Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts

NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts

Item# 27922
The NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit allows you to use the power of the sun to charge cars, ATVs, personal watercraft, light-duty trucks, SUVs, boats, RVs, tractors, pumps and more. Ideal for use with all 12V batteries. An effective way to replenish your batteries and keep them ready for quick starts. Battery Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 42 1/4 x 16 1/2 x 3 1/4, Includes Alligator clamps, 12V DC plug, wire, mounting screws, Panels qty. 1, Watts 20, LED Light No, Material ABS plastic, Product Style Battery charger, Temperature Range F -40-176. Durable ABS plastic construction is maintenance-free No installation required Even works in low light and cloudy conditions Built-in blocking diode protects from battery discharge at night Includes 12V power source adapter, alligator battery clamps, 11 1/2 ft. wiring, voltage tester and pre-drilled base with 4 stainless steel mounting screws Recommended for tandem use with Item# 27650 8.5 Amp charge controller sold separately, for optimal results
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Review 1 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar panel

,
February 5, 2014
By bhalver
from MT
"This solar panel has worked well on my truck bed camper for may years. The only issue I have had is the outer plastic case has crack at one coner of the panel from the expansion and contraction of the plastic material. Overall it is a good solar panel for the beginer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats Mighty Mule

,
February 4, 2014
By Arki
from arkansas
"Used to power Mighty Mule gate opener. Had for 3 years now with no issues. Works perfectly. Mighty Mule sold a 5 watt unit at the time for $140. This gave me triple the charging power for much less. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

RV charger

,
September 17, 2013
By BJBrown
from Bangor, ME
"I bought this thinking it would keep my battery charged in my rv so I could keep my refrigerator going while i was gone during the week. It is a gas refrigerator. but needs power to run switches. It did not keep battery charged enough to do it. Could have been my mistake for not buying a big enough panel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

,
April 23, 2013
By morepower210
from Croghan,NY
"Used this 20 Watt panel on your camper during a cold weather hunting trip in November with not much sunlight. Kept enough juice in the batteries to keep the furnace, lights, and water pump running for 4 days. At Nascar races where there are no hookups in the summertime we NEVER need our generator anymore. Granted you have to be somewhat power conscious, but in the right weather this is a great solution... and you don't have to listen to a Generator!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stay off the grid

,
April 23, 2013
By blackflylunch
from Maine
"I've had 2 of these for over 5 yrs. They have been dependable for lighting my cabin. They charge 2 deep cycle batteries. I can't give numbers for their output. I just bought a small 12v refer and I'll need more power to use it more than 2 days. Good product, better value recently since solar power has dropped in price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Panel power fades with age

,
April 22, 2013
By SkiKing
from Chino Hills, CA
"I've had these panel for a couple of years now and unfortunately their output is < half the rating. High noon, bright sunshine and directly aimed at the sun, the best I can get now is .539A [12.7v x .539a = 6.84 watts]. That's it.
I am using these for a solar landscaping project where the panels are recharging a 12v deep cycle battery. I have two panels running in parallel and barely get over 1 amp. Too big a size for so little output power.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
December 4, 2012
By RyanM19
from Memphis, TN
"I picked up one of these panels and a charge controller for our vacation property to power some LED lights, recharge a 12V battery and run a small pump.
It works wonderfully, I've charged a 12v in overcast skies.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Amorphous Solar Panel Battery Charger Kit - 20 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 15, 2012
By mharris
from Alabama
"I use this product in conjunction with a 12V deep cycle battery to power a series of lights in my barn. This originated as a project for my 6th graders. I would recommend this product to anyone that may need a small amount of power. These can be combined to draw more power. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.