Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade

Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade

Item# 27701
"Versatile Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo attachment mounts on skid loader, front end loader or compact tractor. Also can be placed onto standard forks or buckets. Use to plant trees, move boulders, remove stumps, dig trenches, build a boulder wall and more. U.S.A. Dimensions L x W x H in. 35 x 20 x 3, Material Steel, Product Type Spades/brooms, Compatible With Standard forks or buckets. Eliminates or reduces shovel time Digs a hole ten times faster than a standard bucket Digs a 20in. x 20in. x 24in. deep hole in one scoop Digs trenches that a standard bucket cannot dig Saves the use of a backhoe For utility, landscaping and field work Made of heavy-gauge steel Chains and load binder not included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 of 32(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Review 1 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very well made and heavy duty

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Bangor ME
Have not used it yet because it does NOT fit the clamp on forks on my bucket...disappointed that I can not use in that manner, but will use it by chaining to bucket at some point. That is why 4 instead of 5 stars. UPS hated to deliver it because it is so heavy. Their problem, it seems like a quality product!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT on My FEL Bucket!

,
November 7, 2015
By
from Keweenaw Peninsula, MI
The first few times I used the Quick Spade it kept falling off the bucket on my New Holland 1708 FEL on a Ford New Holland 1920 tractor. Then I changed the vertical placement on the load tightener (moving it up so the one hook was over the top edge of the bucket), and everything's been fine since. This past week I used it to dig a 75' trench out to the barn for a new electric line, and it worked great. I've also used it to pry out and pick up boulders with no problems at all. Best investment since buying the tractor!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bucket mount not so good

,
October 14, 2015
By
from Washington State
This spade is built well. However, the top hook needs a re-work in placement (maybe a second hook) when you mount to your front loader blade. Using 3/8th chain and load binder as per instructions, nice and 'tight', I get about 5-8 light to moderate digs then chain pops off off from top hook. I will be welding a second hook at a better angle and placement in relation to the load binder up to top of bucket to prevent this. Paid a lot more the the combo compared to the one just for fork mount only. Not happy I'm having to re-engineer the combo unit as to not fall off in light/moderate usage with a Kubota LA481 Bucket. Placement of the second hook I'm welding, in my opinion, should've been the factory placement and would work just as well for fork mount. Sorry Paumco, only three stars for the fail on secure front loader blade mount engineering due to top hook placement with its sketchy angle in relation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
May 14, 2015
By
from Virginia
We use this with the forks on our 753 Bobcat, and it works great! No need to chain to the forks, push against something hard to move and you have to use a heavy hammer to tap the spade off the forks. Dug out two tree stumps. First was 8 inch diameter plum that was dying - came out in one attempt. Second was 10 inch diameter Bradford Pear with extensive roots, some were 6 to 8 inches in diameter at the stump. Had to move around, digging as we went, took about 20 minutes to remove the stump and a good portion of heavy roots. Spade is very stiff and seems to be durable - we don't like to abuse equipment so each dig was done with controlled acceleration, changing depth and angles as we pried at the stump. I suspect it will be good for rocks up to the breakout capacity of the machine. Great tool, with FREE In-Store pickup.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
February 16, 2015
By
from Northern Arizona
I selected this product to use with my Bobcat on my ranch property. I have used this only with my Bobcat Forks. I have not yet used it directly on the bucket yet. Works great for trenching for my irrigation lines and excavating for tree wells. The money saved by not having to rent a small backhoe paid for the quick spade on the first day of use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
December 17, 2014
By
from Northern Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This spade is a very heavy duty tool. It made fast work out of a job to plant 3 evergreen trees and 10- 5 gallon buckets or planters of ornamental grass. It hooked right up to my tractor with little effort and the dirt, which is a heavy clay type soil was dug with no effort. i reccomend this time saver. It saved many hours of hard labor.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice skid-steer tool

,
September 10, 2014
By
from Chico, Texas
I use this on my Thomas 105 skid-steer to move rocks and some digging. It is a great tool to get under and lift partially buried rocks that the bucket alone will not uncover. I have moved 500 pound rocks with no damage to the quick spade or my bucket. I would buy this product again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a spork

,
May 11, 2014
By
from Colorado
Fits the bucket (the spoon) on my Bobcat S220 just fine. But the fork lift attachment I have has forks (5") that are wider than the pockets (4.5") that are meant to go over the forks. Would have been nice to know before I purchased. Probably still would have gotten it. Product seems very substantial otherwise.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

,
May 6, 2014
By
from WI
Even after tight fitting on my bucket it was sloppy. Seems to ride up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Devine Tx.
This Spade has saved a lot of time and blisters. I mounted to my front loader on the right side so I could see it and what I was digging up. In the middle I could not see it or target. On a skid steer it would be easy to view.
I have dug up many Mesquite sprigs growing up, and good sized ones also. Plus All the other brush that's in my way.
it has held up to a lot of punishment and doesn't have a mark on it.
The easy mounting was a big plus. Easy to move where you want.
No complaints. Really like ths product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great attachment!

