Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"

"Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"

Item# 26681
"This Scepter 5-gallon polyethylene gas can is a crush-resistant, high-density polyethylene fuel container with an environmentally friendly design. EPA/CARB approved. Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 9 1/2 x 14 4/5, Tank Size gal. 5, Material Polyethylene, Application Gasoline storage, transfer, Color Red, Handle Type Top to side, Handles qty. 1, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes. Eco Spout with built-in child-safe safety lock Specially designed spout offers a flow rate of up to 2 GPM Spring-loaded action with auto closure to eliminate spills No buttons to push, leaving your hands free to hold the fuel container 5-gal. capacity"
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 of 15(73%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Review 1 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

,
May 3, 2016
By
from Cleveland, oh
This is the worst gas can I've ever owned, and I can't wait to take it back to the store and ask for my money back. If you tighten the cap nothing comes out and if you loosen it a bit the gas runs out the side. I just spent 5 minutes pouring two gallons of gas in my car plus another gallon on the driveway. Whoever designed it never tried using it. Worthless junk.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handle placement

,
January 2, 2016
By
from 01462
The handle is the best part, makes balancing when pouring easier.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
By ScepterCustomerServiceJanuary 12, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you are satisfied with the fuel can and appreciate your comments.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can

,
December 29, 2015
By
from NC
It is a good gas can once you remove the problematic nozzle parts. Once you remove all those parts the nozzle performs well and gas pours like an old gas can without any problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceJanuary 11, 2016
We DO NOT RECOMMEND that you alter the spout in ANY WAY as unauthorized modifications can create a safety hazard.
In addition, in the USA gas cans must have certain features to meet EPA requirements. We can send you a new spout to replace the one that has been modified, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-387-6018 for that purpose.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Watch nozzle video, works great

,
December 8, 2015
By
from Salt Lake City
After using this can I decided that the lock out nozzle was a bad design and didn't work. I then just took the whole assembly off and used it to pour. After watching the video on how it works its completely clear. The problem is in addition to twisting to unlock, you need to pull the spout out to get gas flowing. Works like a charm but for some reason the written instructions on the jug did not convey that simple point. Seems like the people who just have the jug can't figure it out (me included), but the video explains it. Maybe update the written description
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceDecember 14, 2015
Our apologies but we do not understand your comment that you need to pull the spout out to get the gas flowing.
For your convenience and safety we have included the instructions and video link below. Please review at your earliest convenience and call us toll free at 1-800-387-6018 if you have any questions.
1. To unlock the spout, turn the green/yellow ring to the right toward the UNLOCK SYMBOL until you hear a “click”
2. Insert the spout in to the fuel tank to be filled, resting one of the spout hooks on to the edge of the fuel tank opening in order to anchor the spout.
3. Push the can downward. This will open the internal valve and allow the fuel to flow out through the spout. Note – Any time you remove the downward pressure, the green/yellow ring will return to the locked position and step one will need to be repeated.
4. When finished filling, remove the spout. The green/yellow ring will automatically return to the locked position.
All of the steps above must be repeated each time the spout is used.
http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity,

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Dallas,TX
Gas can itself is pretty standard poly construction. Not wild about the nozzle having to be "activated" by pressing against the lip of the receiving fuel tank or container - awkward especially when the gas can is full and heavy. Gas can is not vented making filling another container or fuel tank slow and sloppy if you're not paying close attention when the gas surges.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design for the spout...

,
June 17, 2015
By
from Fredericksburg, VA
Bought 2 of these on sale and used them last week. You must be very careful when you tighten nozzle on to jug after filling up with gas. The lock will twist and break if you are not careful. Finally just ripped out the innards to make it pour well. Not bad for the price, just wish they were a bit more heavy duty.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceJune 18, 2015
Hello and thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our cans. We have a included a link to our online instructions for the Eco-Spout. http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use/
We don't recommend that you continue using your spouts if you have altered them as this increases your risk of unwanted spills. If you contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 between the hours of 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM EST, we'd be happy to offer you a replacement spout. Thank-you again for your review and enjoy the rest of your day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gas Can

,
May 27, 2015
By
from PA
Got these on sale.. Great product for the money! Was thinking of buying the big gas Caddy but for the same price you can get 2x amount of fuel on hand for major power outage or emergencies! plus its easy to transport! Great product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 28, 2015
Hi, and thank-you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you are happy with the cans. If you are looking for more information on our fuel caddy, you can visit our website at: www.scepter.ca or contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 between the hours of 8:30 - 5:00 EST Monday through Friday. We'd be happy to answer any questions you may have. Thank-you again and have a great day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Gas carrier

,
May 24, 2015
By
from Finger Lakes, NY
I put gas in it and it did not leak or splash out.
Poured the gas into the mower's gas tank.
And it went in and ran until I turned it to carry
position. Set it done and it stayed upright.
Have used it twice since purchase and it is still holding and pouring gas. Of course that is what you are to use it for. I think you could use it for another liquid, but would write on the side what it is. Wouldn't want to put water in the tank. Did I type 50 words about it????
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel container 5 gal.

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Cary NC
Excellent container for lawn mower. Contained holds just enough for two fill-ups. Easy fo carry in back of pick-up. I am very satisfied with the product and price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 25, 2015
Hello! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 25, 2015
Hello! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great container

,
May 14, 2015
By
from Lindstrom Mn
Bought this as a extra gas can for lawn equipment, works great no spills, fantastic price, shipped to store in a few days
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 15, 2015
Hello and thank-you for your review! We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

gas can poly 5 gallon

,
May 13, 2015
By
from N.C.
5 gallon gas can poly, can will hold gas but the spout does not work to pour gas out, I bought two cans and they both will not work, do not waist your money on this junk, will not buy again
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 14, 2015
Hello. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The Eco-Spout is designed with an auto-locking mechanism, and therefore must be unlocked prior to use. We have included a link to an online tutorial here. If you are still experiencing difficulty, please contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 so that we can further assist and send you a replacement spout if needed.

http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

,
May 12, 2015
By
from Crandall, Ga
Have 3 similar 5 Gal containers for gasoline & diesel fuel that I use on the farm. This one in particular has a safety non spill spout. It is a little troublesome to get liquid product to flow out discharge spout, but is well built. Have bought several quality products from Northern. One of our favorite retailers.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 14, 2015
Hello and thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our gas can. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the quality and construction. We have included a link to our video tutorial which may help you operate the spout with more ease. Thank-you again and have a wonderful day! http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas can at the right price

,
December 25, 2014
By
from Minneapolis, MN
Good gas can, easy to handle, locks tight and does not leak.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceJanuary 5, 2015
Hello & Happy New Year! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the can. We appreciate feedback from our customers. Thank-you for taking the time to review our product.scepter
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaky nozzle

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Charlotte, nc
Maybe I had a defected nozzle but when I tried this gas can, gas came pouring out of the green locking mechanism on the nozzle. I do not like having to rest the nozzle on the object I am filling as it is harder to control. I upgraded to the no-spill gas can and am much happier, no spills whatsoever.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas Can

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Blue Ridge Va
i bought these for use during a recent power outage that lasted a very long eight days with the safety nozzels they work great pouring in the gas to a generator that would run out every eight hours or so i bought two cans so the trips to the store would not be as frequent love that safety nozzel
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
30out of 59found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.