Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

"Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"

Item# 27080
"This Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer is a versatile multi-use sprayer that offers a spray width of up to 50in. with its front mounted broadcast nozzle. The powerful sprayer delivers up to a 15-ft. vertical and a 20-ft. horizontal spray with 18in. handgun. Rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels and can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch. Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible also ideal for fertilizer or deicing sidewalks in winter. Includes a rechargeable 12V battery that provides 2 hour runtime, along with a 9-gallon chemical resistant tank and 1 GPM pump with Viton seals. Total dimensions are 24in.L x 19in.W x 24in.H. Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 x 19 x 24, Flow oz./min. 128, Hose Length in. 120, Repairable Pump No, Broadcast Width ft. 20, Spray Pattern Horizontal/vertical, Sprayer Type Wheel, Tank Size gal. 9, Wand Length in. 18, Seal Type Viton, Spray Height ft. 18, Battery Charging Time hrs. 8, Pump Type 12V. Maneuverable rolls on heavy-duty 12in. wheels Can be pushed, pulled or attached to a tractor with the included hitch Works as a spot or broadcast sprayer and is glyphosate compatible Ideal choice for fertilizer application or deicing sidewalks in winter Included rechargeable 12V battery provides 2 hour runtime Includes 9-gallon chemical resistant tank 1 GPM pump with Viton seals Adjustable handle allows for compact storage"
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 of 18(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Review 1 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would buy again

,
September 20, 2014
By love2fly
from northern Maine
" I did have a problem with the charger not charging it and the factory sent me a new one. Since then it has worked very well, I've probably used it about 7-8 times in the last 4 months since I purchased it and I would purchase it again. I've towed it by hand and with my lawn tractor, which is handy to have the option of. I've recommended it to a coworker who bought one and also is happy with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

...I wanted to love it, but

,
August 26, 2014
By brownjeanz
from Snow Camp, NC
" Unfortunately, the sprayer that I received was faulty right out of the box, and it appeared to be a returned item. The spray tank sat right on top of the connection to attach the tow hitch, so there was no way to attach the tow hitch to the sprayer. The handles were impossible to slide down onto the shafts of the sprayer frame and the shafts were very badly scratched. They looked like I was not the only one who couldn't get the handles to slide down the shaft, which is why I believe the sprayer had previously been returned. I was able to return the sprayer to Northern Tool (who I ordered it from) for a refund with no hassle. I am giving 2 stars instead of 1 since I did not use the sprayer at all and cannot rate its performance. I was very disappointed in the quality control. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

With reservations...

,
August 18, 2014
By NPCMN
from Twin Cities, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this sprayer after using backpack sprayers for years, wanting something less taxing on this aging body. I am a 5'4" 130 lb woman with a fair depth of handyperson experience. I had a couple issues with the sprayer:
1) The assembly directions for the nozzle attachment to the tank were really unclear. The printing was fuzzy, the diagram tiny and not adequately labeled, and two different parts were given the same part number in the same diagram. If I hadn't already known something about sprayer nozzles, I would have been even more confused and frustrated than I was. It was extremely annoying.
2) The hose supplied with the sprayer is a rigid coil type (I don't know the material) that only extended about 3 feet before tipping the sprayer over. If the sprayer tank was filled to capacity (8-9 gallons), this might not be an issue, but at 3 gallons, it was a problem. It also meant that I had to haul the whole thing around everywhere, rather than being able to park the unit and still extend the hose to be able to spray in a roughly 20 foot diameter circle. I had the unit snugged to my hip all the time, while trying to wave the wand at the weeds I was trying to kill. The tension on the hose was also strong enough that my hand strength wasn't enough to keep the wand steady to aim with much precision.
I replaced the rigid coil hose with 15 feet of a softer, clear hose of slightly larger diameter (I nipped off the coil about 12 inches from the port into the tank and used a step-up connector to attach the larger diameter hose - see photos). This worked like a charm. I was able to use the sprayer much more efficiently and easily.
I only used the sprayer for about an hour, and even that was intermittent, so I can't really speak to the battery life. The unit required less than 5 minutes of charging before the indicator light glowed green = fully charged, so it came almost fully charged.
The pump only turns on when the pressure gets below a certain level, so the sound is intermittent. Seems like it's not working, but it was!
The unit was easy to roll around on my very lumpy lawn and across an outdoor riding arena (sand mix footing).
Overall, I like the unit. I just didn't expect to spend an hour redesigning part of it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt work