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Knoxville TN
Very handy to have on the farm. Use on a small 4x4 HST tractor with loader. It can quickly dig holes for planting trees or deck piers. One of most unexpected benefits is removing trees and brush from fence lines. It can cut through 3" trees, large hedges or multiflora rose bushes just below ground level. without disturbing the fence line. Pile up and haul away. This feature saves a tremendous amount of hand work and you stay on the tractor. Dug up large rocks and bordered my wife's flower gardens. One note of caution is that it started to bend the bucket cutting edge. Had to straighten and reinforce the bucket. Skidsteer or larger tractor loaders buckets should be alright. If the fork pockets were longer/closer to heal of bucket it might not have bent. Reason for 4 out 5 stars. Still happy with the purchase and versatility added to existing equipment.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quick spade

,
August 13, 2012
By
from ontario canada
i ordered this quick spade and had it shipped to the fargo store for pick up. when i picked it up the staff was very good to deal with . the spade fit on my 732 bobcat forks . i have used the blade to p/up some big rocks and it worked well . it looks like good thick steel w/good welds . i will transplant a couple of trees ( 6' tall ) this weekend . next on list is to dig a trench
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paumco quick spade

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Ramsey, MN
I purchased the Paumco Quick Spade because I had several hundred trees blowen down on my land in Wi. I was a bit concerned when I purchased it because it sounded a bit too good to be true. But it lived up to all my expectations. I installed it on the bucket of my tractor and started digging stumps. Stumps from 4-6 inch trees cane out in one shot. 30 inch dia oak trees took a bit more time. But the biggest stump I removed took me aprox 40 min and I was still learning to use the unit.
It should be noted that I was working in a sandy loam soil so I was able to put a pretty sharp edge on the spade which helped a lot in cutting through roots Very pleased
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick Spade

,
November 16, 2011
By
from Roebuck, South Carolina
Bought this for my front loader a couple years ago and it's a good tool. I have dug some pretty big holes, removed stumps, planted large trees etc. Would like to see an easier hook-up but still working on it. Overall, serves it's purpose pretty well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Horse

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Boerne, TX
Attaching to the tractor was a snap. I was nothing short of amazed at the productivity this little spade makes simply by lessing the surface area of my bucket and using the regular leverage of my tractor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
May 12, 2011
By
The spade is what I call a great unit. Transplanted trees /bushes/dug ditch /post holes. Saves a lot of man hrs and machine time hiring out side excavators. Used it on our O.C.46 dozer/with bucket. Still more to do when electric lines go to loafing sheds.,used it for stump removal,just make sure the chain stays tight. truly a remarkable well built unit. LOU.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

be ready

,
March 21, 2011
By
from wisconsin
You will not believe how much you will use this! I digs great, I've transplanted trees, dug footings,dug rocks big enough to bend my bucket but not the shovel, trenched electrical lines. Only problem is my wife keeps finding more work for it!
You will need some type of chain or strap and a ratchet to keep attached.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Machinst Puyallp,Wa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have rocky soil so it does not dig as easily as the demo videos....but at a little less angle on my John Deere 4110 FEL it does dig well.....had to shorten the ratchet binder do to space limitations.I have since added a 1x3 solid steel bar on top of bucket and it had 3 weld on hooks and 2" reciever tube for trailer ball it added alot of support for Spade. As far a moving rocks and timbers no problem....Save me from getting Backkhoe attatchment since i had small do it anytime projects.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
August 24, 2010
By
from Baton Rouge,LA
Great product, it took a little while to get comfortable using it with my front end loader but it does a great job. If you need to dig a trench and you have a front end loader this is the tool to use. It takes less than 10 minutes to chain it to my bucket. The only problem I have found with it mounted on the front of my bucket is that it makes it difficult to get a full scoop of dirt.
However, you can take it off , move a couple of full scoops and then start breaking ground again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick Spade

,
July 2, 2010
By
from Lorena, TX
I bought one of these for my compact tractor. It will attach to my loader bucket but _will NOT fit__my fork lift tines as was promoted in the unit description. What a major disappointment as using it with the forklift affords MUCH better visibility when loading or digging!
I would recommend this product to a friend ONLY with the caveat that it won't work on many forklift tines!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.