Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"

"FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"

Item# 25653
"Heavy-duty NorthStar compressors are built with durable cast iron V-twin pump with cast iron heads for good heat dissipation and no transfer of heat between cylinders. Belt drive oil-lubricated pump runs quietly and delivers long pump life. 20-gallon vertical tank is ASME certified. Built tough enough for commercial shops. Enough capacity to operate an air ratchet, impact wrench, siphon feed sand blaster, nibbler, nailer, air brush, touch-up spray gun and more. Includes portability kit with flat-free tires. Amps 15/7.5, Air Tank Size gal. 20, Drive Belt, Duty Cycle 100, HP 2, Max. PSI 135, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Drain System Manual, Portable or Stationary Portable, Pump Life hrs. 5,000, Stage 1, Motor Phases 1, Noise Level dB 80, Volts 115/230, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, CFM at 90 PSI 5.0, CFM at 40 PSI 6.0, Pump Cast iron, Tank Type Vertical, Working Pressure PSI 105 - 135, CFM at 135 PSI 4.2. 2 HP 115V/230V 15/7.5 Amp dual voltage induction motor 2-cylinder cast iron single-stage pump Delivers 5.0 CFM @ 90 PSI 6.0 CFM @ 40 PSI Comes wired for 115V operation with a 6ft. cord and plug Can be rewired for 230V by a qualified electrician Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide effective heat dissipation and less moisture Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Heavy-duty paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Dual voltage induction motor has low amp draw for easier starts Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption and longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength ASME certified 20-gallon tank can be used in commercial shops Durable metal belt guard won't break Built-in regulator controls air pressure to air tools 135 max. PSI Motor runs at 3,440 RPM Easy-start valve puts less stress on motor during cold weather starts Includes portability kit with steel wheels with ball bearings and flat-free solid tires for easy transport Extend your NorthStar pump warranty to 5 years with the purchase and use of a NorthStar start-up kit Item# 45933"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
33 of 36(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
January 27, 2015
By Busfreak
from Texas
" This thing is awesome. It is quite, fills quickly, very well made, and performs better than expected.
I bought this compressor just for use around the house and it perfect for that.
I got at a sale price and it is worth every cent.
The shipping was really fast and it is very well boxed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Com

,
January 15, 2015
By FrankD1
from Rockland County, NY
" I have only had this compressor for 1 month so I cannot comment on its durability. I can tell you that it was delivered 5 days after I ordered it (during the holiday season). The packing job was excellent. No damage to the machine. It started right up and I have had no problems with the small jobs I have been doing. I also have a gasoline powered ( Honda) Northstar compressor for about a year. We use it on a field service truck daily and it runs like a champ. No complaints with either machine so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It looks good in my shop

,
November 26, 2014
By JohnHaiti
from Haiti
" This compressor is a smaller version of the units you see in machine shops or garages. It is well put together and the paint appears to be strong. I like the dryness of the compressed air compared to my tiny horizontal unit (which seemed to be connected to the well). Because we are off grid and run the compressor from a generator, I like that we can fill it to 135 psi and turn it off and it keeps the air in the tank all day, if not being used. One small problem: the starter capacitor blew the second time it was started. I had one in stock and NT offered me a new motor (had I been in the U.S.). Overall, very satisfied. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air compressor

,
November 22, 2014
By Fonti
from Texas
" The air compressor is quite compared to other brands. The paint finish gives it a unique look and durability. The two tires don't reqiure air and are flat free. Overall works great at a very good price. I purchased the drive belt to replace a direct drive that went dead on me, and that made much more noise. Very happy with the purchase and operation. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great compressor at reasonable cost

,
October 12, 2014
By Rudyrat
from Santa Rosa Valley, CA
" So far the unit has met or exceeded my expectations. This in spite of there being delivery problems, a bent wheel bracket (easily fixed) - probably due to poor packaging and perhaps rough treatment by the shipper. As others have found, the air filter inlets were a bit off but function properly. Mechanically and functionally it's a great unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Air Compressor

,
September 3, 2014
By vxyz
from Tendoy,ID
" I recently purchased an air compressor from Northern Tool. The quality is excellent. It isn't really industrial grade but it is made to last. I would recommend this product to anyone. It is much better made than the one I previously had. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air compressor quality built

,
August 16, 2014
By PDB123
from West Chester, PA
" This is a quality built compressor, It is very quiet compared to other compressors I own. I like the design and this will serve my general air needs of my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Belt Drive Compressor

,
August 12, 2014
By willard221
from Corpus Christi, Texas
" I have always owned direct drive compressors in the past. I decided to step up to the belt drive and after performing alot of online research decided on the NorthStar 2HP 20 Gal. Very easy setup and I was very impressed by the qulaity workmanship of this compressor. After adding oil it started right up and man is it quiet! There was damage to the belt cage but after a call to Northern Tool I got a replacement in 2 days. I highly recommend this compressor and appreciate the great customer service of Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is it! Best cost benefit there is!

,
July 25, 2014
By OllieFraga
from Virginia Beach, VA
" If you are reading this you are probably doing some research on what to buy with your money. Folks, this is it. The initial quality of this air compressor is superior in every aspect. Even the flat free tires is just a nice touch. Every detail was just designed with longevity and endurance in mind. I am thoroughly impressed with this product. If you are in the fence for a compressor you will be happy with this one.
I honestly tried to find something bad about it but there is NONE.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

nnn

,
July 11, 2014
By kola
from newark, md
" compressor works well in 115 volt mode but when rewired for 230 volt mode would not work. I am experienced in electrical wiring and the support staff was no help. wanted 230 volt unit but stuck with 115 volt. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too loud for so little cfm output.

