Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt

NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt

Item# 268180
This NorthStar Tree Sprayer's piston pump moves 2.0 GPM at open flow and 1.0 GPM at max. system pressure of 200 PSI. Built-in pressure regulator with internal bypass allows easy adjustment. Stainless steel components and Viton seals are chemical ready priming/recirculation line recirculates chemical. NorthStar's proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls that won't bulge or sag. It stands up to chemicals thanks to a special polymer known for its superior chemical resistance. Tank is UV-stabilized to prevent fading and other sun damage. Also includes 3/8in x 35ft. hose, 2 1/2in. liquid-filled 300 PSI gauge, Teflon-coated pump body, remote switch assembly and tie-down straps. Order optional boom kit Item# 2730111 but requires adapter kit Item# 268181, sold separately. Flow GPM 2, Spray Gun Type Tree sprayer, Pressure PSI 200, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 x 15 x 15 1/2, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 35, Tank Size gal. 16, Pump Type Pumptec 114 Series, Power Supply 12V, Spray Height ft. 30, Spray Pattern Stream, cone, fog. 15ft. broadcast width when you order optional boom kit Item# 2730111 and adapter kit Item# 268181 Reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring the chemical flow simple Agitation equipped Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Sprayer attaches to ATV with included tie-down straps Adjustable Pressure Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.219 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
28 of 32(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Review 21 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tree sprayer

,
October 27, 2009
By newtoolguy
"Over all this product works well. I use it to spray about 12 fruit trees and a few ornamental plants. My only complaint about the product is that it can not maintain the high pressure needed to reach the top of my regular size apple trees. You have to stop spraying for about 10 seconds and wait for it to build up pressure and then continue spraying. It works well on my dwarf and semi dwarf tress under continual use, but not the standard size trees. It works much better then a standard sprayer and has a much better range. This is my second such unit. The other one I use to spray weed killer on willows and other scrub brush on the farm fence lines. Same pluses and minuses with both units."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorhtStar ATV Tree Sprayer

,
June 1, 2010
By TreeBandit
from Tuscaloosa, Al.
"Very pleased with sprayer, tried other types however created more work than benefit... this one much easier to use and operate. Great for spraying eves around house for mildue, the 35 foot hose is also very handy when getting to out of the way places. I use my sprayer in a UTV bed--- fits nicely.
This is a keeper for me.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK for a price

,
June 6, 2010
By Motorod
from Clinton, TN
"I bought on about 3 years ago and the pump gave out this year. So it worked good for 2-1/2 seasons. I used it about 4 times per season. I Bought another one this year, because I couldn't find a competitor and the first one was wired wrong and wouldnt work. They replaced it and it works but not to the pressure advertised. I will find something different next time if it kills me. I only use it for home pesticide."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sprayer

,
August 24, 2010
By cyclone25
"I have used a bottle sprayer for years to try to keep the pine-tiop-moth under control, with no luck. I have looked for a sprayer for my ATV and came across this sprayer fro their catalog, finally found one that works perfectly, after 20 years finally got control of the moth, and with the spray mist I can keep flies and mosquitos under control. We live on the edge of the Palo-Duro-Canyon, so we have all kinds of insects, but no more.
One thing when puttting hoses on make sure you double clamp and tighten securely, the first time I pressured up to 200 lbs water went every where, also tank needs to be full to get the primer to prime all lines. Spray head works great for misting or straight line sraying. Need to use spray burst for 200 lb spraying too keep pressure but around 175-180 lbs sprays pretty continously.
Yes I have actually recommended this to several people. Thanks for a great product !!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High presser sprayer

,
November 16, 2010
By BobDfarmer
from Richmond, VA
"I use this sprayer for my orchard and my garden. The greatest thing I like is it has enough reach for the full grown trees and it has a wide spray for spraying things like pole beans and sweet potatoes. It does take some time for it to get it's prime."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ATV Tree Sprayer

,
November 16, 2010
By wyohun
from Cheyenne, Wyoming
"I purchased this unit to do double duty,i.e: spray about 100 trees for pine beetle control ,and to use as spot sprayer for weeds. The advertised 30 foot spray height is a stretch. Even a very short burst barely reaches that high. I pumped about 100 gal through it summer without any problem. Using the same nozzle for both applications works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little sprayer

,
May 11, 2011
By geomanisintense
from Bellevue, Michigan
"This is a great little sprayer. Pretty easy to assemble out of the box. I really like the adjustability of the gun. It used to take me 5 to 6 hours to complete the spraying of my little orchard and vineyard. It took only 1.5 hrs to do the same spraying program, with much better coverage. If you want to ease the burden of spraying, buy this sprayer. Very easy to assemble, use, and clean. So far, no negative aspects. I had no problems spraying my large trees or my little trees. Got great coverage, and I was able to stay out of the mist pretty easy due to the range the spray gun has."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

hi-pressure atv tree sprayer

,
June 12, 2011
By fruittreeguy
from georgia
"this sprayer has many good features and originally worked like i expected: good spray height (30ft), hose length, light weight and mostly easy to clean.
after several uses i now have some on-going problems:
1. the wires continually pull out of the on/off switch causing repairs to be made during the middle of spraying. i finally just by passed it and leave it on since the on/off switch is such an issue. luckily, the cord is set up to bypass the switch.
2. after only 4 uses my sprayer now will only generate 50 lbs of pressure instead of 150 and that is WHEN i get the pump to prime. the directions don't provide enough problem solving.
if i cannot solve this prime/pressure problem then i'm going to return it and hope i got a lemon. i'm definately going to try a replacement because the unit really works well when it works."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sprayer

,
October 21, 2011
By tatt68
from Ia
"Best atv sprayer yet!Used on fencerows,trees,&brush.Pressure is adjustable and really like the pistol grip wand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for small to medium jobs

,
January 9, 2012
By russkerry
from Homestead, FL
"I have a 5 acre fruit grove. This sprayer is being used to spray specific trees at times that the turbine sprayer is not needed. I have owned the sprayer for 3 months and it has worked well. It has a powerful pump and will allow fine mist or long throwing spray. The only improvement would be to package this with a larger tank. The spray pistol is very good quality as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected....

,
May 5, 2013
By Jimmymik
from Lake Hauto, Pa
"The product was easy to put together with good directions. Pump primed right up and the sprayer worked better than I expected. I am super happy with this product so far..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NorthStar High-Pressure ATV Tree Sprayer - 16 Gallon, 2 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

operates as stated - was shipped w/ broken piece

,
April 23, 2014
By JB9999
from Tx
"operates as stated - was shipped w/ broken piece....would rather have the larger tank but it was not available with the larger pump.... which did not make sense to me"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-32 of 32