Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

"Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

Item# 27080
"This Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer is a versatile multi-use sprayer that offers a spray width of up to 50in. with its front mounted broadcast nozzle. The powerful sprayer delivers up to a 15-ft. vertical and a 20-ft. horizontal spray with 18in. handgun. Rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels and can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch. Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible also ideal for fertilizer or deicing sidewalks in winter. Includes a rechargeable 12V battery that provides 2 hour runtime, along with a 9-gallon chemical resistant tank and 1 GPM pump with Viton seals. Total dimensions are 24in.L x 19in.W x 24in.H. Seal Type Viton, Battery Charging Time hrs. 8, Broadcast Width ft. 20, Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 x 19 x 24, Flow oz./min. 128, Hose Length in. 120, Pump Type 12V, Repairable Pump No, Tank Size gal. 9, Wand Length in. 18, Spray Pattern Horizontal/vertical, Spray Height ft. 15. Maneuverable rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels Can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible Ideal choice for fertilizer application or deicing sidewalks in winter Included rechargeable 12V battery provides 2 hour runtime Includes 9-gallon chemical resistant tank 1 GPM pump with Viton seals Adjustable handle allows for compact storage"
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
32 of 39(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Review 1 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

leaks, poor tank design

,
June 21, 2016
By
from Austin, TX
This was exactly what I was looking for, until I used it. Capacity and large wheels were perfect for a rough lawn and garden area. Spray pressure, wand and hose were good. HOWEVER.. build quality was very poor. It leaked at the bulkhead connector from the tank to the pump and could not be fixed without taking the whole thing apart. The tank design should have had the pump intake on the bottom lowest point of the tank. They placed it on the back which leaves about a quart of fluid in the tank that must be drained out after use. Also the battery and pump are placed on the back of the tank which makes it unbalanced unless the tank is filled. Had to return the unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Portable sprayer Issues finally show up

,
May 17, 2016
By
from Illinois
Well, the wife and I purchased a new home some years ago, and she just loves to grow things. So, because our new home came with an acre, and she wasn't going to use the shoulder carrying sprayer we had had for years, I purchased her first sprayer for her 3 years ago, then I purchased another unit for her a year later (2014). Anyway, issues started to rear their ugly heads early in 2015 with power problems.
Factory wire connections came loose and apart under the battery cover preventing the wife from recharging the units. Then after getting that problem repaired, it turns out that the repairs didn't matter because the batteries were no good after the first year and wouldn't hold a charge. Luckily, the batteries aren't that expensive, so two new ones were installed and she was spraying happy again.
2016 - The hoses were finally starting to upset the wife. The icing on the cake was when the wands finally broke last week. so two new better quality wands were ordered from a different vendor and the coiled plastic hoses were dispatched and upgraded to 12" of nylon reinforced tubing on each of the units.. She's happier. Both of the units work like they were designed to, and now I can get back to my chores.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Powered Sprayer

,
May 8, 2016
By
from Nevada, Mo
I have had no issues with this product. Only used once, but it works great for me. As I have aged I try to purchase tools that still allow me to do the work needed around the house, but to be able to do those chores with less effort. I would recommend this to my friends.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built product

,
May 4, 2016
By
from Great Neck, NY
This sprayer is geared to be able to be moved around by hand or for it to be towed behind a small mower/tractor. You can spray with the wand or via a small sprayer that attaches to the jug itself, and a big lever in the back switches between the two. It's well built, and I love the fact that I don't need to keep pumping it because of the built-in battery and pump. 9 gallons is a good amount although it's pretty heavy when full. Overall I recommend this without reservation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Many problems with the Master Gardener Sprayer

,
March 28, 2016
By
from Waialua, HI
When we first ordered the Master Gardener Sprayer, it arrived in a damaged box, and the sprayer itself was damaged too. At our request, Northern Tool sent a replacement body. After 1 wonderful spraying session, the tank began to leak and it wouldnʻt hold a charge. Under warranty (we had to pay shipping) a third complete Master Gardener Sprayer was exchanged. This one also leaks. It has been an extremely unsatisfactory product and a big waste of my money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sprayer

,
March 20, 2016
By
from Keizer or
wish hose was straight and longer, remote could be a little longer as well. great concept and am pleased with this sprayer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Poor Reviewers are assembling incorrectly

