Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"

"Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"

Item# 26681
"This Scepter 5-gallon polyethylene gas can is a crush-resistant, high-density polyethylene fuel container with an environmentally friendly design. EPA/CARB approved. Handles qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 9 1/2 x 14 4/5, Tank Size gal. 5, Material Polyethylene, Application Gasoline storage, transfer, Color Red, Handle Type Top to side, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes. Eco Spout with built-in child-safe safety lock that automatically re-locks after each use Specially designed spout offers a flow rate of up to 2 GPM Spring-loaded action with auto closure to eliminate spills No buttons to push, leaving your hands free to hold the fuel container 5-gal. capacity"
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
8 of 11(73%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Review 1 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity,

,
June 23, 2015
By ranjack
from Dallas,TX
" Gas can itself is pretty standard poly construction. Not wild about the nozzle having to be "activated" by pressing against the lip of the receiving fuel tank or container - awkward especially when the gas can is full and heavy. Gas can is not vented making filling another container or fuel tank slow and sloppy if you're not paying close attention when the gas surges. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design for the spout...

,
June 17, 2015
By vajim
from Fredericksburg, VA
" Bought 2 of these on sale and used them last week. You must be very careful when you tighten nozzle on to jug after filling up with gas. The lock will twist and break if you are not careful. Finally just ripped out the innards to make it pour well. Not bad for the price, just wish they were a bit more heavy duty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceJune 18, 2015
Hello and thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our cans. We have a included a link to our online instructions for the Eco-Spout. http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use/
We don't recommend that you continue using your spouts if you have altered them as this increases your risk of unwanted spills. If you contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 between the hours of 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM EST, we'd be happy to offer you a replacement spout. Thank-you again for your review and enjoy the rest of your day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gas Can

,
May 27, 2015
By ElMarkoT
from PA
" Got these on sale.. Great product for the money! Was thinking of buying the big gas Caddy but for the same price you can get 2x amount of fuel on hand for major power outage or emergencies! plus its easy to transport! Great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 28, 2015
Hi, and thank-you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you are happy with the cans. If you are looking for more information on our fuel caddy, you can visit our website at: www.scepter.ca or contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 between the hours of 8:30 - 5:00 EST Monday through Friday. We'd be happy to answer any questions you may have. Thank-you again and have a great day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Gas carrier

,
May 24, 2015
By TwoTone
from Finger Lakes, NY
" I put gas in it and it did not leak or splash out.
Poured the gas into the mower's gas tank.
And it went in and ran until I turned it to carry
position. Set it done and it stayed upright.
Have used it twice since purchase and it is still holding and pouring gas. Of course that is what you are to use it for. I think you could use it for another liquid, but would write on the side what it is. Wouldn't want to put water in the tank. Did I type 50 words about it????
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel container 5 gal.

,
May 23, 2015
By JTPH1
from Cary NC
" Excellent container for lawn mower. Contained holds just enough for two fill-ups. Easy fo carry in back of pick-up. I am very satisfied with the product and price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 25, 2015
Hello! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 25, 2015
Hello! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great container

,
May 14, 2015
By trainwreck
from Lindstrom Mn
" Bought this as a extra gas can for lawn equipment, works great no spills, fantastic price, shipped to store in a few days "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 15, 2015
Hello and thank-you for your review! We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to hear that you are pleased with the can.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

gas can poly 5 gallon

,
May 13, 2015
By bud489633
from N.C.
" 5 gallon gas can poly, can will hold gas but the spout does not work to pour gas out, I bought two cans and they both will not work, do not waist your money on this junk, will not buy again "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 14, 2015
Hello. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The Eco-Spout is designed with an auto-locking mechanism, and therefore must be unlocked prior to use. We have included a link to an online tutorial here. If you are still experiencing difficulty, please contact our customer care department at 1-800-387-6018 so that we can further assist and send you a replacement spout if needed.

http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

,
May 12, 2015
By geo706
from Crandall, Ga
" Have 3 similar 5 Gal containers for gasoline & diesel fuel that I use on the farm. This one in particular has a safety non spill spout. It is a little troublesome to get liquid product to flow out discharge spout, but is well built. Have bought several quality products from Northern. One of our favorite retailers. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceMay 14, 2015
Hello and thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our gas can. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the quality and construction. We have included a link to our video tutorial which may help you operate the spout with more ease. Thank-you again and have a wonderful day! http://www.scepterconsumer.com/safety_compliance/safe_use
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas can at the right price

,
December 25, 2014
By Hobo770
from Minneapolis, MN
" Good gas can, easy to handle, locks tight and does not leak. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
By ScepterCustomerServiceJanuary 5, 2015
Hello & Happy New Year! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the can. We appreciate feedback from our customers. Thank-you for taking the time to review our product.scepter
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaky nozzle

,
April 23, 2013
By Jef123
from Charlotte, nc
" Maybe I had a defected nozzle but when I tried this gas can, gas came pouring out of the green locking mechanism on the nozzle. I do not like having to rest the nozzle on the object I am filling as it is harder to control. I upgraded to the no-spill gas can and am much happier, no spills whatsoever. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Scepter Polyethylene Gas Can - 5-Gallon Capacity, Model# 05096"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas Can

,
October 8, 2012
By MTMDSJ
from Blue Ridge Va
" i bought these for use during a recent power outage that lasted a very long eight days with the safety nozzels they work great pouring in the gas to a generator that would run out every eight hours or so i bought two cans so the trips to the store would not be as frequent love that safety nozzel "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
30out of 59found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.