Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade

Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade

Item# 27701
Versatile Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo attachment mounts on skid loader, front end loader or compact tractor. Also can be placed onto standard forks or buckets. Use to plant trees, move boulders, remove stumps, dig trenches, build a boulder wall and more. U.S.A. Compatible With Standard forks or buckets, Material Steel, Product Type Spades/brooms, Dimensions L x W x H in. 35 x 20 x 3. Eliminates or reduces shovel time Digs a hole ten times faster than a standard bucket Digs a 20in. x 20in. x 24in. deep hole in one scoop Digs trenches that a standard bucket cannot dig Saves the use of a backhoe For utility, landscaping and field work Made of heavy-gauge steel Chains and load binder not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Review 1 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade

,
September 17, 2013
By lkwsouthtx
from Devine Tx.
"This Spade has saved a lot of time and blisters. I mounted to my front loader on the right side so I could see it and what I was digging up. In the middle I could not see it or target. On a skid steer it would be easy to view.
I have dug up many Mesquite sprigs growing up, and good sized ones also. Plus All the other brush that's in my way.
it has held up to a lot of punishment and doesn't have a mark on it.
The easy mounting was a big plus. Easy to move where you want.
No complaints. Really like ths product.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great attachment!

,
September 17, 2013
By smokeydog1
from Knoxville TN
"Very handy to have on the farm. Use on a small 4x4 HST tractor with loader. It can quickly dig holes for planting trees or deck piers. One of most unexpected benefits is removing trees and brush from fence lines. It can cut through 3" trees, large hedges or multiflora rose bushes just below ground level. without disturbing the fence line. Pile up and haul away. This feature saves a tremendous amount of hand work and you stay on the tractor. Dug up large rocks and bordered my wife's flower gardens. One note of caution is that it started to bend the bucket cutting edge. Had to straighten and reinforce the bucket. Skidsteer or larger tractor loaders buckets should be alright. If the fork pockets were longer/closer to heal of bucket it might not have bent. Reason for 4 out 5 stars. Still happy with the purchase and versatility added to existing equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quick spade

,
August 13, 2012
By supercrew
from ontario canada
"i ordered this quick spade and had it shipped to the fargo store for pick up. when i picked it up the staff was very good to deal with . the spade fit on my 732 bobcat forks . i have used the blade to p/up some big rocks and it worked well . it looks like good thick steel w/good welds . i will transplant a couple of trees ( 6' tall ) this weekend . next on list is to dig a trench"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paumco quick spade

,
January 9, 2012
By Wayneo
from Ramsey, MN
"I purchased the Paumco Quick Spade because I had several hundred trees blowen down on my land in Wi. I was a bit concerned when I purchased it because it sounded a bit too good to be true. But it lived up to all my expectations. I installed it on the bucket of my tractor and started digging stumps. Stumps from 4-6 inch trees cane out in one shot. 30 inch dia oak trees took a bit more time. But the biggest stump I removed took me aprox 40 min and I was still learning to use the unit.
It should be noted that I was working in a sandy loam soil so I was able to put a pretty sharp edge on the spade which helped a lot in cutting through roots Very pleased
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick Spade

,
November 16, 2011
By OldGrunt
from Roebuck, South Carolina
"Bought this for my front loader a couple years ago and it's a good tool. I have dug some pretty big holes, removed stumps, planted large trees etc. Would like to see an easier hook-up but still working on it. Overall, serves it's purpose pretty well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Horse

,
October 17, 2011
By EATrice
from Boerne, TX
"Attaching to the tractor was a snap. I was nothing short of amazed at the productivity this little spade makes simply by lessing the surface area of my bucket and using the regular leverage of my tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
May 12, 2011
By LOUfromWI
"The spade is what I call a great unit. Transplanted trees /bushes/dug ditch /post holes. Saves a lot of man hrs and machine time hiring out side excavators. Used it on our O.C.46 dozer/with bucket. Still more to do when electric lines go to loafing sheds.,used it for stump removal,just make sure the chain stays tight. truly a remarkable well built unit. LOU."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

be ready

,
March 21, 2011
By MILLERTYME
from wisconsin
"You will not believe how much you will use this! I digs great, I've transplanted trees, dug footings,dug rocks big enough to bend my bucket but not the shovel, trenched electrical lines. Only problem is my wife keeps finding more work for it!
You will need some type of chain or strap and a ratchet to keep attached.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
November 23, 2010
By NASmanCAR
from Machinst Puyallp,Wa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We have rocky soil so it does not dig as easily as the demo videos....but at a little less angle on my John Deere 4110 FEL it does dig well.....had to shorten the ratchet binder do to space limitations.I have since added a 1x3 solid steel bar on top of bucket and it had 3 weld on hooks and 2" reciever tube for trailer ball it added alot of support for Spade. As far a moving rocks and timbers no problem....Save me from getting Backkhoe attatchment since i had small do it anytime projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
August 24, 2010
By BDAV
from Baton Rouge,LA
"Great product, it took a little while to get comfortable using it with my front end loader but it does a great job. If you need to dig a trench and you have a front end loader this is the tool to use. It takes less than 10 minutes to chain it to my bucket. The only problem I have found with it mounted on the front of my bucket is that it makes it difficult to get a full scoop of dirt.
However, you can take it off , move a couple of full scoops and then start breaking ground again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick Spade

