Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

"NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

Item# 26812101
"Broadcast spray a 14-ft. swath plus spot spray with the NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer. The NorthStar NSQ Series pump ensures outstanding reliability and time-saving convenience season after season. Uses a unique boomless broadcast system. Spray Height ft. 19, Tank Size gal. 26, Broadcast Width ft. 14, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Flow GPM 2.2, Spray Gun Type Spot, Power Supply 12V DC, Pressure PSI 70. 12V 2.2 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 70 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Santoprene diaphragm and Viton valves have superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for less switch and motor wear Quick connect ports for easy changes Proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special chemical- and UV-resistant polymer Single nozzle broadcast lance sprays a 14-ft. wide swath with no boom arms to break Large droplets for minimal drift Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 30 feet horizontally and 19 feet vertically 15-ft. clear poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring chemical flow simple Easy to fill 6in. diameter tank lid Bottom tank drain for easy empty Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps"
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (89 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
84 of 89(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price and Shipping

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Topeka Kansas
Bought a NorthStar Sprayer Great price and shipping was very very fast.
Will be doing more business with them. Just found out you have a retail store in Kansas City Can not wait to take a road trip to visit!
thanks dave
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GREAT

,
November 20, 2015
By
from Kerrville Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4TH TIME TO USE IT AND STILL HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS. BROADCAST AND PERFORMS JUST LIKE MOST OF THE REVIEWS I READ. WISH THEY HAD MORE OPTIONS TO GO WITH THE SPRAYER. LIKE AN UPGRADE ON THE WAND. A BRASS WAND WOULD BE BETTER.
RUN CLEAR WATER THROUGH IT WHEN DONE AND IT WILL HELP KEEP EVERYTHING CLOG FREE. ALL THE BROADLEAF PLANTS ARE UNDER CONTROL (ESPECIALLY THISTLES).
WORKS REALLY WELL WITH THE GATOR. NO OVERSPRAY TO DEAL WITH ON THE TAILGATE.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

,
September 23, 2015
By
from Beaufort NC
Arrived in good shape, no issues. All parts are inside the tank as I expected. Very simple assembly, just a few minutes. Only complaint is that the small screws needed to mount the boom and also the guide were just roaming around loosed inside the parts package - 2 of them had hidden themselves inside the rolled up straps, no big deal - just something that could be improved on at the factory.
The only "problem" I had with the sprayer so far is that the pump was apparently air bound or something out of the box, it refused to take a prime. I took apart intake hose and checked to make sure clear. Took off both output hoses to be sure they were clear. Finally had to pour/force water directly into the pump intake opening and it finally grabbed and blew through. Once it did I reassembled everything and it worked fine since. I used it 2 days so far around the hunt camp, have run a little over 4 full tanks through it using the boom and so far been very impressed with it. It puts out A LOT of product so you will need to find a mix ratio/speed that works for you - the tank does not last long. I am still playing with adjusting the flow with the shut off valve, but mostly found it was easier to speed up and probably mix lighter ratio.
Pros:
easy to assemble & use
All parts went together smoothly, fit was proper
Boom spreads great - and you can adjust the angle of the tip to hit more 1 side than the other
Pump is strong, puts out lots of product and so far covers evenly
Fits perfectly in back of my UTV and the boom sticks out beyond the tailgate just enough
Price is very good, this does job I needed at about 1/2 of what I was expecting to spend for the typical boomless units - I planned to build my own boom but doubt I will need to after using this
Cons:
I do not trust the light plastic fittings, doubt they will last too long. The connectors for intake and output of the pump are plastic.
Did not use the wand much but it seems a bit lightweight compared to others I have used - good news is you can buy a better wand for a few $$
Don't like the alligator clips on the power cord, would be better to have a cigarette plug end on it - I will be adding 1
Writing a long review since I looked at these for a long time before purchasing - reviews have been all over the board for them all but not much specific info. Provided this thing lasts for any reasonable time I will easily recommend it to folks. Easy and efficient - what else could you ask for in a unit. The upside is even if the pump, the wand or the pump fittings fail - they are easy and fairly inexpensive to replace with better and I will still be cheaper than I was looking originally.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely no disappointments

,
June 19, 2015
By
from Olathe, KS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Purchased this unit 3 days ago and mounted in on the back of our Grasshopper ZTR mower. I'd been walking our 2.5 acre yard with a hand sprayer for years. Assembly was easy and the only leaks were my fault for not tightening the two clamps on the hose of the hand held wand. The four built in mounting nuts in the bottom in the bottom of the tank are 1/2" deep. If you try to screw in a bolt deeper you could easily break through and thus have a major leak. Tested the broadcast sprayer out with water on the drive and it made a nice even spray pattern. The hand held wand is easily adjustable for the pattern desired. I ended up using about double the amount of chemical and mix that I normally used walking. This sprayer saved me about 1.5 hrs. and a large amount of sweat spot treating weeds in our yard. I wish they would have included a gauge to measure the gallons in the tank. If you are not needing a full tank, you have to measure the amount of water you are filling by using a known capacity container. I cannot think of a way to improve it any more. Excellent spray power and the unit is light enough for me in my 70's to easily lift it on and off.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
June 10, 2015
By
from Rome, Ga.
This is a nice sprayer for the money. I really like the output as compared to other, cheaper sprayers. It gets the job done and doesn't waster time!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tank sprayer!

