Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

"NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"

Item# 268173
"NorthStar Skid Sprayer is designed for applying pesticides and other chemical sprays. Tough Comet direct drive pump is powered by trusty 160cc Honda GX160 OHV engine to deliver up to 5 gallons per minute. 150-ft. hose with gun lets user deliver the chemicals for the most effective pest control, even in hard-to-reach areas. NorthStar's tank features extra-thick walls that won't bulge or sag. It stands up to chemicals thanks to a special polymer known for its superior chemical resistance. Tank is UV-stabilized to prevent fading and other sun damage. Includes a Coxreel manual rewind hose reel. Pressure PSI 350, Gear Ratio 15 1/2, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 150, Pump Comet MC25 diaphragm direct drive, Spray Gun Type #31 gunjet, Tank Size gal. 55, Dimensions L x W x H in. 47 x 40 x 31 1/2, Agitation Yes, Spray Pattern Straight, fan, Engine Honda GX OHV, Spray Height ft. 30, Flow GPM 5. Wettable pump parts resistant to common chemicals Comes equipped with bypass agitation Oil included in pump and gear box PVC hose on manual rewind Coxreel hose reel 8in. lance extension Rugged steel 2.5in. tube frame Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide"
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but...

,
July 5, 2015
By Sprayguy87
from Wisconsin
" I've owned this sprayer for the past 4 months and thought It's time I finally write a review based on my experiences. Overall the units been good. Functions fine and meets my limited needs. Currently I'm using it for spraying insecticides and for fire control when doing controlled burns. I ended up mounting it on a small 4' x 48" trailer which I drag around my property. The engine is phenomenal. This is my 3rd Honda and its just like my others, bulletproof. Starts right away and runs like a champ and the comet pump is commercial duty ready to work. So why just three stars? Call me picky but I was really disappointed in the quality control. My unit leaked three different places during its first use because somebody didn't take the extra 30 seconds and tighten the hose clamps all the way. I mean really??? Not a big deal to fix by myself but made me question the quality of everything else. If you do buy this unit beware and take the time to thoroughly inspect the connections before use.
The other negatives of the unit:
- The hose and spraying wand are of really low quality. I ended up replacing mine in the second week. Don't get me wrong its functional, just not for serious use. My hose actually blew off the wand completely while spraying and thank goodness I wasn't using anything nasty as I got drenched..
-The strapping holding the tank on the skid has to be the cheapest dang straps I have ever seen. Not a huge deal for me as I never take it off the property but If I were to put this in a pick up truck and head down the HWY with 55 gallons swashing around in the tank I'd think twice about it for sure.
- The tank is what you would expect. A big plastic tank so not much to discuss right? The only problem is the fluid level markings are on one end of the tank that is almost completely obstructed by the framing of the skid. If you plan on using this for anything less than 25 gallons at a time and you need precise measurements, good luck... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it but there is a mistake in the manual

,
June 7, 2015
By WuShok
from Derby, KS
" I sprayed around 400 mature red cedar with this and loved the performance. When I received it, it was well packed and the only issue was one broken clamp and one fitting that wasn't tightened at all when they assembled it. No big deal and I had it fixed in short order. One of the main reasons for my early review of this product is to draw attention to a significant error in the owners manual. Their drawing shows the bypass valve positions for starting and for running but the drawing has them backwards. I promise you if you follow the directions to a "t" you will get no flow. To confirm this I looked at the pump manufacturers manual, which was included, and the they have it correct. Hopefully this saves somebody some time and trouble.
I was a little surprised out how much reduction in wand flow was caused by turning on the agitation feature even while using the fitting that provides the least amount of agitation. I quickly adapted my process to agitate for a short time and then spray for a long time with the agitator off. Worked out just fine. With the agitator off it's like spraying trees with a small fire hose and you can really lay waste to the pests. If you want less force, you can turn the pressure down or leave the agitator feature on.
The Honda engine is great, first pull start every time, sips gas, and I did not need more than 2/3 throttle to spray at max pressure.
Get one, you won't regret it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

55 gallon skid sprayer

,
February 4, 2014
By JBGH
from south carolina
" I've had this sprayer for 4 years now and its been great ! This unit is very easy to use and the honda engine runs and starts excellent, cleaning the sprayer only takes minutes. This sprayer gets a ton of use starting in early march thru mid october, has never let me down except a couple broken bolts from vibration over time. just keep it clean and check oil in pump and engine reguarly, and keep connections tight. GREAT UNIT WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT !! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Sprayer

