Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

Item# 27921
The NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit allows you to use the power of the sun to charge cars, ATVs, personal watercraft, light-duty trucks, SUVs, boats, RVs, tractors, pumps and more. Ideal for use with all 12V batteries. An effective way to replenish your batteries and keep them ready for quick starts. Includes Alligator clamps, 12V DC plug, wire, suction cups, LED Light Yes, Material ABS plastic, Panels qty. 1, Battery Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 6 1/2 x 1 1/2, Watts 2.5, Product Style Maintainer, Temperature Range F -40-176. 2.5 Watt, 167 MAh maximum power output Durable ABS plastic construction is maintenance-free No installation required Even works in low light and cloudy conditions Self-regulated, will never overcharge your batteries Simply plug it in and it begins working immediately Includes 12V power source adapter, alligator battery clamps and suction cups to allow window mounting
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Review 21 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimal light needed

,
February 8, 2014
By Rambohunter
from St. Bernard,LA
"Works even in indirect sunlight. Output is 15 volts with light reflected off garage door. Keeps battery charged in infrequently use vehicle. Blue blinking led even gets brighter or dimmer accordingly with the amount of available sunlight. Sturdy built with suction cup mounts on both sides of panel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Does It.

,
February 7, 2014
By Toytinker
from Long Island, NY
"Good product, I use it to keep a full charge on the internal battery of my portable air pump. Small complaint; the connector that allows you to attach panel to the multiple accessories damages easily. I sat my air pump on it (approx. 15 pds.) And crushed the connector. I just spliced the appropriate end connector on that I need, and it works fine. So if you want to be able to plug your connector into multiple accessories be gentle with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
February 5, 2014
By isgbrian
from Houston
"Use this product to keep a mower battery up and ready in a remote shed. Works great ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weekend toys best friend

,
February 4, 2014
By weekendwarior
from los angeles,ca
"this unit keeps my atv batteries charged while im not using it, it is the perfect way to maintain a charge"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 4, 2014
By JamesinTN
from Nashville, TN
"I was impressed with the charging ability in a small package. 2.5 watts in the same footprint as most 1 - 1.5 watt units. I will be buying another one soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product Solar Panel Battery Maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By D1D1
from Telford, PA
"Easy to use. It keeps the battery charged with no fuss. My car is ready to run after sitting for months. The battery used to be low making it difficult to crank, the engine. This removes that issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger does what it should.

,
February 4, 2014
By Woody150
from Lilburn, GA
"I bought 2 of these. I had an issue with one which was replaced no problem. I use 1 in a mainly Offroad vehicle that sits in my driveway and only starts up every 3-4 months. I use this and always can walk out and it will start right away. Another I keep on a car battery that I have as just a spare."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

For more than car batteries!!

,
February 4, 2014
By PaxTerra
from Vermont
"I use solar for lots of stuff and 2.5 watts out of a panel this small is pretty good. I mostly use this panel to keep the charge in the battery in my giant handheld spot light - It puts out 1.5 million cp but I only use it rarely. This panel keeps the battery at its peak.
In the summer, I plug this panel into a small fan from a computer. The fan is in a frame that fills the width of my truck's passenger window. This panel powers the fan to exhaust the hot air buildup in the cab on sunny days. Keeps the cab cooler when it is parked for days on in.
When I'm traveling, I leave this panel on the dashboard of my small RV camper and plug it into a small battery pack of NiMh rechargeable penlight batteries. This battery pack is ideal for powering my laptop, cell phone, GPS and/or tablet at night when we are camping out in the woods.
Oh, I also have plugged it into the cigarette lighter on the really cold winter weather to top off the car battery. The below zero temps really sap the power out of the battery and this thing puts out just enough to offset that drop.
It saved me once when I left the cab overhead light on. In the past, that would have killed the battery but I was lucky to have had a sunny day and this panel plugged in. The battery started the engine (just barely) but I'm sure it would not have worked without this extra boost.
I'll probably get one or two more of these - at under $15, its a pretty good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery maintainer

