Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"

"FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"

Item# 25653
"Heavy-duty NorthStar compressors are built with durable cast iron V-twin pump with cast iron heads for good heat dissipation and no transfer of heat between cylinders. Belt drive oil-lubricated pump runs quietly and delivers long pump life. 20-gallon vertical tank is ASME certified. Built tough enough for commercial shops. Enough capacity to operate an air ratchet, impact wrench, siphon feed sand blaster, nibbler, nailer, air brush, touch-up spray gun and more. Includes portability kit with flat-free tires. CFM at 90 PSI 5.0, Tank Type Vertical, Duty Cycle 100, Pump Life hrs. 5,000, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, Air Tank Size gal. 20, Volts 115/230, HP 2, Drive Belt, Pump Material Cast iron, Amps 15/7.5, CFM at 40 PSI 6.0, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Working Pressure PSI 105-135, Noise Level dB 80, Motor RPM 3,440, Regulator Included Yes, Max. PSI 135. 2 HP 115V/230V 15/7.5 Amp dual voltage induction motor 2-cylinder cast iron single-stage pump Delivers 5.0 CFM @ 90 PSI 6.0 CFM @ 40 PSI Comes wired for 115V operation with a 6ft. cord and plug Can be rewired for 230V by a qualified electrician Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide effective heat dissipation and less moisture Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Dual voltage induction motor has low amp draw for easier starts Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength ASME certified 20-gallon tank can be used in commercial shops Durable metal belt guard won't break Built-in regulator controls air pressure to air tools 135 max. PSI Motor runs at 3,440 RPM Easy-start valve puts less stress on motor during cold weather starts Includes portability kit with steel wheels with ball bearings and flat-free solid tires for easy transport Extend your NorthStar pump warranty to 5 years with the purchase and use of a NorthStar start-up kit Item# 45933"
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
0
47 of 51(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
April 23, 2016
By
from Seattle, WA
This is a great compressor so far. I'm really impressed how quiet this is. I've had a 10 gallon harbor freight and this thing sounded quieter. Quality looks like it's well made. When I opened the box since it was sideways there was some oil that leaked. Also didn't come with oil so I had to add some before starting it but it started up just fine.
I had it shipped to my work because according to the website if I chose free shipping the freight truck driver is not liable to help and the truck will not have a liftgate.
I was expecting to un load this 200lb box with my coworkers but the driver unloaded everything, had a lift gate and had the box on a pallet unloaded for me!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 gal compressor

,
April 5, 2016
By
from Gladstone, MI
I use this compressor in my wood shop and it handles everything I do easily. I also have a 1 horse 3 gallon and it runs a lot. Not so with this one. It's also fairly quiet which is nice. It comes with very little assembly needed. I definitely would recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE ITEM

,
April 3, 2016
By
from NEW YORK
SO FAR I USED IT TWICE WITH NO PROBLEMS! TOOK SEVEN LUG NUTS OFF BEFORE IT KICKED ON.
SO FAR SO GOOD.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My "New-matic" toy

,
March 14, 2016
By
from Snellville, ga
This thing is great. By profession I am an industrial pneumatic specialist dealing in industrial automation. At home I like to work on my own vehicles when needed. A job came up that was going to have to go to a shop or use a compressor. Always wanted a real compressor at home so did the research and decided on this one, That's been about 1 year ago. Has worked well, quiet and quick recovery time. Perfect for the home mechanic and handyman, Using in a standard 20 amp wall socket with no problems. Other than saying go for it....also suggest letting them deliver....it's a heavy bugger to get out of a pickup.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
February 3, 2016
By
from NJ
Great price great delivery. Freight company was excellent and worked with me to find the right time to deliver. Easy to assemble and I am very impressed at its quality. It operates quietly and seems of excellent quality. I like the airless tires. It is portable yet powerful.
John
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use!

