Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B

Item# 27653
This ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater replaces cold spots with 5200 BTU of comfortable warmth while reducing energy consumption by up to 50. Six infrared quartz heating elements are encased in a solid copper heat exchanger which absorbs then releases safe, efficient heat for areas up to 1000 square feet. For added protection and peace of mind, this heater features an overheat protection switch and safety tip-over switch. The all-wood cabinet stays cool to the touch and features a rich golden oak finish to compliment any room. Product Style Portable, Amps 12.5, Heat Settings 3, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Plug Type 3-prong, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 5,200, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Volts 120, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Product Type Radiant heater, Dimensions W x D x H in. 20 5/16 x 12 15/16 x 17 3/16. Six infrared quartz elements encased in solid copper heat exchanger to generate safe, efficient heat Comes fully-assembled and ready to heat Economical to operate Automatic thermostat control conserves energy and maintains room temperature Quiet operation produces safe heat without reducing humidity and oxygen Powerful output turbo fan and a lifetime washable filter Four swiveling caster wheels for easy movement Three settings low, high and energy saving auto mode Easy push-button controls with LCD display Programmable timer from one to twelve hours Overheat and tip-over protection Heats rooms up to 1000 sq. feet Includes thermostat with 59-86F range and remote control Cool-to-the-touch, all-wood quality cabinet with rich golden oak finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Review 1 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice safe heaters

,
December 23, 2013
By Bartman1
from la
"I love mine I have 2 good heat and safe for my grandkids and dogs"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It Has Been Cold

,
December 12, 2013
By Hunter51
from Wyoming
"I bought one of these units to put in my fifth wheel while hunting this season. The unit ran without any difficulity and I ran it 24/7. I found that if ambient temp outside was in the mid-40's I could set the thermostat in the camper at 56 and the furnace would not turn on. Once temperatures got below 10 degrees, the furnace would have to supplement the ProFusion. The fan makes "moderate" noise, that is, it is not "silent". I am not sure if I am satisfied with the heat output but maybe it was just too darn cold this season. I would recommend as the price point is good and I had no trouble running the unit for 6 straight weeks. The unit was never hot to touch and I did not worry about operation. Has a responsive remote control unit. Northern delivered fast as usual. I rate as average only because it I was not blown away by heat output. The unit did about what I thought it would do. At home it does a good job in kitchen as this room has better insulation. I still run it 24/7 but one should be prepared for increase in electric bill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater!

,
December 10, 2013
By Emtcc12
from Faith, NC
"I bought 2 of these to try to lower my electric bill by using them instead of my heat pump. I wasn't sure when I got them if they were going to be able to do it but its been a couple weeks now and with one in the living room and one in the master bedroom of a one story house aprox 1200sf (both with an additional fan in the doorways to move the air) they have managed to keep the temp in the house around 68+ degrees when the outside temp has dropped down to under 30 and my heat pump is still off!!! I have them running in the ECO mode so I'm hoping they will make a big dent in my electric bill. They are a great heat source and are very quiet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Unit

,
November 13, 2013
By leo30000
from Pageland, SC
"Bought this last winter. Works as advertised, saved a bundle on low usage of our propane gas pack. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was fan is a bit loud. We put this unit in the dining room and another brand in the living room that is a bit quieter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater!!!

,
September 17, 2013
By Matt0718
from Des Moines, IA
"I bought this to help reduce the cost of running my furnace. As it turns out I used it in place of my furnace after my furnaces gas valve went out last year for a month or so.
Worked great, was quiet and kept the part of the house I use a lot at a comfortable temperature with out having to run all the time. And yes it did help lower my energy bills last winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heats quickly and evenly

,
March 8, 2013
By SDH59
from Greeneville TN
"Extremely easy and convient to use. Heats evenly. I have it in an L shaped room and it out performs my fireplace or any other heat source I have tried. I would rate it a 5 but it is a little loud when watching TV or listening to radio."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater and money saver.

