Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"

"NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"

Item# 2681851
"This NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer lets you spray areas in trees up to 30 feet high from the safety and convenience of your ATV. The heavy-duty NorthStar NSQ Series pump provides a longer life and improved priming. Use as a spot sprayer with 50-ft. horizontal spray. Pressure PSI 60, Spray Height ft. 30, Hose in. x ft. 3/4 x 15, Tow Behind Cart Included No, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Flow GPM 5.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 34 x 14 1/2 x 21 1/2, Tank Size gal. 26, Spray Gun Type Spot, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Power Supply 12V. 12V 5.5 GPM NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 60 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm for superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for less switch and motor wear Quick connect ports for easy changes Large 26-gallon tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer for superior chemical and UV resistance Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Built in variable agitation valve keeps chemicals properly mixed TeeJet hardened stainless steel long throw spray gun nozzle is matched to pump's flow and pressure to produce maximum spray height adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 50 feet horizontally and 30 feet vertically 15ft. x 3/4in. clear reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose makes monitoring chemical flow simple Large diameter hose reduces restrictions and improves performance at nozzle Easy fill 6' dia. tank lid Easy empty tank-bottom drain"
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crop sprayer

,
August 3, 2015
By
from Bethlehem PA
" Bought this sprayer a couple of weeks ago took it out of box to assemble on a Saturday about 5:30 in the evening. The instructions weren't the greatest to go by. First problem was the pump outlet fitting, they installed a 3/8 barbed elbow fitting instead of a 3/4 inch fitting. Right there already I'm dead in the water, hardware store is closed and can't get one until the morning. Lost about 3hrs in time and the inconvenience traveling back and fourth to the store 15 minutes away. The sprayer also had some leaks which were minor. All in all this sprayer works nice. It sprays about 20 to 25 ft vertically and about 40 ft horizontally. This sprayer would work a lot better for me if it was available with a larger tank, maybe a 40 to 60 gallon tank. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

,
May 9, 2015
By
from Yorktown
" To start it was missing a hose. It was cheaper to go to local hardware store and buy a replacement than wait for replacement to be sent or return to store. Does not reach no where near the 30' vertical feet it states in specs. Buy with caution. Disappointed ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 28, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. We apologize that you had a less than positive experience with this sprayer. If you have any questions or need assistance please contact our Product Support Team at 1-800-222-5381.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer.

,
May 7, 2015
By
from Michigan
" used it today to spray the pond and it worked perfect!! Had good range and quiet. Strapped it in the bucket of my tractor and that worked great, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 gallon, 5.5 GPM

,
May 28, 2014
By
from PA
" I found the NorthStar 26 gallon, 5.5 gpm tree spacer to be an excellent product, especially for the price. The assembly was straightforward, great portability, easily fitting in the back of my gator and meets all of its advertised claims with regard to spray distance, agitation, etc. I did experience a small leak around the packing gland of the spray handle but it was quickly remedied. The only drawback is that it only has a 26 gallon capacity, but understandable since it is designed to fit on the back of a ATV. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fire department use

,
May 24, 2014
By
from MA
" This unit was bought to use as a portable water supply for off-road brush fires. We built a platform to mount the tank and a battery for easy in and out of our Polaris Ranger and a 6x6 atv. It's seen action at a large brushfire where it was primarily used to refill Indian cans. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star ATV Tree Sprayer 26 gallon

,
May 14, 2014
By
from Rock Hill, S.C.
" This is an excellent product. Although it is designed to use on an ATV, I installed in on a small utility trailer that I purchased from Northern several years ago and pull it and connect it to the battery of a riding lawnmower. I installed the switch on the trailer. It was very easy to install and works very well. I was amazed at the height that it would spray and impressed with the automatic switch on the pump motor. I look forward to using it many times in the future.
DON NEAL "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it!

,
May 1, 2014
By
from Harsens Island, Michigan
" After using a standard spot sprayer for years and not being able to reach some spots too far away to spray, it was a pleasure to get this more powerful unit. In addition to herbicide work around the farm I have used it as a kind of fire fighting apparatus to wet down the short cut grass around an area I need to burn. It makes a nice fire stop. Also, when a couple of small trees caught fire during the burn it put out a good volume of water to put out the fire. I could not have done that with my 25 gallon spot sprayer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar ATV Tree Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK But Could Be Better

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Exeter, RI
" I have a small apple orchard and use the sprayer to apply a variety of sprays to the trees. It works OK but not great. It will not get a spray higher than about 20 feet. I am not sure if my unit has a problem but it tends to entrain alot of air leading to a pulsing of spray.
I like the fact that the agitator is built in and it does seem to work well to keep the sprays mixed. This is particular important with Surround, which is a clay mixture that tends to settle quickly.
The sprayer appears to be designed for use on the back of an ATV - but I use it with my Kubota (put it in the bucket of the front end loader). All in all a nice unit for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.