Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D

Item# 28107
"The portable Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System winds up to 150 feet of cord into a neat, tangle-free coil in just 30 seconds. Walk your plugged in tool to your work area and the cord easily follows. When you're done, just flip the rewind switch, crank the handle and your extension cord gets neatly and effortlessly coiled in the storage basket to await its next use. Cord not included. Some assembly required. Mount Type Wall, Automatic Rewind Yes, Length ft. 150-ft. cord of 14/3, 16/3 100-ft. cord of 12/3, Swivels Yes, Cord Size Cord not included. Winds up to 150 feet of cord in 30 seconds Basket holds up to 150ft. of 14/3 and 16/3, 100ft. of 12/3 cord cord not included Reversible handle can be used right or left handed Swivel mount bracket with twist-lock mounting plate for easy attachment to a wall, post or other flat surface near an electrical outlet 2 mounting plates allow the unit to quickly and easily be moved from one spot to another"
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 42(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Review 1 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Priduct

,
February 5, 2016
By
from Gray, TN
I had one of these in our previous home. Bought two for our new home, one for the garage and one for the basement workshop. It is amazing how useful this is to pull out and have power where you need it.i run the cord between my legs during rewind and have never had any issues with the rewind mechanism. Great value.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product has weak points

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Burbank ok
Winder will not work if there is any moisture on cord hard to wind if cord is very long would not recommend
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
January 9, 2016
By
from NC
Keeps the cord handy & out of the way. Easy to rewind when done. My husband liked it so much, we bought one for our son.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as described

,
January 5, 2016
By
from tx
easy and convienent,easy to mount and woked as described
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it for what i bought it for

,
January 3, 2016
By
from New Orleans
this will not work with the 12/3 cord I had purchased it for ... it tears up the cord jacket trying to roll cord in it...
I haven't tried it with a smaller cord yet ... I purchased 3 so I could use for other cords as well .. but my main goal was to have a cord heavy enough that I could use anything on it & be able to store it easily
not good so for
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not adequate Model# WW 2D

,
January 1, 2016
By
from Alabama
There are several different models of this product. This particular one has a small basket, It would be sufficient for 25' of 12/3 and maybe 50' of 14/3. I am guessing on the latter because I don't have any cords that are less than 12/3. I was wanting to use this for 50' cords. Alas I will only use 25' trying to center them to reach both ends of my shop. The mechanism so far has functioned well but dragging heavy cord will take a toll on the plastic parts. I would suggest pulling the cord to get slack then winding up the slack. I would not purchase these again. I also believe this model is discontinued. I read conflicting statements about discontinuation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Winder

,
January 1, 2016
By
from Bryson City, NC
Love it! No more tripping over cords lying on the floor. Easy to install and easy to wind up your cord. You have so much more room when the floor is clear of cords. I'm going to purchase another one. I rate this as an excellent product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
December 26, 2015
By
from VA
Works well but will not work if the cord is wet. I would purchase again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extension cord winder

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Madison, MS
Much better than having to wind cord around a spool or coil it up by hand. No issues with it thus far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overstated

,
December 20, 2015
By
from Savannah, Ga.
Everything works well except it is very difficult to roll the cord back to basket as the cord slips on the wheel even with strong pressure exerted on lever. Great idea so will be looking for something more expensive.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tangle free extension cord storage

,
December 20, 2015
By
from East Tennessee
A simple system to keep your extension cord out of the way on till needed. Takes two hands to wind up the cord but practical compared to more expensive units on the market.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful Cord Minder

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Texas
This is my second Wonder Winder. The first is in the garage and works very well to hold about 150 ft of electrical cord to allow use of all electrical tools, like an electric blower, to clean my long driveway and then easily wind the cord back into the holder. I'll put this one back on the patio so I can have access to electrical tools around the back of the house. Very easy to install and works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever design and handy

,
December 17, 2015
By
from CO
I bought three of these on sale and was a bit skeptical. Kind of an odd design ... but was pleasantly surprised when I got them and installed one. Works amazingly well, considering. Definitely helped tame the rat's nest of cords I had hanging on hooks in the shop!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Mabank, Tx
Great product, stores cords easily, neat and tidy. Great price, reviews definitely helped in purchasing product. Like the ability to move to another location.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel that works

,
July 23, 2015
By
from Tampa, FL
Purchased unit for simple lawn/maint clean up not knowing if it would work? Knock on wood it did exactly what I wanted in a no fuss fashion. I have since purchased 4 more units for my beach house and gifts. The only negative to the unit is time will tell as to how long the cord bag holds up? It is pretty light weight but so far no issue and its not like it is a moving part... Simple but durable low tech design and it works!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for DRY cords

,
July 7, 2015
By
from Opelika, AL
This product works pretty well as long as the extension cord you're trying to reel is completely dry. If it's been laying in the moist grass, the winder wheel (which works off friction) gets wet and simply slips on the cord without creating enough friction to actually wind the hose. Now, once the cord dries out, it works great!
It's a little honorary if the real is to hold multiple extension cords plugged end to end as the ends don't pass easily through the apparatus. That's a slight inconvenience but I still may buy another one b/c it's still better than any of the other cheap garbage that's out there.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple solution to twisted extension cords.

,
July 3, 2015
By
from Texas
Works great for keeping your extension cords untangled and off the floor! Easily pulls out and winds up! I bought three to cover my shops and yard!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

quick and easy

,
June 18, 2015
By
from JACKSONVILLE
Works with multiple size cords. Makes core retrieval and storage quick and easy
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful Product

,
June 17, 2015
By
from Nebraska
I ordered three of these cord winders and am very satisfied with them. They are very easy to put together and do the job they were designed to do. I found round cords work better in them than the flat cords. I put one in the garage, one in the sunroom and one in my workroom. Thus, I have a long cord always available but not something I could trip over. I would highly recommend them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System - Model# WW 2D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Winder Extension Cord Winding System

,
June 17, 2015
By
from Las Cruces, NM
Works great... makes the extension cord very useful and doesn't get all tangled.. I would recommend it to a friend..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.