Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

Item# 27921
The NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit allows you to use the power of the sun to charge cars, ATVs, personal watercraft, light-duty trucks, SUVs, boats, RVs, tractors, pumps and more. Ideal for use with all 12V batteries. An effective way to replenish your batteries and keep them ready for quick starts. Includes Alligator clamps, 12V DC plug, wire, suction cups, LED Light Yes, Material ABS plastic, Panels qty. 1, Battery Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 6 1/2 x 1 1/2, Watts 2.5, Product Style Maintainer, Temperature Range F -40-176. 2.5 Watt, 167 MAh maximum power output Durable ABS plastic construction is maintenance-free No installation required Even works in low light and cloudy conditions Self-regulated, will never overcharge your batteries Simply plug it in and it begins working immediately Includes 12V power source adapter, alligator battery clamps and suction cups to allow window mounting
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Solar Charger

,
July 9, 2014
By Coyote595
from Central TX
"Works exactly as advertised. Easy to use and very convenient. Great for keeping the battery topped off on an occasionally used vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12 volt 2.5 amp battery charger or device player

,
June 29, 2014
By cp4747
from Arkansas
"i bought 3 of these solar chargers..i have them hooked to 3 12 volt battery's and they keep them charged to about 12.5 volts..that is the cut off charger with the blocking diode..full sun with out a load 23.9 volts..they seem to work okay on the battery's.will have to give them some more time..over all for the price these are a good buy.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

,
June 27, 2014
By laketodd
from lakeville, mn
"So far this has worked great. No more lugging power cords and charger out, to charge my batteries in my boat.
All I need to do is attach to the battery and forget about it. The feature of no over charge is great also. Many times i have forgot that the charger was on and cooked my battery, now that worry is gone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Great

,
June 26, 2014
By Membo
from Columbia, SC
"Nice product at a nice price,.
Have 6 of them. Use at home and on farm"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Party Boat

,
June 16, 2014
By JimPete
from MAINE
"Always had trouble with battery on Pontoon Boat, we did not run fast enough to get a good charge, hooked up solar charger & battery is always fully charged. Love It !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery maintainer

,
May 27, 2014
By unionman
from Benton Harbor, MI
"This product keeps my battery up in my classic auto even when I do not drive it for extended periods of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Farmer

,
May 5, 2014
By NikkoJones
from Tampa, Fl.
"For a 2.5 watts solar panel ,the product works great, I cant say the same for Northern Tools, they are responsible, they can improve the delivery time, it took more than 7 working days for the arrival. Five stars for the Solar Panel 3for Northern Tools. This is not my first experience with NT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
May 1, 2014
By paulsr55
from lorain.oh
"so far its doing great charges the battery in tractor"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar powered battery maintainer

,
April 16, 2014
By blckss396
from Iowa
"This is my third NPower Solar Battery maintainer I have purchased I use one on my lawn tractor, my 66 chevelle and one on my pickup to maintain the batteries on these vehicles I don't use often or during the winter. Works very well to maintain the batteries. Wish there was a cord extension to reach from windows to vehicle when parked inside a building."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger

,
April 13, 2014
By Greg13
from Staten Island NY
"We'll lets see I've use it on a car for passed two weeks and it's not working but really I blame the battery it's due to be changed, I'm sure it will do the job on my snow blower and or generator."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery saver

,
March 13, 2014
By hookjockey
from Fayetteville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I travel a lot and when I leave my Jeep at the airport I always park where the unit can get lots of light. I've never had battery problems. Leaving a trickle charger on a battery can extend battery life by years, especially when the vehicle is left unused for any length of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 10, 2014
By Scottbambam
from Florida
"I've bought 2 of these and never have to worry about my winch on the trailer working or my boat not gonna start Great to use on any item not used every day. Even got my best friend to buy one for his boat"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimal light needed

,
February 8, 2014
By Rambohunter
from St. Bernard,LA
"Works even in indirect sunlight. Output is 15 volts with light reflected off garage door. Keeps battery charged in infrequently use vehicle. Blue blinking led even gets brighter or dimmer accordingly with the amount of available sunlight. Sturdy built with suction cup mounts on both sides of panel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Does It.

,
February 7, 2014
By Toytinker
from Long Island, NY
"Good product, I use it to keep a full charge on the internal battery of my portable air pump. Small complaint; the connector that allows you to attach panel to the multiple accessories damages easily. I sat my air pump on it (approx. 15 pds.) And crushed the connector. I just spliced the appropriate end connector on that I need, and it works fine. So if you want to be able to plug your connector into multiple accessories be gentle with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
February 5, 2014
By isgbrian
from Houston
"Use this product to keep a mower battery up and ready in a remote shed. Works great ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weekend toys best friend

,
February 4, 2014
By weekendwarior
from los angeles,ca
"this unit keeps my atv batteries charged while im not using it, it is the perfect way to maintain a charge"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 4, 2014
By JamesinTN
from Nashville, TN
"I was impressed with the charging ability in a small package. 2.5 watts in the same footprint as most 1 - 1.5 watt units. I will be buying another one soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product Solar Panel Battery Maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By D1D1
from Telford, PA
"Easy to use. It keeps the battery charged with no fuss. My car is ready to run after sitting for months. The battery used to be low making it difficult to crank, the engine. This removes that issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger does what it should.

,
February 4, 2014
By Woody150
from Lilburn, GA
"I bought 2 of these. I had an issue with one which was replaced no problem. I use 1 in a mainly Offroad vehicle that sits in my driveway and only starts up every 3-4 months. I use this and always can walk out and it will start right away. Another I keep on a car battery that I have as just a spare."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For more than car batteries!!

,
February 4, 2014
By PaxTerra
from Vermont
"I use solar for lots of stuff and 2.5 watts out of a panel this small is pretty good. I mostly use this panel to keep the charge in the battery in my giant handheld spot light - It puts out 1.5 million cp but I only use it rarely. This panel keeps the battery at its peak.
In the summer, I plug this panel into a small fan from a computer. The fan is in a frame that fills the width of my truck's passenger window. This panel powers the fan to exhaust the hot air buildup in the cab on sunny days. Keeps the cab cooler when it is parked for days on in.
When I'm traveling, I leave this panel on the dashboard of my small RV camper and plug it into a small battery pack of NiMh rechargeable penlight batteries. This battery pack is ideal for powering my laptop, cell phone, GPS and/or tablet at night when we are camping out in the woods.
Oh, I also have plugged it into the cigarette lighter on the really cold winter weather to top off the car battery. The below zero temps really sap the power out of the battery and this thing puts out just enough to offset that drop.
It saved me once when I left the cab overhead light on. In the past, that would have killed the battery but I was lucky to have had a sunny day and this panel plugged in. The battery started the engine (just barely) but I'm sure it would not have worked without this extra boost.
I'll probably get one or two more of these - at under $15, its a pretty good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.