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Kansas City
Well built, REALLY well built. I may have to get a bigger pump but that is on me not knowing what I will need for my application. GREAT PUMP! Good parts, well made, can't say that enough!
You bet you I would recommend do a friend!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very satisfied

,
May 28, 2015
By
from Keymar, MD
Easy to set-up and operate. Built a 24" x 15" platform on back of my Cub Cadet lawn tractor (2x3's, plywood top, bolts and screws) and set the tank on it, strapped it down, electric leads clip to battery under seat, on/off switch hangs behind right arm. Am using it in broadcast mode to de-weed the 2.5+ acres I inherited. Works as designed. Glad I bought it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SPOT SPRAYER

,
May 28, 2015
By
from MONTEREY
They said, " This sprayer would spray 14 feet," it's more like 10 feet, If I had to do it over again I would buy the 5.5 GPM pump for better coverage. But the sprayer does a good job it you not spraying a long distances. How easy is it to change valve in the pump to a 5.5 GPM pump?
Thank you
TMAN5807
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

sprayer

,
May 22, 2015
By
from colorado
For the most part I don't have any complaints with this sprayer. It does what it says it will do. The only reason for a 3 star is that one of the screw holes on the tank for the bracket to hold the wand was not threaded properly so I had to use super glue to hold it in place and I am sure that it will be a problem in the future. Just a poor craftsmanship issue.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wand isn't durable

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
I've used this sprayer twice to spray bull thistles in my pasture and have had to replace the wand twice. It's flimsy and fragile. The rest of this apparatus is pretty good, but I know I'm going to have to replace the plastic hardware with brass in the near future. The pump is solid and works great. The tank is heavy duty too, but again, cheap hardware. Be gentle.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sprayer.

,
May 13, 2015
By
from yakima, wa.
i formerly had a 16 gallon sprayer that had the old system of nozzle changing and mounting of the gun on the tank every time you wanted to broadcast spray, and then dismounting and changing nozzles to return to spot spraying.
with this sprayer, the broadcast wand is mounted full time, the nozzle sprays vertically with a full 14" spread, and the spot sprayer is ready to use with the simple turn of an valve.
couldn't be more pleased with the sprayer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't do better than this !

,
May 10, 2015
By
from Indiana
The sprayer does great. I just strap it in the bed of the Gator and off we go. The hand wand beside me, the on off switch over the spare seat, what could be better.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

26 gal fan & spot sprayer

,
May 5, 2015
By
from Fl Panhandle
easy to put together. NO LEAKS or DRIPS. mounted in bed of Polaris Ranger, it had a nice wide fan spray. The wand had a very good adjustment for different sprays. Would recommend to anybody looking for a sprayer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer. Easy to set up and use. Better than

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Wadsworth,Ohio
Great sprayer. Easy to set up and use. Better than I expected!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
April 20, 2015
By
from PA
Product arrived quickly, and seems to be of great quality. I have not used the sprayer yet, but I'm guessing it will work well. Assembly was simple.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

northstar atv 26 gallon sprayer

,
April 14, 2015
By
from ohio
This sprayer works as advertised. Was easy to assemble and fit in my polaris ranger without a problem. The only reason Im not giving it 5 stars is it was missing the spray wand. Called northern tool and had one delivered in a couple of days.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I had hoped for

,
April 3, 2015
By
from Tulare, CA
Great spray rig! I wanted the spot spray as well as the broadcast, and this delivered! Had an issue with the broadcast unit, but contacted customer service, and Boon addressed the issue quickly by sending new parts, and I have a great weed spraying unit! Thank you!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm equipment

,
February 25, 2015
By
from Pleasant Plains, Ar
This product is a excellent tool for spraying weeds and grass around areas that can't be mowed. The product is an excellent tool for control burning. Mounted on an ATV you can easily control your line of fire by simple riding along extinguishing the fire you want too put out. The tool is a great asset on the farm, saving time and manual labor. A great product for many uses.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weeds be-gone

,
February 2, 2015
By
from Ely, NV
This sprayer is perfect for us. We place it on the back of our four wheeler, mix the roundup or herbicide with water, and spray weeds. We really like this product because we can use the spray bar for big areas or for spot spraying. We have two pieces of property that are 25 miles apart and we like it so much that this is our second purchase of the same sprayer. The price is reasonable.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Advertized Tested

,
January 7, 2015
By
from SC
I guess this one was tested to long. Straight out of box pump will not run with digital voltmeter confirmed voltage on motor leads at motor after fuse and pressure switch.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.