Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

Item# 27921
"The NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit allows you to use the power of the sun to charge cars, ATVs, personal watercraft, light-duty trucks, SUVs, boats, RVs, tractors, pumps and more. Ideal for use with all 12V batteries. An effective way to replenish your batteries and keep them ready for quick starts. Product Style Maintainer, Watts 2.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 3/4 x 5 x 1/2, Battery Included No, Includes Alligator clamps, 12V DC plug, wire, suction cups, Temperature Range F -40-176, Panels qty. 1, Material ABS plastic, LED Light No. 2.5 Watt, 167 MAh maximum power output Durable ABS plastic construction is maintenance-free No installation required 13 3/4in.L x 5in.W x 1/2in.D amorphous solar panel even works in low light and cloudy conditions Self-regulated, will never overcharge your batteries Simply plug it in and it begins working immediately Includes 12V power source adapter, alligator battery clamps and suction cups to allow window mounting"
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
60 of 62(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt last

,
June 23, 2015
By d14099
from New Port Richey fl.
" I bought the first one and it lasted 3 weeks so I returned it without a problem, the second one lasted 2 weeks so again I returned it without a problem the last one almost made a month so I returned that one too. Now I have a trickle charger hooked up and everything is fine but it is plugged in and not solar. So no I do not recommend this product "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

,
June 16, 2015
By georgemsj
from prince george, va
" The first day I received these solar chargers I took them outside on a cloudy evening not expecting much. I put a battery meter on one and was surprised to see 12.3 volts output. On a sunny day, one has enough voltage to run my fish finder without a battery. I was so happy with them that I ordered 2 more for backups. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel

,
April 24, 2015
By Mhartsel
from Hilton Head SC
" Use this product on my boat, Jet Skis and lawn mower. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping the batteries ready for rolling stock

,
April 8, 2015
By JuJubean
from Central Texas
" I bought one for my not ready to drive son's 1983 El Camino that is a project car. The big problem is keeping the battery ready fresh for starting once every two weeks or so. But hey, we have plenty of Texas sun, so this is the perfect solution. Worked well enough that I bought one for my older son who lives near campus and only drives once a week. His is a 1993 Buick Roadmaster. What attracted me to this product was the 2.5 watts and solar ability and it plugs right into the cigarette receptacle. No complaints from either son, just relief that the car starts up when the key turns. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLAR BATTERY CHARGER

,
March 28, 2015
By KENR576
from Salmon, Idaho
" I liked this charger so much I am considering buying
two more.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works!

,
March 26, 2015
By XCskier
from Illinois
" Really like it, first time using a solar trickle charger, used it up in Northern Wisconsin, over night on my diesel, dead of winter, normally have to plug it in... but even without bright sun, the trickle charger gave the battery enough juice, to turn the engine over and start, could tell right away, it worked well, have been driving diesels for over 30 years, cord long enough to get to the back window, if needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it says it is

,
March 26, 2015
By KDB55
from Nebraska
" This charger is just what I wanted. The charging system went out on my lawnmower, and was going to cost way more to fix than what I spent on this. I keep it hooked up when mower is parked and keeps battery like new. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charger

,
March 5, 2015
By eastbranch
from Vermont
" Product is as advertised and keeps my two snowmobile batteries topped off. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Maintainer

,
March 5, 2015
By BoxsterGT
from NH
" So happy with this I bought another for my tractor. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Car Owner

,
February 9, 2015
By StRob
from Pa
" I have a low voltage drain on my 2005 GMC Van witch
no garage has been able to locate. I have installed a Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts and
his prevents the battery from draining. This has ben a solution to a problem that theay could not find.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps your boat ready to go

,
February 1, 2015
By HHart
from Tampa, FL
" Forget about plugging in that trickle charger. Use the sun instead. Worked great to keep my boat battery ready for use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as durable as pictured

,
January 13, 2015
By 236Bob
from Suburban, USA
" This unit did not put out enough power to maintain my car battery. It might suffice for smaller batteries. Also, if you plan on leaving this in the car to maintain your car battery, do not place it on the dash, as pictured on the packaging. The plastic housing will melt and warp and eventually render the device non-functional. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performed Well

,
January 1, 2015
By Oldtimer1
from Texas
" This solar panel was purchased to keep a battery topped off. Works well, and would certainly buy another one if I need it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps Trailer Battery Fully Charged

,
December 23, 2014
By DGuy
from Piedmont North Carolina
" Hydraulic dump trailer is parked outdoors and the infrequent use and cold temps meant the battery was not ready whenever I was. This charger keeps the battery topped off and always ready to go. When towing the trailer I slip the charger into the tongue toolbox for safekeeping. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar panel

,
December 17, 2014
By jharvey46
from okeechobee,florida
" This is a great solar panel. I would recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar charger

,
November 15, 2014
By bigwes
from huntingtown,md
" im using this to maintain batt in my shed could use longer cords and a different way to mount the panel "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy charger

,
November 5, 2014
By KBguy
from North Dakota
" The product was easy to install and is working as described. I would definitely purchase again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best battery maintainer on the market.

,
August 30, 2014
By Kuhldog
from Oto, IA
" I have 2 of these and love them both. One on a generator and the other on my ATV. Its nice to have plenty of battery when its been awhile since you had last used the equipment. Highly recommend for anything with a battery that isn't used a couple times a week. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

ehhh...kinda works

,
August 30, 2014
By SFDsfd
from west coast
" use it on small battery for trailer brakes. Keeps it ok, but don't expect to actually recharge anything. OHHH...and, the quick-change plug IS OPPOSITE OF ALL OTHER TRICKLE CHARGERS!!!!!! So, if you plan on plugging something else in it will be backwards. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trickle charger

,
August 22, 2014
By RJ24
from Titusville Florida
" I bought this solar trickle charger to mount on my trailer to keep my battery charged that operates my hoist for pulling cars on my trailer & it does a great job doing this when my trailer is not in use & sets for months as I can go hook it up to my truck & my battery has a full charge & I no longer have to charge my battery if I have to get going on a call. I'll buy another one soon to put on my tractor as I don't run it as often either & it would keep it charged up also. Great invention. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.