Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"

"Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"

Item# 28106
"The Vogelzang Ponderosa Wood Stove is a high-efficiency stove that provides up to 14 hours of heat on a single load. Adjust the blower speed to suit the desired level of heat distribution. Clearance from Corner in. 18, Product Type Stove, Dimensions W x D x H in. 24 x 34 x 33, Stove Pipe Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,600, Fuel Type Wood, Firebox Size W x D in. 26 x 18 x 12 1/4 3.3 cu. ft., BTU Output 152,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 26, Full Load Run Time Hours 14, Assembly Required No, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, EPA Exempt No, Flue Collar Size in. 6, EPA Certified Yes, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, UL Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 17, Mobile Home Approved Yes, Heat Settings No, Igniter No, Door Opening W x H in. 15 x 9, Thermostat Included No, Blower CFM 100, Blower Included Yes. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with full firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 15in.W x 9in.H ceramic glass window Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Holds up to 30 lbs. of wood 3.3 cu. ft. firebox 6in. flue collar EPA-certified Mobile home approved Safety tested to UL 1482-2010/ULC S627-00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG, LONG LOG STOVE

,
April 11, 2015
By Vdodger
from HILLIARD, OHIO
" I HAVE BURNED WOOD AS A SECONDARY HEAT FOR 40 YEARS, I HAVE A PREFORMER IN MY 60' x 40' SHOP. I WISH THAT I HAD THIS STOVE IN IT INSTEAD. TAKES VERY LONG SPLITS, BURNS GREAT COMPLETELY. I HAVE A 8" FLUE, SO GOOD DRAFT. HEATS UP TOO HOT with to much wood, AND HAVE TO RUN FURANCE FAN TO SPREAD THE HEAT. YOU cannot choke the fire out, it always has some O2 comming in, If you don't have enough draft when starting the fire, you can get some smoke into the room "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't live up to the hype

,
January 11, 2015
By ImCold
from Virginia
" I read the reviews and based my purchase on the write up on the stove and the reviews posted. While this stove is capable of producing large amounts of heat, it can only do so for a short time. I'm burning seasoned oak that was downed 2 to 3 years ago and cannot achieve a hot fire for more than 3 to 4 hours. At that point I have a lot of coals I can't get to burn to ash unless I crack the door open slightly. Without opening the door to let oxygen in, the coals only lightly glow red putting off very little heat. I bought this stove to put in my basement to try to heat the whole house and it has failed miserably. The stove I replaced with this one did a far better job of heating the house but lacked the burn-time of this one. What no one said was that the burn time is achieved by 4-5 hours of heat followed by 9-10 hours of barely smoldering coals. With the coals left in the stove there is very little room to put in the next load of wood to burn. Propane gas logs kick in to maintain heat level in the home when stove dies down and my propane usage has more than doubled since I switched to this stove. If you are looking for a cute stove to put in a living area to make a room more comfortable this stove is for you. If you are trying to heat a whole house on wood you may want to consider another stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 10, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you're having these issues. Based upon the information you gave, it sounds like you do have an issue with the drafting of the stove, if opening the door helps. There are a number of things that could be the problem and we would be glad to troubleshoot with you further if you would like to give our customer service a call at 800.750.2723, we are open 7-4 CST. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

,
January 11, 2015
By oldmason
from Kansas City
" I have been burning in stoves for 40 plus years, I just wish anyone who has cut 6 plus cords of wood every year could see how much less wood you will use in this unit. I could not be happier. They did there homework with this stove, and I am glad I did mine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wood stove

,
January 4, 2015
By hamptonacres1
from Aylett, VA
" I've owned my wood stove for over 2 years now. I wanted to wait and see how it holds up and functions for a few years before writing my review. I have my Ponderosa down in my basement. The durability of the stove and the craftsmanship is top notch. I'm very pleased with it. My main purpose is to heat my house in order to decrease my heating bill during winter time and it's done just that. (my house has a heat pump). It has a relatively large holding capacity and the flat top could be used to cook with if I ever needed it for that in instances if I ever loose electricity, but haven't so far. This thing does heat up my my entire basement (my house is about 1000 sq. foot). It is very heavy so when it arrives expect to need two strong men to help set it in place. I have absolutely no complaints what-so-ever. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

smelly

,
December 21, 2014
By chuckB53
from MA
" Only been burning it for a week, but so far I am impressed with heat it generates and length of burn. Only issue is the smell as the finish is cured. One week down and almost gone. Nice surprise that it can actually take 24" wood, so long as you don't mind the blackened glass that creates. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Want to buy a 2nd for the house

,
December 14, 2014
By pumpkinfarmer
from ottawa ohio
" Great stove. It is easy to load and keeps heat for 12 hours. Follow the directions with the stove and you should not have any problems The metal and finish will smoke the first time fired. We had to open the windows to clear the burnt metal smell. It is made in China. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

its a good one

,
November 19, 2014
By t42a
from pa
" got the new stove, eazy to use, cooks out the family if im left unchecked...lol just make surre you have help to move it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STOVE GREAT VALUE

,
November 16, 2014
By TXdoityourselfer
from Rockdale,TX
" We have owned various wood stoves for over 30 years and this is by far our favorite. It really holds lots of wood, and burns really slow to keep a nice bed of coals to get it up going again the next morning. You load the wood in longwise, not wide, and it makes it easier to load heater. Also a big bonus we have learned over the years, even though it has a blower if you put a heat resistant metal fan up at the height of the stack and blow directly on the bottom portion of the stack (just above the top of the stove) you will probably produce twice the btus you would otherwise. Seriously. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!!

