Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803

Item# 258000
This 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler is a heavy-duty steel hauler designed with a 3-pt. tractor connection for added versatility. U.S.A. Category Type 1, Capacity lbs. 2,500, Hitch Type 3-pt., Box Size W x D in. 6ft.W x 4ft.D. 2500-lb. carrying capacity Swing-down tailgate Easy full-body dump 6ft.W x 4ft.D
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
7 of 12(58%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Review 1 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Initial Review

,
November 16, 2010
By rabidbeaver
from Massena, NY
" Overall the item is very useful. The pins for the lower three pt hitch attachment are not tightened down you will need to do this. I use it for fire wood and find it is much easier to use in the tight woods then a trailer. The release for the dump feature is not greatest quality. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be great. Manufacturer is not helpful.

,
February 23, 2010
By 1sleeper
from Ardmore, OK
" Hauls a big load and easily dumps. Works well with my compact utility tractor. EXCEPT... it does not hook up to a class 1 3-point hitch without significant lengthening of the upper link. The upper attachment point of the hauler is way behind the vertical plane drawn from the lower links and is only 15 inches above them. Forget trying to use a quick hitch with this hauler. The only way to make this hauler usable involves significant welding and alteration of the upper link attachment. I asked the mfg for guidance in altering this hauler but the company is no help in trying to figure out how to make this hauler usable. Their answer is to just adjust the upper arm EVERY TIME you want to use it. Of course then you have to put it back for everything else. Every other implement I have works at one basic setting. Why can't this? If not for attachment issues, I would give it 4 stars instead of 5 because some type of decking must be added to carry dirt and debris. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

3pt hitch hauler

,
September 10, 2009
By jungleman
from Algonac, Michigan
" The first time that I used it the bracket for the top link pulled off.(poor penetration on the weld) The second time that I used it the frame that the bracket was welded to bent. It needs additional reinforcments. If you want to use it you have to reinforce it at your own expense. The unit is too big to just take it some where to fix it without a trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 3-Point Tool

,
August 15, 2008
By OakDale
from Iowa
" This hauler turns your tractor into a dump-bed pickup truck and it is easier to back up than a trailer.
If you have a tractor with a 3-point hitch and don't have one of these, you're missing out on one of the handiest things I've ever found. I nearly spent $4500 on a pickup dump bed insert. Bought this instead, and WOW! is it useful. Not only does it take the place of a pickup insert, it also is handier to use in the woods, etc. than a trailer. Plus, it goes 'up and down' with your hydraulic system. We use it to pick fruit from our orchard by just backing up to the tree and 'up periscope!' to pick. No ladders, safe and the fruit boxes are right there in the bed ready to haul to the shed. When we do need a ladder, we lean it against the hauler box - much more stable. If you can't tell, I just love this little unit.
I ordered this attachment before I read the online reviews. Glad I did. If I had read them first, I might not have bought one. I wanted it to haul firewood and heavy landscape materials. The thought of bending and twisting would have put me off. It is strong and I have not had any problems. Let me offer my experience as to what might be the cause of these complaints:
When mine arrived, the 3-point attachment pins were only put in 'finger tight.' In addition, the punched holes they fit through were pretty big - sloppy fit. These pins must be torqued down really tight! If they are not really tight, they will 'bend' or shift position in their holes. Mine had the additional metal plate welded on to reinforce the steel, so I have had no problems with bending or distortion and I've had it LOADED. But again - TIGHTEN down those hitch pins!!!
I lined the inside of mine with plywood, and put a plywood liner on the tailgate, too. I left the mesh wire in the bottom open, as this helps it 'self clean' when I haul wood. When I want to haul sand, I just lay another piece of plywood on the floor and go for it. I agree with another reviewer, the tailgate isn't handy. I attached chains to it so I can position it anywhere I want and still have it strong. Might be a nice add-on from the mfr, but that would make it cost more, and then I might not have bought it!
One caution: I have loaded mine completely full with green oak. HEAVY. Don't have any idea what the actual weight was, but again, HEAVY. The hauler did just fine, but I didn't have any front-end weight on my old Farmall M, and it wanted to come up. So, unless you have a loader or some front-end weight, be careful with it loaded and going uphill, or you could get an unwanted thrill. With my loader on, it never offers to 'unbalance'.
This hauler is another tractor implement - use common sense with it and be safe. But again, if you have a tractor and don't have one of these, you're not getting all the use out of your tractor you could. I wonder how I ever got along without it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

