Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"

"Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"

Item# 276474
"Durable resin rain barrel can be placed directly below rain spouts to collect and hold up to 50 gallons of 100 pure rainwater that you can use later to water your lawn or garden. Capacity gal. 50, Color Sandstone, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 1/4 x 26 3/4 x 26 1/4, Material Type Resin. Durable resin construction Cover filter keeps water clear of leaves and debris Latched lid is child- and pet-proof Includes drain hose with shutoff valve and yard hose hook-up Overflow hose doubles as a connector hose to link to one additional barrel for increased capacity"
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Review 1 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
February 4, 2014
By Ballyhoo88
from Minnesota
" I bought this for my wife for watering her plants. She loves it. It does not take much rain to fill it. I have less than 1/2 of the roof of a 1800 sq/ft roof running into it and it will fill up on 1/4-1/2" of rain. The only drawback is it doesn't work very well draining water out of it if you have it sitting on the ground like the picture. I raised it up on 4 bricks and it helped a bunch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rain barrel

,
August 13, 2012
By sleeplessinseattle61
from Texas
" Works as advertised. I modified the drain a little bit so they can be drained a few more feet away from the barrel "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

suncast rain barrel

,
August 13, 2012
By 1fishguy
from Idaho
" I have installed 2 of the rain barrels for collection from my roof. They were simple to install and hook in series so that they will fill both barrels. They do need to be installed on a small platform so that they will drain from gravity if your land is flat. There will also need to be a splash block installed because they fill very fast with a small amount of rain. My wife uses them to water her flowers. They will save some on water usage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition!!!

,
June 5, 2011
By Slowhand
from Exeter, RI
" We have a well and have been concerned about running the well dry - but at the same time we need to water our apple trees - so I bought 3 of these rain barrels, put them at each downspout, connected them with garden hoses and I now have 150 gallons at my disposal. They look great and work perfectly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

suncast rain barrel

,
March 15, 2011
By 1ROBOJOE
from PA.
" very nice ,looks good next to the house,( better than a 55gal.drum).Works real good,would advise to read and follow directions for installation. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suncast Rain Barrel

,
February 22, 2010
By SP62
from South Lyon, Michigan
" This is an excellent product. So much so, that I purchased two more after having just one. It is easy to set up. I would recommend that you raise the barrel on about a 4 inch platform for easier use of the watering spigot. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rain barrel

,
February 15, 2010
By Bunyan
from Martin, GA
" The rain barrel has matched my expectations. Can't wait for good weather so I can place it on a foundation which will consist of cinder blocks on paver blocks. I may connect to another rain barrel similer to this one in the new future.
We are on community well water and sometimes the well will shut down. Having the rain barrel with reserve water will aleviate any water shortages to flush the toilets and water the plants. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for year around use

,
January 12, 2010
By kahuna1
" Purchased the Suncast Rain Barrel for use primarily in emergencies when we may have power outage for extended period. Installed it on concrete blocks with a concrete spillway. Had freezing weather and it split in several places. DO NOT USE THIS ITEM IN ALL WEATHER - it is not built well enough to withstand weather extremes. "
+6points
16out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Rain Saver

,
October 19, 2009
By Neenie
from Golden CO
" Suncast Rain Barrel is easy to set up and use and the cost is so much lower than most other brands. I plan to buy more and have been recommending it to every gardener I meet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 19, 2009
By Gardner2c
from Waueksha WI
" This came as stated and very nicely constructed - would definately recommend "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little rain barrel

,
October 19, 2009
By NYBoater
from Ithaca, NY
" I bought this barrel for two purposes. Because the downspout from our gutter doesn't have much of a drainage field, during heavy rains we would get water in the basement. I needed something to catch the water that looked better than the 55 gallon drum I had been using. I also have a water softener, so the water has too much trace salt in it for watering our house plants. Now I have a very useful water catcher and a built in water supply for our house plants. The only problem I have experienced was filling our watering can from the barrel. If the barrel isn't up off the ground a foot or two, the hose doesn't work well once the water in the barrel gets below the height of the watering can. I remedied this by using a small pump. Everything works great and the plants (and basement) couldn't be happier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suncast Rain Barrel

,
August 20, 2009
By Anonymous
from Richmond, VA
" I purchased a couple of these 3 months ago and couldn't be happier. First rain barrels I have found that don't look hideous and they are pretty solid and very functional. I have actually had a couple of my neighbors ask about them and I wouldn't be surprised to see some of these pop up around the neighborhood. Installation is easy but you do have to use a hack saw to raise your spout. Pretty simple procedure that takes 15-20 minutes each. Just hook on a hose and you can water anything below the level of the barrel nicely. The screen keeps out debris and mosquitoes and the two I purchased fill to capacity with just 1/4" of rain (there is also an overflow hose when they fill). After the season you just need to disassemble the overflow and hose coupling and the barrels will stack to store. The overflow can hook to another barrel and allows multiple barrels on one spout if you so desire.
Note that unless your yard slopes below the barrel you will want to spend $10-$20 on pavers and cinder blocks to raise the barrel above the watering level. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy and Well-Designed

,
July 20, 2009
By jkf398
from Houston, TX
" I set up my Rain Barrel near the garden to enable me to water the plants with rainwater when there was no rain. For this purpose, it works very well as long as you have it elevated at least waist-high (any lower and it's hard to get any flow from the hose when you hold it). I only have two small, slightly negative comments: 1) they could make the outlet hose a bit longer to allow more flexibility in connecting it to a hose on a reel, and 2) the overflow hose is kinked and seems that it will stay that way. This could reduce output, making the barrel overflow in a substantial rainstorm. Other than that, the item is built heavily and well, and all the pieces firt together as advertised! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Only one flaw

,
July 17, 2009
By stimey
from Willow Grove, PA
" Well thought out product. Stick the over flow hose in the lower section of down spout to take care of excess rain water. Has a screen to let rain water in, but keep mosquitoes out. But, the outlet hose is cheapo. It leaks where you clamp it to the barrel outlet nipple and the valve at the end of the hose, a clever idea, also leaks. We'll see how it does over the winter. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Suncast Rain Barrel - 50-Gallon Capacity, Model# RB5010PK"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good overall rain barrel

,
March 26, 2009
By Fiveopote
from Des Moines, IA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The shipping from Northern was great and fast. The only assembly on the rain barrel was the overflow and yard hose hookup and was very easy. The barrel is rather short and wide which I believe will be better for stability. The cover locks in two places on each side so it should stay on. The inlet in the cover is large and has a mesh screen. I originally was going to purchase the Deluxe Rain Barrel but I believe I will be very happy with this one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.