Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI

Item# 2682270
The NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump fits all NorthStar sprayers. The engineering-grade fiberglass-filled polypropylene composite pump manifold increases structural integrity. Amps 7.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 x 4 x 4, Mounting Base L x W in. 2 1/4 x 3 1/8, Seal Type Viton, Flow GPM 2.2, Inlet Port in. 3/8, Pressure PSI 70, Self-Priming Yes, Outlet Port in. 3/8, Temperature Capacity F Up to 140, Power Supply 12V. Pump turns itself off @ 70 PSI Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency High-grade copper-wound electric motor eliminates the need for additional cooling Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Heat- and chemical-resistant Viton valves and Santoprene diaphragms Self priming up to 8 feet above liquid level Fits all NorthStar sprayers Double-shielded radial ball bearings Silver contacts used for superior performance and durability Not for use with potable water Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Review 1 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far.....so good.

,
October 8, 2012
By Jp189466
from California
"Seems to be just fine. Good output. Good pressure. I would buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northstar 12 volt pump

,
October 8, 2012
By joby1
from Oxford,MS
"The pump is worked great so far . I used it about 10 times spraying clover plots and weeds. Its got good presser and water flow."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump

,
August 14, 2012
By BacoGuy
from Greeneville, Tn
"The pump is used on a small single nozzle herbicide sprayer. It has more than enough pressure and capacity for the job. If I need, I can add more nozzles.
Because it has more pressure and capacity, a pressure regulator is needed.
Nonetheless, I'm extremely pleased with this pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great replacement pump for tow-behind sprayer.

,
August 13, 2012
By Raleigh89
from raleigh,nc
"I used this 2.2 gpm NorthStar pump to replace the original 1.8 gpm pump used on my NorthStar 15 gal sprayer.
It was a perfect fit and an easy install. Has been running problem free so far.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sprayer

,
May 14, 2012
By kets
from Auxvasse, MO.
"Item was shipped quickly. It was mounted as a replacement pump for sprayer. Installation was simple and easily accomplished in about 15 minutes. Within 25 minutes I was back in operation.
I found the replacement pump to work as described, without any issues.
I would recommend it for use in sprayer or water pump situations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump!

,
January 9, 2012
By KennyinCvilleFL
from Cville, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Using this pump to spray a soap/water mix on an air boat and it seems to be well built and holding up well. Some sort of corrosion does build up on the metal ends but wipes off. A little heavy and probably over kill for my application but still a nice pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievably tough!

,
January 9, 2012
By thedetailer
from atlanta
"I have used this pump daily for over a year in my detailing business and it has performed flawlessly! I even use heater water @ 140F and it has still performed without incident. It's also easy on the battery; I use it with a deep well marine battery and I can go five days without needing to recharge it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flawless Performance

,
October 11, 2011
By jcortes
from Lafayette, LA
"I replaced the original pump on my 15 gal sprayer with the NorthStar pump and it is a perfect fit. It is an exelent product, It is also an improvement to the 1.8gpm original pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fountain Pump

,
June 11, 2011
By jack76
"We bought this pump to replace one in our garden fountain.
It runs quiet with just the right amount of flow. Northern tool always ship promptly. The quality is great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chemical pump

,
June 9, 2011
By Milkinit
from Florida
"We use these quite a bit on a dairy farm to spray for chemicals and they work for about a year then because we don't flush these out after each use, they go bad. The parts inside may even be repairable or replaceable if someone knew what they were doing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar pump

,
August 23, 2010
By thebutcher
from Tulsa, OK
"easy to wire & install, works great for spraying weed killer, 100 gal. at a time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare pump

,
August 23, 2010
By jfruggie
from jb florida
"Origional pump hasn't died yet but when it does, I'm ready"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't do well

,
July 29, 2010
By NurseryGuy
from South Alabama
"Spend a few bucks more and get a decent pump - this one is not it. Have had three of these pumps and three pressures switches have gone out on them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Product ExpertMerchandisingMarch 25, 2011
Northstar Diaphragm pump models 2681040 and 2682270 also used on sprayer models 268102, 26810, 268120, 268110, 2681210 have been upgraded from a 16 amp switch to a 22 amp Honeywell Micro Switch. Honeywell is the world leader and inventor of the Micro Switch. Our new switch is designed for extreme operating conditions and allows for longer life plus improved durability perfect for cycling the pump motor on/off rapidly. Northstar now offers a backwards compatible Honeywell Micro switch kit. Please contact Northstar Product Support @ 1-800-270-0810 for details. All Northstar diaphragm pumps are CE approved and adhere to international standards of quality.
Review 14 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
October 23, 2009
By JeremyS
from Greenwood, SC
"I used the pump with a broadcast sprayer behind my gator. It works well with good pressure."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar 12 Volt On Demand Diaphragm Pump

,
October 19, 2009
By SUMME
from Ontario Canada
"This pump is an excellent pump for the price. It performs as advertised, and is easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needed a new pump

,
July 25, 2009
By cajun369
from Port Barre, La.
"My old pump motor (shurflo 1gpm, 60psi) gave out after 10 years of hard service, and I needed to replace it. So I decided to try the NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump — 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI, and was not disappointed with it. I have two sprayers, one for roundup and one for insecticides, and I'm debating about buying another NorthStar pump one for the other sprayer (Shurflo 1.8gpm, 60psi). I would recommend this pump for replacement or a step up for more volume and pressure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 v pump

,
November 17, 2008
By cricker
from South Jersey
"On our farm we have need to transfer water from one tank to another when electric is not advailable. this pum has worked well, I don't have to drag out the large 2" engine powered pump for the small tanks anymore."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Replacement Pump

,
November 17, 2008
By gtmcge
from Noble, OK
"I purchased this pump to replace the original one on my pull behind sprayer. While Northern no longer sells my sprayer, this pump was a perfect replacement. The specifications were almost identical to the original pump and it fit perfectly. I did not have to change a thing on the sprayer to connect it.
I noticed no performance degradation with the new pump. I am very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spot sprayer pump

,
November 17, 2008
By Anonymous
from Bedias , Texas
"this pump fit on my sprayer with no modification and has preformed even better thn origonal equipment. I would reccomend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar 12 Volt On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 2.2 GPM @ 70 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
November 17, 2008
By markg00
from Ruston, LA
"I under sized my needs and the pump was not quite big enough to use on my 20' boomless sprayer, but work good when using the wand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.