,
February 4, 2014
By animalfarm
from Lone Jack, Mo
"I have an older diesel truck with two batteries that sits a lot and I attached this unit to maintain the charge on these batteries and it is working well so far. I have similar units on tractors that have been In use for more than a year and I am happy with the results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pruduct works well

,
February 4, 2014
By Grumpy944
from Colorado
"The solar charger works well. It keeps my truck battery from running low between uses. Much more convenient that dragging out an extension cord to plug in a charger. Bought mine on sale, could not beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery maintainer, trickle charger

,
February 4, 2014
By caoman
from Trumbull ct
"Especially for standby generators.
Very easy to forget that battery.
Now my sons and grandsons don't have to worry.
...and for so little cost. I bought five of them.
One of my grandsons regretted not checking and charging his generator battery when he lost power for several days. That is what prompted me to by them
A perfect, reasonably priced gift for any occasion.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

one that works

,
December 17, 2013
By jaracing101
from Pa.
"my truck constantly had battery issues and naturally it's winter in the east so the problems were compounded...since installing on inside of windshield with included suction cups I've had no problems...the only thing you have to figure out is if your lighter works without the key and don't use it while vehicle is in use...I have since ordered 4 more for other intended uses...I will use the suction cups and place them on the interior garage window and use them for my lawn tractor and quad...will probably never have to buy another battery for life...one thing I would like to see is an inline switch on future models so I wouldn't have to pop the hood to disconnect because I use the battery clamps it but I will install that..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for snow birds to keep there batteries fresh

,
September 17, 2013
By Nathan881397
from VT
"This is a great product for people who go South for the winter and leave a vehicle or two up North. Just plug it in, place it on the dash, and when you return from your winter retreat...your car is ready to start. And the price is right!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for over the winter storeage

,
April 23, 2013
By jsmet
from TN
"I got 3 of these to put on my mowers for over the winter storage. I mow for a living and dont like to leave my batteries just to sit all winter. I use these charger / maintainer to keep the batteries charged up and ready to go for the next mowing season."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts

,
April 23, 2013
By 8043
from Richmond, Virginia
"Works as expected, keeps my boat motor battery fully charged so I never have to worry about it. Plan to buy another for the lawn mower. Good price. Not completely weatherproof however. I also wish it came with a set of ring connectors for permanent attachment to a battery. I made my own no trouble but would be nice. Thank you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar charger

,
April 23, 2013
By Rt66
from Dwight,Il.
"Charges very well easy mounting well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

handy

,
April 23, 2013
By rick2
from connecticut
"works like it is advertized mounting hardware needs to be improved"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Foolproof battery charger

,
November 11, 2012
By Skigod
from Portland, OR
"I really like this product! It will keep your batteries charged as promised. The 4 star rating is because it is not completely weather proof. I have used it to maintain a Vespa battery that I park outside. Once, it did leak, and rainwater stopped it from working. I brought it inside and dried it out, and sealed all possible points of entry with clear silicone caulk, and wrapped it inside a clear plastic bag for extra protection. It has worked flawlessly since. You will be very happy with this product for such a small investment. Today, I am ordering 2 more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
October 15, 2012
By ridgerider60
from Okanogan, WA
"Used this product to keep two batteries charged in a 2002 Silverado w/duramax diesel. Had to replace baterries last spring so I purchased this product and it worked fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Maintainer Kit - 2.5 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar maintainer

,
October 15, 2012
By Daddio65
from Randolph, NJ
"I installed this product in the summer of 2011 on mt pontoon boat. I installed it in a location that is 90% out of the weather. It has held up fine and continues to keep my boat battery charged fully. I bought 2 more to bring to my second home where I plan on using them there. This is an inexpensive way to extend your battery life and prevent buying a new battery prematurely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.