,
October 29, 2015
By
from FL
I have seen a couple reviews that the pump is not working out of the box. The PUMP IS DISCONNECTED OUT OF THE BOX so the battery doesn't sit there on the shelf hooked up.You must connect the battery and pump to spray.
Secondly, for the drain plug at the tank there is a rubber gasket that comes in the bag of parts that goes between the drain cap and threads. If it is leaking you either did not include this rubber gasket or you didn't tighten it well enough.
Just wanted to address to the couple negatives that I have read.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Making life a little easyer

,
October 11, 2015
By
from payson,Az
The sprayer is as it is advertised,works great,the coiled hose has some getting use to put other that it is great.I pull it behind my lawn tractor and spray all of the weeds and I have over and acker and a half of ground to cover,all fenced in.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks!

,
September 8, 2015
By
from Miami
The materials for this product are pretty heavy duty and I like the design but this company's QC department is horrible. Unfortunately I cannot review the pump, sprayer or anything else because I couldn't get that far. As I was filling it with water it was leaking from the bottom spout. Luckily I noticed the leak or I would have a swirl of dead grass all over my yard! I had to unscrew the cap and the inner spout and put Teflon tape and epoxy to try and stop the leak. If this doesn't work then I will go to a hardware store to buy some brass fittings. I would rather go through all this instead of going through the return/exchange process. I really want this sprayer to work but I am fed up with these companies that put out a product that does not work.
My next stop is to write a letter to the company who makes this sprayer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My back is much happier!

,
August 23, 2015
By
from Terryville.Ct
Tired of dragging a sprayer on my back. I have used this sprayer multiple times since it arrived. Put together and put it to work. Not used to remembering to switch off a sprayer…. Overnight charge worked great! As others pointed out, the manufacturer could create a better product by adding a 25ft spray hose and get rid of the coiled thing. I did as others and replaced it myself. If the manufacture does that, they would earn a 5th star.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

,
August 19, 2015
By
from Vero Beach, Fl
Got it all put together, and the pump does not work. The worst when it comes to directions and/or diagrams.
Will bring it back and see what happens.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but it could be a lot better for the money

,
August 13, 2015
By
from KY
I have used this sprayer to spray 10-15 backyard semi-dwarf and dwarf fruit trees four times so far. I too replaced the 10' coiled hose with a 10' non-coiled one. The resistance of the coiled one was very substantial and holding the wand above my head caused significant shoulder and back pain. It was difficult to get more than six feet from it.
The 40 psi pump has proved inadequate to reach the top of the semi dwarf trees without greatly reducing the spray pattern, which more than doubles the amount of spray need to cover the leaves properly. This creates a great deal of over-spray that adds to the environmental hazard of spraying, in addition to the cost of the added spray. A 60 psi pump would be needed to get a sufficient spray pattern at the 12-15 foot height. Part of the problem is that the pump is at ground level, not 3-4 feet higher on your back as with a backpack sprayer. When the pump goes bad I will replace it with a 60 psi one. The unit looks adequately constructed to be able to handle this.
The design of the tank leaves much to be desired. Since it is molded plastic It would have been so easy to have the drain and the intake drop below the bottom of the tank floor thus allowing a more complete evacuation of the liquid when applying the spray or emptying the tank. In the same vein, a 3/4" drain plug is unnecessarily small for a nine gallon tank. I wonder if the person who designed the tank ever used the sprayer.
Unlike other reviewers I found the spray wand much superior to my Field King back pack sprayer model. The filter attaches to the back of the wand so the handle does not get in the way when you unscrew the coupling which holds it. The spray tip gives good control over the dispersion of the round spray pattern.
The unit is rather unstable when it is not over half full. The heavy battery is attached to the back of the sprayer. toward the top of the tank. Closer to the bottom or under the bottom would have helped this balance, as would bringing the manual towing handle closer to the center before rising up the sides.
My unit came with the battery pack already installed. There were a couple of screw type connectors that were not tight so I tightened them when I replaced the hose.
I knew I was taking a chance when I bought this sprayer. But I do not have an ATV or riding mower and did not want to buy one just to have a trailer sprayer with a 60-70 psi sprayer. While I can get that high with my backpack sprayer, it just demands more energy than my 73 years of wear and tear want to expend. So this one looked like it might be able to do the job. I spent a lot of time looking for a better one on the internet but would have had to get an ATV or spend more than twice as much for a sprayer with a different set of problems. I think I can make this one work much better for me with a bit more adaptation and modification. It sure beats my backpack sprayer and gets the job done in half the time. That difference makes more willing to spray when I should and not let the possibility of rain provide an excuse to let it slide yet another day.
So far the battery has proved up to my needs without the need for a recharge
I would recommend this sprayer for someone in my situation. But if I had an ATV or a riding mower, I would get a more powerful trailer or ATV model.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
I have only used this once since recently purchasing. I have two other battery pump sprayers, one a 4 gal "portable", one a 10 gallon that I put on the back of my UTV. This cart sprayer is more convenient for my needs that the other two. The spray hose is a little short and balky, so I may replace it with a longer and different style hose. (That's why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5.) And don't you know it, I got a $20 coupon in the mail I could have used - but I had already purchased the sprayer. Regardless, I am happy with this, and would recommend this sprayer over the other units I have.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Listen to the reviewers!!!

