Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

"NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

Item# 26812101
"Broadcast spray a 14-ft. swath plus spot spray with the NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer. The NorthStar NSQ Series pump ensures outstanding reliability and time-saving convenience season after season. Uses a unique boomless broadcast system. Spray Height ft. 19, Spray Gun Type Spot, Pressure PSI 70, Power Supply 12V DC, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Tank Size gal. 26, Broadcast Width ft. 14, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Flow GPM 2.2. 12V 2.2 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 70 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Santoprene diaphragm and Viton valves have superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for less switch and motor wear Quick connect ports for easy changes Proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special chemical- and UV-resistant polymer Single nozzle broadcast lance sprays a 14-ft. wide swath with no boom arms to break Large droplets for minimal drift Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 30 feet horizontally and 19 feet vertically 15-ft. clear poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring chemical flow simple Easy to fill 6in. diameter tank lid Bottom tank drain for easy empty Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps"
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (72 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
67 of 72(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm equipment

,
February 25, 2015
By Whiteeagle
from Pleasant Plains, Ar
" This product is a excellent tool for spraying weeds and grass around areas that can't be mowed. The product is an excellent tool for control burning. Mounted on an ATV you can easily control your line of fire by simple riding along extinguishing the fire you want too put out. The tool is a great asset on the farm, saving time and manual labor. A great product for many uses. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weeds be-gone

,
February 2, 2015
By WPRancher
from Ely, NV
" This sprayer is perfect for us. We place it on the back of our four wheeler, mix the roundup or herbicide with water, and spray weeds. We really like this product because we can use the spray bar for big areas or for spot spraying. We have two pieces of property that are 25 miles apart and we like it so much that this is our second purchase of the same sprayer. The price is reasonable. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Advertized Tested

,
January 7, 2015
By 1234Farmer
from SC
" I guess this one was tested to long. Straight out of box pump will not run with digital voltmeter confirmed voltage on motor leads at motor after fuse and pressure switch. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the money

,
October 28, 2014
By JohnLamont
from Iowa
" The tank is well built and sturdy. I strap this to a cary-all on the back of my compact tractor. I replaced the battery clamps on the wire harness with a cigarette lighter plug to make connecting the unit easy. If you are considering a sprayer of this type I strongly recommend the broadcast and spot spraying combination. I find there are areas of my yard I want to cover completely and others I want to spot treat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sprayer

,
October 13, 2014
By j4577
from texas
" So far this sprayer has been great. Good pressure to reach the places you need it to. The only problem I had was the broadcast wand was not turning off fully but they sent a replacement immediately and the new one works properly. Good sprayer for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spot On!!!!!

,
September 30, 2014
By Turfmaster87
from Iowa
" This sprayer did everything the manufacturer claimed it would do. The broadcast swath was exactly 14'. The only thing I found that they didn't state was that when I had the sprayer in broadcast mode, it was actually pumping out two gallons every minute. The specs in the manual said 1.4 GPM. This sprayer covered 8 acres in 4 hours including the fill time and time it took to get from point A to point B. At the speed I was traveling 20 gallons of water was what it took to cover an acre. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good first Use

,
September 25, 2014
By DisappointedCustr1
from Westminster, SC
" Nickname is from previous product review. Don't see how to change for this review. First used the sprayer last week. Used the broadcast/spot sprayer on a section of the farm spraying a weed & feed liquid on 5 acres of pasture, all relatively level. Broadcast function of the sprayer worked well, but did not spray quite as wide as promoted in ads. Did not use the spot spray wand but don't foresee any problems with it. All of the connections were good with no leaks. Pump worked perfectly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy sprayer

,
September 20, 2014
By djm5345
from emmett michigan
" good dual purpose sprayer that works well on any 4-wheeler anytime and anywhere!! good value also!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

one fine small broadcast sprayer.

,
September 19, 2014
By southerngentlemam
from Georgia
" Bought this sprayer to treat 10 acres of cut over with herbiside. The area was too rough for my larger tractor and boom sprayer. The sprayer was mounted on a ATV and did a great job. The broadcast wand did what it said it would do and accomplished the tack in under about a day. The hand wand made treating hard to reach area a breeze. One word of caution. Running the ATV thru previously treated area and them running tge ATV thru an area that you don't want treated will result in transfer of chemical that has accumulated on the tires. Be sure to wash the ATV before using on areas that you don't want transfer of herbiside. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Solution

,
September 14, 2014
By FarmerJames
from Northwest
" This product replaces an ATV sprayer that had a traditional boom delivery system. This boomless system is great although we will probably rejet it to achieve proper droplet size. Additionally it comes with the Northern Tool pump which are a world apart from the standard shurflow. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 12, 2014
By Oildog
from MS
" Should have purchased one years ago. Great product works as designed. Spraying distance great. Would recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broadcast sprayer

