Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM

FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM

Item# 25653
Heavy-duty NorthStar compressors are built with durable cast iron V-twin pump with cast iron heads for good heat dissipation and no transfer of heat between cylinders. Belt drive oil-lubricated pump runs quietly and delivers long pump life. 20-gallon vertical tank is ASME certified. Built tough enough for commercial shops. Enough capacity to operate an air ratchet, impact wrench, siphon feed sand blaster, nibbler, nailer, air brush, touch-up spray gun and more. Includes portability kit with flat-free tires. Amps 15/7.5, Air Tank Size gal. 20, Drive Belt, Duty Cycle 100, HP 2, Max. PSI 135, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Drain System Manual, Portable or Stationary Portable, Pump Life hrs. 5,000, Stage 1, Motor Phases 1, Noise Level dB 80, Volts 115/230, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, CFM at 90 PSI 5.0, CFM at 40 PSI 6.0, Pump Cast iron, Tank Type Vertical, Working Pressure PSI 105 - 135. 2 HP 115V/230V 15/7.5 Amp dual voltage induction motor 2-cylinder cast iron single-stage pump Delivers 5.0 CFM @ 90 PSI 6.0 CFM @ 40 PSI Comes wired for 115V operation with a 6ft. cord and plug Can be rewired for 230V by a qualified electrician Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide effective heat dissipation and less moisture Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Dual voltage induction motor has low amp draw for easier starts Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength ASME certified 20-gallon tank can be used in commercial shops Durable metal belt guard won't break Built-in regulator controls air pressure to air tools 135 max. PSI Motor runs at 3,440 RPM Easy-start valve puts less stress on motor during cold weather starts Includes portability kit with steel wheels with ball bearings and flat-free solid tires for easy transport Extend your NorthStar pump warranty to 5 years with the purchase and use of a NorthStar start-up kit Item# 45933
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
24 of 27(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

nnn

,
July 11, 2014
By kola
from newark, md
"compressor works well in 115 volt mode but when rewired for 230 volt mode would not work. I am experienced in electrical wiring and the support staff was no help. wanted 230 volt unit but stuck with 115 volt."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too loud for so little cfm output.

,
June 30, 2014
By kinematic
from MA
"Anyone who has owned a real air compressor will be displeased with this one if the intention is to use it in a shop. It is LOUD. It barks sharply, like a 50 cal machine gun. It really is impossibly loud and requires noise suppression. I use this to run my CNC milling machine tool changer, so it sees little CFM usage which is why I thought it might be a good choice.
I have owned 80 gal 5 hp IR compressors that were not this loud. It also seems to take a long time to fill the small tank but maybe because the ear splitting sound makes it seem longer.
I wish I had bought a full size unit for a for a few hundred more bucks. you've been warned!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and compact compressor

,
June 8, 2014
By Sodbusters
from Ouray, Co.
"So far I'm very pleased with the performance. I added oil closed the drain (which is conviently placed for easy access) and plugged it in. No leaks detected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Quiet!

,
June 2, 2014
By ADT82
from Brush Prairie, WA
"I have this air compressor in my car/wood shop and works great with all my air tools.(die grinder, 3/8" air ratchet, 1/2" impact, needle scaler and etc.) great buy and warranty!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Control

,
May 4, 2014
By hiflyer
from Connecticut
"My only issue with the compressor pump. When attempting to install the inlet filters, to my disappointment, the alignment was off by a considerable amount. This in no way affects the operation, more of a manufacturing defect of the compressor heads. Other than that, it would rated a 5 star."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Sweet Little Air Compressor!

,
February 4, 2014
By CletusBleeker
from Western Great Lakes
"My NorthStar compressor was delivered by common carrier the week before Thanksgiving, 2013. Even though its shipping weight is 204 lbs, the deal Northern offered to me at the time included FREE SHIPPING! This was a significant cost savings right up front!
All the parts were included and only minor assembly was required. I filled its crankcase with a good NON-DETERGENT SAE-30 motor oil and followed the initial break-in procedure as recommended in the owner's manual. Although this compressor is designed to be portable, I have a dedicated spot for it in my shop and have installed a 1/2" black steel pipe system with quick disconnect fittings at each of my four work stations. I used a 3/8" X 3' Goodyear jumper hose with Milton quick disconnect fittings (all purchased from Northern) to connect between my shop's compressed air line and the compressor. The jumper hose isolates vibration from the compressor and by disconnecting it, allows easy movement of it the compressor if needed.
It's now February and I'm pleased to report that my NorthStar compressor indeed continues to perform flawlessly. It will hold pressure at 125 p.s.i. for weeks on end between demands, yet keep-up easily with the demand for compressed air whenever my shop operations require it to.
In addition, for a reciprocating piston type air compressor, this one runs quieter than others I've had to work near. All air compressors make noise, but listening to the sustained pulse of this one is tolerable.
Just as I said here at the top, this is ONE SWEET LITTLE AIR COMPRESSOR!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great So Far