,
July 20, 2015
By
from North Carolina
I considered the opinion of other owners and went ahead ordering this sprayer. Received it, put it together (trivial) and agreed that the included hose was nothing more than a joke. It would be more fatiguing trying to use that hose than dragging the heavy sprayer around my acreage. I didn't even bother trying to use the spray with that hose.
Around $14 worth of 10 foot (3/8") hose, coupler and a couple clamps and I was set. I decided to attach the new hose to the existing coiled one just for added reach. Had to heat the included hose to insert the 3/8 coupler but that was no biggie.
I sprayed a tank and a half of chemicals yesterday and the battery was still going strong.
So far I'm more than satisfied with the sprayer but FORGET THE INCLUDED HOSE!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little sprayer

,
June 5, 2015
By
from North Carolina
This is a great little sprayer. Beats having 35+ pounds on your back and pumping every few minutes. The battery seems to keep a good long charge.
Only cons would be it needs a longer hose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grat product desiagn with upgrades

,
June 1, 2015
By
from Rural Wi.
In the product literature I believe their was a photo of sprayer being pulled by a commercial J>D> riding mower. While reading reviews and researching I did not
focus on the hitch or the amount stress it would be subject t o with tank full of herbicide. During assembly I tried to think about ag implements that take the rigidity out of hitch bar. At the time I even discuussed it with my wife who just bought the J.D. Of course she insisted no modifications to the mower. Unfortunately the hitch broke off the first afternoon of use. Because it broke right at the mount at the bottom of the sprayer I see no easy fix. Someone in engineering has to come up with of torsion connection. Thats all for now.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
May 24, 2015
By
from La
I use as a towed sprayer behInd my lawn tractor. Have not used it a lot,but what I have I like it design and ease of use would Appreciate a longer hose have no problem. Too date
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Vo

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Statesville NC
Didn't work. Never could get it to power up. Took it back to the store.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well made but limited use

,
May 2, 2015
By
from MT
This is a quality sprayer as far as construction/parts go
BUT it has several draw backs: wheels too small for use on anything but turf and smooth backyards. We bought it for use around the ranch (smaller areas) and it can't handle rough ground at all. Also, the sprayer hose is much too stiff and inflexible. Doesn't reach very far and clumsy to use. The motor pump is actually too strong for spot spraying so the sprayer wastes a lot of spray, delivering way more than needed - unless doing broadcast type spraying for really large areas.
The 'adjustable' handle doesn't extend far enough for a taller person & doesn't counter balance the sprayer
very well.
We have an older version sprayer (no longer made) & it's a much better performer, easier to use and
travels over rough ground much better (larger wheels). The engineers need to go back to the drawing board on this one ... and ask those of us who
use it how to improve it. There isn't much out there
in the way of walk behind or pull sprayers and that's too bad. Wish we could get another like the old one
we have.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Parkland, Florida
I was excited to find this product as the weight of those 4 gallon back pack sprayers took a toll on my back. It seemed to be a good value compared with others on the market with similar features. The first one I received would not charge. I called the company and they took me through a series of steps to try to fix it including changing the fuse to no avail. So I called Northern to exchange it and they were very apologetic and quickly set up the exchange. Much to my disappointment, the second one also would not charge. However, when I changed the fuse, it finally worked properly and I have enjoyed using the sprayer around my home garden. I do agree with other reviews that the coil hose is too short and I am hoping the manufacturer offers a longer replacement hose to purchase in the future. I would recommend this product but just keep some 10 amp fuses handy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.