Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt

NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt

Item# 26812101
Broadcast spray a 14-ft. swath plus spot spray with the NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer. The NorthStar NSQ Series pump ensures outstanding reliability and time-saving convenience season after season. Uses a unique boomless broadcast system. Broadcast Width ft. 14, Pressure PSI 70, Spray Height ft. 19, Flow GPM 2.2, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Tank Size gal. 26, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Power Supply 12V DC, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Spray Gun Type Spot. 12V 2.2 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 70 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Santoprene diaphragm and Viton valves have superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for less switch and motor wear Quick connect ports for easy changes Proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special chemical- and UV-resistant polymer Single nozzle broadcast lance sprays a 14-ft. wide swath with no boom arms to break Large droplets for minimal drift Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 30 feet horizontally and 19 feet vertically 15-ft. clear poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring chemical flow simple Easy to fill 6in. diameter tank lid Bottom tank drain for easy empty Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
59 of 63(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Solution

,
September 14, 2014
By FarmerJames
from Northwest
"This product replaces an ATV sprayer that had a traditional boom delivery system. This boomless system is great although we will probably rejet it to achieve proper droplet size. Additionally it comes with the Northern Tool pump which are a world apart from the standard shurflow."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 12, 2014
By Oildog
from MS
"Should have purchased one years ago. Great product works as designed. Spraying distance great. Would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broadcast sprayer

,
September 7, 2014
By Deke
from Pueblo, Colorado
"I had peviously bought a Northstar 8-gallon spot sprayer for use in the bed of my Gator for weed control around the house. This year, due to heavier rains, we've had a horrible influx of Russian Thistle (tumbleweed). As I have four acres, I need to kill back the weeds and get the land returned to wild grasses. The prior spot sprayer worked so well, I decided to get this 26-gallon one. It will also fit in the bed of the Gator, kicks out 2.2 gallons per minute, and sprays a 14'-wide swath. To run this weed control program next spring, I need to spray the whole area, and this one should turn the trick, at a much lower price than most such."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

;Pretty darn good

,
August 22, 2014
By MakaKilo
from CT
"+Easy set up, mostly assembled, instructions only in English. .No missing parts or hardware, SAE hardware.,
Rugged construction, quality nozzles, wands and hoses.
Performance better than advertised.
Brute of a pump draws a continuous 8 amps, suggest keep ATV or Quad running to keep battery charged
Sprayer is a keeper.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than expected!

,
August 20, 2014
By GLF529
from West Salem, OH
"WOW! I had another brand that I used for years but sold it at my farm sale. Found I needed one at our new house. I debated between the 2.2GPM or the bigger unit. Very pleasantly surprised at the quality, pressure and capacity. Using the broadcast wand I sprayed over 4 acres in 30 minutes going through two tanks. I highly recommend this unit over any farm store brands. This also was my first purchase from Northern which has greatly enhanced my view of purchasing more items from them. Very Satisfied customer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Sprayer - 26 Gallon

,
August 14, 2014
By mbrown03
from Ludington, MI
"I would highly recommend. Assembly was very easy. The Sprayer is simple to use. The attachment straps makes it easy to afix to ATVs or even pickup truck tailgates, plug in reciever trays for SUvs. I filled with my Roundup and water and the 26 gallon was perfect for my 2 acre food plot with no water source on site.
I would recommend the 26 gallon tank over the 15 gallon version.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sprayer

,
August 6, 2014
By retiredrancherfarmer
from Idaho
"I had to tighten the clamps.
I had to use some additional teflon tape to stop the leaking of the 2nd port for the additional line.
I really would like a pressure release port that would cause product mixing when not spraying with the wand.
I think for the price I paid that these three items could be fixed and included
retired+++++++++++++"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar ATV Sprayer

,
July 30, 2014
By Brownbrown1
from Iowa
"Sprayer was easy to set up and works as described. The one nozzle design for the broadcast sprayer works very well. The option of using the wand sprayer in conjunction with the broadcaster is also a nice feature. The motor has plenty of power and shoots a consistent stream. Good product for the money.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

should have bought 2 years ago

,
July 30, 2014
By 4whlrsprayer
from wyoming
"I used the sprayer on 60 acres with areas of noxious weeds. It worked very well. I was done in 4 hours with what used to take me 2 long days with a hand sprayer. I would definitely buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase of the Year

,
July 29, 2014
By HardwareMan63
from Northeast Oklahoma
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This sprayer cut my spray time from several hours down to about 30 minutes. The unit is well designed and sturdy. The volume output is perfect for my 2.5 acre lawn. The wand will shoot about 20 feet and the spray boom delivers about a 12-14 ft wide pattern. The on-demand pump is nice and needed no prime to start spraying. The included straps for holding the tank down work well and there are four threaded mounting holes on the bottom of the tank which allowed for even more secure mounting to my trailer.
I mounted the rig longways on a modified mower/lawn trailer so I had to modify the spray boom feature since I mounted the tank 90 degrees off it's intended design. See Pictures). My local hardware stores plumbing department had everything needed for the modifications.
This sprayer is nice and lends itself to a variety of applications. Mine is self powered/contained using a 12 volt top mount truck battery and a modified lawn trailer so I can use it with a golf cart. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer

