Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"

"Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"

Item# 28106
"The Vogelzang Ponderosa Wood Stove is a high-efficiency stove that provides up to 14 hours of heat on a single load. Adjust the blower speed to suit the desired level of heat distribution. Clearance from Corner in. 18, Product Type Stove, Firebox Size W x D in. 26 x 18 x 12 1/4 3.3 cu. ft., BTU Output 152,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 3,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 26, Full Load Run Time Hours 14, Assembly Required No, Fuel Type Wood, Heat Settings No, Igniter No, EPA Certified Yes, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, UL Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 17, Mobile Home Approved Yes, Stove Pipe Included No, Blower CFM 100, Blower Included Yes, Door Opening W x H in. 15 x 9, Thermostat Included No, Dimensions W x D x H in. 38.5 x 24 x 33, EPA Exempt No, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with full firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 15in.W x 9in.H ceramic glass window Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Holds up to 30 lbs. of wood 3.3 cu. ft. firebox 6in. flue collar EPA-certified Mobile home approved Safety tested to UL 1482-2010/ULC S627-00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove

,
March 27, 2016
By
from Crossville, TN
Great stove, heavy duty, holds a lot of wood, very well made, solid, so bring a friend to help pick it up..:)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

,
February 22, 2016
By
from Franklin Ma
I have been burning wood all my life. I've had multiple stoves over the years. The stove I replaced was $2500 that I over heated and the cast developed a small crack. I just didn't want to spend that much on a new stove so the price from Northern tool caught my eye. This stove took me a day or two to figure out how to use properly and most efficiently. The first use, I filled the house with smoke then realized to open the door slightly until it gets a good flame. Each morning when I get up there are still enough hot coals to get a new fire going with ease. Biggest draw back is the small ash port for your spent ashes and weak blower but all and all I'm very happy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's ok

,
February 11, 2016
By
from Ogden, Utah
We bought this stove 6 or so years ago. The bearings in the built in fan broke after a couple of years. It just stopped working. The insulation on the inside top of the stove has broken and needs to be replaced. I would like to find some where to get these things replaced. Not sure who to call, since it is older than 5 years old. We paid twice the price that the store is offering it now.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertFebruary 26, 2016
For any replacement parts, please call us at 1-800-750-2723 EXT 5051 to order. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Arkansas
I have been burning wood for heat since 1975. This is the best stove I have ever owned. This stove is in an old log cabin with and addition and with the blower my home has never been this warm. Also I burn about 1/4 of the wood I used to burn. I am burning hardwood mostly oak and hickory seasoned wood. Love this stove!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Mandan, ND
We have had the stove for a little over a month. The installation was quite simple and it is working great! We looked at local fireplace stores and they were charging twice as much or more. This firebox is the largest we have found. We use it in our garage about 1080 SF. We are having temps in the single digits and it stays around 60 degrees throughout the whole garage. Although when we sit in front of it to enjoy the flames; 6 ft. away with the door closed it is 82 degrees. Sitting in the garage without any coats on.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ponderosa Woodstove

,
November 11, 2015
By
from Yadkinville , NC
Well made... Heavy! I will report back once the weather turns cold. 70 degree weather so have not built my first fire.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for price.

,
November 4, 2015
By
from WI
The stove was delivered as expected. The install was very easy not requiring a lot of knowledge or tools. SO far the stove is working as expected. Great stove for the price would buy again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Ponderosa Wood burnner

