Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008

Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008

Item# 282742
The Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse features an innovative design that lets you build your own greenhouse quickly and get growing quickly. Center Height in. 81, Length in. 100, Dimensions L x W ft. 8 x 6, Frame Spacing in. 24, Ventilation 1 Adjustable roof vent, Frame Type Corrosion-resistant aluminum frame, Side Wall Height in. 48, Width in. 75, Style Snap and grow, Outer Material Polycarbonate, Glazing Clear, single-layer SnapGlas polycarbonate panel, Color Silver. SmartLock connector system makes assembly ease Heavy-duty aluminum frame with minimal hardware Split door and vent windows are preassembled out of the box Tough, crystal-clear polycarbonate SnapGlas panels slide and lock into place without complicated tools SnapGlas provides 100 UV protection and is virtually unbreakable Provides nearly 50 sq. ft. of usable interior space and 6ft.8in. of headroom Peak roof design Comes complete with base kit, vent window, split door, rain spouts and instructions
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Review 1 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Israeli Greenhouse

,
November 30, 2011
By Theforkliftguy
from Hayden, Al
"This greenhouse is nice.It is not difficult to put together, though antiseize will aid in assembly. The frameworke is sturdy, the panels are a little thin, but they have held up well. Ours has been up for about six months now and we've had no problems. It comes with a foundation made from perforated sheet metal, but we made ours from treated timbers, lined the bottom with landscaping mesh, and filled it pea gravel. It is made in Israel, which supprised me. I don't know if I have ever owned anything made Israel before, but the quality is good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT what you think it IS

,
June 7, 2011
By davesfarm
"To anyone interested in this product....be carefull....the plastic connectors are fragile...DO NOT use a rubber mallet.. use silcone spray and a little extra arm or hand power........your heel of your palm is best....
looks are tricky....this product looks GREAT in the book.....not so in front of ya...one plastic part was cracked once the green house arrived...called the company. great on replacing but you'll be a bit uneasy waiting almost 2 weeks for the part.. it was my wifes BDay present...she's happy but if I could do it over again.......I'd build my own 6x8 or larger green first....not worth the money.. but again she's happy
.myuluwe"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

poor instruction

,
March 15, 2011
By salmonrich
"found instruction to be less then adequate. several times found that similiar parts were installed wrong. requiring the unassembly of the parts to rectify. took me two days to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

plastic connectors

,
March 14, 2011
By athleticguy56
"Im a pretty handy guy putting things together but............I find the plastic connectors tuff to connect without breaking them.But there's a bright spot...................poly-tex is very helpfull in answering your questions and needs.If everything go's well with the setup..... I'm waiting for the replacement parts that broke on me ........................I would buy again because of the service and parts store. They sound like they really care about making you happy about there poly-tex green house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value Excellent product

,
June 29, 2010
By me823
from Wyoming
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Have been looking at green houses online for some time, and have always been skeptical about quality.
Must say, I was pleasantly surprised with this product. It was easy to assemble and only took about 3 hrs. to assemble by myself. I would definitely recommend two people to make assembly go more smoothly. I mounted the green house on Rail Road ties for a sturdy base, I also added two extra braces going from back to front at a diagonal as where I live we get fairly high winds, very sturdy so far. I made two planting beds on both sides and one large one at the end with walk way in middle, this is working great!! The top vent and split doors are an great feature and help regulate tempatures. The only thing I wish this company offered is a dual panes and a 8’X8’ model, but for the price this green house will serve my needs for many years. This is a great buy and excellent product!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
roxlee
Arkansas 
 
Please wait while more information about roxlee is loaded.
Additional information about roxlee could not be loaded.
How did you put it on the ties
July 6, 2012
"How did you put it or anchor it on the ties????"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

,
May 27, 2010
By mmuutts
from Ventura
"Easy to set up...however, you need a second person with you. And you need to be handy....."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its Storm Proof Too!

,
February 24, 2010
By milkman47
from Easton, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
""I purchased my greenhouse in the fall of 09. The only modification I did from the instructions was to mount it to a base frame of pressure treated 6"X6". I assembled it by myself so it took a bit longer than suggested, but I did it in a long day. This past week Feb. 8, 2010 we have had 2 very large snow storms (over 50"), one with winds in excess of 45 mph. the greenhouse is safe and sound. When I assembled it I was thinking who ever designed it was a genius the way it went together so easelly, now after it withstood these storms I know they were.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenhouse for Me

,
November 4, 2009
By Steffy
from West Chazy, New York
"I have wanted a greenhouse for many years and this year finally got one. I search the internet for one that would fit my needs completely. I love the fact the door opens in two parts. I can close the bottom part and leave the top open for some air to be let in while I am working in the greenhouse. It also has the open window in the roof for more air movement. I also bought the green roof tarp to shut out the sun if it gets too hot so that the plants will not burn during the upcoming summer months. I plan on putting red terracotta tiles on the floor to absorb the summer heat and with the drip panels off of each side, I can collect the rain water to recycle.
I would definitely recommend this greenhouse to my friends or anyone else.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Palram Snap & Grow Hobbyist Greenhouse - 6ft.W x 8ft.L, Model# HG6008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

8'x6' greenhouse

,
October 19, 2009
By MAD1
from Beltsville, MD
"The greenhouse went together very easy. It's very stable side to side , but I added a brace from back to front for better support. It looks great in the back yard."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.