,
July 28, 2014
By do77
from Mapleton Il
"I bought this sprayer to spray my lawn for weeds. I thought the broadcast sprayer was the way to go with it's 14 foot pattern. With where I live and the amount of plantss/flowers my wife has, I quickly found out that I had to use the hand/spot sprayer for my yard. Not a huge deal, but sort of disappointing. I have too much wind and too many plants.
The 14 foot broadcast sprayer would work great if you had the open space. The spot sprayer with the 15 foot hose worked flawlessly. I am going to figure out how to lower the broadcast sprayer closer to the ground to reduce the chance to be wind blown so I can use it.
Overall, I would recommend this sprayer to anyone who needs one, just take into consideration what conditions you will be spraying in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good sprayer

,
July 24, 2014
By bdsprayer
from indiana
"only used a handful of times so far but seems to be a nice durable sprayer. The 26 gallon is almost a little too much weight for my atv when it is completely full, but still a great fit. motor works flawlessy with quiet operation. only problem i had was the 45 elbow on the broadcast lance got a hairline crack in it when i installed the tip and leaked, i received a new lance in the mail a few days after no questions asked..great customer service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works perfectly with no fuss

,
July 21, 2014
By apoiuyt
from upper NH
"I am very satisfied with this sprayer. I read some reviews for some products that said they leak, they break, they require some tweaking to get working right. I got this one because it seemed to have the best reviews. I concur with those good reviews.
I took this out of the box, followed the very simple & intuitive instructions and had it all set up in a few minutes. I tested it with water first, to make sure I wasn't leaking expensive Roundup, then took it out & used it. I've used it a couple times since then. No issues at all.
I really like the design. It has a sprayer wand that shoots the stuff out the back in a very nice even spray pattern. I didn't measuer the pattern, but I'd guess it goes out about 6' on each side from center. It also comes with a hand wand and a nice long hose. To use the hand wand, just flip a lever on the unit and it send the juice to the hand wand.
No complaints at all. I couldn't be happier with this sprayer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well designed, one chintzy flaw

,
July 18, 2014
By Myriadelle
from Clark, WY
"When the sprayer arrived, I was impressed with many features. I felt the designers must have also been users of this product. (This is not always the case.) Many features addressed the issues and hardships of broadcast and spot spraying, as well as the clean-up and maintenance of the sprayer itself. HOWEVER, upon first inspection out of the box, my immediate opinion of the wire and inline switch for the power was "CHEAP". I used the sprayer one time... ONE TIME... before the power cord shorted. The technical support team was fast in responding to the issue and is sending a replacement."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

broadcast sprayer

,
July 2, 2014
By RF326
from Maryland
"All in all worked as described. Minor leaks but no major issues"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ATV broadcast & spot sprayer

,
July 2, 2014
By mmm1inmt
from Montana
"Hand sprayer works great with an adjustable nozzle head spray for use on a hillside or in a tight corner. Where I ran into difficulty was with the (optional) agitator. I cannot have the agitator on, and use the hand spray at the same time--no pressure--so, I turn on the agitator to mix the tank, then turn it off to spray. (Maybe that's how it's supposed to work.) Towards the end of spraying, when bouncing around on 4 wheeler the tank begins to suck air which mixes with the spray. And, although though I have the control nozzle switch for the rear sprayer turned off and in the sprayer holder, it begins to spit air and spray out the end. I tightened it as far as I could safely, but to no avail.
Overall, minus a couple of quirks, the price is fair, and it does work pretty well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfection

,
July 1, 2014
By cracker123
from wisconsin
"This sprayer is perfect for me. Sprays chemicals exactly how I wanted it to"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price!

,
June 27, 2014
By kyhuntr
from Kentucky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I read through the reviews and it sounded like a decent product. I have a couple of small food plots and I needed a sprayer to control the grass and weeds. I have sprayed about 5 acres total with it and I feel it does an excellent job. I have used the broadcast sprayer multiple times and it covers at least 14 feet. The handle sprayer also works well. I bought the agitator too. I cannot run the agitator and the sprayer at the same time. The motor is not powerful enough to provide adequate pressure. The majority of the parts on the sprayer are plastic; however, you have to be careful with it. That is fine with me because I didn't want to spend a lot more for what I needed to do. One tank full covers approximately 1 acre using the broadcast sprayer. I have been very happy with it. I attached a picture of how I mounted the agitator, which I found to work out better than the instructions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV sprayer

,
June 20, 2014
By Ken104
from Gasport New York
"The best ATV sprayer I ever used the boom less head can be turned left or right to spray to the side works great on food plots."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Perfect

,
June 15, 2014
By Horse59
from Hot Springs, AR
"I used this sprayer the first time this weekend to spray my 1.5 acre lawn for ticks/fleas/chiggers. The boomless sprayer is perfect for doing a good and fast job. I previously had a similar sprayer with a boom that was always getting caught on things and also clogging up. I highly recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.