Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG

Item# 27465
This Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater is quiet and vented for easily heating a 2- to 3-car garage. The low-profile design requires only 1in. clearance from ceiling. Includes two angle brackets for positioning heater up and out of the way. Fuel Type Natural gas, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 80,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Heat Settings Single, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Igniter Electronic, Remote Included No, Thermostat Included No, Vent-Free No, Gas Inlet in. 3/4 in. MPT, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29.33 x 15.15 x 23.37, Product Type Forced air. Power exhaust allows for vertical or horizontal venting Designed for right or left side piping, electrical and flue connections by simply rotating 180 Tubular heat exchanger and spark ignition Venting kit required sold separately - Item#s 28794, 28795 vertical mounts Item#s 29794 horizontal mount Thermostat sold separately - Item# 173641 Note Due to BTU loss through exhaust gases, heater runs at approx. 81 operating efficiency. Check local codes and ordinances for approved installation and usage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
18 of 22(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
February 12, 2014
By Machinebuilder
from Stillwater MN
"Works very good to heat my 30 x 40 workshop. Should have got a larger unit, but this one gets the job done"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
February 6, 2014
By TJerald
from Spokane, WA
"I enjoy working in the shop so much more now that its warm. Works as advertised and it adds much enjoyment to working on those little projects in the shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertFebruary 19, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and review on the MHU80NG! We appreciate the great review!Enerco
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater 80,000

,
February 6, 2014
By GMBAuto
from IL
"I bought two of these to heat my 80x 40 barn. It mounted fine and did use the Stainless horizontal exhaust. It is very quiet. I insulated barn with spray-on done by Activefoamspecialist of Johnsburg, IL . Even with this cold winter.I am only running one heater keeping it at 55 degrees and doesn't run continuously. So far so great. I would recommend this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertFebruary 19, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and review! We always appreciate to hear from our customers!Enerco
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Maxx Natural Gas Heater MHU80NG

,
February 4, 2014
By Bobster123
from Chicago, IL.
"The unit is compact , easy to install and works very well. The fan is super quiet but start up is a little noisy. Very efficient unit and I would recommend this unit to anyone that has a 2 bay garage to heat. This is the first heating season of use and it already has saved me hundreds of dollars in heating costs. This unit is very good for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertFebruary 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the feedback!Enerco
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

happy heat

,
February 4, 2014
By gjgj4545
from wa.
"owned this product for a few years,and let me tell you that in this cold weather we have been having in wa. state,it has been so nice to go out to my garage and be warm while I work on my many projects.I highly recommend this heater for the home tinker hoping to keep busy in the winter months. Thank You, as always a Happy Customer"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertFebruary 7, 2014
We appreciate the great feedback! Thank you!Enerco
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
February 4, 2014
By Alphamale
from Elk River, MN
"This heater has been wonderful. It has been extremely cold out and this heats up my garage from 30 degrees to 70 in about 20 minutes. I have a 900 sq ft garage and is well insulated. I'm happy with the extreme ease of hook up and operation. It has ran problem free and is not too loud. That is the only drawback is that it is not silent. But what heater would be. My friends and I have no trouble hanging out and talking in the garage with it running."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertFebruary 7, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear the great experiences from our customers!Enerco
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Mudlife
from West central Illinois
"I recently bought one of these Mr. Heater garage heaters in the propane version. These are very easy to install and work wonderfully. On the propane version just make sure you have the low pressure regulator. One is available from your propane supplier. This heater warms my 2 1/2 car garage in a matter of minutes and easily maintains any temperature you want. They are very quiet in operation too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heater

,
February 4, 2014
By cjk01
from des moines ,iowa
"Once I purchased this heater for my garage it has been a complete change my garage is now warm stays warm and will recommend this product to anyone who buys it it was awesome , my only downfall is that it does not rotate once mounted has to be in that position only that position, unless you purchase a swivel mount separate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Hemi74
from Minneapolis
"I installed this heater in my 3 car garage. It is great. It only takes a short time to heat the garage up to a comfortable temp. I definitely recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality and Poor Performance