,
December 28, 2015
By
from Wausau, wi
The product came mostly assembled with just the wheels and a couple small things to put on. The process was very simple and with my bad back I had no trouble! Works great! Very pleased
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5.0 CFM Compressor

,
July 23, 2015
By
from Sunriver, OR
Very nice unit. Easy to set up and provides plenty of air, maintaining pressure despite heavy use. I had initially thought I would just use it as a portable unit (garage is 1200 s.f.), but the capacity appears to be sufficient to allow me to use a comprehensive distribution system. I don't use a lot of high volume tools, but when I do it is nice to be able to get relatively continuous use rather than the stop and go I was used to with my old compressor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little compressor.

,
July 8, 2015
By
from WV
First portable vertical tank compressor I have owned. Personal preference is a 220V instead of a 110V compressor and one of the factors in choosing this compressor is that it could be easily converted to 220V. That being said have been impressed by how quickly the compressor reaches max pressure and how quietly it operates.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong contender

,
June 10, 2015
By
from Texas
A solid little compressor.
It's being used in a nasty environment.
I believe it will last for years.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Impressions

,
June 3, 2015
By
from Kansas City
1. It's very heavy, The solid tires make it easier.
2. It is very rapid to recover.
3. It spins a torque wrench with authority
4. It comes with a female receptacticle which automatic, VERY COOL!
5. One gotcha, it doesn't come with oil. Boo on you!
Otherwise, it's a good piece of investment, you could do better, but not at the price of this model.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, decent air source

,
May 29, 2015
By
from Cape Cod
We use this in a bicycle shop for inflation and for blowing off parts. The first thing is this is quiet we run it in our work area, our shop vac is louder. It has enough volume that it doesn't run all of the time. It probably doesn't produce enough CFMs to spray with but should operate most air tools.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent compressor for the money