,
February 4, 2014
By MyAno
from CA
"I initially had reservations about ordering this product on-line. Since there are no Northern Tools stores in the area, I went ahead with the purchase and was happy with their service. Delivery was quick, efficient and undamaged. The unit works great and seems very well made. My only small gripe is they should include oil for initial start up. The unit is very quiet compared to direct drive units. I'm running this off a 15amp 110V outlet and it works, no problems. So, far this is a well made and highly recommended product. I would also highly recommend Northern Tools as an on-line vendor for those not close to a retail store."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By Afugazifan
from Cincinnati, OH
"Before purchasing this compressor I did a lot of research. My primary use is for DIY auto work, and I had to have a compressor that would take lug nuts off with ease. I was concerned I would need something bigger but really didn't want the added cost and hassle of running 230v in my garage. I pulled the trigger on this compressor and was nervous about how it would perform. My worries were quickly put to ease. I've had the compressor now for a few months and have done several tire rotations, brake jobs, and misc. work. The compressor is much more quiet than I expected and I'm taking lug nuts off with my 3/8' Blue Point impact no problem. Very happy with my purchase. One last comment, the warranty and price on this model is the reason I didn't go with the comparable IR unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch Compresssor

,
February 4, 2014
By lietva
from Southern Indiana
"I've had this compressor for about a year now.
Plenty of air for nail guns and paint spray gun. Surprisingly quiet - much, much quieter than the typical big box store direct drive units.
No leakdown either. It will sit for days when not in use and not lose any pressure.
The only problem I've seen is that the kick on pressure is set a little too low, so the tank pressure drops about 20 psi before kicking on.
This unit seems to be identical to the IR and Puma."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By CourtFloors
from Buffalo, NY
"I've bought two of these for our crew who installs Squash & Racquetball courts. Our old Emglo's couldn't keep up with some of our younger guys running flooring staplers. So far, the guys say they're keeping up just fine while running 3 staplers, and are just as quiet as the Emglo's. Much easier to move around by yourself than the wheelbarrow style. Would recommend to anyone looking for a medium to heavy duty portable unit with higher volume requirements."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor burned out

,
November 12, 2013
By PMdoc
from Texas
"Motor burned out after three months of use. Had no backup so bought a new motor and swapped it out. Northern tool is replacing the motor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Four pending five (stars)

,
November 10, 2013
By SpeyTayGuy
from Oklahoma
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"If your reading this review chances are you r researching compressors in this price range looking for CFM rating, tank size, etc w/the highest reviews.
This will be the first of two reviews, this one to review the initial purchase and set up and the second after Iv actually had it in use for a bit.
I purchased at the Tulsa Northern Tool store (71st) and received prompt service. Unfortunately when I got it home and unpacked, the pulley guard was severely damaged. ALWAYS CHECK EQUIPMENT BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE STORE. After I repackaged, called the store, had them confirm they had another unit, I picked up another after checking it out thoroughly.
This unit is as advertised although the pulley screen needed a bit of adjustment. There are no instructions for installing the air-filter housings, it's straight forward but care needs to be taken with the light weight fittings.
Initial run-in w/drain valve open for twenty minutes went fine (much quieter than old compressor), closed drain and time to 135 psi <4 minutes. The pressure initially fades to 125 but has maintained it for >12 hrs. Cut-on happens @ 100 and takes <2 min getting back to 135.
Good service from the store and would only suggest free pick-up and delivery for situations as this. Can't imagine the hassle it would have been if all this involved shipping.
Do yourself a favor, even tho it should be store policy, and open the box and check things out BEFORE you leave the store.
I'll post another review after it's been used for a bit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
October 20, 2013
By Justin112
from Seattle area
"Compressor arrived very quickly and was very easy to set up. Only took about 5 minutes to set up and after the 20 minute break in period it was ready to go.
I am a professional mechanic who was looking for a compressor for home that was also able to be transported if I needed to work elsewhere. The compressor works great. Powers my impact wrenches and air ratchets with ease. It is quiet, doesn't leak down, and it's good looking to boot. Seems to be solidly made as well. I am willing to bet I will get many years of service out of it. Would definitely recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star 20 gal air compressor - As Advertised

