Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Item# 28107
"The portable Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System winds 100 feet of cord into a neat, tangle-free coil in just 30 seconds. Walk your plugged in tool to your work area and the cord easily follows. When you're done, just flip the rewind switch, crank the handle and your extension cord gets neatly and effortlessly coiled in the storage basket to await its next use. Cord not included. Some assembly required. Length ft. Holds 100ft. of 14/3 cord, Mount Type Wall, Swivels Yes, Cord Size Cord not included, Automatic Rewind Yes. Winds up to 100 feet of cord in 30 seconds Basket holds up to 100ft. of 14/3 cord Reversible handle can be used right or left handed Swivel mount bracket with twist-lock mounting plate for easy attachment to a wall, post or other flat surface near an electrical outlet 2 mounting plates allow the unit to quickly and easily be moved from one spot to another"
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Review 1 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple solution to twisted extension cords.

,
July 3, 2015
By DFP3
from Texas
" Works great for keeping your extension cords untangled and off the floor! Easily pulls out and winds up! I bought three to cover my shops and yard! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

quick and easy

,
June 18, 2015
By EV1353
from JACKSONVILLE
" Works with multiple size cords. Makes core retrieval and storage quick and easy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful Product

,
June 17, 2015
By netennis
from Nebraska
" I ordered three of these cord winders and am very satisfied with them. They are very easy to put together and do the job they were designed to do. I found round cords work better in them than the flat cords. I put one in the garage, one in the sunroom and one in my workroom. Thus, I have a long cord always available but not something I could trip over. I would highly recommend them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System

,
June 17, 2015
By klar5020
from Las Cruces, NM
" Works great... makes the extension cord very useful and doesn't get all tangled.. I would recommend it to a friend.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great organizer

,
June 17, 2015
By Eh01
from Alford, FL
" I bought one of these about 12 years ago. It came with 2 bases so I moved it from one place to the other as needed, wishing I had 2 of them. A few weeks ago I was moving a piece of equipment and broke it. Making a mental note two purchase another one, I receive a flyer with the product in it. I ordered 2. I keep 100' cords in these winders and I pull the cords out all over my shop and yards around my shop. Very convenient. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
May 25, 2015
By Barry33062
from Florida
" It winds a little hard but the cord winds into the basket without any trouble. Needs to be attached to a really stable surface as there is a lot of torque when winding a long cord. I put 100' in with no trouble. Check the box, I bought 2 and one didn't have a handle! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Winder

,
May 21, 2015
By SJon
from ga
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Greatest thing since sliced bread! Keeping my cord wound up was more work than the job sometimes. On our out building, but can easily be taken and locked inside when we'need to.Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quik cord access

,
April 15, 2015
By OKC151
from OKC, OK
" Have a couple of these in my garages and they are great for a quick access to the electrical cord. have them installed on a wall next to outlet so they can plug in quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea that works

,
February 22, 2015
By bill667413
from Kansas
" Great product, I received two of these for Christmas and wish I'd gotten four. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Economical and Sturdy

,
January 13, 2015
By ThomDaMan
from The wilds of upstate NY
" The wonder winder works great and there is no retactor spring to break or wear out.
The winder cranks the cord in quickly and easily, and you never have to worry about it breaking down, and maybe best of all, you can use what ever extension cord YOU want to use.
Finally, it is so much less expensive than the cord reels with automatic retractors, even if you add in the cost of the cord. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonder winder

,
January 12, 2015
By 042929
from alabama
" I gave my friends one of these for Christmas several comments that this was best gift they got I have had one since 1990s bought these where I would have another for myself ,but gave them all away always next year
wonder winder greatest thing since Bruton Snuff "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

