Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI

NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI

Item# 2685561
The NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump is a premium-quality on-demand diaphragm pump that upgrades your sprayer with innovative components and engineering for superior spot or broadcast spraying performance. 100 continuous duty rating with no cool down period required. Amps 17, Self-Priming Yes, Flow GPM 5.5, Inlet Port in. 1/2, Outlet Port in. 1/2, Pressure PSI 60, Power Supply 12V, Mounting Base L x W in. 2.25 x 3.19. Automatically turns off when no flow is required to conserve battery power Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for reduced switch and motor wear Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm for reliability and longer life Innovative smooth valve design for faster priming and longer life Fiberglass reinforced polypropylene pump manifold for superior durability and resistance to chemicals Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide All components in fluid path have been tested and approved for Roundup use Self-priming up to 12 feet above liquid level 12 Volts Standard mounting pattern Fits all NorthStar sprayers and most other brands
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Review 1 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

,
September 14, 2014
By Matt5
from Winter haven
"Good pump for the money. Works well for spraying chemicals. Pleased with its performance."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pump Leaks

,
September 2, 2014
By Digital2
from Auburn, WA
"The only problem I had, was the diaphragm in the pump could have last a little longer. I did buy a spare. other then that it work fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump - volume lover

,
August 12, 2014
By gstock002
from Charlotte, NC
"I've only had this pump for a couple months now - it was a replacement to a dead 1.6 GPM pump I had on an ATV sprayer. I modified the suction side on the spayer rig to have a 1/2" line, ensuring maximum volume capability. On the discharge side, I have 2 choices via valve system: 1.) 3/8" clear line to a 50' 3/8" hose reel that I use to spray weeds in natural areas and 2.) a 1/2" outlet for a future sprayer boom setup.
In testing, I feel this pump, given it's relatively high volume rate, needs to have1/2" lines from the start of the suction line all the way to the discharge end, at minimum. I find when using the 3/8" hose reel that the pump cycles way too much because it's constricted by the 3/8" hose (the wand is capable of 6 GPM so I know that's not the culprit). When testing the 1/2" line discharge, it ran beautifully with a closer-to-expected cycle rate.
Great pump and seems very well built. I just think when using it, you should make sure you have your plumbing setup correctly for the volume it wants to produce (or go with a lesser GPM pump)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 12V Agronomic Pump

,
August 7, 2014
By EcotecPestLLC
from NM
"I ordered this pump to replace one that had come from the manufacturer where I purchased my power sprayer for weeds and pest control. This pump deliver much more pressure and volume than my previous 12v did. It is great for agricultural purposes and seems to being doing great with the higher viscosity chemicals that I put through it. There is an option for one higher GPM pump but I found that this one does the job for an incredible price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

leaky

,
July 27, 2014
By hossffly77
from nesbit ms.
"Works as described but leaks expensive chemicals through. You must install a shut off valve between the pump and the spray nozzle. Apparently there needs to be a check valve on the pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard working pump

,
June 24, 2014
By QUE8
from Longmont CO
"Use this pump for spraying weeds along 28 miles of irrigation ditch and works great no overheating or problems of any kind."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NQS 12 volt 5.5 GPM Pump

,
April 27, 2014
By jim75
from California
"Pump works great--maintains pressure and volume and shuts off abruptly upon closing hand valve on sprayer. Just wish it came with a water proof cover for a circuit breaker inline on the pump wiring."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

5.5gpm pump

,
March 9, 2014
By homeowner33
from Salem,Or
"It should have come with an inline fuse and the other end of the wiring. Sad that i have to go piece parts together. For the price, it should have been included."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar NSQ Series 12V On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 5.5 GPM @ 60 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

,
February 4, 2014
By Gord823
from San Antonio, Tx
"This product was very easy to install and works as advertised. I recommend the available switch as it makes wiring and use easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.