Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP

Item# 27464
This Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater is quiet and vented for easily heating a 2- to 3-car garage. The low-profile design requires only 1in. clearance from ceiling. Includes two angle brackets for positioning heater up and out of the way. Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 80,000, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Clearance from Corner in. 18, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 18, Clearance from Side Wall in. 18, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 5/16 x 15 1/8 x 23 3/8, Gas Inlet in. 3/4, Igniter Electronic, Needs Direct Venting Yes, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Product Type Forced air. Power exhaust allows for vertical or horizontal venting Designed for right or left side piping, electrical and flue connections by simply rotating 180 Tubular heat exchanger and spark ignition Venting kit required sold separately - Item#s 28794, 28795 vertical mounts Item#s 29794 horizontal mount Thermostat sold separately - Item# 173641 Note Due to BTU loss through exhaust gases, heater runs at approx. 81 operating efficiency. Check local codes and ordinances for approved installation and usage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oh, Ship it anyway!

,
January 1, 2014
By Bonebrat
from Springfield, MO
"Received heater some time ago, being disabled requires additional time for instillation. Delivery man demonstrated how a square box can actually be rolled in truck. Shipping box had large gouge on bottom, which showed a bent edge of bottom panel under vent flaps. probably due to a lifting fork. Also found that heater fan only had one tightened mounting nut out of the four. Glad we checked before activating! Mounting to rafter beams was fast and easy, gas hook up and venting was straight forward. Looks like power attachment will go smoothly, hopefully."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertJanuary 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! The quality of our products and the packaging is extremely important to us. We apologize for the state of the heater upon arrival. We would be happy to speak with you about it. Call us at our Tech Service department at 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to garage

,
November 29, 2013
By vegasjack
from Las Vegas, NV
"I just installed the 80K BTU propane unit in my three car garage. It heats the garage in a matter of minutes and is very quiet. I can carry on a conversation while standing next to the unit while on full blast. Installation was relatively easy, although I already had a vent pipe available nearby.
I saw where some were saying it had to be hard wired into a dedicated receptical/circuit breaker. In a commercial application, this may be the case. But in a residential application I doubt it seriously. The only thing electricity runs is a small fan to push the air, and a smaller vent fan, to vent gasses. A person could easily hook up a quality plug-cord to merely plug it into the wall. The on'off switch on thermostat used for turning on and off.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome garage heater

,
November 23, 2013
By xlranch
from North Dakota
"I just installed this heater and I am very happy with it. Unit runs very quiet and heats my garage adequate. Installation is not bad (about 3 hours). I borrowed a lift jack to raise the heater to the ceiling for mounting purposes. This made installation very easy. Instructions on how to mount it, electrical and gas connection are very thorough in the operators manual. I would definetly recommend this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 27, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! We appreciate you posting this great review!Enerco
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice...........

,
December 13, 2012
By Dude69696752651
from Wisconsin
"Tempeture yesterday was 20 degrees, finished up install of the unit, had my 24x40 garage up to 70 degrees real fast. Very quiet unit, well worth the money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
23out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure beats the wood furnace!

,
December 6, 2012
By Gopher
from SE North Dakota
"I actually have had the 75,000 BTU unit (this one must have replaced it) in service for just over a year now.
Installation was simple, and it works just like one would expect it to! My 900 square foot shop (3 car) is insulated and has insulated overhead doors. Even the coldest North Dakota days are no challenge for this unit heater. In sub zero temps, I can warm the shop to a comfortable working temp of 65˚ in less than an hour. I do not heat the building unless I am working out there. I just go out, set the thermostat and go back in the house for a while! A warm building greets me when I go back out to work! A big improvement from the wood furnace it replaced that needed constant baby sitting.
Another plus is the "Fan On" switch on my thermostat. You need a heating / cooling thermostat in most cases to have that option, but it lets you run the fan in the summer time to move some air around in the building to keep you cooler.
I don't even notice the additional propane usage from my 250 gallon tank that also serves the back up furnace in my house.
If you like the idea of turning up the thermostat and then forgetting it, this is the unit heater for you!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet Heat

,
November 20, 2012
By Kundog
from Baldwin, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this heater to replace a propane torpedo heater. This heater is so quiet I can hear my radio again. the gas fumes do not fill up my shop any more. this is a nice unit and is easy to install. I am 100% satisfied with this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
21out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for the Garage!

,
October 15, 2012
By MTLhead
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Bought this unit as a replacement for an older floor standing propane 35,000 BTU wall furnace. All I can say is, for the price, WOW! This unit is awesome in my 24 x 26 double door garage. It takes less than 10 minutes for this unit to take my garage from 13C to 20C. You can feel the heat instantly, and can feel it in every area of the garage, not just by the unit. I have it connected to a digital wall thermostat, with fan control, and it works great! I can just turn the fan on in the warmer months if need be. It is not super quiet, due to the fan, but it certainly is a lot quieter than my older "blower" type heater. Northern Tool shipped this to my residence quickly and with no damage. I contacted Mr.Heater support via email to ask a few questions about thermostat connections, and they promptly replied with the correct and helpful information. I Love this heater, and you will too! Can you say "toasty?" It's really great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-21points
17out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By 66Tiger
from York, PA
"Very easy installation in my new 24' X 32' shop since I had set up mounting for it.
Had it for 2 years & very economical to operate. I keep the shop at 45 and it just takes a couple of minutes to warm up to 65 when I want to work there.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Propane Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Maxx Shop heater

,
August 20, 2012
By LWinkler
from Rochester,Wa
"Best shop heater I have ever had!!!!! Keeps all the poker buddies and their wives warm in the winter time. Have a 1080 sq ft shop that only takes 15 minutes to take the chill off the air. Rather easy to install. I purchased a 100 gallon portable propane tank, regulator and rubber hose to install. Hard lined inside shop, leak checked and in no time at all had excellent heat. Also installed thermostat kit and what a blessing, keeps the wives happy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
23out of 35found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Redrocker
Appomattox Va. 
 
Please wait while more information about Redrocker is loaded.
Additional information about Redrocker could not be loaded.
Mr.Heater LP gas heater
October 15, 2012
"The Mr Heater has worked great. Very easy to install. The heater will heat my garage (24'X36' lower level) only, for now, with absolutely no problem. I have tested it at 38 degrees fahrenheit ambient and it heated the garage to 68 degrees fahrenheit in about 20 minutes. No problems with the unit what so ever. The install is way too easy...it is scary. I did put in a heat only thermostat that will operate as low as 32 degrees fahrenheit. It is set on 40 degrees fahrenheit to keep water lines from freezing in the upper level. Very happy with this system and have recommended it to others. I do plan on using the heater to heat the upper level in the future and I am very optimistic that there will be no problem at all."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)