Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200

Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200

Item# 27582
The Tiger Shark 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote offers superb functionality, quality and value, backed by 40+ years of experience. An extensive list of 'standard issue' features sets this winch apart, providing dependable performance at any level. Braking Mechanical, automatic load holding, Switching Method Weather sealed solenoid and circuit breaker protected, Rope Type Wire, Fairlead Type Stainless steel rollers, Gear Train 3-stage planetary, Remote Length ft. 12, Volts 12, Gear Ratio 2181, Dimensions L x W x H in. 21 5/16 x 6 5/16 x 8 5/8, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, HP 5.2, Clutch Free-spooling, ergo turn, Battery Leads 6 ft., Rope Size L x dia. ft. x in. 95 x 21/64, Mounting Bolt Pattern L x W in. 10 x 4.5, Line Speed FPM No load 16 FPM 100 load 1.52 FPM, Line Pull lbs. 9,500. Powerful 9,500-lb. pulling capacity rating built to handle almost any application 5.2 HP motor and solenoid are weather-sealed to reduce damage from rain, snow and dust 12-ft. rubber handheld remote Stainless steel tie bars and hardware Heavy-duty fairlead with stainless steel rollers Includes 95 ft. L x 21/64 in. dia. wire rope and heavy-duty clevis pinned latched hook Heavy-duty 3-stage gearbox with 2181 gear ratio handles stress and torque on demand
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Review 1 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tigers shark superwinch 9500

,
February 8, 2014
By jwpw
from Washington Mo.
"I purchased my winch with one sole purpose in mind I was tired of carrying each log piece by piece up to the road to split it I'm getting too old for that anymore so I purchased this 9500 pound winch made my own heavy-duty brackets mounted it to the back of my truck in the receiver hitch use a deep cycle marine battery on the back of the truck now I pull the entire log up to the road cut it and use my northern Splitter to split it so much easier than carrying it piece by piece can't say enough about this wench works awesome it will pull your truck sideways on pavement also I've proved that just gotta make sure your hitch is heavy enough to support it I would definitely recommend this wench to anyone looking to pull a heavy load thank you enjoy !!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super winch

,
February 7, 2014
By Bki1971
from Farmington, mo.
"Great winch. We use ours everyday to haul round bales of hay to feed"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiger Shark Winch

,
February 6, 2014
By Mike1977
from mechanicsville md
"very nice product!! I have not used this particular unit, but I would like to! I have used smaller load capacities and have liked their performance."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winch

,
February 6, 2014
By MikeSculptor
from North Carolina
"This winch has done everything I've asked it to do. Hardworker and good value too. I like it so much I want to win another one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

superwinch

,
February 4, 2014
By dirtdiger
from Fort Morgan, Co
"have two 8500# winch on truck and one on trailer a 4500# on my Polaris RZR4 great winches for the money would like to get one more may try the 9500#"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy and easy install easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By mad4mud
from martinsville va
"I bought two of these put one on my truck and one on my car hauler. I have used the car hauler and winch 7 times and the winch has preformed flawlessly I couldn't have got a better deal any where else. I did order a cover for it from superwinch just to keep the water and dirt off of it just to help keep the life of the cable better"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superwinch Tiger Shark 9500lb winch

,
February 4, 2014
By chipg1
from Canton Ga
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Recently I purchased a Superwinch Tiger Shark 9500lb winch for my hunting truck. The roads on my hunting clubs have a diverse terrain. Getting stuck up there is not an option, walking out, depending where you are can be a long dangerous plight. We have taken 600 plus pound bears and many 325 plus pound hogs. I have used several different winches in the past with varying success in tough situations. I have implemented this winch into a skinning rack mounted on a plate on the front of my 81 Ford truck. It easily converts back to a winch used to pull other vehicles or myself out of mud jams. So far I have had no problems and love the super smooth operation when pulling up a bear, hog or deer to skin. No more back aches from handling big animals. I own 2 Superwinches now, one on my truck the other on my Kubota RTV 900 and am thoroughly impressed with their operation. Thanks Superwinch for these great products."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

winch

,
February 4, 2014
By cowboy2
from richmond, va
"winch serves the purpose and then some, rugged made and works well in the cold weather, easy to mount, easy to use, really no complaints"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiger Winch

,
February 4, 2014
By GaryL54
from Trinity, NC
"In comparing the Tiger Winch to other winches I can tell you that the Tiger already has a 1500 lb advantage. It's not always cost but what works the best for the consumer. There are winches that are similar in design but cost and pulling power goes to the Tiger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winch

,
February 4, 2014
By AwNaw
from Spring Hill
"I'm very happy with the winch. Seams very well built and was very easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiger Shark 12volt winch

,
February 4, 2014
By DJ54
from Dickinson nd
"I have installed a tiger shark winch on my fifth wheel trailer and it has amazing pulling power. We are always hauling vehicles back from the field, and the tiger shark makes the job a lot easier. Every trailer we have will have one installed. Best helper I have.
DJ54
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skid loader winch.

