Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt

Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt

Item# 265600
This Pond kit is the ideal backyard pond system for family enjoyment. Comes in 2 plastic parts - a 2ft. x 3ft. cascade unit and a 39-1/2 in. L x 29.0 in.W x 11 in D pre-formed pond. Includes 170 GPH energy-efficient pump, 1 water conditioners, tubing for cascade, starter bacteria and instructions. Easy to install. Volts 110, Dimensions L x W x H ft., in. 39 1/2 in. x 29in x 11in., Length ft. 8, Includes 2 ft. x 3 ft. cascade unit, GPH 170, Tube Size in. 1/2, Cord Length ft. 10. Filter Built Into Pump 3 Prong Plug Energy Efficient Magnetic Drive Grounded Outdoor Pump Tubing 1/2in. Black Vinyl Tubing 8ft. Long Instructions Included
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Review 1 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, fun pond

,
June 13, 2011
By BackyardHandyman
from Laredo, Texas
"I received this pond last year as a gift. It's easy to install. Dig a hole about 12-inches deep at the deep end and even off all the dug holes with sand. We put paving stones around the rim in preparation of paving the rest of the area, so the pool's weight rests mainly on the sand at the bottom and side walls of the hole. The edge rests atop the paving stones. The dug-out dirt we piled at one end for the waterfall.
The instructions were lacking, and I went online to look for instructions of similar products before I started. It took parts of two days to finish what we have done.
You get a lot for the price, and since I have a small back yard this small pond fits well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pond

,
June 10, 2011
By PDunn
from Elmira, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Was very concerned that it was gonna be to small for area..but when it came it was a lot bigger than expected...works great in a small area...my neighbors are always coming over to check it out...and it took about 3 hours to put it in and put rocks around it and plant the plants...we put in 4 koi fish and they love it..the only downside is it should come with a small filter...so we just made one for about $12.00...(as you can see in the picture)...shipping was excellent only took about 3 days...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy & Instant Water Paradise

,
August 23, 2010
By birdlover19
from Berkshires, MA
"Easy & Instant Paradise
When a big box arrives in the mail, it's immediately intimidating. In this case, it was light and opening it revealed the simplicity of the Cascade and Pond Kit's easy-to-assemble and realistic design. Inside, were two large plastic forms, plus the pump, tubing and even chemicals that can be added to control algae if the pond is to be home to fish. The directions were also very easy- to- understand.
Since the dimensions of the Cascade and Pond Kit were as advertised, the preparations we made in advance of the kit's arrival allowed us to immediately put it in place, fill it with water and plug it in. Instantly we had a waterfall and pond in our back yard that we and our birds and other assorted wildlife loved!
Then came the fun part -- placing the rocks we had selected in advance and moving them around to create the desired serene effect. What is incredible about this Cascade and Pond Kit is the gentle movement of the water, which babbles just like the real thing. Unlike many faux waterfalls and ponds I have seen in neighbors’ yards, this "brook" really teases the viewer into believing it's real. In fact, many of our guests, actually think it is real – the compliments flow like the water over the pre-formed rocks.
How I would clean it was one of my main concerns in advance of purchasing the kit. But cleaning is effortless! After I use a sprayer on a garden hose to clean off the rocks and form, I place the hose in the pond to push out any other debris, while I use an aquarium net to scoop out any big leaves or sticks.
If you had a "Better than Imagined" category, I would have selected it.
You will not be disappointed if you buy the Cascade and Pond Kit.
Enjoy!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little 'peace' of Zen.......

,
May 7, 2010
By Heather777
from Delray Beach, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I had researched ponds over several months, as I am a single woman, on a tight budget, with a new mortgage. The average pond kit does not come with the chemicals, and has a squirting tube of water in the center, not the cascade 'waterfall effect' I wanted, and costs around $169. This kit came with everything, and was the perfect size for the atrium in the center of my place. I am 39 years old, and work 8-5 M-F, yet managed to install this after work by myself, within two nights - SO EASY! (could be done in 2-3hrs - from digging to running water, plant installation, & placement of flagstone, if I worked straight). I have 6 fish in there, and a couple of live plants. Everyone LOVES it - It's been a month now, and still AWESOME - no issues. ** I want to make clear though, that my atrium has a screen over it - if you're going to have fish, critters/birds might be an issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pond

,
February 15, 2010
By kitcat
from Holly MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This pond was very easy to install and the price was right!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good item

,
January 29, 2010
By snowshoebrue
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"the pond kit is easy to install and looks good also. i bought this pond to blend the rocks from my rc rockcrawler course to the yard and it works great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cascade and Pond Kit

,
November 2, 2009
By Sfer
from Westphalia, MO
"Very easy to install. Everything one needs come with kit. It is a project that can be accomplished in a weekend by an inexperience landscaper. Great price. Other similar kits cost $100 more than this kit. Has many ways that it can be set up to accomadate a person's wishes and desires"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
September 3, 2009
By fondofponds
from Baton Rouge, LA
"We purchased this pond before our backyard party. We are completely satisfied with our purchase. Easily installed and filled in a couple of hours. We have had numerous coments on how beautiful it is, as it completes our garden. Thanks for offering such a nice product at a very great price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fine quality, easy to use, works great

,
July 13, 2009
By dndspec1
from norman, ok
"Have shopped around for this item and this is the best quality I could find at this price. Northern shipped quickly and it has been up and running providing water for the little animals in our backyard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to the garden

,
June 30, 2009
By HMBTurboT
from Whitehouse Station, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a small area that was really ugly. I bought this kit, dug the hole, bought some plants and now have a nice little tropical retreat. Still have to do some stone work and need to figure out a few more things, but this is the perfect size for someone wanting a water feature. It's only the basics, pond, cascade and all the pump/fountain parts, but well worth it and works great! I ordered it and it was here a few days later. Before you do anything, sit down, try and get a vision of what you want and make a plan! I recommend this kit from Northern, rather than driving around searching for everything...Enjoy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden pond

,
August 18, 2008
By AlbanyAnne
from ALBANY NY
"I love this little pond . It was soooo easy to install .but the effect in my very little garden is awsome . Love sitting ,watching the birds bathe in the water fall section . I put small stones there so the birds can use it . Love the sound of the water fall , it's so soothing .
Yes I would recomend this pond , with very little effort you can greate a little oasis in your back yard .
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great! Easy to install Pond Kit!

,
August 11, 2008
By kroup
from Montello, Wisconsin
"This Pond Kit is very light weight, it's easy to install, and is a great addition to any yard! The amount of birds around my house has doubled since I installed this Pond, so it is Great for the bird lovers out there! I highly recommend this to everyone even the beginner!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pond

,
April 20, 2008
By August
from west milford, NJ
"Super easy to install, comes with everything needed. Just a nice,easy to care for size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cascade and Pond Kit - 170 GPH, 110 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pond dreams

,
October 29, 2007
By bethybea
from PA
"My mom wanted a pond for years and I got her this one. It is low maintenance and it fits into her property wonderfully. The soft sound of the water and the atmosphere it portrays makes her smile. It was inexpensive and like I said it is low maintenance. It was also easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.