Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs

Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs

Item# 28505
"The Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light is a superbright, maintenance-free 36 LED light powered by sunlight and triggered by motion. A passive infra red PIR motion sensor detects movement up to 16 ft. away and triggers light activation for 30 seconds. Light Type LED, Battery Type NiCad, Battery Required Yes, Application Outdoor, Battery Included Yes, Light Color White, Solar Panel Wattage 0.9, Bulbs qty. 36, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 3/10 x 4 3/4 x 8, Lights Included qty. 1, Power Source Solar. 100 wide angle motion sensor range provides optimal detection Amorphous solar panel works in sunny and light cloud conditions to keep the light charged Weatherproof ABS plastic construction Easy installation no wiring required Safe for use in temperatures from 14-122F 16 3/10 in. L x 4 3/4 in. W x 8 in. H"
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
30 of 32(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Review 1 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Lighting

,
January 27, 2016
By
from Ashfield, PA
I needed a self-powered light for my woodshed, which is 30 yards from my house. This light came already charged and ready to mount. I mounted the solar panel facing south, on the outside of the wood shed and the light is inside the shed with the motion sensor facing the entrance and the light shining up on the ceiling. It lights up as soon as I enter the shed and provides a surprising amount of light. I could sit and read a book in the shed if I wanted to. It stays on the whole time I am in the shed and goes off about when I get back to the house. I plan on buying another one for my garage so I can see to walk to my car without turning on a light, which would stay on until I came back.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

,
September 3, 2015
By
from North Chesterfield, VA
I placed this product on my porch so that I could see to unlock the door without having to leave the porch light on (which attracts bugs) Works great! Easy to install. I would purchase another one if my other porch received enough sunlight to charge the battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works out of the Box!

,
April 14, 2015
By
from NC
Very bright light. As I was taking the light kit out of the box, I accidentally hit the "ON/OFF" switch, and it immediately turned-on, with a very bright LED glow.
Turned it off and then charged the batteries up as per the instructions, but at least I can truthfully say it "works right out of the box!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Security Device

,
April 14, 2015
By
from Middleburg, PA
Installs easily. Not the brightest 36 LED but certainly helps for motion detection in dark areas. Ball & Socket setup on the solar panel was weak and Northern Central was good and quick about sending a replacement. Probably could use a set screw in the design so it can maintain its pointed direction. Price is very reasonable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar security light

,
March 25, 2015
By
from kure beach nc
installed these lights on my boardwalk every five feet. this seems to give more than enough light .motion activation works well . lights stay on for about one min. on month number five , no problems very happy with product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

motion activated LED solar security light

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Ca
I bought one, liked it so well I bought another. It gives off just the right amount of light without blinding my tenants walking down the breezeway. I use the other one in my garage instead of wiring an additional switch. The 16' cord provided was just right for my application. and was a snap to install.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

,
March 11, 2015
By
from Tampa, FL
At this price point I did not really expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised at the sensitivity of the motion sensor and could not be happier with the brightness of a solar powered light on my carport. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for home

,
February 21, 2015
By
from U.P. Michigan
Works well for lighting up dark corners, no searching for a switch in the dark just walk in and the light come a on. Will buy more for a back shed and other areas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

bright night light

,
February 6, 2015
By
from DFW, TX
Product is bright and lights repidly, but has no adjustment for sensitivity or lenght of time for illumination.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Motion Light

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Virginia
I needed something reasonable to install at my back door for night time entrance. This light is very durable and puts out good lighting. I would purchase this light again. Very pleased customer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Advertised

,
January 21, 2015
By
from New Richmond WI
This is a cheap and fast way to add a motion light to anything with out having to do any wiring, I live in the frigid north and will be waiting for summer to install. So I can only make a partial review.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost 1 year now and it is still working fine.

,
January 21, 2015
By
from Quebec.
I really do like this product. I plan on purchasing 3 more around spring time. Bought one a year ago and it's still working fine. Even in very cold weather and no problem with sensor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Hardwiring Required

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Texas
The main reason I bought this was to the availability of solar power as opposed to hardwiring the electrical. The brightness is sufficient, however I have found the motion sensor distance is lacking. Still, in all, I like the product and need to buy a couple more for other dark areas of my yard. The price was fantastic.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save Your Money

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Hummelstown, PA
It works, but, the pivoting control arm broke while trying to adjust the light head. The unit's construction is very "cheap" and fragile. I personally would not buy another unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light for the money

,
December 12, 2014
By
from Show Low, Az.
This was an easy install and lives up to its hype. I can see again! Will buy another in the next few weeks, but I wanted to see how this one performed first.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

close area only

,
December 12, 2014
By
from Rock Hill, SC
The light is bright enough for security, but only for a very small area, and the sensor will only detect movement within about 5 feet.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar light works nicely

,
December 10, 2014
By
from Ohio
Light emits a nice mild light to see to get into the house. The unit has long enough wiring that you can make it work almost anywhere.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LED

,
December 5, 2014
By
from TN
Works great, but I would have liked it to be a little brighter. I added a second light to make the area brighter for my liking.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as promised.

,
December 5, 2014
By
from Pinedale, WY
Easy to install, plenty of light, just all around a good product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

,
December 4, 2014
By
from Wytheville VA
Works like advertised. No complaints. Quality product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.