CARRY-ON 3PT. HITCH HAULER

,
August 12, 2008
By WIREMAN58
from WASHINGTON STATE
" After using the carry-on for a few months, I found the over-all quality of workmanship to be very poor. The frame (3pt. hook-up) and the cage are not straight with each other. The second problem is that the tailgate will not fold all the way down, it stops at about a 60` angle.
I had to cut the cage down to about 52" wide inorder to travel down the side of my home, I cut about 7" from each side. This is my problem because of the narrow path I have to use, it is not ment as a problem with the manufacturer.
However, I cannot recommend this product because of the lack of quality in the manufacturing process.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Craftsmanship

,
May 21, 2008
By EdMichigan
from Michigan
" Excellent Hauler. Welds are excellent; unit is substantial; makes my 50 8N a versatile, easily maneuverable piece of equipment. Would like to see a mesh screen in tail gate, otherwise a 5 star hauler. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

usefull

,
January 21, 2008
By elroy
from VANCE MS
" USEFUL TOOL! BUT MANUFACTOR HARD TO DEAL WITH,MINE ARRIVED WITH NO TAILGATE PINS! CALLED MANUFACTOR THEY WERE TOTALLY LOST BUT DID SEND HITCHPINS. ALL AROUND NICE FOR A LOT OF USES.MADE MY OWN GATEPINS SO NO PROBLEMS. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

,
November 2, 2007
By dan07
from st.louis mo.
" very slow delivery( 3 1\2 weeks) tailgate kinda light bent hinges on first couple loads otherwise a handy tool "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The improved Version

,
August 20, 2007
By Rich777
from SW Florida
" After reading the previous reviews I was hesitant to purchase this unit but was so taken by the idea and design, I had to have one. So... I called the company to express my dismay at the reviews here and asked them about it. The designer/tester told me he would look into it. He called me back about a week later and told me the testing was done and the bottom pin area was beefed up with heavy plates of steel and that it should rectify any previous buckling issues that it had. I ordered one immediately and sure enough, his description of the redesigned area was plainly apparent. He also told me that all of the units would be retrofitted to include this fix. I LOVE this Hitch Hauler and would recommend it to anyone looking to move stuff around without the hassle of a tralier. I will be adding a plywood floor for hauling some dirt and gravel around though. This thing is a great addition to your three point tool chest and it won't dissapoint! Godspeed! Rick <>< "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only Okay

,
December 31, 2006
By FayerweatherFarmer
from Mendon, MA
" As written in another review, the lower 3 pt pins bent their mounts almost immediately, and once loaded really twisted the metal. Will probably return it rather than spend time and money on a welder! Thought it would be good for moving manure, but too weak to cut it..... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem with 3-Pt carry on hitch hauler Model #803

,
November 16, 2006
By Jimmer
from upper Michigan
" To offten a good design goes astray when it is fabracated. Corners get cut, thinner material is used, reinforcements are eliminated, in the name of "making it fot less". This may be what happened in the production of the 3-pt hitch hauler. The problem I'm experiencing is in the attachment of the two lower hitch pins. As you can see by the design, the upper hitch pin is in tension while the lower two are in compression. The upper pin is mounted between two angle iron brackets. A strong arrangment. However the lower pins are bolted through the web of 4" X1" channel iron. The forces on this attachment are significant due to the 4 foot length of the dump box! Both pins bent back, distorting the channel web, toward the dump box, from forces developed by driving down my bumpy driveway with no load in the box! I plan on fixing this by welding a 4x12x1/4 reinforcement plate on the out side of each mounting channel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler, Model# 803
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3-Pt. Hitch Hauler Handy!

,
November 16, 2006
By JayDubya
from Northern Rural NY State
" I ordered the Carry-On Trailers 3-Pt. Hitch Hauler(Model# 803) thinking it would be handier than a trailer in the woods. Since it is attached to the tractor' s 3-point hitch, there's no trailer to worry about when turning or backing on narrow wood roads. I also figured the lift and dump capabilities of this unit would be very handy in working in the woods and around the place in general.
When the unit arrived I was first impressed by the solid construction and large uverall size. It impressed me as definately not a "toy".
About as soon as I attached it to the hitch points on my small 4WD utility tractor, a Ford-New Holland 1520, and leveled it up I could see infinite uses ahead. The Hitch Hauler has a locking drop down tailgate, so it's easy to get it right down to ground level and roll on akward log sections, stones, or other heavy loads. The dump function, which requires only the addition of a short length of trip rope works great, too.
With a capacity of 1.25 tons, and no extra axle, this beats a utility trailet hands down! I give it 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.