,
October 31, 2014
By PAP8
from Montana
" If you cut your own wood, sometimes you have to cut a piece again because it is too long. With this stove don't worry about it it will burn it. We were skeptical about getting this one what if it doesn't do well, what if it doesn't do as good as our last one but we shouldn't have worried because the first fire we put in our Ponderosa was very hot and would run you out of the house. We had our blower on (blower included with this stove) and it was so hot it raised the temperature 10 degrees in about 30 minutes. The greatest thing is with this stove we lowered the chimney temperature by 300-400 degrees which means less heat going out the chimney and more heat staying in the house. Never have found coals in the stove it has always burned to an ash which is impressive. We have burned for 4 days and there are hardly any ashes to clean out. We are very pleased with this Ponderosa stove. You won't be sorry if you buy this stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
21out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stove!!!

,
October 23, 2014
By DrBri
from Upstate NY
" A little slow to get started and up to temp.....then BOOM....like having a dragon in the the house!!!!
Big....tons of heat...really easy to regulate.
I've owned and used many wood stoves and this one is by far my favorite....and a bargain to boot!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Trying to be patient.

,
October 20, 2014
By 9182014Mike
from Ann Arbor
" This seems like a good stove. It arrived with a broken primary air damper control. I had to order a new one and plan to ship the broken one back. I am waiting for the replacement stove. Save all of your shipping material until you test this product, it will save you from having to purchase the replacement before you send the broken item back for a reimbursement. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 23, 2014
I am terribly sorry for the trouble you had with your stove. we are working as fast as we can to get one shipped to you.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Stove On The Market

,
January 5, 2014
By HeatingMan
from Allentown, Pa
" This stove has a large wood capacity, burns clean and hot. I am heating a 3000 square foot ranch no problem with this stove. you won't be sorry purchasing this stove, "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wood Stove

,
October 30, 2013
By Challis
from Idaho
" Holds fire very, very long time. Takes long and good sized logs. Easy to install, easy to control heat, easy to start a fire. Only draw back, blackened window. Good size for room and heats large area easily. Blower not working right, but haven't looked into why yet. A great wood stove and would buy it again. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

,
September 23, 2013
By Studybutte
from Alpine, TX
" This stove is fantastic. The only thing I wish I could change would be for it to be fabricated in the US, for the same cost. I shopped for F/P's and stoves for months, and this was the best bargain. We have a 2700 sq. ft. 1 1/2 story house with central open area where F/P is. Winter electrical bills went from $350-$400 per month to $100-$125 per month. House was all electric, plus I shopped for cheaper electric provider. I definitely would not recommend purchasing a smaller stove. This one still seems somewhat small, compared to a conventional F/P, but it does the job. Found out that all F/P's are less efficient than wood stoves, unless you have the money to purchase one of the expensive monsters. Last winter we never used central heat, just set the thermostat at 68 in case of emergencies. Stove does burn all night, but that's counting it being reduced to coals by morning. It's common to have small coals still going from the previous night when you start it for the evening. Small box makes cleaning it at least every other night imperative, but that is easy if you set up a shovel and metal bucket handily. We didn't previously have any F/P installed so I can't compare, but I definitely wouldn't go with a smaller one. You can always make the fire smaller. Traditional F/P's have the reputation of looking better, but you'll forget about that quickly after saving hundreds of dollars each month. Just get past the idea of having to have a conventional F/P. Plus, this one looks very nice and has a beautiful view of the fire. Just follow the installation rules for the flue and don't cut any corners. Find out for sure if you have to have the insulated pipe. It costs more up front but you sleep better at night if you're confident in the system. Build a good fire around 9:00 pm and it keeps the house comfortable all night. Heat BTU's go lower by morning but you don't want a blazing fire going during the day anyway if you're at work. If at home for the day, just stick some more wood in. If I seem excited about this it's because I'm ecstatic about not throwing so much money away! I do use only seasoned oak, as I have a very cheap source for it and cut it myself. It's really not much work for the money you save! And chainsaw costs are very small once you're set up. Poulan works fine with a good quality chain. Good luck, let me know if I can give you pointers. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+21points
28out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang Ponderosa High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 152,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR007"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood Stove

,
October 18, 2012
By gkh15
from North Central, Ohio
" I have been using this product for 1 month now and this is my thoughts,
the unit doesn't seem burn at 152,000 btu's, doesn't matter what type of
wood I use, but it seems well made and provides a lot of heat once
there is a really good hot bed of coals. The estimated burn time must
be for the coals to completely burn out as it sees to need fresh fuel
about every 2 hours for maximum heat. The fit and finish is good
and the stove looks great.
I would recommend it to someone who is in the market for a
nice wood stove.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
42out of 88found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.