Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

"NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"

Item# 2681781
"Connect this 55-gallon NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer to your tractor's Category 1 3-pt. hitch to spray a 14ft. swath or use the spray gun for spot spraying. Equipped with a high-grade NorthStar NSQ Series pump for better priming, increased durability and superior resistance to harsh environments and corrosive chemicals. Pressure PSI 70, Power Supply 12V DC, Spray Gun Type Spot, Spray Height ft. 19, Broadcast Width ft. 14, Tank Size gal. 55, Dimensions L x W x H in. 39 x 30 x 40, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Flow GPM 2.2, Tow Behind Cart Included No. 12V 2.2 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster spraying and longer life 70 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Santoprene diaphragm and Viton valves for superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design cycles the pump slowly for reduced switch and pump wear Quick connect ports for easy changes 55-gallon tank features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer known for its superior chemical and UV resistance Broadcast nozzle sprays 14-ft. wide swath with no boom arms to break Large droplets for minimal drift Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 30 feet horizontally and 19 feet vertically 15-ft. clear poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring chemical flow simple 5in. diameter tank lid for easy fills Easy-empty tank-bottom drain Rugged steel frame fits Class I tractors and has support legs for easy on and off Includes pressure gauge and remote switch with battery clips"
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

needs a little modification

,
May 3, 2015
By jjdon
from n.e. Pa.
" Delivered in good shape and on time. the power cord was way too short to reach the battery. Can't imagine it reaching any tractors battery. When I talked to the company about it they said "most people modify it anyway" GREAT ANSWER !! My 3 PT hitch would only raise it 34" off the ground witch gave me 11' of spray. 2 brass nipples and elbows raised the nozzle high enough to get the 14' advertised spray width. Once that was done the unit worked fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised!

,
April 16, 2015
By FRODZ
from Edinburg, Texas
" Bought this a couple of weeks ago with doubts. But for the price, I decided to take a chance on it. I have this hooked up to the back of my JD 4430 currently using to spray herbicide on 7 acres of Coastal Bermuda grass for bales, fencing with round-up and soon some fertilizer! This 55 Gallon sprayer has been great so far. It gives a true 14 foot path. Had to tilt the top link to get the full 14' as my JD didnt lift it high enough, which is weird because its a full size tractor. I had to use an extension for the electric pump to reach my battery. I used an extension from my Battery Tender which worked like a charm. The chart included as far as speed and gallons per acre are right on.
The only reason I didnt give this all 5 stars is because you cant adjust the PSI on the pump. Specs show 2.2GPM @ 70PSI but it only goes up to 40PSI which gives you 1.4GPM (if im not mistaken) Thats the only draw back. The inability to adjust PSI so that you can change tractor speed to your liking to spray the gallons per acre you'd like.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy!!

,
November 17, 2014
By freedaddy
from La Follette, TN
" Easy to assemble. Works great! This sprayer meets my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 9, 2014
By TommyJ
from Madison, WI
" Almost did not purchase because of other people's poor reviews. I think that the product is great. It assembled quickly. It attached to my tractor quick and easy. My tractor holds it 36 inches plus above the ground. The unit sprays about a 14 foot wide area. The charts included help you figure out how much chemical to add to the tank. The chart was right on for me. I was using a 9 gallon cart style sprayer before. That one took forever to spray the 8 acres that we have. This new sprayer does our fields so much faster. This is a great unit for the money! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best sprayer

,
July 6, 2014
By dw4345
from IL
" Easy to put together and easy to attach to tractor. The battery is in the front of the tractor so I had to extend the wire that came with the sprayer. Sprayer works very well and is uniform across the 14' spray area. Even though the spray sloshes around alot when driving over uneven ground it pumps the tank dry without skipping areas. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lots of Adjustments

,
April 30, 2014
By RalphC
from Iowa
" I was disapointed that the sprayer was not tall enought, nor had pins wide enough to easily pick up with my 3 pt hook up on my tractor. The modifications that a welding shop had to make to allow me to do this cost as much as the sprayer, not to mention that after the modifications, I had to relocate the pump. Although I have not yet used this item to spray, the pump is smaller than the standard that I can get at my local farm supply but I am hopeful that it will be adequate enough for the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Spray nozzle too low

,
February 27, 2014
By Playfarmer
from Kentucky
" I have a Kubota L3400 35 HP tractor. The nozzle is so low on this sprayer that when the 3pt hitch raises to full height I can only get a 4ft wide spray pattern. The nozzle height is not adjustable and no boom attachment is available. This may be a great product for the right tractor but useless for me. Just be sure you know how high your hitch will lift this thing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
This review is from: Please see replacement item# 2681781 . NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast Sprayer - 55-Gallon, 12V Pump @ 2.2 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs larger pump.

,
May 7, 2012
By DSW99
from Broadway, VA
" It does what it is supposed to do. The pump is a little small, so you have to drive slowly to get the recommended spray vol. Of course, you will pay considerably more for a PTO driven pump. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
This review is from: Please see replacement item# 2681781 . NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast Sprayer - 55-Gallon, 12V Pump @ 2.2 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

boomless 3pt hitch sprayer

,
June 6, 2011
By kg2011
from Travelers Rest, SC
" This sprayer came in, took less than 30 mins to put together. I hooked it to tractor, checked for leaks and went straight to work. It is so easy to use and does such a great job. It was a great investment for small farm. Easy to get into small places. Everyone should have one who has small pastures..... "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
This review is from: Please see replacement item# 2681781 . NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast Sprayer - 55-Gallon, 12V Pump @ 2.2 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horse pasture development.....

,
March 14, 2011
By Tumbleweed
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
" Great product. No problem with weight or clearance issues installed on my 30 HP Yanmar. Could use a larger GPM pump, so additional pumps are mandatory for efficient application of a wide range of chemicals. Instuctions detailed enough to include formulas for application rates, re, speed/Gallons per acre/sq ft/etc. Using to convert existing pastures to Tifton 85 hybrid grass this year (Applications of Glysophate, Diurion 4L, etc.). Sprayer has made this project cost effective. Smaller tractors might need additional weight up front for maximum tank fill. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 55 Gallon, 2.2 GPM, 12 Volt"
This review is from: Please see replacement item# 2681781 . NorthStar 3-Pt. Broadcast Sprayer - 55-Gallon, 12V Pump @ 2.2 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for me!

,
June 24, 2010
By Baylee
from Western NY
" I have used this sprayer for several loads of organic fish fertilizer, and it has worked great! The wand attachment is just great for watering the big vegetable garden we have this year too. One small detail, make sure you remove the "parts packed inside" label on top of the screw on top. It blocks the vent! The pump was powerful enough to suck in the tank before I discovered the vent was blocked! I have covered over 60 acres already, with no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.