Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

"Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

Item# 27080
"This Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer is a versatile multi-use sprayer that offers a spray width of up to 50in. with its front mounted broadcast nozzle. The powerful sprayer delivers up to a 15-ft. vertical and a 20-ft. horizontal spray with 18in. handgun. Rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels and can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch. Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible also ideal for fertilizer or deicing sidewalks in winter. Includes a rechargeable 12V battery that provides 2 hour runtime, along with a 9-gallon chemical resistant tank and 1 GPM pump with Viton seals. Total dimensions are 24in.L x 19in.W x 24in.H. Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 x 19 x 24, Seal Type Viton, Tank Size gal. 9, Wand Length in. 18, Spray Height ft. 18, Broadcast Width ft. 20, Flow oz./min. 128, Repairable Pump No, Pump Type 12V, Hose Length in. 120, Battery Charging Time hrs. 8, Spray Pattern Horizontal/vertical. Maneuverable rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels Can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible Ideal choice for fertilizer application or deicing sidewalks in winter Included rechargeable 12V battery provides 2 hour runtime Includes 9-gallon chemical resistant tank 1 GPM pump with Viton seals Adjustable handle allows for compact storage"
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 of 30(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Review 1 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My back is much happier!

,
August 23, 2015
By
from Terryville.Ct
" Tired of dragging a sprayer on my back. I have used this sprayer multiple times since it arrived. Put together and put it to work. Not used to remembering to switch off a sprayer…. Overnight charge worked great! As others pointed out, the manufacturer could create a better product by adding a 25ft spray hose and get rid of the coiled thing. I did as others and replaced it myself. If the manufacture does that, they would earn a 5th star. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

,
August 19, 2015
By
from Vero Beach, Fl
" Got it all put together, and the pump does not work. The worst when it comes to directions and/or diagrams.
Will bring it back and see what happens.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but it could be a lot better for the money

,
August 13, 2015
By
from KY
" I have used this sprayer to spray 10-15 backyard semi-dwarf and dwarf fruit trees four times so far. I too replaced the 10' coiled hose with a 10' non-coiled one. The resistance of the coiled one was very substantial and holding the wand above my head caused significant shoulder and back pain. It was difficult to get more than six feet from it.
The 40 psi pump has proved inadequate to reach the top of the semi dwarf trees without greatly reducing the spray pattern, which more than doubles the amount of spray need to cover the leaves properly. This creates a great deal of over-spray that adds to the environmental hazard of spraying, in addition to the cost of the added spray. A 60 psi pump would be needed to get a sufficient spray pattern at the 12-15 foot height. Part of the problem is that the pump is at ground level, not 3-4 feet higher on your back as with a backpack sprayer. When the pump goes bad I will replace it with a 60 psi one. The unit looks adequately constructed to be able to handle this.
The design of the tank leaves much to be desired. Since it is molded plastic It would have been so easy to have the drain and the intake drop below the bottom of the tank floor thus allowing a more complete evacuation of the liquid when applying the spray or emptying the tank. In the same vein, a 3/4" drain plug is unnecessarily small for a nine gallon tank. I wonder if the person who designed the tank ever used the sprayer.
Unlike other reviewers I found the spray wand much superior to my Field King back pack sprayer model. The filter attaches to the back of the wand so the handle does not get in the way when you unscrew the coupling which holds it. The spray tip gives good control over the dispersion of the round spray pattern.
The unit is rather unstable when it is not over half full. The heavy battery is attached to the back of the sprayer. toward the top of the tank. Closer to the bottom or under the bottom would have helped this balance, as would bringing the manual towing handle closer to the center before rising up the sides.
My unit came with the battery pack already installed. There were a couple of screw type connectors that were not tight so I tightened them when I replaced the hose.
I knew I was taking a chance when I bought this sprayer. But I do not have an ATV or riding mower and did not want to buy one just to have a trailer sprayer with a 60-70 psi sprayer. While I can get that high with my backpack sprayer, it just demands more energy than my 73 years of wear and tear want to expend. So this one looked like it might be able to do the job. I spent a lot of time looking for a better one on the internet but would have had to get an ATV or spend more than twice as much for a sprayer with a different set of problems. I think I can make this one work much better for me with a bit more adaptation and modification. It sure beats my backpack sprayer and gets the job done in half the time. That difference makes more willing to spray when I should and not let the possibility of rain provide an excuse to let it slide yet another day.
So far the battery has proved up to my needs without the need for a recharge
I would recommend this sprayer for someone in my situation. But if I had an ATV or a riding mower, I would get a more powerful trailer or ATV model. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
" I have only used this once since recently purchasing. I have two other battery pump sprayers, one a 4 gal "portable", one a 10 gallon that I put on the back of my UTV. This cart sprayer is more convenient for my needs that the other two. The spray hose is a little short and balky, so I may replace it with a longer and different style hose. (That's why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5.) And don't you know it, I got a $20 coupon in the mail I could have used - but I had already purchased the sprayer. Regardless, I am happy with this, and would recommend this sprayer over the other units I have. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Listen to the reviewers!!!

