Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Item# 28107
"The portable Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System winds up to 150 feet of cord into a neat, tangle-free coil in just 30 seconds. Walk your plugged in tool to your work area and the cord easily follows. When you're done, just flip the rewind switch, crank the handle and your extension cord gets neatly and effortlessly coiled in the storage basket to await its next use. Cord not included. Some assembly required. Cord Size Cord not included, Mount Type Wall, Swivels Yes, Length ft. 150ft. cord of 14/3, 16/3 100ft. cord of 12/3. Winds up to 150 feet of cord in 30 seconds Basket holds up to 150ft. of 14/3 and 16/3, 100ft. of 12/3 cord cord not included Reversible handle can be used right or left handed Swivel mount bracket with twist-lock mounting plate for easy attachment to a wall, post or other flat surface near an electrical outlet 2 mounting plates allow the unit to quickly and easily be moved from one spot to another"
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
55 of 61(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Review 1 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 24, 2016
By
from Eastern KY
I've been using cord reels for years and stumbled across this gem. What a great tool. Recommended to anyone who pulls a cord from the garage or shed to use tools in the yard or around the house
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reel adequate

,
June 21, 2016
By
from Pensacola, FL
Product was advertised by Northern Tool as having auto rewind which it doesn't and that you could reel up a 100 ft cord in 30 seconds which it doesn't. Reel works ok but not as advertised. I spoke with the actual manufacturer who stated that they never made the Wonder WInder with auto rewind and the 30 second feature was a stretch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent winder

,
June 19, 2016
By
from Seneca, SC
Very simple to use. Gets drop cords out of the way
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a charm

,
June 18, 2016
By
from Columbus, Ms.
I was amazed this thing works exactly how its suppose to. I may pick up another soon. Built well for the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Winder Works Very Well.

,
June 18, 2016
By
from Raleigh,NC
It took a minute or two to put it together and to find a place to hang it, but I really enjoy the way it works and the covenience of having it available on the patio. Extention cord access is readily available and easily put away.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've owned one for years

,
June 12, 2016
By
from League City TX
I've owned the Wonder Winder for 10 years. It is the primary extension cord I use when I need on in or around my garage because it is so easy to wind up when finished. It has consistently worked over time. I will say that only occasionally the wheel seems to slip when it is winding. It always happens when my cord is in the same place so I honestly think it has something to do with the cord that I am winding instead of the wheel. I highly recommend this product. I recently purchased one for a friend for his 50th birthday. They also make a great White Elephant gift idea around Christmas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy little item

,
June 7, 2016
By
from Jena, LA
My husband loved the first one so I had to order another! He mounted one on a porch post on the back porch and the second in his shop. No more tangled extension cords and no more growling from husband!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
May 25, 2016
By
from CV Arakansas
this is a very nice product I would very much rec amend this product. easy to put together and use
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder winder

,
May 22, 2016
By
from paris mo
This is amazing,so simple but is a great tool for winding up drop cords i bought 3 first worked so good i ordered 5 more for my bosses shop and 2 for coworker,great but simple tool i hate drop cords laying a round.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
May 19, 2016
By
from Kansas
I bought two of these almost 20 years ago and they are used at least 2-3 times per week. Still function just fine. I liked them so much that when I saw them on sale here, I bought 4 of them. They are great gifts for anyone with a garage. Once they use them, they will thank you! At this price, buy multiples!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Great!!!

,
May 13, 2016
By
from Crescent City, CA
My daughter bought this for me as a gift. Since then I have had friends, neighbors, and relatives see how great it works and have questioned where they could get one and also tell be to not turn my back or they would steal it. I recently built two more sheds and had to order two more Wonder Winders. Whoever invented this thing has my admiration.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Winder

,
May 12, 2016
By
from Jackson, Michigan
Works great. I don't know why I hadn't purchased on earlier. No more having to untangle extension cords.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Winder

,
May 12, 2016
By
from Connecticut
Extremely handy time saving product. I bought one for my barn/work shop and have now purchased four more for my friends who were drooling over it. Very handy and I now know where my extension cord is.....and its already to go!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design

,
May 7, 2016
By
from CT
I was looking for an extension cord reel that could remain plugged into the outlet & just play out enough cord to get to the work area. I was using an old auto wheel rim attached to the basement hallway wall & I'd wrap the cord around it for storage. The Wonder Winder certainly feeds the cord easily, however, getting it back into the Wonder Winder is a nightmare.
The problem is that the feed wheel has no traction. You're supposed to apply pressure with a vertical lever while turning the crank. Unfortunately the wheel that is turned by the hand crank has rubber ribs that run around the diameter instead of across the face like a paddle wheel steam boat. Its a smooth cord against a smooth wheel. So, you need to pull in a few feet of cord, put a lot of pressure on the vertical lever & crank in the slack cord. Then repeat till you get the 150' of cord retracted. So, I mounted it over the wheel with the 150' of cord, tie wrapped that cords socket to a 100' cords plug & wrapped the 100 footer to the wheel. Basically the Wonder Winder cord is a secondary storage device.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Removed clutter

,
March 23, 2016
By
from South Orange, N.J.
The product does what its supposed to do. Easy access to extension cord. Easy to wind up the extension cord.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SEEMS EXCELLENT!!

,
March 5, 2016
By
from Hager City, WI
I haven't used the product yet, but took a chance when I bought the first one and bought 2 more since then!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty Good cord storage

,
February 22, 2016
By
from North Carolina
This tool is a great concept. If you are using a lightweight short cord it will work great.
Like others have mentioned if you have a long heavy cord (100 ft 14/3) and its cold weather and the cord is stiff it will require you to hand feed the cord into the basket. Stretching a long cord out and untangling it will help. Then you need to pull the cord close to you in a pile so there is slack in the cord (no resistance). Sometimes you can wind 10 - 15 ft before it stops.
If it is warm weather and the cord is flexible it will work great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works grate

,
February 21, 2016
By
from norco,ca
works grate ,just use the right size cord. I have 6 around the ranch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great orginizing system.

,
February 17, 2016
By
from Oklahoma City, OK.
It makes it easier to use 100 foot and longer extension cords without having to rewind them by hand. With patience and very little practice, anyone can use it. I'm buying another one very soon.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Priduct

,
February 5, 2016
By
from Gray, TN
I had one of these in our previous home. Bought two for our new home, one for the garage and one for the basement workshop. It is amazing how useful this is to pull out and have power where you need it.i run the cord between my legs during rewind and have never had any issues with the rewind mechanism. Great value.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.