,
April 18, 2015
By
from NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall
--------------------------------
I am extremely satisfied with this air compressor. It meets my current and expected needs sufficiently. In general, my highest demand tool is an impact wrench used for working on cars at this time. After looking at quite a few compressors, I found this unit to be the best combination of build quality, features, capacity, warranty, and price. Are there better compressors out there, absolutely. But given my budget and usage, this one seemed the best fit. I have included much more detail below for those that are interested.
I purchased this unit in the store and had to remove it from the packaging to transport in my car. The staff at the store were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful during my purchase. Of note, the heavy end of the box is actually the top of the unit (where the pump and motor sit). This meant my unit was actually sitting upside down on the floor. This contributed to a small amount of oil that spilled, but despite being upside down, it was packaged well enough to not incur any damage. I can't fault the staff for this, as it is logical to place the box with the heavy side down. Northern Tool would be wise to stamp the box "This End Up" to prevent future spills.
As I use this compressor further, I will attempt to update this review in the future as appropriate.
Usage and Performance
--------------------------------
Time to fill 0 psig to 135 psig - 3:50
Time to fill 105 psig to 135 psig - 0:50
The unit came packaged in a box with the oil drained. As others have noted, these are apparently filled at the factory, tested, and then drained prior to packaging. Since my unit was packaged and sitting upside down on the showroom floor, there was some residual oil that spilled out. This was easily wiped up once it was unpacked. Assembly of the wheels was just a matter of two bolts.
The 30-minute break-in went as expected and following that I drained the oil. While this break-in oil change may not be required, oil is cheap and sure enough that first oil was a little dirty. The small extension on the oil drain plug is a nice touch from the factory and makes the oil change simple and clean. Other units I evaluated didn't have this nice touch.
Objectively, the compressor is still loud, but the tone of the sound is much more pleasing than my oil-free unit. Further, it is possible to carry on a conversation while standing right next to it (something not possible with my oil-free unit). All in all, it is much more tolerable than an oil-free, but don't expect whisper quiet. As the sound was right in line with my expectations, I didn't detract any "stars" based on sound.
Some have commented on vibrations associated with twin V pumps, but I found this unit to be very smooth and to have very little vibration. The wheels and rubber feet serve to isolate any vibration, and indeed, it vibrates much less than my ultra portable 2-gallon oil-free compressor.
I removed the included I/M-Style coupler from the regulator output and installed a Milton V-Style (high flow) coupler. The V-Style is backward compatible with the I/M-Style but provides a larger orifice for greater CFM (when using V-Style plugs). While this compressor is fairly small (both in tank and CFM), my goal was to provide as much air as possible to my tools for my limited use.
I am using a 50-foot 3/8" Goodyear rubber hose also fitted with Milton V-Style plugs and couplers. For my high CFM tools, I have fitted the V-Style plugs. I use I/M-Style plugs for all my other tools (nailers, blow guns, tire chucks, etc).
Using my Ingersoll Rand IR231HA impact wrench (on the 3/8" 50-foot hose with V-Style connections and starting tank pressure of 135 psig) I am able to remove all 20 lug bolts well before the tank drops to 105 psig and the pump starts (I estimate I could loosen about 25 bolts before it drops to 105 psig). Even then, it is fully charged to 135 psig in 50 seconds, so this amount of airflow is more than adequate for my usage. Your air requirements may vary, obviously. This is just an example of the performance I see in my setup and am extremely pleased with.
Similarity to Other Units
--------------------------------
In researching compressors, you quickly realize that many brands are assembled from the same components (tanks, motors, pumps, etc). In some cases, this can be largely verified with model numbers and parts diagrams. When specifically compared to other 20 gallon compressors sold by Northern Tool, this one seems to share many components. While I have no doubt there are a few minor differences, there was some reassurance to see some things the same (the tanks, for example, were stamped from the same certifier). This gave me some reassurance for future parts availability as well as being able to compare reviews on similar units. Basic components, such as regulators and gauges, did differ but those are easily upgraded if desired.
Deciding Factors
--------------------------------
I looked at a number of compressors before deciding on this one. My strict requirements were:
1) 120V motor (conversion to 240V was a nice to have)
2) Portable
3) Oil lubed
4) 20-30 gallon capacity
5) <$600
Pros
--------------------------------
In comparing against many others (including many big box home improvement store brands) I chose the NorthStar for the following reasons (in no particular order):
1) Build quality. The overall build quality of this unit (welds, tank, fittings, wheels, pump, motor, handles, etc) seems to be a notch above quite a few others and equal to some in the same price range. Many other units seemed to cut some corners with things like plastic belt guards (which also looked like they would restrict airflow), lesser quality wheels, and flexible tubing for the unloader valve. The oil drain plug extension (mentioned above) is a nice touch not found on many other units. The NorthStar also uses hard copper pipe for the unloader and also features fins on the discharge tube for additional cooling; things that were not present on a number of the cheaper units.
2) Twin V pump. While I have no scientific evidence, it would seem logical that the twin V pump would dissipate heat better than the inline two-cylinder pumps.
3) Warranty. 4 years versus 1, 2, or 3 for other units. In addition, close reading of the warranties indicates that the NorthStar warranty covers more for a longer time. Some of the other units offered 3 years overall (for example) but only 1 year on the motor. Read the warranties carefully.
4) Physical size. This unit fits in my garage very easily while still maintaining adequate airflow around the pump. While I could have found a way to make the larger units fit, this one tucks away very nicely especially since the handle is removable.
Cons
--------------------------------
I did have to give up certain features that other units offered. Though in practice, based on my usage today, these have not been detrimental at all:
1) Lower max psi. A few other units offered 155 psig max.
2) Lower tank capacity. A few other units offered 30 gallon tanks.
3) Higher weight. The NorthStar weighs more than some other units, but it remains portable and the weight seems a result of higher build quality.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial Impression is excellent!

