Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

Item# 27921
"The NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit allows you to use the power of the sun to charge cars, ATVs, personal watercraft, light-duty trucks, SUVs, boats, RVs, tractors, pumps and more. Ideal for use with all 12V batteries. An effective way to replenish your batteries and keep them ready for quick starts. Watts 2.5, Battery Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 3/4 x 5 x 1/2, Includes Alligator clamps, 12V DC plug, wire, suction cups, Temperature Range F -40-176, Material ABS plastic, Product Style Maintainer, LED Light No, Panels qty. 1. 2.5 Watt, 167 MAh maximum power output Durable ABS plastic construction is maintenance-free No installation required 13 3/4in.L x 5in.W x 1/2in.D amorphous solar panel even works in low light and cloudy conditions Self-regulated, will never overcharge your batteries Simply plug it in and it begins working immediately Includes 12V power source adapter, alligator battery clamps and suction cups to allow window mounting"
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (75 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
73 of 75(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar panel

,
April 21, 2016
By
from Eau Claire, Wi
Both of the solar panels that I bought are working great,I had never had one. On cloudy days it puts out 17 volts. Now I don't have to get a elec. cord out because the battery is always charged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maintainer Kit

,
April 19, 2016
By
from Catskill Mts ,New york
I opened the box ,mounted it on my shed and then hooked up to my gen set . That's it . My generator is always ready to go . I love it .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient, effective and handy!

,
March 26, 2016
By
from Ozarks - North Central Arkansas
Used mostly to give a little "juice" to my motorcycles in winter storage. But, seems to work beautifully boosting my trolling motor battery while doing I little fishing. Battery tested at "Full charge" after several hours on the lake. I like it, I trust it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good little panel

,
March 21, 2016
By
from Northern Minnesota
I bought this as a way to maintain a small powersport battery in the house throughout the winter without having to run a plug in battery maintainer, works great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar charger

,
March 11, 2016
By
from Tx.
Works great!! And I would recommend to anyone that needs chargers for equipment that isn't used everyday.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar charger

,
February 28, 2016
By
from Victorville, CA
Love these things, bought 3. Work great for a couple of cars I don't use very often and keeps my motor home battery charged when not in use. Easy to install, just put it in the window facing the sun and plug it into your lighter, less than a minute.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Ki

,
January 16, 2016
By
from Arroyo Hondo, NM
These solar battery chargers work great, especially in the winter to keep the batteries topped off. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Purchase

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Silver Valley, NC
So far this product has done all it claims to do. I keep a battery charged to light an out building on my property with it...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Off Season saver

,
December 11, 2015
By
from Altamont, NY
I use this to keep my old plow truck's battery charged up and ready to go. It sits for months, and gets moved in the summer only to mow where it was. It always starts!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lawn mower charger

,
November 16, 2015
By
from Clermont, FL
Good for keeping seasonal or infrequently used equipment with a fully charged battery, especially if your don't have an outlet to plug a charger into.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not up to spec

,
September 10, 2015
By
from Wake County NC
I picked up two of these today. Build quality is pretty good. Handy size. In direct sunlight the best I can get out of either of them is 70 miliamps at 21 volts. That works out to 1.5 watts. Just over half of advertised. I had an older one with the LED in it that wasn't working. Low voltage, low current. LED was flashing. Took a chance and opened it. I snipped the LED leads. All is well with it now but, it too only puts out around 60 milliamps at 21 volts. Having all 3 connected together I get 120 milliamps at 20 volts. Now, it is a little, I mean a little, hazy today. I'll check it out over the next few days. Things improve I'll change my rating.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps My Battery Charged

,
July 22, 2015
By
from Charleston, SC
I have a 2007 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner with an aftermarket stereo and alarm system with remote start and paging system. My battery would go dead if the vehicle sat for a couple of days or the next morning because I don't drive far to go to work, unless I was driving the truck >30 minutes, it would go dead the next day. I had a new battery which checked out fine and there was something pulling .12 amps from my battery when the vehicle was off. I traced it to my alarm system with remote start and paging system.
I bought this little inexpensive device hoping it would maintain the new battery's charge and it did the trick! I have had no issues whatsoever since using this gadget. All I have to do is plug it in to the power port and leave it on my seat or dash and it does it's magic. I even let the truck sit for a few days which would be more than enough time for the battery to drain and it started right up! I HIGHLY recommend! I posted on a Toyota forum to save others from hours of aggravation (trying to figure out what may be drawing current from their batteries). It was a cheap fix too!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great starter solar panel

,
July 15, 2015
By
from hudson, wi
great solar panel to use to keep a charge going on a rv engine and rv coach battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt last

,
June 23, 2015
By
from New Port Richey fl.
I bought the first one and it lasted 3 weeks so I returned it without a problem, the second one lasted 2 weeks so again I returned it without a problem the last one almost made a month so I returned that one too. Now I have a trickle charger hooked up and everything is fine but it is plugged in and not solar. So no I do not recommend this product
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

,
June 16, 2015
By
from prince george, va
The first day I received these solar chargers I took them outside on a cloudy evening not expecting much. I put a battery meter on one and was surprised to see 12.3 volts output. On a sunny day, one has enough voltage to run my fish finder without a battery. I was so happy with them that I ordered 2 more for backups.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel

,
April 24, 2015
By
from Hilton Head SC
Use this product on my boat, Jet Skis and lawn mower.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping the batteries ready for rolling stock

,
April 8, 2015
By
from Central Texas
I bought one for my not ready to drive son's 1983 El Camino that is a project car. The big problem is keeping the battery ready fresh for starting once every two weeks or so. But hey, we have plenty of Texas sun, so this is the perfect solution. Worked well enough that I bought one for my older son who lives near campus and only drives once a week. His is a 1993 Buick Roadmaster. What attracted me to this product was the 2.5 watts and solar ability and it plugs right into the cigarette receptacle. No complaints from either son, just relief that the car starts up when the key turns.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLAR BATTERY CHARGER

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Salmon, Idaho
I liked this charger so much I am considering buying
two more.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works!

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Illinois
Really like it, first time using a solar trickle charger, used it up in Northern Wisconsin, over night on my diesel, dead of winter, normally have to plug it in... but even without bright sun, the trickle charger gave the battery enough juice, to turn the engine over and start, could tell right away, it worked well, have been driving diesels for over 30 years, cord long enough to get to the back window, if needed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it says it is

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Nebraska
This charger is just what I wanted. The charging system went out on my lawnmower, and was going to cost way more to fix than what I spent on this. I keep it hooked up when mower is parked and keeps battery like new.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.