,
October 5, 2015
By
from sd
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
so far we love it its only been 39f for a low so far but in our 1200sq' farm house it was 80f with a light load . we live in Eastern South Dakota so I'll review it again when its -30f out with 60mph winds and 3' of snow as for now we love it and hope we will not have to use the electric heater
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 6, 2015
Thank you for the feed back. We are glad you are satisfied with the product. If you have any questions call us at 1-800-750-2723 and we will be glad to assist you. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

descent stove for the price

,
September 16, 2015
By
from Wyoming
I have used the stove now for a winter, I did a lot of research before buying it also, since it was a big purchase for me. I too needed it to heat my whole house which is around 2400 sqft. It accomplished it ok. It doesn't have the burn time that it is stated to have. Like others have said it is only about 4 hours to maintain the heat output to keep the house warm. I have had issues with drafting but like others that have reviewed this stove kind of negatively, I knew that it might be an issue because I talked to a professional at a place that sells and installs stovepipe. The problem is that it is in a basement. Due to the negative pressure being below grade and combined with having a couple bends in the chimney stoves have issues with working to their highest potential being in a basement. That being said I have looked for a cold air return kit and can't find one to see if that will improve the burning time and draft issues. But all in all it is a well built stove for the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertSeptember 18, 2015
FAK-07 is the fresh air kit that you will need. If you could call our customer service we will be more than happy to look at the set up and tell you why you are having drafting issues. We are open Monday thru Friday 7am -9pm and Sat and Sun 8am-5pm. 1-800-750-2723 ext 5050 is our tech line. You can also order the part on-line thru usstove.com or by calling our customer service line. Vogelzang
By Vogelzang Product ExpertSeptember 18, 2015
FAK-07 is the fresh air kit that you will need. If you could call our customer service we will be more than happy to look at the set up and tell you why you are having drafting issues. We are open Monday thru Friday 7am -9pm and Sat and Sun 8am-5pm. 1-800-750-2723 ext 5050 is our tech line. You can also order the part on-line thru usstove.com or by calling our customer service line. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG, LONG LOG STOVE

,
April 11, 2015
By
from HILLIARD, OHIO
I HAVE BURNED WOOD AS A SECONDARY HEAT FOR 40 YEARS, I HAVE A PREFORMER IN MY 60' x 40' SHOP. I WISH THAT I HAD THIS STOVE IN IT INSTEAD. TAKES VERY LONG SPLITS, BURNS GREAT COMPLETELY. I HAVE A 8" FLUE, SO GOOD DRAFT. HEATS UP TOO HOT with to much wood, AND HAVE TO RUN FURANCE FAN TO SPREAD THE HEAT. YOU cannot choke the fire out, it always has some O2 comming in, If you don't have enough draft when starting the fire, you can get some smoke into the room
Describe Yourself: Professional
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertAugust 20, 2015
Thank you for your positive feed back. You are correct that you have to have a proper draft to keep smoke out of your home. If you would like one of our customer service tech could help you by looking at your installation, and make sure there are no issues with the installation or set up. M-F 7am-4pm central time. 1-800-750-2723 ext 5050. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't live up to the hype

,
January 11, 2015
By
from Virginia
I read the reviews and based my purchase on the write up on the stove and the reviews posted. While this stove is capable of producing large amounts of heat, it can only do so for a short time. I'm burning seasoned oak that was downed 2 to 3 years ago and cannot achieve a hot fire for more than 3 to 4 hours. At that point I have a lot of coals I can't get to burn to ash unless I crack the door open slightly. Without opening the door to let oxygen in, the coals only lightly glow red putting off very little heat. I bought this stove to put in my basement to try to heat the whole house and it has failed miserably. The stove I replaced with this one did a far better job of heating the house but lacked the burn-time of this one. What no one said was that the burn time is achieved by 4-5 hours of heat followed by 9-10 hours of barely smoldering coals. With the coals left in the stove there is very little room to put in the next load of wood to burn. Propane gas logs kick in to maintain heat level in the home when stove dies down and my propane usage has more than doubled since I switched to this stove. If you are looking for a cute stove to put in a living area to make a room more comfortable this stove is for you. If you are trying to heat a whole house on wood you may want to consider another stove.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 10, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you're having these issues. Based upon the information you gave, it sounds like you do have an issue with the drafting of the stove, if opening the door helps. There are a number of things that could be the problem and we would be glad to troubleshoot with you further if you would like to give our customer service a call at 800.750.2723, we are open 7-4 CST. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