CLEAN UP YOUR CORDS

,
January 9, 2015
By Babalawo
from GREENVILLE, TX
" THIS IS PRETTY GOOD TO KEEP YOU EXTENSION CORDS UP AND OFF THE FLOOR OR NAIL. I HAVE ABOUT 500 FT OF EXTENSION CORDS AND I PURCHASED 4 OF THESE TO KEEP THEM OFF OF THE FLOOR. THEN I CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURE AND PURCHASED 6 EXTRA WALL MOUNTS AND PLACED THEM WHERE I WOULD USE MY CORDS. THIS WAY I JUST TAKE IT OFF THE WALL AND TAKE IT OUTSIDE AND MOUNT IT THERE AND WHEN IM DONE BRING IT BACK INSIDE. THE EXTRA WALL MOUNTS ARE ABOUT $1.25 EACH THE PLASTIC ONES. SO TO KEEP YOUR FLOORS CLEAN GET SOME. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Great price.

,
January 2, 2015
By SawdustSlinger
from Lewisville, TX.
" Easiest way to store and control long extension cords. Handles large gauge extension cords for use indoor or out. Easy to rewind after use and keep tangle free for easy pull out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

,
January 1, 2015
By Redwoodsga
from Stone Mountain, Ga
" I have had this cord winder for 10 or more years, it works great. When I again saw one at Northern I was deleted. It is the best war the keep your extension cord out of the way and always ready to use. I have never had a problem with the original one and I don't expect any problem with the new one. Easy to wall mount, I do recommend to find a stud to secure. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

convient & simple

,
December 15, 2014
By Tarheel23
from Ellenboro, NC
" so convient & simple even my wife can use it without getting power cord into knots! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cord winder & storage

,
December 15, 2014
By Frank60
from Cape Coral, FL
" Product is designed to store, retrieve and keep tangles at bay. It works as described. I use it with a 100 foot extension cord that I use to keep in a bucket. It took me 4 or 5 minutes to push the cord back into the bucket so it would not tangle when I wanted to use it. The Wonder winder takes about 30 seconds to do the same job and it works better than my now retired bucket.
The item needs to be assembled and is hard to use if you don't install the provided bracket. If you plan to use it in several locations, buy extra mounting brackets. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more tangled cord.

,
December 14, 2014
By railmom25
from Woodville, Wi
" I have this 80 foot cord inherited from a friend and it was always a mess to get untangled. I saw this product and ordered it, put in the cord untangling it as I went. That was the last time I untangled it. Now the cord rewinds itself using the mechanism on the holder. The only problem I have now is that the previous owners had all the plugins near the ceiling due to built in shelves. Well the cord all wound up, I can't reach. So I installed a hook to allow the cord to rewind that far and hook it so no more ladder needed to reach. Recommended to any home handyman for your garage or workroom. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonder Winder

,
December 12, 2014
By abco
from marshfield, ma
" The Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System title is a little long. "The Extension Cord Winder" would be enough I Think.
The unit works well and it will keep my wife from getting frustrated with me at not having an extension handy in the garage for the vacuum cleaner to clean the car.
Once I got past the not too complicated assembly process, and got it mounted securely, I was able to very quickly and easily wind in a 100 ft extension cord.
Once the cord is in it is easily pulled to whatever length required and when done wind it back in to be ready for the next time .
Overall I think it was a pretty good investment in maintaining marital harmony!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Gadget to Keep Cords in Their Place

,
December 11, 2014
By Doughboy51
from SC
" I admit I was skeptical about the cord reel working. After receiving it I installed the cord reel and starting winding an electrical cord into basket. The reel worked as described and made the cord more readily available. I like having the cord nearby instead of hanging on a peg board wound on a bracket. Now I simply grap the cord and unreel as much cord as I need. When I finish using the cord I crank the reel so cord returns to basket neatly. Try it you will like it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME PRODUCT

,
December 11, 2014
By sunshine922
from Clinton Twp, MI
" this product is awesome, it was a gift for my husband and he LOVES it. Hangs up nicely in the garage and there is less clutter with this product. Would buy another and recommend to a friend or relative. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.