,
June 30, 2014
By kinematic
from MA
" Anyone who has owned a real air compressor will be displeased with this one if the intention is to use it in a shop. It is LOUD. It barks sharply, like a 50 cal machine gun. It really is impossibly loud and requires noise suppression. I use this to run my CNC milling machine tool changer, so it sees little CFM usage which is why I thought it might be a good choice.
I have owned 80 gal 5 hp IR compressors that were not this loud. It also seems to take a long time to fill the small tank but maybe because the ear splitting sound makes it seem longer.
I wish I had bought a full size unit for a for a few hundred more bucks. you've been warned! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and compact compressor

,
June 8, 2014
By Sodbusters
from Ouray, Co.
" So far I'm very pleased with the performance. I added oil closed the drain (which is conviently placed for easy access) and plugged it in. No leaks detected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Quiet!

,
June 2, 2014
By ADT82
from Brush Prairie, WA
" I have this air compressor in my car/wood shop and works great with all my air tools.(die grinder, 3/8" air ratchet, 1/2" impact, needle scaler and etc.) great buy and warranty! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Control

,
May 4, 2014
By hiflyer
from Connecticut
" My only issue with the compressor pump. When attempting to install the inlet filters, to my disappointment, the alignment was off by a considerable amount. This in no way affects the operation, more of a manufacturing defect of the compressor heads. Other than that, it would rated a 5 star. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Sweet Little Air Compressor!

,
February 4, 2014
By CletusBleeker
from Western Great Lakes
" My NorthStar compressor was delivered by common carrier the week before Thanksgiving, 2013. Even though its shipping weight is 204 lbs, the deal Northern offered to me at the time included FREE SHIPPING! This was a significant cost savings right up front!
All the parts were included and only minor assembly was required. I filled its crankcase with a good NON-DETERGENT SAE-30 motor oil and followed the initial break-in procedure as recommended in the owner's manual. Although this compressor is designed to be portable, I have a dedicated spot for it in my shop and have installed a 1/2" black steel pipe system with quick disconnect fittings at each of my four work stations. I used a 3/8" X 3' Goodyear jumper hose with Milton quick disconnect fittings (all purchased from Northern) to connect between my shop's compressed air line and the compressor. The jumper hose isolates vibration from the compressor and by disconnecting it, allows easy movement of it the compressor if needed.
It's now February and I'm pleased to report that my NorthStar compressor indeed continues to perform flawlessly. It will hold pressure at 125 p.s.i. for weeks on end between demands, yet keep-up easily with the demand for compressed air whenever my shop operations require it to.
In addition, for a reciprocating piston type air compressor, this one runs quieter than others I've had to work near. All air compressors make noise, but listening to the sustained pulse of this one is tolerable.
Just as I said here at the top, this is ONE SWEET LITTLE AIR COMPRESSOR!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great So Far

,
February 4, 2014
By MyAno
from CA
" I initially had reservations about ordering this product on-line. Since there are no Northern Tools stores in the area, I went ahead with the purchase and was happy with their service. Delivery was quick, efficient and undamaged. The unit works great and seems very well made. My only small gripe is they should include oil for initial start up. The unit is very quiet compared to direct drive units. I'm running this off a 15amp 110V outlet and it works, no problems. So, far this is a well made and highly recommended product. I would also highly recommend Northern Tools as an on-line vendor for those not close to a retail store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By Afugazifan
from Cincinnati, OH
" Before purchasing this compressor I did a lot of research. My primary use is for DIY auto work, and I had to have a compressor that would take lug nuts off with ease. I was concerned I would need something bigger but really didn't want the added cost and hassle of running 230v in my garage. I pulled the trigger on this compressor and was nervous about how it would perform. My worries were quickly put to ease. I've had the compressor now for a few months and have done several tire rotations, brake jobs, and misc. work. The compressor is much more quiet than I expected and I'm taking lug nuts off with my 3/8' Blue Point impact no problem. Very happy with my purchase. One last comment, the warranty and price on this model is the reason I didn't go with the comparable IR unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch Compresssor

,
February 4, 2014
By lietva
from Southern Indiana
" I've had this compressor for about a year now.
Plenty of air for nail guns and paint spray gun. Surprisingly quiet - much, much quieter than the typical big box store direct drive units.
No leakdown either. It will sit for days when not in use and not lose any pressure.
The only problem I've seen is that the kick on pressure is set a little too low, so the tank pressure drops about 20 psi before kicking on.
This unit seems to be identical to the IR and Puma. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By CourtFloors
from Buffalo, NY
" I've bought two of these for our crew who installs Squash & Racquetball courts. Our old Emglo's couldn't keep up with some of our younger guys running flooring staplers. So far, the guys say they're keeping up just fine while running 3 staplers, and are just as quiet as the Emglo's. Much easier to move around by yourself than the wheelbarrow style. Would recommend to anyone looking for a medium to heavy duty portable unit with higher volume requirements. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.0 CFM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor burned out

,
November 12, 2013
By PMdoc
from Texas
" Motor burned out after three months of use. Had no backup so bought a new motor and swapped it out. Northern tool is replacing the motor. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.