Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green

Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green

Item# 26169
Patterned after the U.S. Armed Forces legendary steel ammo box, this 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D dry box is ideal for both commercial and industrial applications. Extra-thick-walled copolymer construction stands up to extreme weather and rough handling. Foam rubber lid gasket seals out moisture. Reinforced steel pin hinge system. Heavy-duty lockable steel bar latch keeps contents safe. Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 1/2 x 15 x 8, Handles qty. 1, Product Type Dry box, Handle Type Recessed, Includes Steel pin hinge system, Material Copolymer, Color Olive green, Handle Included Yes, Lock Type Steel bar latch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Review 1 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

I wouldn't Submerge It

,
October 8, 2012
By JackieJack
from Austin, TX
"Cheap gasket/grooves that don't inspire confidence as being water or humidity proof.
However, if you need a box to keep your phone or gps in while it is raining at the deer stand, it'll do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sports Utility Dry Box 15x6 5x8 #26169

,
April 20, 2012
By sd40james
from Pennsylvania
"I ordered two of these boxes. One box the latch didn’t snap closed and the other had a small hole in the bottom one side was warped and the foam gasket doesn’t make contact with the lid when closed.
They got me….
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sport Utility Dry Box

,
October 10, 2011
By BandC
from Santa Fe, NM
"This product is well constructed, strong, light weight and rust proof. I have the military "ammo cans" but they require maintenance for rust prevention and are heavy. This product offers the same utility without the maintenance and weight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

This Dry Box is ok, but nothing special

,
October 10, 2011
By AlInSD
from Vermillion, South Dakota
"The box is sturdy and lightweight but the seal is not tight on either of the two boxes I purchased. It certainly doesn't seal as well as surplus ammo cans do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great storage at a great price!

,
March 19, 2011
By Bret
from Chowchilla, California
"I bought some of these last year for storing my Powers series 1 & 2 honing fixtures. The boxes worked out great for that and are holding up perfect so I bought a few more of them this year for storing adapters, fixtures and other Gunsmith tooling. The only flaw I can find is the foam strip they use as a gasket, I'm pretty sure they would leak if exposed to the elements. I gave only 4 stars because of that sorry little gasket but for my use they are perfect."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent box

,
March 14, 2011
By Sanpitch
from Utah
"The boxes are sturdy, well built, stackable and usable as storage. I purchases two of these and two of the taller ones for my kids to store the toys, art supplies, or junk. It has helped to reduce some of the clutter. I plan on buying some more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the size

,
June 3, 2010
By GBrown
from Phoenix, AZ
"I have four of these boxes and will most likely buy more. I like the 1/2 size compared to the normal ammo boxes. This size allows you to get to the bottom without dumping everything out. Also when this one is full you don't pull a mussel trying to lift it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid yet Light Dry Storage Utility Box

,
October 19, 2009
By Snapshot
from Sussex County, NJ
"I purchased this water tight, solid lockable storage box a couple of months ago to transport ammunition in, to take to the range. This box is perfect. It's made of a thick solid plastic fiber that allows it to hold heavy items, which in my case, is up to 15 lbs. of ammo. Yet the box is very light for it's size, making it so much easier to use (verses the old military ammo box I used to use, that weighed a ton with a few boxes of ammo in it). It has a rubber seal along the lid, which keeps the moisture out, and the lid can be locked down with padlocks at the corners of the container. If needed, I can fit up to 12 boxes of ammo in this box, and don't have to worry about it breaking or the seal not properly functioning. I plan on buying another one of these boxes soon. Get them while they're hot!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ammo Box

,
July 14, 2009
By Daleman
from New Jersey
"Nice for stacking. I keep them in my truck. Thay have pretty decent seal from the envirement. can't beat the price. Had them for about a year and they are holding up well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenient size. Useful.

,
March 16, 2009
By Alan129
"I've purchased 4 or 5 of these over the past few years to give as gifts and use myself. They aren't totally waterproof and will let in moisture in heavy rain but they are much better than a normal toolbox. I use mine on a trailer to hold bungee cords and a couple on my ATV to hold misc. stuff. I'm satisfied with their performance."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DRY BOX

,
November 18, 2008
By DEERSLAYER1
from NJ
"EXCELLANT PRODUCT VERY TUFF AND DURABLE. I USE THIS ITEM FOR MY MUZZELOADER PELLETS AND BULLETS"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sport Utility Dry Box - 6 1/2in.L x 15in.W x 8in.D, Without Tray, Green
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 11, 2008
By smedley
from Butler Pa.
"I needed a water proof box to carry on my ATV for tools, winch accessories, tow strap, ect. I wanted something light weight, water proof and not too large. The SPORT UTILITY DRY BOX fit the bill perfectly! It seals tight, has a strong secure latch, and was just the right size for my ATV rack."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.