,
September 7, 2014
By Deke
from Pueblo, Colorado
" I had peviously bought a Northstar 8-gallon spot sprayer for use in the bed of my Gator for weed control around the house. This year, due to heavier rains, we've had a horrible influx of Russian Thistle (tumbleweed). As I have four acres, I need to kill back the weeds and get the land returned to wild grasses. The prior spot sprayer worked so well, I decided to get this 26-gallon one. It will also fit in the bed of the Gator, kicks out 2.2 gallons per minute, and sprays a 14'-wide swath. To run this weed control program next spring, I need to spray the whole area, and this one should turn the trick, at a much lower price than most such. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

;Pretty darn good

,
August 22, 2014
By MakaKilo
from CT
" +Easy set up, mostly assembled, instructions only in English. .No missing parts or hardware, SAE hardware.,
Rugged construction, quality nozzles, wands and hoses.
Performance better than advertised.
Brute of a pump draws a continuous 8 amps, suggest keep ATV or Quad running to keep battery charged
Sprayer is a keeper.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than expected!

,
August 20, 2014
By GLF529
from West Salem, OH
" WOW! I had another brand that I used for years but sold it at my farm sale. Found I needed one at our new house. I debated between the 2.2GPM or the bigger unit. Very pleasantly surprised at the quality, pressure and capacity. Using the broadcast wand I sprayed over 4 acres in 30 minutes going through two tanks. I highly recommend this unit over any farm store brands. This also was my first purchase from Northern which has greatly enhanced my view of purchasing more items from them. Very Satisfied customer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Sprayer - 26 Gallon

,
August 14, 2014
By mbrown03
from Ludington, MI
" I would highly recommend. Assembly was very easy. The Sprayer is simple to use. The attachment straps makes it easy to afix to ATVs or even pickup truck tailgates, plug in reciever trays for SUvs. I filled with my Roundup and water and the 26 gallon was perfect for my 2 acre food plot with no water source on site.
I would recommend the 26 gallon tank over the 15 gallon version.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sprayer

,
August 6, 2014
By retiredrancherfarmer
from Idaho
" I had to tighten the clamps.
I had to use some additional teflon tape to stop the leaking of the 2nd port for the additional line.
I really would like a pressure release port that would cause product mixing when not spraying with the wand.
I think for the price I paid that these three items could be fixed and included
retired+++++++++++++ "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar ATV Sprayer

,
July 30, 2014
By Brownbrown1
from Iowa
" Sprayer was easy to set up and works as described. The one nozzle design for the broadcast sprayer works very well. The option of using the wand sprayer in conjunction with the broadcaster is also a nice feature. The motor has plenty of power and shoots a consistent stream. Good product for the money.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

should have bought 2 years ago

,
July 30, 2014
By 4whlrsprayer
from wyoming
" I used the sprayer on 60 acres with areas of noxious weeds. It worked very well. I was done in 4 hours with what used to take me 2 long days with a hand sprayer. I would definitely buy again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase of the Year

,
July 29, 2014
By HardwareMan63
from Northeast Oklahoma
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This sprayer cut my spray time from several hours down to about 30 minutes. The unit is well designed and sturdy. The volume output is perfect for my 2.5 acre lawn. The wand will shoot about 20 feet and the spray boom delivers about a 12-14 ft wide pattern. The on-demand pump is nice and needed no prime to start spraying. The included straps for holding the tank down work well and there are four threaded mounting holes on the bottom of the tank which allowed for even more secure mounting to my trailer.
I mounted the rig longways on a modified mower/lawn trailer so I had to modify the spray boom feature since I mounted the tank 90 degrees off it's intended design. See Pictures). My local hardware stores plumbing department had everything needed for the modifications.
This sprayer is nice and lends itself to a variety of applications. Mine is self powered/contained using a 12 volt top mount truck battery and a modified lawn trailer so I can use it with a golf cart. I love it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar ATV Broadcast and Spot Sprayer

,
July 28, 2014
By do77
from Mapleton Il
" I bought this sprayer to spray my lawn for weeds. I thought the broadcast sprayer was the way to go with it's 14 foot pattern. With where I live and the amount of plantss/flowers my wife has, I quickly found out that I had to use the hand/spot sprayer for my yard. Not a huge deal, but sort of disappointing. I have too much wind and too many plants.
The 14 foot broadcast sprayer would work great if you had the open space. The spot sprayer with the 15 foot hose worked flawlessly. I am going to figure out how to lower the broadcast sprayer closer to the ground to reduce the chance to be wind blown so I can use it.
Overall, I would recommend this sprayer to anyone who needs one, just take into consideration what conditions you will be spraying in. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.