews about the paint coming off easy were right on. PTO shaft connection to tiller was difficult, had to tap with a sledge using a block of wood over shaft so as not to damage.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
January 9, 2012
By PhilWV
from Charles Town, WV 25442
"Hooked this tiller up to my Kubota B3030, install was easy only challenge is sizing the PTO shaft, but clear instructions provided. This beast cuts down into hard soil with no hesitation, and the end product is a fine mixture of soil and decomposing compost materials. I keep a compost pile of dead bushes, tree branches, clippings, etc,. Used the Kubota to place a couple of bucket loads of this dark lumpy mess into our 15x 20 garden bed. Kicked in the King Kutter and that beast chewed up rotting branches and dried up shrubs into small pieces that blended into the soil. Blades are very thick and strong, and are self-sharpening...had no problem cutting up the debris typically found in a compost pile. Now, I have the darkest garden soil ever, and expect to yield plenty of food for my family this year. The machine is well built with all gear drive, and a clutch-type PTO shaft to eliminate damage to the tiller or tractor in the event of a jammed rock. BUY THIS TILLER...you will be very pleased with its capabilities and engineering. CAUTION: MACHINE COMES WITHOUT ANY FLUIDS. BE SURE TO READ MANUAL, AND ADD GEAR OIL AND GREASE AS DIRECTED SO THAT YOU DO NOT BURN UP THE BEARINGS. It is exciting to get such a powerful new attachment for your tractor, it is easy to overlook adding the fluids"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

King Kutter did the trick

,
May 31, 2010
By FarmGirl2
from Aztec New Mexico
"We bought a King Kutter II in 2009 after a great deal of on line research. The King Kutter was the best buy and the quality has proven itself.
We had been trying to establish a pasture/hay field for two years with little success. The Tiller did a great job on preparing the seed bed. The soil was deeply tilled, smoothly worked and left level. The tines cut the soil with no trouble. The unit is solidly built and with proper maintenance will out live us. We would recommend this brand to anyone looking for a well built, long lasting unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tilling Machine

,
November 3, 2009
By UpNorth15
from Springbrook, WI
"I have been using my King Kutter Tiller all fall. I tilled up my 4 acre field in 1 day. This field was overgrown with weeds, corn and hay. It tackled this job with no problem breaking up the ground and kicking out rocks as big as 1 foot by 1 foot, with no damage to the tiller. I also tilled my garden after I dumped about 14 yards of compost on it. It broke up the compost and after a couple of passes it smoothed the surface evenly. I now have about 5 inches deep of dirt nicely tilled and ready for next spring planting. The only problem with it is that the tiller kicked out so many rocks I will have to spend a week clearing the field for my other implements that aren't as tough as the King Kutter Tiller."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super good tiller

,
March 23, 2009
By Rob21
from New Boston Michigan
"I use it on a john deer 855 it works great tears up everything"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Tiller

,
March 3, 2009
By Buildit
from Savannah, MO
"This is by far the best PTO driven tiller I've ever owned. My last was even a John Deere and it pales in comparison to the King Kutter. It does a great job with my seed beds by turning the dirt to an almost fine powder and allowing it to warm faster and allow faster germination of seeds. I've even turned 50 year old cattle pasture into garden plots by simply making several passes and not even touching my plow!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for King Kutter II Gear Driven Rotary Tiller - 5ft. Tiller Width, Model# TG-60-Y
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Terrific Tiller!

,
October 30, 2007
By candoarms
from North Dakota
"I purchased this King Kutter II tiller for my tractor this past May, 2007, and have used it for my own garden, as well as to help many friends with their gardens.
This tiller is incredible. I've broken up some virgin sod that was packed full of rocks. I thought I might have damaged my tiller when tiling up that ground, as it was making all kinds of racket, and bouncing wildly while hitting all the rocks. Nope.....the tines still look like new. Only the cover metal has a few dents in it. My confidence in this tiller steadily grew from there.
Yesterday I plowed up 2 acres of sod in my front yard, then took the King Kutter II tiller to it. I've never received so many compliments from complete strangers. Every person who stopped to ask about my equipment was very impressed with this tiller and the fine finish it leaves. (Adjust the rear gate accordingly)
I would have gladly given the KKII tiller 5 stars, but for the lousy paint it comes with. I don't know what that stuff is on the metal, but it sure isn't paint. Just looking at it will cause that yellow cake to flake off. I plan on stripping it clean.....which should be a very easy job......and then put some real paint on it.
This tiller comes to you dry. MAKE SURE you read and understand the directions before using it. You'll need to fill the gearbox, as well as add the proper amount of lubrication to the side drive housing before using it.
Apparently even the bearings are shipped dry, so make you sure you put the grease gun to the outer bearing, as well.
Depending on your tractor, you may have to shorten the PTO shaft. Follow the directions supplied when doing this. (It's not as difficult to do as the instructions make it out to be.)
If you order this tiller, make sure you also get the proper lubricants on order. The outer bearing requires TYPE II grease. The Gearbox requires GL5-85W 140 gear oil, or TRIPLE ZERO grease. EP (Extreme Pressure) The side Drive housing also uses GL5-85W 140 EP oil. You'll need about three quarts total. You won't need all three quarts (Do not overfill).......but you'll need more than 2 quarts.
With more than 4 acres tilled to this point, under some of the hardest conditions imaginable, my tiller still looks and performs like new.......other than for that yellow stuff that's supposed to be paint.
Not recommended for tractors under 30 horsepower. (It's a power hog!) Perfect match for the Kubota B7800, New Holland TC33, and similar compact tractors.
Purchase with complete confidence!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+53points
53out of 53found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.