,
August 13, 2014
By XXXXXXXXXXXX
from Missour
" I hate to give a bad review but this sprayer has been nothering but disappointing. First the battery had to be replaced and now the pump doesn't work. I like the idea of a sprayer on a cart but the individual parts making up this sprayer are not reliable. Do not recommend buying. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sprayer

,
August 1, 2014
By JGeorgia
from Woodstock, GA
" This thing is awesome. With easy assembly and a good battery charge it is quickly a replacement for even considering any other sprayers.
No, I don't work for the company but I love this thing. Have used it for everything from fungicide on my fescue lawn to weed spray to a variety of insecticides.
Love it and would highly recommended it you are tired of pumping by hand and don't like the idea of 40 lbs of weight on your back. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rechargeable Sprayer

,
July 10, 2014
By Yardmaster01
from IL.
" Sprayer was easy to assemble taking just a few short minutes, charged the battery overnight as suggested. Went out to spray weeds and was surprised at how much faster this was versus a pump up, completed my yard (7 acres) in less then an hour and the battery was still at full strength. Cart moves around the yard very easy and even when full it was very balanced.
I would rate this sprayer as one of the top on the market right now.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
July 3, 2014
By MaineGardener
from Maine
" My wife loves using this for her compost tea spraying. We have had the sprayer for about a year and it stopped working while spraying last week. I looked at the manual on line and went through the steps to find out what was wrong. I removed the electric pump and removed the cap on the pressure switch and found there was a screw that had come out which holds the pressure switch to the motor. I put the screw back and the motor worked fine. This has been the only issue we had with the unit. I would certainly recommend this. One other thing to be aware of is if you live in a cold climate you must make sure that the unit and the spray gun are free of water over the winter. If not the water can freeze and the spray gun can crack and the pump may be damaged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
June 30, 2014
By DrHowDeu
from Atlanta, GA
" This is just what I wanted and it works very well. Pulling (not wearing) the sprayer and not pumping by hand is wonderful! Charges quickly and runs for at least an hour - have not gone beyond this yet. Has just enough power to do the job and I wish the spraying hose was longer, but this is the ideal solution for and older person (or anyone who wants the convenience). As with MANY products now the directions for assembly are not very good, but with a little experience it was easy to put together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Sprayer

,
June 26, 2014
By peperharow
from Oak Ridge NC
" No more hand pumping for me! This battery powered sprayer really puts out. I have been using it for weed and vine killing, but I am thinking of getting another one for watering / fertilizing. I recommend that you get some lock washers for the handle knobs as the knobs and pins will get loose and fall off as you work. Assembly instructions for the front spray nozzle are sketchy, but you can find more info and video on the internet from sites other than the manufacturer. The large wheels are nice when going over rough terrain and the solid rubber means no need to inflate or check pressure of the tires. This sprayer is so much easier to work with than any other sprayer that I have ever used. I wish I had known about it sooner. Those hand pump units are just a big waste of time and energy. The 9 gallon capacity of this sprayer seemed like a lot, but you will hardly notice the weight with the wheels and handle so easy to move as needed. If you have several acres of land to weed, this is the sprayer to get. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