,
July 2, 2010
By HEPet
from Lorena, TX
"I bought one of these for my compact tractor. It will attach to my loader bucket but _will NOT fit__my fork lift tines as was promoted in the unit description. What a major disappointment as using it with the forklift affords MUCH better visibility when loading or digging!
I would recommend this product to a friend ONLY with the caveat that it won't work on many forklift tines!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade Combo

,
June 9, 2010
By grumpyoldman
from Bear Lake, ID
"Great product, does everything that Paumco claims and more. I love the way it slices through roots, making digging out old growth easy. Only one caveat, the fork openings are only 1.75" x 4.5". My clamp-on bucket forks are 2" x 6". With a little cutting & welding, I'm sure I will enjoy the spade with an additional 5 foot reach."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade for Skid Loaders

,
June 2, 2010
By Jim40XT
from Kennett Square PA
"I needed a cost effective way to dig with the Skid loader bucket. Attach the spade and there is no bush or plant that my wife wants moved or transplanted that the spade hasn't been able to handle. A lot less expensive than a back hoe attachment and very effective within it's design scope. I didn't know how I got by without the skid loader. I surely don't know how I got by without the Quick spade attachment. What a back saver!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paumco Quick Spade

,
May 31, 2010
By nsxbill
from Shingle Springs, CA
"Very well-made item. Sturdy, and made to do the little jobs that the big bucket on our older Bobcat is just not suited. Handy for moving rocks on our property, and for digging out bushes and trees that have established roots. I wish I would have figured out whick chain binder to use prior to buying it, as I had to wait to get a separate shipment to make use of the quick-spade. I highly recommend the item!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Combo Quick Spade

,
February 23, 2010
By Smokeydog
from East Tennessee
"Very easy to attach to bucket. Well made. Do recommend the small ratchet chain binder on previous post for smaller tractor buckets. Easy to use particularly with hydrostatic drive tractor. Used to dig holes to plant apple trees in clay with roots with no problems. Saved a lot of back work and time. Have dug up and carried off unwanted small trees and multiflora rose bushes without having to get off the tractor. Easy to work with next to and sometimes under fences. Excellent for ditching along side of driveway to maintain drainage where I can't get with a regular bucket. Worth the investment to add versatility to a any front end loader. I like the longer length of the combo model, but hadn't used it with forks yet. It will get much use on a farm. I sharpened the blade to better cut through 4" roots. Actually been fun to use and surprised how many jobs it can do that a regular bucket can't. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Spade

,
February 22, 2010
By dewoodwkr
from Pewaukee, WI
"The quick spade has been a major work saver for digging small trees and other large plants that we have needed to move. I use this on a John Deere 400 super garden tractor with a loader. It quickly and easily prepare the new location then diggs and moved the plants without the hand digging and backbreaking effort needed to move a large plant clump with all the heavy soil still attached. My son also used this on his larger tractor to dig and move a large bolder (30"x18"x15")from his yard. The quick spade made quick work of the task. The spade is a very heavy construction which even the large bolder did not seem to stress it at all.
I highly recommend this product for anyone with even a small tractor with loader for power digging."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spade review / quick shovel

,
July 13, 2009
By bozskis
from hobe sound Florida
"I call this a quick shovel. It works great on my Kubota 4610 tractor bucket. It is great when you need to dig a quick small hole or many. I used it at our tree farm planting palms out of 7 gal pots. 2 scoops and you are done. It is easy to attach but you do need the raccheting chain binder with chain and a sepperate piece of chain about 6 to 10 inches long makes the hook up easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Digs holes quick

,
May 27, 2009
By KrispyKritter
from Colorado
"I am very pleased with the Quick Spade Combo. It fit on the edge of the front loader on my 35 hp Cub Cadet Yanmar tractor nicely, but you do have to supply your own chain and binder to secure it. After some practice, I got the bucket angle correct and was able to dig holes for all of my new trees very quickly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Waste of Money

,
May 1, 2009
By PLF5
from Colorado
"I purchased this item to transplant some small trees. The spade will simply not dig into the ground. I even soaked the soil with water and used a hand shovel to give this spade a start. It is useless to dig a hole. I returned the item to Northern Tool. I would strongly discourage anyone from purchasing this item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Paumco Products Quick Spade Combo - Model# 1101-Quick Spade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Concentrates Power

,
November 2, 2008
By GordyK
from Husdon, WI
"I've been out popping out scrub trees and boulders. It would have taken hours to dig them out without this attachment. I was done in minutes. Great attachment, but it requires chain and chain tightener to be purchased separately."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.