,
December 20, 2012
By plushbee
from thurston county wa
"This little workhorse keeps the house warm. Our winters aren't the coldest, dropping down to the twenties now and then, but this is fine for a 900 square foot area that is fairly open."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, the right price

,
December 5, 2012
By wisoak
from Wichita, KS
"I bought this heater during the black Friday sale. I am very satisfied with the product and the special price. It's easy to operate and is mobile to be able to move it where it is needed. Super packaging...almost bullet- proof for shipping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
17out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Profusion Infrared Quartz Heater

,
October 17, 2012
By Ranlred
from Cunot, In.
"I ordered this heater to offset the electric bill with the winter coming on. It looked great out of the box with the Oak cabinet. Plugged it in & so far we have had several days of temperatures in the mid to low 30s and haven't turned the furnace on as of yet! Will update the review when I get the first electric bill while using this unit for comparison? I would suggest that you get a pack of CR2025 button bateries since the one in the remote seemed weak after a couple of weeks use. So far an excellent addition but take into account the I live in an older 48'x14' wide trailer home, just to give you an idea."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
53out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Profusion

,
October 16, 2012
By Ivy25
from Merced, Ca.
"Quiet and produces good heat. I would recommend this to anybody!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
October 15, 2012
By HiTecRedNec
from N/E PA.
"Northern Tool does it again with their speedy shipping of this great little heater. Bought this a couple weeks ago to keep from starting my wood stove until I really have to. I own a really large older home and must say it has surprised me at how well it is doing the task at hand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Amish" Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By kevmac77
from pottstown, PA
"I'm not sure why they call these Amish style heaters, since they run on electricity, but that doesnt really matter- What does matter is that this heater is a great buy for the money. It was shipped promptly, arrived quickly, well packages. Everything came out of the package fully assembled - thats a big plus- and worked when I tested it. It has great heat output, quiet fans, and looks a lot better than an oil radiator. It also "feels" warmer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
21out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition

,
October 15, 2012
By TD88
from Creedmoor, NC
"A friend of mind had purchased one last year & was pleased with his, so I decided to try one. I am more than happy with this unit & plan to purchase another one for my garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
October 15, 2012
By FarmersWife63
from Three Oaks, MI
"It's smaller than I thought and that is alright. It is not big and bulky looking in our living room. Heating 1000 sq. ft. it provides for the total space needed and then some. Living in the country, we don't have much wind breaks so this keeps the chill out of the house. We are very happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looks, good heat

,
September 19, 2012
By Sam2000
from Crystal, MN
"I bought this heater to take the edge off of my cold living room and lower my heating bill. I was planning on using it this winter, but I'm using it a lot in this in betweeen weather. With this infrared heater I don't have to turn on the furnace and I use the thermostat on the heater to keep my living area comfortable.
This heater looks great too. The finish is a nice medium oak in nice wood. Some of the infrareds I looked at were orange-y oak, or the cabinet looked plastic-y. This one looks good in the living room.
Overall I'm very happy I got this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
25out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Compact Electric Heater

,
September 13, 2012
By Hawkeye
from Cedar Falls, IA
"I was highly impressed by the heat output of this infrared heater. The six quartz tubes definitely seem to be more than enough to heat my fairly large spare bedroom when we are hosting guests. The unit is very quiet when compared to other heaters I've had over the years. Simple operation and attractive design!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Good Option For Us

,
September 13, 2012
By LivinTheDream
from Lakeville, MN
"This heater was perfect for our needs. We wanted something we could move from room to room in order to heat cold spots in the house. It is portable and rolls around on four casters. I like the fact that it has a thermostat which keeps the temp consistent. One of the main things I was looking for was a heater with a quiet fan because we use it in our bedroom at night. It is a great heater, portable, programmable, quiet, safe and cost effective."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProFusion Heat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak, Model# WH-80B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Profusion Infrared Quartz Heater

,
September 7, 2012
By Connerc
from Pembroke, North Carolina
"This heater came fully assembled and ready to use right out of the box - just plug it in and it is ready to go! It had a nice oak finish and the wheels made it easy to move from one area to another. This heater runs very quite, I could hardly hear it was on. The remote control is very handy to adjust temperature or to turn off when leaving the room. I just received it but this heater should help reduce the cost of heating this winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
19out of 37found this review helpful.