Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236

SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236

Item# 2687
This SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump is perfect for boats, RVs and more Runs quiet and can easily handle heavy-duty jobs, including agricultural spraying and transfer applications. Mounts in any position. Viton valves and Santoprene diaphragm to resist corrosion. Fully repairable pump body. 3/8in. female ports. Amps 7.3, Head ft. 6, Inlet Port in. 3/8, Lift ft. 5, Max. Inlet Pressure PSI 30, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 1/4 x 4, Flow GPM 1.8, Power Supply 12V, Pressure PSI 60, Seal Type Viton, Self-Priming Yes, Mounting Base L x W in. 2 1/4 x 3 7/32, Outlet Port in. 3/8, Temperature Capacity F 170. Polypropylene construction for long service life Corrosion-resistant Viton valves and Santoprene diaphragm Mounts in any position for versatility On-demand switch Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Fully repairable pump body Note This pump cannot be used with flammable liquids Not approved for drinking water
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 50(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Review 1 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recreational usage

,
September 30, 2014
By LMCM
from VT
"I use three of these. Two in a camp and one in a Bug Out Trailer. They were recommended by others with similar uses. Work as advertised and priced right for my application. I would spend 3-4 times more for an industrial pump if it was used full time but for my needs it's a five star."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

,
August 13, 2014
By Tigers11
from Louisiana
"Use this pump to spray around my properties, works great for the applications i use it for"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect replacement part

,
July 31, 2014
By EGallo
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
"The pump is probably the third one for my sprayer. It was easy to replace (actually my wife did it) and the screws match up perfectly on my sprayer. Now we are back to spraying the weeds and bugs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boomless sprayer

,
June 23, 2014
By Aggie80
from Texas
"I replaced a smaller pump on a 15 gallon tank then wired it and used the new nozzle offered by Northern Tool to create a spray rig for a 4 wheeler that covers a 12' path without a boom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement

,
June 17, 2014
By montyd1
from Bee Spring, Ky
"This is a replacement pump for a sprayer that I purchased several years ago from Northern Tool. The pump was easy to mount and I had it going in less than 20 minutes and it performs exactly as it should/"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad.

,
June 5, 2014
By Joshieee
from Al
".Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad.
.Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad
.Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad
.Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad
.Not as good as the 1.4 GPM that went bad"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful Pump

,
August 20, 2012
By BJhandyman
from Cedar Rapis, Iowa
"I have one of these pumps on a pull behind sprayer and use it to spray fungiside on my pine trees. It reaches 30 feet in the air."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable Pump

,
May 7, 2012
By RIFtox
from West Palm Beach
"The pump is highly reliable, and remains functional for several years, even when stored outdoors on a spray tank. It's an on-demand pump that provides sufficient pressure to apply liquid pesticides to lawns and gardens. I've given it four stars rather than five stars because on rare occasions, it seems to momentarily pause, but then goes right back to work. The Northern Tool price is very competitive, and the pump is a good value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump Highly Recommend

,
January 16, 2012
By onemrtime
from palm beach, fl
"I use this pump to spray chemicals on roofs to powerwash them. I use 300 ' of hose and have no problems. Great machine plus northern tools stand behind what they sell. Its a win win"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Spray Pump Around

,
March 21, 2011
By DrRav
"I have used SHURflo spary pumps on the farm for several years, spraying trees, spraying weeds, pestidice use, dormant fruit spray... these pumps have never let me down, always work, very efficient, low maint. I have used other pumps, these are by far the best."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ShurFlo

,
March 21, 2011
By Zena
from Southern Calif.
"I had to replace my pump on my 16 gal sprayer with this one. It was very simple and easy to install and works better then the original pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURflo diaphragm pump 1.8 GPM

,
March 16, 2011
By LJWFC
"I have used these pumps for many years. I bought the first one back in 1989 and continue to use them to this day. I have a small farm and my spray rig gets a lot of use. I spray both pre and post emergent products and this pump handles them without a problem. I just put the spray unit in my UATV and start spraying. Yes, they will wear out eventually but I get several years use out of each one and that makes them very cost effective. I don't think you can go wrong with one of these pumps."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

out last all the others

,
March 14, 2011
By RIFstain
from Dallas, Texas
"The SHURflow On-Demand pump is the most reliable pump I have used with the best quality, price and value. I tried a couple other pumps that did not last half as long as the SHURflow product. I am sold and will not use any other pumps on the job or out at deer camp."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Home owner

,
March 14, 2011
By Davis1BL
"I used the shurflo pump s a replacement on a lawn sprayer. The shurflo was reasonible priced and worked well. However the pump did not have a on off switch built in or a pressure gadge as the previous pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

,
December 6, 2010
By MrWhiskers
from Central PA
"This pump replaced a failing one on my vintage Demco sprayer. Lined up perfectly on the original bracket and functions better than the original. Just what I was hoping for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shur-flow sprayer pump

,
November 29, 2010
By rebuild
from mt pleasant, mi
"Installed this pump on our self propelled weed sprayer, has worked very well this summer. Switched to the shur-flo pump from another brand due to pressure switch issues. I am very pleased with the pump so far and would recommend it to anyone building a sprayer. Also very well priced compared to other venders."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

LOW PSI

,
November 25, 2010
By TOMPL
from Placervile, ca
"I just spent an hour replacing my old identical motor with this new one and it does not work. It only puts out 15 PSI even though the spec is 60. I have emailed Shurflo and will call them also to see what they say. Maybe its just a lemon."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too much pump?

,
July 5, 2010
By Throttler
from Cincinnati, OH
"This is a great pump so far, but might be a little too big for what I needed. It seems like the minimum amount I can run thru the pump is about 1.2gpm at 40psi without pump cycling. Running just a handheld wand causes the pump to cycle rapidly. I have 4 blue nozzles covering about 128" of area. Changing to the red nozzles provides some margin to the pump cycling by upping the flow rate (~1.6gpm at 40psi). Adding additional volume to the circuit helps dampen the pulsations, reducing or eliminating the cycling. Running 3-4 yellow or green nozzles is not an option because of pump cycling (would have to add nozzles to get the flow rate up above 1.2gpm). I probably could have gotten by w/ the 1gpm model (8009-541-236). I used about 154 gallons of water and 2.25 gallons (~1.5% mixture) of 2,4-D to kill weeds on a ~3 acre lawn."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

,
June 1, 2010
By sawmill
from Otto, NC
"My Sprayer came with this type of pump and it went bad right away. Warranty wouldn't cover it and when I bought a new one, It lasted one spraying before doing the same."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1.8 GPM, 60 PSI, 12 Volt, Model# 8009-543-236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shurflo 12v pump

,
June 1, 2010
By PhilD
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I purchased this pump to mount on a Northstar 26 gallon tank. I use it to water trees on a 5 acre plot. The pump works great. Self primes and gets the job done. No need for an electrical on off switch as the pump only turns on when the water valve is open. The tank and pump sit in a tow behind trailor for my ride around mower. Been using now for over a month and am very satisfied with the purchase.
I would highly recomend this pump and tank to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.