Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade

Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade

Item# 2570501
"The Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade lets you split logs into four pieces with a spherical striking face that provides a centered and efficient blow. Notches prevent it from popping out of the log mid-split. Length in. 7, Material Steel, Application Splitting. Easy to hit spherical striking face Splits logs into four pieces Durable steel construction Notches prevent slippage Sharp point for easy starts Diamond shaped"
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Review 1 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade

,
November 19, 2014
By Shrtteth
from PA.
" Best log wedge I ever used. Will split the toughest logs you have. My mall would bounce off of logs that the Grenade easily split in half. Great tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best log splitting wedge

,
November 7, 2014
By POOG
from Columbus ,Ohio
" I like splitting by hand and have had trouble with logs with knots. Not any more! this wedge starts easier than any one I've ever had and will split what ever you drive it into. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck splitting grenade

,
November 6, 2014
By MBTF
from Whitefish, MT
" Works good on even wet wood, but make sure that the the tip is at least 1/3 buried in a round before really hitting it hard. I broke about 1" off tip by not hitting it straight but good news, it has lifetime guaranty replaced
free with just a phone call and no mail-back of broken
article.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not a miracle product

,
October 6, 2014
By taldon
from Roberta Georgia
" This product works well as far as starting it into a log , it does not as implied split the log four ways but in an unusual shape instead of evenly on both sides . If you think hitting this into a chunk of wood is like a grenade going off you better have an actual grenade in your back pocket ready to go off when you strike the wedge, to get any really big surprises, but it does fair with a lot of brute force "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best of show

,
September 17, 2014
By handylamb
from hastings on hudson, ny
" We have an ongoing contest in our small village for chopping wood. Everyone has their own way (that is best). I now have my own way, with the roughneck log splitting grenade. It works wonders. I use it both with a sledge hammer and the back of my maul. I like the sledgehammer the best as it doesn't seem to spring back as much, doesn't seem to feel like as much metal on metal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitting grenade

,
February 5, 2014
By char54
from russell ny
" I bought for my husband, who has Copd. He loves it he can sit in a chair and split wood with ease. It helps with his lungs cause of the energy needed to use. So he is getting good therapy. Really cant find any fault with this product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes splitting wood more fun!

,
February 4, 2014
By Brian4texas
from Huntsville, Tx
" This spike is easy to use and makes breaking up rounds fun and enjoyable. Progress in breaking up wood is made with each square strike to the grenade. Saves time and energy. I was so impressed with this product I bought one for my brother in law. Good buy. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Wood Grenade Is The Best Splitter Ever!

,
September 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from Cedar Grove, NC
" Purchased this splitting wedge a few weeks ago and have been using it since then with amazing success! Prior to this I was using a Fiskars wood splitting axe. The Grenade works better and with less effort. Takes a licking and keeps on splitting! Another plus is that it is made in Taiwan (much higher quality than Chinese!). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Log Splitting Grenade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Wedge/log splitter out there

,
July 9, 2012
By Notclick
from South East
" This has to be the best wedge that I've used. It splits wood as it should. This wedge does not get lodged/stuck in the wood, it breaks free every time. No sense in holding your wood when this wedge does what its designed to do, split wood. No need to lose any fingers in the process either :-) It stays in place thanks to the smart design. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.