,
January 10, 2014
By cheeseheadwi
from Milwaukee, WI
"I bought this heater on sale 2 years ago, finally got around to install it in my new shop 2 month ago, it "worked" for 4 weeks, than i went on vacation, turned the heater off - it never worked ever since. After checking, power supply, gas supply and the thermostat i am 100% sure that the problem is in the furnace.
Even when it was "working" (my shop is 24x36 with 12' ceiling) it didn't even get the place over 42 degree running all day and all night ..... the fan is a joke, the warm air that you feel directly in front of the furnace does not make it to the floor, not even in the face of a 6' tall person .... and it is more like dog breath than heat .... a disappointment all the way !!!!!!!!
now since the warranty is expired anyway i am getting something else ....
i don't want to fix this thing ever few month .....
all that work to custom build a wall mount and make exhaust for it and .....
all for nothing
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertJanuary 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We would like to speak with you regarding the heater. We do have a 3 year warranty on the unit and can help troubleshoot and replace any parts needed. Quality is extremely important to us and we would like to help with your heater. Call us at 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like them

,
January 8, 2014
By Ringomars
from Denver
"I have four units total and three have ran for years. One did break down (I never did get it back running so I will use it for parts if needed. I never called for parts so its my fault) the ones that have been installed are running good.
I saw a commit about not enough air movement, Yeah everyone knows hot air rises, I have installed a ceiling fan to turn the warm air, and this fixes any issues.) I don't expect the fan on the heater to roll all the air in the garage.
For the dollar its a great deal. Do not expect this heater to fix your car or your plumbing issues. Its a small garage heater that will do just that heat a garage.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertJanuary 13, 2014
Thanks for the review and the great feedback!Enerco
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
January 6, 2014
By jm2014
from ND
"I use this heater for my 3 stall garage which is 32'x26' with 10' ceilings. We have had -40 degree weather during the winter and this heater has no problem keeping the garage at the set 65 degree temp and quickly reheats the garage when the doors are opened. I can easily feel the heat 10ft away from the heater. There are louvers to direct the heat up or down, but it still keeps the whole garage toasty without any additional circulation.
I installed the heater myself and the heater fired right up. I did have an issue with a flame sensor at one point, but customer service sent me the replacement sensor and I was up and running again. Its been 5 years and no issues since."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great! Bought Two!

,
December 22, 2013
By JayF123
from Somewhere, New Mexico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The first one was to replace an early 1950s model natural gas box fan type heater that was simply worn out. This is in a professional machine shop. First Maxx was to heat a 16 by 32 foot room with 14 foot ceilings. Heats the room from winter cold (40 degrees) to comfortable high 60s in about a half hour. It's quiet, efficient, and easy to install. Hung it just over 9 feet. Saw a review complaining about the fan. The fan is fine, it's just in larger rooms, a ceiling fan is a great adjunct to move the heat around. Don't expect the heater to force warm air all over; with high ceilings the heat will just hang at the top. Liked the first one so much, I bought another. This room is 32 by 32 feet, with 14 foot ceilings. A drafty huge garage door makes it a challenge to heat. Maxx works great, with a ceiling fan to move the heat around. The close clearances leave plenty of safety factor. My only complaints were one loose screw in one fan mount, and the link to warranty registration is wrong; but was easy enough to navigate to register my warranty. I particularly love the fact I don't have to mess with pilots every seasonal change, just turn up the thermostat! Thanks, Northern and Mr. Heater!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and great review!Enerco
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