,
February 4, 2014
By Mridge
from Andrews, Indiana
"I put this on the back of my skid loader and when I get stuck and can't back it out I just have to hook it to a tree or something strong to start winching myself out and in the mean time use the loader to also back it out along with the winch..
Works great. Have gotten out of several sticky situations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-L

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunter7551
from Greenwood, FL
"I have used this winch on numerous occasions & it is wonderful. I have dragged immobile vehicles onto slide trailer without any difficulty. I have dragged large, full sized trucks out of bogs even sunk all the way down to the frame. This winch is a life saver. I think this is the same type winch Crocodile Dundee used to winch his Land Rover up the cliff side. If not, it surely would have done the job. I recommend this product as it is priced very reasonable and is as tough and durable as any priced much higher. If you want to "get'r done", Get this winch, you won't be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

first review

,
February 4, 2014
By quickkent
from okla.
"I think this is one of the best deals on the market for a like machine. it appears to be very well built and equipped to do the job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By RandoTX
from San Antonio, Tx
"Great winch, good power, easy hookup and very good quality. I have this winch on the front of my 97 jeep wrangler and it flat out works! My neighbor bought one for his after seeing mine. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

because its a good buy

,
February 4, 2014
By eri26
from Quebec Canada
"you can used it foy most any thing I bought things from you and I give you 5 stars"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Twin Trailer mounted

,
February 28, 2013
By petehdgs2
from Spotsylvania VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought a 20ft PJ power tilt deck trailer and added two TigerShark 9500s to the right front and left front corners of the tilt deck. I wanted to mount them in a right hand and left hand fashion so the clutch release was outboard and the electrical was inboard on both sides. I called superwinch technical and discussed this mounting requirement in detail. After discussing the limitations of the winch in detail, we designed a mounting system that met all my goals and protected the integrity of the winch so as not to void the warranty or overload the structure of the winch. I had to custom make braketing for the front of the trailer, and before I got the winches fully mounted, one of my F250s broke down. My driveway is very steep and I was forced to load an 8000lb truck up hill on the tilt deck trailer. I used one winch and a snatch block and pulled the truck up the trailer no problem! I am very happy with my purchase and with the technical people at superwinch. I picked two 9500s instead of one 12000 because two winches are more versatile and it was the same price either way. The mounting bracketing was a challenge, but I am more than happy with the outcome. I would definately recommend this product to anyone. I have not finished the installation but will upload a photo when I can."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased!

,
February 23, 2013
By petehdgs
from Spotsylvania VA
"I bought a 20ft PJ power tilt deck trailer and added two TigerShark 9500s to the right front and left front corners of the tilt deck. I wanted to mount them in a right hand and left hand fashion so the clutch release was outboard and the electrical was inboard on both sides. I called superwinch technical and discussed this mounting requirement in detail. After discussing the limitations of the winch in detail, we designed a mounting system that met all my goals and protected the integrity of the winch so as not to void the warranty or overload the structure of the winch. I had to custom make braketing for the front of the trailer, and before I got the winches fully mounted, one of my F250s broke down. My driveway is very steep and I was forced to load an 8000lb truck up hill on the tilt deck trailer. I used one winch and a snatch block and pulled the truck up the trailer no problem! I am very happy with my purchase and with the technical people at superwinch. I picked two 9500s instead of one 12000 because two winches are more versatile and it was the same price either way. The mounting bracketing was a challenge, but I am more than happy with the outcome. I would definately recommend this product to anyone. I have not finished the installation but will upload a photo when I am done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tiger Shark 12 Volt DC Winch with Remote - 9,500-Lb. Capacity, 5.2 HP, Model# 1595200
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, stainless and works

,
January 21, 2013
By bigmelon
from NY
"I've had this winch only a limited time, but it's done the job from day one. Easy to install; took me about an hour. Winch powers through moving trees around with ease. More than please so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.