,
July 20, 2015
By
from North Carolina
" I considered the opinion of other owners and went ahead ordering this sprayer. Received it, put it together (trivial) and agreed that the included hose was nothing more than a joke. It would be more fatiguing trying to use that hose than dragging the heavy sprayer around my acreage. I didn't even bother trying to use the spray with that hose.
Around $14 worth of 10 foot (3/8") hose, coupler and a couple clamps and I was set. I decided to attach the new hose to the existing coiled one just for added reach. Had to heat the included hose to insert the 3/8 coupler but that was no biggie.
I sprayed a tank and a half of chemicals yesterday and the battery was still going strong.
So far I'm more than satisfied with the sprayer but FORGET THE INCLUDED HOSE!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little sprayer

,
June 5, 2015
By
from North Carolina
" This is a great little sprayer. Beats having 35+ pounds on your back and pumping every few minutes. The battery seems to keep a good long charge.
Only cons would be it needs a longer hose.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grat product desiagn with upgrades

,
June 1, 2015
By
from Rural Wi.
" In the product literature I believe their was a photo of sprayer being pulled by a commercial J>D> riding mower. While reading reviews and researching I did not
focus on the hitch or the amount stress it would be subject t o with tank full of herbicide. During assembly I tried to think about ag implements that take the rigidity out of hitch bar. At the time I even discuussed it with my wife who just bought the J.D. Of course she insisted no modifications to the mower. Unfortunately the hitch broke off the first afternoon of use. Because it broke right at the mount at the bottom of the sprayer I see no easy fix. Someone in engineering has to come up with of torsion connection. Thats all for now.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
May 24, 2015
By
from La
" I use as a towed sprayer behInd my lawn tractor. Have not used it a lot,but what I have I like it design and ease of use would Appreciate a longer hose have no problem. Too date "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Vo

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Statesville NC
" Didn't work. Never could get it to power up. Took it back to the store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well made but limited use

,
May 2, 2015
By
from MT
" This is a quality sprayer as far as construction/parts go
BUT it has several draw backs: wheels too small for use on anything but turf and smooth backyards. We bought it for use around the ranch (smaller areas) and it can't handle rough ground at all. Also, the sprayer hose is much too stiff and inflexible. Doesn't reach very far and clumsy to use. The motor pump is actually too strong for spot spraying so the sprayer wastes a lot of spray, delivering way more than needed - unless doing broadcast type spraying for really large areas.
The 'adjustable' handle doesn't extend far enough for a taller person & doesn't counter balance the sprayer
very well.
We have an older version sprayer (no longer made) & it's a much better performer, easier to use and
travels over rough ground much better (larger wheels). The engineers need to go back to the drawing board on this one ... and ask those of us who
use it how to improve it. There isn't much out there
in the way of walk behind or pull sprayers and that's too bad. Wish we could get another like the old one
we have.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Parkland, Florida
" I was excited to find this product as the weight of those 4 gallon back pack sprayers took a toll on my back. It seemed to be a good value compared with others on the market with similar features. The first one I received would not charge. I called the company and they took me through a series of steps to try to fix it including changing the fuse to no avail. So I called Northern to exchange it and they were very apologetic and quickly set up the exchange. Much to my disappointment, the second one also would not charge. However, when I changed the fuse, it finally worked properly and I have enjoyed using the sprayer around my home garden. I do agree with other reviews that the coil hose is too short and I am hoping the manufacturer offers a longer replacement hose to purchase in the future. I would recommend this product but just keep some 10 amp fuses handy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPRAYER

,
March 21, 2015
By
from CA
" Nice sprayer. Big wheels make it easy to move when its full. Battery holds a charge very well. Ran two full tanks in one setting easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
February 18, 2015
By
from Willits, California
" I like the sprayer very much except for the coil hose. The coil hose is frustrating to use and does not extend very far. I wish Northerntool sold a 25 foot none coil hose for this sprayer. It would make it much faster for spraying my fruit trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would buy again

,
September 20, 2014
By
from northern Maine
" I did have a problem with the charger not charging it and the factory sent me a new one. Since then it has worked very well, I've probably used it about 7-8 times in the last 4 months since I purchased it and I would purchase it again. I've towed it by hand and with my lawn tractor, which is handy to have the option of. I've recommended it to a coworker who bought one and also is happy with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

With reservations...