,
January 11, 2015
By
from Kansas City
I have been burning in stoves for 40 plus years, I just wish anyone who has cut 6 plus cords of wood every year could see how much less wood you will use in this unit. I could not be happier. They did there homework with this stove, and I am glad I did mine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wood stove

,
January 4, 2015
By
from Aylett, VA
I've owned my wood stove for over 2 years now. I wanted to wait and see how it holds up and functions for a few years before writing my review. I have my Ponderosa down in my basement. The durability of the stove and the craftsmanship is top notch. I'm very pleased with it. My main purpose is to heat my house in order to decrease my heating bill during winter time and it's done just that. (my house has a heat pump). It has a relatively large holding capacity and the flat top could be used to cook with if I ever needed it for that in instances if I ever loose electricity, but haven't so far. This thing does heat up my my entire basement (my house is about 1000 sq. foot). It is very heavy so when it arrives expect to need two strong men to help set it in place. I have absolutely no complaints what-so-ever.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

smelly

,
December 21, 2014
By
from MA
Only been burning it for a week, but so far I am impressed with heat it generates and length of burn. Only issue is the smell as the finish is cured. One week down and almost gone. Nice surprise that it can actually take 24" wood, so long as you don't mind the blackened glass that creates.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Want to buy a 2nd for the house

,
December 14, 2014
By
from ottawa ohio
Great stove. It is easy to load and keeps heat for 12 hours. Follow the directions with the stove and you should not have any problems The metal and finish will smoke the first time fired. We had to open the windows to clear the burnt metal smell. It is made in China.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

its a good one

,
November 19, 2014
By
from pa
got the new stove, eazy to use, cooks out the family if im left unchecked...lol just make surre you have help to move it
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STOVE GREAT VALUE

,
November 16, 2014
By
from Rockdale,TX
We have owned various wood stoves for over 30 years and this is by far our favorite. It really holds lots of wood, and burns really slow to keep a nice bed of coals to get it up going again the next morning. You load the wood in longwise, not wide, and it makes it easier to load heater. Also a big bonus we have learned over the years, even though it has a blower if you put a heat resistant metal fan up at the height of the stack and blow directly on the bottom portion of the stack (just above the top of the stove) you will probably produce twice the btus you would otherwise. Seriously.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!!

,
October 31, 2014
By
from Montana
If you cut your own wood, sometimes you have to cut a piece again because it is too long. With this stove don't worry about it it will burn it. We were skeptical about getting this one what if it doesn't do well, what if it doesn't do as good as our last one but we shouldn't have worried because the first fire we put in our Ponderosa was very hot and would run you out of the house. We had our blower on (blower included with this stove) and it was so hot it raised the temperature 10 degrees in about 30 minutes. The greatest thing is with this stove we lowered the chimney temperature by 300-400 degrees which means less heat going out the chimney and more heat staying in the house. Never have found coals in the stove it has always burned to an ash which is impressive. We have burned for 4 days and there are hardly any ashes to clean out. We are very pleased with this Ponderosa stove. You won't be sorry if you buy this stove.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
25out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stove!!!

,
October 23, 2014
By
from Upstate NY
A little slow to get started and up to temp.....then BOOM....like having a dragon in the the house!!!!
Big....tons of heat...really easy to regulate.
I've owned and used many wood stoves and this one is by far my favorite....and a bargain to boot!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Trying to be patient.

,
October 20, 2014
By
from Ann Arbor
This seems like a good stove. It arrived with a broken primary air damper control. I had to order a new one and plan to ship the broken one back. I am waiting for the replacement stove. Save all of your shipping material until you test this product, it will save you from having to purchase the replacement before you send the broken item back for a reimbursement.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 23, 2014
I am terribly sorry for the trouble you had with your stove. we are working as fast as we can to get one shipped to you.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.