barley any airflow

,
December 17, 2013
By racernm61
from New Mexico
"Installed this heater on 12/08/13 in metal building. Installation went fine smooth and simple. Heater fired right up no problem. From the floor to bottom of heater is ten feet. Now here is the problem you can't feel warm air blowing on you standing directly below heater. The fan doesn't move enough air to blow heat to floor. You have to get about 3 ft from it to feel warm air. So if you would like to heat your ceiling this is the heater you need. But you may want to install a ceiling fan if you want to heat a building to blow hot air off of ceiling. I have another heater similar to this in another building mounted even higher with higher ceilings that you can forcefully feel warm air on the floor. I have spent about 6 hours on the phone on HOLD with Mr Heater over 2 days left messages sent them a email no response. No call back no email response and they wonder why American companies go broke. So if you want to buy a good ceiling heater with poor customer service you found what you are looking for. MR HEATER you have my email address rectify this situation. I will tell the world you did. Until then this is my review."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review! Please contact the Technical Service department at this number: 1-877-328-7792 for troubleshooting instructions. We have a call back feature with our phone system so that you can receive a call back in the order it was taken. It eliminates the need to wait on hold. We would like to speak with your regarding the issue you are having with our heater. Hope to hear from you soon!Enerco
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I was going to say bad things but..... Only good

,
November 20, 2013
By EDart
from Toronto
"I have had the 75k btu ng in my garage for 3 years in toronto. Every year it won't start. I get all frustrated. Then it mysteriously starts. I followed troubleshooting which was not helpful. Finally called help line found on site. He nailed it. The exhaust nipple that goes to pressure switch was blocked. Fired right up! Thank you customer service at mr heater. My only complaint is that my unit was not easy to wire but I think the new 80k units are much easier. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We pride ourselves on our great customer service team and we appreciate the feedback.Enerco
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Maxx lives up to its name

,
April 23, 2013
By Far123
from Buffalo, WV
"First unit was damaged. Return was hassel free and a quick turn around. Installation was a snap but the unit would not fire up. One call to service and I recieved an email with directions on how to crimp the burner and we were up and running. This was our second winter with the unit and it worked flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome heat, guiet and dependable

,
January 3, 2013
By signbuilder
from Wheelersburg, OH
"I am heating an uninsulated 3 car cinderblock garage with this heater and it works fantastic. I particularly like the fact that it can be mounted directly to the ceiling with the flange where headroom is limited. I opted for a Hunter programmable thermostat instead of the mechanical stat recommended. As I write this review this is the first year using the heater. So, there isn't much history to share, except to say that and it is quiet and dependable. After reading other reviews I am a bit concerned about the circuit board failing prematurely. But so far it has done everything I envisioned that it would and I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another in the future."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Life

,
December 20, 2012
By 30AHotrod
from Portland, Or
"I've had a Mr Heater/Big Maxx Gas Heater in my garage for about 5 years now. When I first installed it, it worked great, kept the shop warm like I wanted (40 x 40 x 15) for the first winter. Didn't run it all summer long. Next winter, it didn't work. I will say the customer service was good - sent a replacement control board right away. It's been the same every year I've had it! Replace the control board and it works good during the winter. Sits during the summer and when I really need it again, it doesn't work. Looking for a different unit to replace this one now!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 17, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience this unit has caused you. The unit and parts have a three year warranty from purchase or send date. We will do everything we can to take care of the issue for you. Please call 1-800-251-0001 to speak to a Technical Service Representative!Enerco
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Heat

,
October 15, 2012
By T2CC
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Built a new garage and after reviewing various products and reading the reviews I selected the Big Maxx. While the temps have yet to get really cold this heater was quick to install and fired up on the first attempt. I'm looking forward to low cost heating which I feel this heater will pass the test of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
12out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Big Maxx Natural Gas Garage/Workshop Heater - 80,000 BTU, Model# MHU80NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Heat Small Package

,
October 15, 2012
By nxtcsrt8
from Burnsville, WV
"I heat a garage that is 32ft. by 40ft. with 12ft. ceiling . All the walls are insulated and the ceiling is insulated as well this unit works very well and is extremely quiet. I think this is a good heater for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.