,
August 18, 2014
By
from Twin Cities, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this sprayer after using backpack sprayers for years, wanting something less taxing on this aging body. I am a 5'4" 130 lb woman with a fair depth of handyperson experience. I had a couple issues with the sprayer:
1) The assembly directions for the nozzle attachment to the tank were really unclear. The printing was fuzzy, the diagram tiny and not adequately labeled, and two different parts were given the same part number in the same diagram. If I hadn't already known something about sprayer nozzles, I would have been even more confused and frustrated than I was. It was extremely annoying.
2) The hose supplied with the sprayer is a rigid coil type (I don't know the material) that only extended about 3 feet before tipping the sprayer over. If the sprayer tank was filled to capacity (8-9 gallons), this might not be an issue, but at 3 gallons, it was a problem. It also meant that I had to haul the whole thing around everywhere, rather than being able to park the unit and still extend the hose to be able to spray in a roughly 20 foot diameter circle. I had the unit snugged to my hip all the time, while trying to wave the wand at the weeds I was trying to kill. The tension on the hose was also strong enough that my hand strength wasn't enough to keep the wand steady to aim with much precision.
I replaced the rigid coil hose with 15 feet of a softer, clear hose of slightly larger diameter (I nipped off the coil about 12 inches from the port into the tank and used a step-up connector to attach the larger diameter hose - see photos). This worked like a charm. I was able to use the sprayer much more efficiently and easily.
I only used the sprayer for about an hour, and even that was intermittent, so I can't really speak to the battery life. The unit required less than 5 minutes of charging before the indicator light glowed green = fully charged, so it came almost fully charged.
The pump only turns on when the pressure gets below a certain level, so the sound is intermittent. Seems like it's not working, but it was!
The unit was easy to roll around on my very lumpy lawn and across an outdoor riding arena (sand mix footing).
Overall, I like the unit. I just didn't expect to spend an hour redesigning part of it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt work

,
August 13, 2014
By
from Missour
" I hate to give a bad review but this sprayer has been nothering but disappointing. First the battery had to be replaced and now the pump doesn't work. I like the idea of a sprayer on a cart but the individual parts making up this sprayer are not reliable. Do not recommend buying. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sprayer

,
August 1, 2014
By
from Woodstock, GA
" This thing is awesome. With easy assembly and a good battery charge it is quickly a replacement for even considering any other sprayers.
No, I don't work for the company but I love this thing. Have used it for everything from fungicide on my fescue lawn to weed spray to a variety of insecticides.
Love it and would highly recommended it you are tired of pumping by hand and don't like the idea of 40 lbs of weight on your back. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rechargeable Sprayer

,
July 10, 2014
By
from IL.
" Sprayer was easy to assemble taking just a few short minutes, charged the battery overnight as suggested. Went out to spray weeds and was surprised at how much faster this was versus a pump up, completed my yard (7 acres) in less then an hour and the battery was still at full strength. Cart moves around the yard very easy and even when full it was very balanced.
I would rate this sprayer as one of the top on the market right now.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
July 3, 2014
By
from Maine
" My wife loves using this for her compost tea spraying. We have had the sprayer for about a year and it stopped working while spraying last week. I looked at the manual on line and went through the steps to find out what was wrong. I removed the electric pump and removed the cap on the pressure switch and found there was a screw that had come out which holds the pressure switch to the motor. I put the screw back and the motor worked fine. This has been the only issue we had with the unit. I would certainly recommend this. One other thing to be aware of is if you live in a cold climate you must make sure that the unit and the spray gun are free of water over the winter. If not the water can freeze and the spray gun can crack and the pump may be damaged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9-Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
June 30, 2014
By
from Atlanta, GA
" This is just what I wanted and it works very well. Pulling (not wearing) the sprayer and not pumping by hand is wonderful! Charges quickly and runs for at least an hour - have not gone beyond this yet. Has just enough power to do the job and I wish the spraying hose was longer, but this is the ideal solution for and older person (or anyone who wants the convenience). As with MANY products now the directions for assembly are not very good, but with a little experience it was easy to put together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.