,
June 7, 2014
By Jo123
from New Jersey
" I went from a pump sprayer to this because I was tired of pumping and refilling. This sprayer holds a lot or produce and does everything I hoped it would be. Very impressive. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
June 7, 2014
By nircee
from Calhoun, GA
" When I purchased the Master Gardener Sprayer my husband was very skeptical. He felt that it would be too hard to roll for me. However, I only fill it up about half way and it is very easy for me to use. I have not run out of a charge, even when spraying our fence line. The only complaint I have is that it is difficult for me to empty and too time consuming to run out through the boom. I absolutely love this sprayer. A bit pricey. If it holds up, it will be worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No More Hand Pump-Ups

,
June 6, 2014
By Dave9
from Grand Prairie, Texas
" Finally got it put together and tested with water only. No leaks or problems occurred, Will spray for weeds like we want, The coil hose is cute but limiting. I will change it to a 20' straight hose to allow a little more range from the unit before moving it to the next section,. The charger and battery worked great.
The pump does stall out when you release the trigger, and that saves battery charge. The directions could have been more specific. The pictures on the box helped, but the website and directions were poor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cart Sprayer

,
May 28, 2014
By WindyLane
from London, Ohio
" I was looking for something that was smaller than my wagon sprayer used for large volume spraying. I had a back pack sprayer as well. This is working out wonderfully. It has a large capacity, it was easy to put together, easy to maneuver even with 8 gallons , charges fairly quickly and is powerful. My wife even said she could use this to help do our drive which is a 900 foot gravel drive. So far it is working great after two months of use "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cart sprayer

,
May 12, 2014
By SMACD
from NH
" After having purchased at least 3 other sprayers in the last 2 years ( all failed/became unusable within 6 months) this is a sprayer that is fairly rugged; it holds about 9 gallons.It is heavy for me when fully loaded, but does wheel with effort.
I use it to spray my small fruit tree orchard.
Thus far( have only used it twice) it holds a charge for at least 1 hour, and is easy to rinse out when I am done.
My only comment to improve this would be to have a longer hose or longer wand to reach taller objects.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rechargeable Spray

,
February 4, 2014
By Onenonly
from Franklin TN
" Product does everything that is claims to do and appears well made. the wheels make it easy to move on uneven ground and full of liquied. I had to lengthen the on/off switch cord so my wife could drive the lawn mower while towing the unit and have enough cord to reach the drivers seat. We'll see how long the battery will recharge and last. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
May 9, 2013
By Countryhunter
from North Carolina
" As my wife and I are both in our sixties, we needed a way to spray weeds, without lugging around the regular pump-it-up, break your back type. I was very impressed with the Master Gardener sprayer. It has the power to reach a lot further than the others, and really saved my bad back. I would recommend to the older homeowner to only fill it about half full at a time as this makes it even easier to move around. Would highly recommend this sprayer to those of "advanced years" as we are. LOVE IT !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than a backpack

,
March 29, 2013
By Anonymous
from IL
" This has been very handy. I have been sick of the heavy backpack sprayer and I dont have an ATV for a spot sprayer so this was perfect. It is built pretty well. Nice wheels and frame. I havent used the trailer hitch portion yet. I have yet to recharge it and I have used it about 2.5 hours. The price is a little steep but worth the money if you want to get away from the backpack
I have been happy with it thus far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Master Gardener Rechargeable Cart Sprayer - 12 Volt, 9 Gallon Capacity, Model# PCD-E3-009B-MM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty reliable...so far

,
August 13, 2012
By ColoradoHomeowner
from Colorado
" Bought to replace another Chinese made sprayer that went bad after a year. This one is more robust and seems to be better made (perhaps China is getting better). Assembly was relatively easy, but the diagrams are terrible and almost unreadable for some parts. Trial and error (plus a phone call) helped to finish assembly.
Operation is good, but the tow-behind mode is erratic. Required parts are not provided, probably because of the variety of ways it can be towed. So you have to buy the appropriate hitch/connector.
Overall not a bad value. 4 Stars because as a pull-behind it works great. The big wheels certainly make it easier than other machines. 3 Stars if you use it as a tow-behind. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.