Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"

"NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"

Item# 27920
"The 1.5 Watt NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer is a 12V completely weatherproof unit for use with motorcycle, personal watercraft, snowmobile, ATV, tractor and other 12 Volt batteries. Includes Battery clamps, O ring connector/fuse, wiring, Panels qty. 1, Material ABS plastic, Battery Included No, LED Light No, Temperature Range F -40-176, Product Style Maintainer, Watts 1.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 5 x 1 1/4. 1 1/2 Watt amorphous solar panel measures 14in.L x 5in.W x 1 1/4in.D and works in all daylight conditions, even on cloudy days Durable, completely weatherproof construction for long life Maintenance-free Operates from -40F to +176F Quick-connect technology provides easy connections Built-in overcharge and discharge protection Includes battery clamps, wiring, O-ring connectors and fuse"
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 of 17(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very simple to hook up.

,
August 24, 2015
By
from NYC
" So far so good.. I use this to keep my boat battery fresh and ready to go. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

,
July 13, 2015
By
from DFW TX
" I have a John Deere D130 and was getting tired of going out to mow only to discover the battery had discharged. I'd drag out my charger and in a few HOURS I'd have enough juice to get it started. Next time - same thing.
I saw this solar charger without having too much hope, but for the price it seemed worth the risk. It does exactly what it says it will do and the tractor is now always ready to go. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Heavier Gauge Wire Needed

,
July 5, 2015
By
from Montgomery, NY
" I purchased this product to keep the battery on my garden tractor charged. The charger works well, but the wire is so thin that I have had to repair each of the clamp connections due to wire breakage. I realize that for only 1.5 watts the amperage is very small, but the flexing that occurs from routine usage (disconnecting it for each use) at the connection to the battery clamps has broken each of the wires. Couldn't a heavier wire be used for a stronger connection? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 7, 2015
Thank you for the feedback on your NPower charger. We are continuously looking for ways to improve our products and customer experience. The information on the wires will been passed on in order to improve the manufacturing process in future.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not pleased at all

,
June 24, 2015
By
from Dakotas
" I used this product on several batteries and it failed to maintain the charge in any of them.....and they were good, servicable batteries. Two of the batteries went totally dead with this connected but was able to charge them with a regular battery charger.
I sold it on a rummage sale for $3 and glad to get rid of it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still testing

,
February 5, 2015
By
from Duluth
" Works fine out of the package. I gave three stars only because the alarm seems a bit less than advertised and the batteries are a bit difficult to access. Testing battery life now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Charger

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Wyoming
" I use the small solar charger in conjunction with the Battery Minder charger desulfator. I charge the battery with the Battery Minder until the battery is at it's highest condition. Very important to get the battery to its best condition. Then I put the solar charger on and that maintains the battery.
The solar charger will not maintain a good charge if the battery is in low discharge condition. It's not a charger like an electrical charger. We have cold weather here in Wyoming and I have found that this is the best way to keep the battery on line in bad weather.
It's the most logical and efficient way to insure you get going on those really cold mornings.
The photo is my camper and the solar charger screwed to the back to maintain the deep cycle battery inside. It is always ready no matter how cold. I LIKE IT!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to install

,
January 14, 2015
By
from Fort Myers, FL, United States
" I hooked this to my whole house stand-by generator in the hopes it will extend my battery life. Output seems adequate, but time will tell. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NPower solar charger

,
December 8, 2014
By
from FL
" Used it to juice lawn tractor's weak battery, hooked up for 4 days, tractor went "vroom!" right away. Will also use it on BMW K100 over colder parts of winter.
Easy to use, comprehensive accessories, very reasonable price, hook up anywhere you can get light. Extension cord let me put solar array on roof of yard barn and reach battery at rear of tractor easily.
So far no weak points to this product. It is not a quick charge, but if you have time on your side then this product should be on your short list.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
December 3, 2014
By
from Indian Mound TN
" Works as advertised provides a trickle charge to keep battery tendered when not in use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect 1.5 watt solar panel

,
November 20, 2014
By
from Morgantown,WV
" great little solar panel ,mounted on the back of my john boat keeps my battery charged, even powers the under-water camera. I'll have to purchase afew more for Christmas gifts. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Decent charger

,
September 19, 2014
By
from Pa
" Decent little charger. I checked with a volt meter and was suprised that in partly sunny conditions I was getting way more than I expected. Should keep batteries topped off. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Charger

,
August 28, 2014
By
from Cumming Georgia
" I bought two of these to keep my John Deere mowers batteries charged. They work great and I have already recommended them to two of my friends... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

,
February 6, 2014
By
from Richmond, Va
" I mounted this to a piece of particle board for a little extra weight to keep it in place, and protect the back side of it. I hooked it up to my lawn tractor, and have taken some before and after battery level readings.................everything is great so far. It's nice to be able to keep my battery charged during the winter without an extension cord! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than a trickle charger.

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Canton, TX
" I bought two of these, one for each of my 4 wheelers. They work great. I no longer have to use a plug in type trickle charger to maintain the batteries. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NP Solar Powersports Charger

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
" I recently purchased two of these chargers to keep my truck and 4 wheeler batteries charged. They have kept the batteries charged all winter long through rain, snow ,fog and extreme cold!! Easy to use and they don't get in the way! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar charger

,
January 27, 2014
By
from jacksonville fl
" This is a great product works well keeping battery on my motorcycle charged up only thing I didn't like were suction cups wouldn't stay stuck to metal wall had to mount with Velcro
Could have included in package or maybe some double sided tape
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NPower Solar Powersports Battery Maintainer - 1.5 Watts, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product for the money

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Hardyston, NJ
" I purchased this product to keep my atv battery charged. It has been an excellent purchase so far. Works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
18out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.