,
April 3, 2015
By
from Olympia, WA
I've only had it a day, but my initial impressions are, it's excellent. No damage occurred during shipping to Washington State. Setup was fast and easy.
They fill these with oil at the factory, run them, drain the oil, and ship them. IOW, the first fill-and-drain has already been done.
I also have a different brand 2hp 8 gallon oil-filled compressor, which is like a child's toy compared to the NorthStar. Yes, the NorthStar costs a lot more, but it's worth it in the long run. It's a heavy duty air compressor that's built to last.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Insufficient air supply

,
March 27, 2015
By
from orlando, fl
This unit is great for light duty work. Put an impact gun on it and get ready to get bothered cause the unit will deplete rapidly and refill slowly. I only had the unit 1 month and used it 2 days and couldn't trade it for a bigger unit or get a refund. Overall the unit is of good quality and well made. I wouldn't recommend it for the serious do It yourselfer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice quiet compressor

,
February 16, 2015
By
from Iowa
Shipping was a little slow but arrived without issue. I did not pay for lift gate delivery and our road was icy so the delivery guy walked down to my house to get me and I drove my tractor up to his truck and offloaded the compressor with the bucket.
Set up was quick, attach wheels, handle and add oil. (I had already purchased oil in advance as they don't include any with the unit). Note: if you purchase their starter kit/extended warrantee it comes with synthetic oil but the manual clearly says not to use synthetic oil for the first 50 hours so you'll still need to purchase oil prior to first use. It Does come with air filters so you don't need to purchase those.
The compressor is very quiet compared to my old oilless craftsman. It works great and fits nicely in the corner of my garage. The gauges are big and easy to read. There is a pressure limit ring on the outgoing pressure gauge so that you can set it at the pressure you normally use and then if you set it to 0 when finished you can easily return to the set pressure by just turning the knob until it contacts the limit ring you previously positioned.
I only gave it 4 stars because I would have liked a larger tank. I'm not sure why nobody makes 110 volt compressors with large tanks for us home handymen. Not everyone has 220v outlets. I don't really need the portability but it does roll nicely on the solid tires and you don't have to worry about them going flat. It's also nice that the drain valve is offset to one side but I would prefer it to be int the front of the unit vs the back.
All in all I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend this to others.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
January 27, 2015
By
from Texas
This thing is awesome. It is quite, fills quickly, very well made, and performs better than expected.
I bought this compressor just for use around the house and it perfect for that.
I got at a sale price and it is worth every cent.
The shipping was really fast and it is very well boxed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Com

,
January 15, 2015
By
from Rockland County, NY
I have only had this compressor for 1 month so I cannot comment on its durability. I can tell you that it was delivered 5 days after I ordered it (during the holiday season). The packing job was excellent. No damage to the machine. It started right up and I have had no problems with the small jobs I have been doing. I also have a gasoline powered ( Honda) Northstar compressor for about a year. We use it on a field service truck daily and it runs like a champ. No complaints with either machine so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It looks good in my shop

,
November 26, 2014
By
from Haiti
This compressor is a smaller version of the units you see in machine shops or garages. It is well put together and the paint appears to be strong. I like the dryness of the compressed air compared to my tiny horizontal unit (which seemed to be connected to the well). Because we are off grid and run the compressor from a generator, I like that we can fill it to 135 psi and turn it off and it keeps the air in the tank all day, if not being used. One small problem: the starter capacitor blew the second time it was started. I had one in stock and NT offered me a new motor (had I been in the U.S.). Overall, very satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air compressor

,
November 22, 2014
By
from Texas
The air compressor is quite compared to other brands. The paint finish gives it a unique look and durability. The two tires don't reqiure air and are flat free. Overall works great at a very good price. I purchased the drive belt to replace a direct drive that went dead on me, and that made much more noise. Very happy with the purchase and operation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great compressor at reasonable cost

,
October 12, 2014
By
from Santa Rosa Valley, CA
So far the unit has met or exceeded my expectations. This in spite of there being delivery problems, a bent wheel bracket (easily fixed) - probably due to poor packaging and perhaps rough treatment by the shipper. As others have found, the air filter inlets were a bit off but function properly. Mechanically and functionally it's a great unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.