Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428

Item# 27431
Designed for the most demanding homeowner, this backyard sprayer offers quality and performance in an affordable package. Excellent for weed control, applying pesticides, liquid fertilizers and for cleaning applications. Sprayer Type: Backpack, Tank Size (gal.): 5, Pressure (PSI): 45, Spray Pattern: Flat fan, hollow cone, jet stream, Pump Type: Piston, Hose Length (in.): 47, Wand Length (in.): 28 Large tank opening for easy filling and cleaning Heavy-duty shutoff valve Left or right hand pumping position
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 of 8(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Review 1 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

short lived

,
March 18, 2009
By Anonymous
from La
"used one time. cleaned it put it away for 3 months and now it won't work. seal's don't hold air.what a waste .don't buy keep your money!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very hard to use

,
March 2, 2009
By cnbrook
from Tennessee
"Continous pumping required, did not hold any pressure. I would opt for either one with a higher PSI or battery powered. This one is not worth the hassle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backpack Sprayer

,
August 11, 2008
By Binkster
from Hiawatha, Kansas
"Loved this thing. Able to do a lot without having to continuely re-fill or bend over."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sprayer

,
November 7, 2007
By Pilkington
from Anna, Ohio
"This product is an excellent buy for the cost. Everything works as it should, and great coverage with the spray. Very little effort with the pump to maintain pressure."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked Well for Home Use

,
November 2, 2007
By Ohioan
from Ohio
"Probably not of the quality needed for a professional, but worked very well for personal use at home. Not extremely sturdy, but intelligent use of the hand pump keeps the pressure more than adequate for continuous spraying until empty. Had no problems whatsoever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

BackPack Sprayer

,
July 12, 2007
By camillion
from Mid Central Missouri
"The sprayer was not uncomfortable to wear and not too heavy to use.
Only problem was the handle used to prime it was made of plastic and not durable enough for continues pumping. It broke the first time we used it. Received a replacement handle at no charge and now that we know we have to baby it, we'll do so. We would recommend the pumping handle and connecting part be made of metal though for durability. Hopefully, with cautious use on the handle we can use this sprayer for the remainder of the season. Price was reasonable. Service very good. Shipment received quickly and in good condition.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

For the money I didn't like.

,
June 5, 2007
By Evee
from South Carolina
"Didn't work well. I had to keep pumping the handle in order to keep it working. I took it back for a new one, and it only work slightly better. would pump it 3 to 5 times and it would only hold pressure for 3 to 5 seconds. I couldn't pump it no more then 5 times. Also the spray head wasn't adjustable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SOLO Backpack Sprayer - 5-Gallon, Model# 428
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
March 7, 2007
By thealluvialfan
from houston, texas
"my neighbor and i each bought one of these sprayers. he for his business and i for my organic texas garden. each of us is delighted. for me it greatly aids applying the stinky but very effective organic applications that make my garden the pride of the neighborhood. great product"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.