,
November 15, 2013
By StepXStep
from Garland, TX
" Purchased this sprayer a few months ago. I chose in store pick up, shipping was faster than expected. Item was strapped to a wood pallet, completely covered in plastic. Very securely packaged.
Installed spray rig in the back of a small s-10 pickup, it fit perfectly. You can't tell from the pictures, but the design of the tank allows the contents to be suctioned from the very bottom, making for more efficient delivery to the pump. There was very little assembly required. Please note that gas engines come with NO OIL. You will need to fill BEFORE starting your sprayer. The installed pump does come with oil, however DOES NOT have a oil view. So there is no way to know at a glance if the pump has sufficient oil level. There is a rubber cap on the fill neck that must be removed to check oil level for the Comet pump. This is a design flaw, but diaphragm pumps don't use much oil, checking every couple of months should be fine.
I found the spray wand that comes with the unit to be very cumbersome to use. It seems to be of pretty good quality, but pulling 50 lbs. of hose with a straight wand is difficult. The wand comes with two spray tips, stream and fan spray, but they are not quick connect so you have to stop and use tool to remove and replace with different tip. I suggest purchasing a spray gun when ordering this sprayer along with a brass quick connect to attach to hose end.
The hose is of excellent quality, but the hose reel was not installed with any thought of who might be using it. Left handed people make up a tiny percentage of the population. They installed the hose reel backward to save a few inches of hose. If you are not left handed you will find that rolling this hose properly is very difficult.
The sprayer does an excellent job of delivering product, the engine is a top notch Honda perfect choice for this rig. As stated by others: starts first pull every time. The comet pump does a good job, it's too soon to tell how sturdy it is. You should know that diaphragm pumps require yearly maintenance, wettable powders will cause more wear and tear on this pump.
I found that after a week of using this sprayer that you will need to tighten the hose connections to the pump.
There is a large 1.5 inch inlet hose from the bottom of the tank to the pump. This inlet hose will need to be replaced with a more rigid support hose if you plan on using this sprayer on a regular basis. The hose is very soft and collapses down when in use. In time you will starve the pump and do serious damage.
I have been professionally in the pest control business for almost 20 years. I have owned many of this type spray rig. I know I've mentioned a few flaws, but this is a solid sprayer. I have been impressed with it since I pulled it off the pallet. The design flaws were easily corrected. What I call a flaw may never effect the average user, I will put easily 300-500 hours on this sprayer a year. So for me they were essential repairs.
Lastly the price of this sprayer is excellent compared to other sprayers with the same features.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great sprayer

,
May 7, 2012
By Lou112
from Colorado
" I spray weeds on 4 commercial properties with this sprayer it starts on one pull with the Honda engine. and it sprays nice . I did have to buy a different spray wand than the one it came with. I would recommend this sprayer to others "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
GLLawnscapes
Alberta 
 
Please wait while more information about GLLawnscapes is loaded.
Additional information about GLLawnscapes could not be loaded.
Which wand did you purchase?
July 22, 2012
" I just purchased this unit and was wondering which wand you like best for it? I am purchasing a spray gun, do you have other recommendations from your experience with it? Thanks! "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps in wildfires

,
November 15, 2010
By lauren6624
from Clayton, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" We picked up the skid unit on 10/23 and the salesman was most helpful.
By the first week of November we had it mounted in our 6X6 Polaris Ranger. We had training on its use Monday evening, 11/8, and everyone commented on how well it worked. The pressure was good which provided a straight stream to easily reach 25 feet or more. It was fortunate that we had this skid unit ready because we had a woods fire last Friday [11/12] evening in some thick woods and brush and needed the ATV to access areas where our brush truck was unable to reach. The 55 gallon capacity on the ATV skid unit allows us to deliver a substantial amount of water to the various hot spots throughout the fire area.
Yesterday, we were conducting a burn of an old abandoned house which was surrounded by forest vegetation and thick brush. The ATV skid unit was used to patrol the woods and put out spot fires as they occurred. We now have much better wildland fire fighting capability thanks to Northern Tool.
Our primary use of this skid unit will be to support our engines and brush trucks on wildland fires. It will be especially useful on small fires or for mop-up operations that are too remote or too inaccessible for our brush trucks. It will save on manpower needed and make our operations safer and more efficient.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Skid Sprayer - 55-Gallon Tank, 160cc Honda GX160 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NORTHSTAR 55 GALLON SPRAY RIG

,
January 14, 2008
By LONGHORN
from HEBBRONVILLE TEXAS
" I PURCHASED THIS ITEM ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS ITEM TO ANYONE. IT IS SUPERIOR TO ANY OTHER SPRAY RIG I HAVE OWNED. I HAVE BEEN IN THE PEST CONTROL BUSINESS FOR 10 YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER HAVE A RIG WITH ALL THE FEATURES FOR THIS PRICE. IT IS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
21out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
curious1
 
Please wait while more information about curious1 is loaded.
Additional information about curious1 could not be loaded.
turf grass
September 28, 2010
" could you use this for turf grass "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)