,
September 17, 2013
By UrbanRancher
from Milano, TX
"I bought this compressor to reduce noise and provide more air than my 8 gallon oilless compressor. The noise level is much better than previous compressor and will run all my small air tools (will not run a small sander). I considered the asme size Ingersoll Rand compressor but am very happy with the less expensive North Star. And the 4 year consumer waranty can't be beat. Assembly and break-in was quick and simple."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compressor

,
July 31, 2013
By HoraceD
from Mississippi
"Arrived in very good shape; 3 days after placing the order. Very easy to assemble. Followed instructions on break-in period and even though the directions didn't say so, I changed the oil. I have no issues at all. The compressor looks good; it's built solid; doesn't take long to build up pressure. Very quiet compared to my previous oil-less compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got this...now to buy lots of new Air TOYS!

,
July 23, 2013
By Southernreign2001
from Charlotte, NC
"I read multiple site reviews, and decided to buy this for my home garage/shop for building shelves in my garage and for using it for air ratchets and a plasma cutter I recently purchased. I love the black powder coating a lot! I heard this unit runs fairly quiet for an air compressor and saw on its specs that it is putting out 80 dBs of 'noise', so I took my professional dB meter and read it at 77 dBs at 10 feet away. It was very tolerable to have it kick in while working. This unit runs at a low tone sound unlike those direct drive compressors. (I had a centralPneumatic 2.5hp 20g compressor and it drove me INSANE with its high tone noise level-which you HAVE to have ear protection for. I got rid of that one FAST!) I bought standard non-detergent SAE 3O weight to break this in for the first 50 hours of use and Dewalt Synthetic compressor oil for after the break in period. This will easily give you 7 CFM. It shuts off at 135PSI and kicks on at 100 PSI. that extra 10 PSI cap really helps with some air hungry tools. Having an ASME certified storage tank is great too for even using in small commercial shops too. Note this does not have a ball valve install on the tank. If you are wanting an air compressor this is really the best in its class with a great warranty too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real nice compressor and well made!

,
June 22, 2013
By DWheat9003
from Farmington Hills, MI
"Very pleased with this unit. Can't imagine what kinds of improvements could be made to such a well made compressor, it is very heavy duty. I like the durable black colored paint finish and everything else about it! The flywheel moves a lot of air like a well made fan to cool the pumps cylinders. It runs my impact gun like greased lightning and my blow gun too. If you buy this you'll be pleased for something in this true 2 H.P. class. I'd have to say this will last me a very, very, long time for sure! I put Valvoline 10W-30 in the pump and ran it for over an hour without letting it build air pressure to run in the pump, drained that oil and put Valvoline 10W-30 synthetic for the long haul. I see it say's use 30W but; this isn't going to cut it when running this in a severe cold climate as the motor would undoubtedly be under a severe strain due to the 30W oil being to thick, I would not suggest a straight weight. Oh and, I like the fact I can switch it over to 220 volts should the need arise and this compressor takes up little floor space besides. Glad I bought it!!!!! Thanks Northern"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't do it

,
June 18, 2013
By FB4004
from Bayville NY
"This machine takes 91 minutes to inflate to 135psi and another hour to recover once it kicks back on. They sent me 2 units thinking the first was defective. I tried to cut a 1/2 bolt using a cut-off tool and it depleted all the air and did not cut all the way through. I still can't think what I could possibly use this compressor for aside from airing tires or inflating pool toys. Don't believe the 5 star ratings and save yourself the trouble of buying and returning this unit"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-19points
7out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2nd time is a charm

,
June 9, 2013
By RKubi
from Lindenhurst, IL
"The first one of these compressors I received had problems with either the motor or compressor and would not start unless turning it over by hand a 1/4 turn. After the North Star tech blamed everything from the gauge wiring in my wall to the length of the circuit to the breaker, I returned that unit and got another one. The replacement unit works perfectly.
Overall its a very well-built and high quality machine and I would recommend it to anyone however if you happen to get a bad one don't necessarily give up on this make/model but I recommend exchanging the unit rather than dealing with North Star tech support."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality, Good Price!

,
April 27, 2013
By Daybo
from Memphis,Tn.
"After a long search and a lot of review reading. I settled on this compressor. I am glad I did!.I got tired of the China made products sold by big box stores. Direct drives that are so loud and not of good quality. This baby seems to do the job. Its Soooo Quite. You can tell by its feel that's its a well made product. It has a Puma pump. That is made right here in Memphis, Tn. They are of good quality. I hope to get a lot of good service from this machine. The online page of this product says it has a 4 year warranty. Which I printed and going to use in case it breaks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.