Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs

Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs

Item# 28505
"The Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light is a superbright, maintenance-free 36 LED light powered by sunlight and triggered by motion. A passive infra red PIR motion sensor detects movement up to 16 ft. away and triggers light activation for 30 seconds. Light Type LED, Battery Type NiCad, Battery Required Yes, Battery Included Yes, Application Outdoor, Light Color White, Solar Panel Wattage 0.9, Bulbs qty. 36, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 3/10 x 4 3/4 x 8, Lights Included qty. 1, Power Source Solar. 100 wide angle motion sensor range provides optimal detection Amorphous solar panel works in sunny and light cloud conditions to keep the light charged Weatherproof ABS plastic construction Easy installation no wiring required Safe for use in temperatures from 14-122F 16 3/10 in. L x 4 3/4 in. W x 8 in. H"
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0
35 of 37(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Review 1 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LET THERE BE LIGHT

,
April 11, 2016
By
from VAIL, CO
THIS LITTLE ITEM DOES THE JOB.
YOU NEED LIGHT, THIS WILL DO IT.
EASY TO SET UP AND SET THE CONTROLS.
IT IS NOT EXPENSIVE SO ONE CAN ORDER A FEW AND PLACE THEM AROUND THE PROPERTY TO ADD SECURITY.
CERTAINLY A BEST BUY ITEM.
PARAGLIDER
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
March 19, 2016
By
from ohio
Works well, motion detector is sensitive. Good for spotlight locations. Could be brighter but it is solar.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Led motion activated light

,
March 16, 2016
By
from Ozark, Al
I am giving this a 3 because there are no adjustments for sensitivity or to adjust the time the light will stay on. Its fairly bright. Will research solar led lights and buy a different light from Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar powered light

,
March 9, 2016
By
from Bay area, CA
We purchased this light after our job trailer was broken into twice. It is very bright for its light weight.
Definitely thinking of ordering more. Set up is pretty much "mount it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works ok but has issues

,
February 22, 2016
By
from Anderson sc
I bought this for the horse barn, so I have light to measure and mix feeds at night.
For the place I wanted to mount it, there were several options, but wherever I tried it, either the light did not point where I wanted it, or the sensor didn't. The light needed to cover the feed barrels, but I did not want the sensor tripped if the horse came wandering in looking around. That's the issue with my current light; the horse burns it out moving around after dark before I ever get out there.
I finally got it set up, and the screws stripped out before I got them into the post deep enough to mount the light. Why use 1 1/2 inch screws if you only need have 1/4 inch sticking out to mount onto? Also, there's no template to use to put the screws in; you put the screws in then slide the light down onto them, so you have to know how far apart to put them or it does not fit. Just give us outside screw holes; you know we are mounting these into awkward spots so why oh why do it this way?
The connector pin for the solar unit does not stay pushed into the socket on the light, I had to tape it to get it to stay in. It's not upside down or anything, it just falls out. Crazy.
Pros: reasonable price, easy to mount solar collector, bright, long cord on the solar collector
Cons: Cheap screws, not enough range of motion in the light and sensor, solar connector plug falls out of the socket on the light unit, badly designed light mount
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Lighting

,
January 27, 2016
By
from Ashfield, PA
I needed a self-powered light for my woodshed, which is 30 yards from my house. This light came already charged and ready to mount. I mounted the solar panel facing south, on the outside of the wood shed and the light is inside the shed with the motion sensor facing the entrance and the light shining up on the ceiling. It lights up as soon as I enter the shed and provides a surprising amount of light. I could sit and read a book in the shed if I wanted to. It stays on the whole time I am in the shed and goes off about when I get back to the house. I plan on buying another one for my garage so I can see to walk to my car without turning on a light, which would stay on until I came back.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

,
September 3, 2015
By
from North Chesterfield, VA
I placed this product on my porch so that I could see to unlock the door without having to leave the porch light on (which attracts bugs) Works great! Easy to install. I would purchase another one if my other porch received enough sunlight to charge the battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works out of the Box!

,
April 14, 2015
By
from NC
Very bright light. As I was taking the light kit out of the box, I accidentally hit the "ON/OFF" switch, and it immediately turned-on, with a very bright LED glow.
Turned it off and then charged the batteries up as per the instructions, but at least I can truthfully say it "works right out of the box!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Security Device

,
April 14, 2015
By
from Middleburg, PA
Installs easily. Not the brightest 36 LED but certainly helps for motion detection in dark areas. Ball & Socket setup on the solar panel was weak and Northern Central was good and quick about sending a replacement. Probably could use a set screw in the design so it can maintain its pointed direction. Price is very reasonable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar security light

,
March 25, 2015
By
from kure beach nc
installed these lights on my boardwalk every five feet. this seems to give more than enough light .motion activation works well . lights stay on for about one min. on month number five , no problems very happy with product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

motion activated LED solar security light

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Ca
I bought one, liked it so well I bought another. It gives off just the right amount of light without blinding my tenants walking down the breezeway. I use the other one in my garage instead of wiring an additional switch. The 16' cord provided was just right for my application. and was a snap to install.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

,
March 11, 2015
By
from Tampa, FL
At this price point I did not really expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised at the sensitivity of the motion sensor and could not be happier with the brightness of a solar powered light on my carport. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for home

,
February 21, 2015
By
from U.P. Michigan
Works well for lighting up dark corners, no searching for a switch in the dark just walk in and the light come a on. Will buy more for a back shed and other areas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

bright night light

,
February 6, 2015
By
from DFW, TX
Product is bright and lights repidly, but has no adjustment for sensitivity or lenght of time for illumination.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Motion Light

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Virginia
I needed something reasonable to install at my back door for night time entrance. This light is very durable and puts out good lighting. I would purchase this light again. Very pleased customer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Advertised

,
January 21, 2015
By
from New Richmond WI
This is a cheap and fast way to add a motion light to anything with out having to do any wiring, I live in the frigid north and will be waiting for summer to install. So I can only make a partial review.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost 1 year now and it is still working fine.

,
January 21, 2015
By
from Quebec.
I really do like this product. I plan on purchasing 3 more around spring time. Bought one a year ago and it's still working fine. Even in very cold weather and no problem with sensor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Hardwiring Required

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Texas
The main reason I bought this was to the availability of solar power as opposed to hardwiring the electrical. The brightness is sufficient, however I have found the motion sensor distance is lacking. Still, in all, I like the product and need to buy a couple more for other dark areas of my yard. The price was fantastic.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save Your Money

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Hummelstown, PA
It works, but, the pivoting control arm broke while trying to adjust the light head. The unit's construction is very "cheap" and fragile. I personally would not buy another unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motion Activated LED Solar Security Light - 36 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light for the money

,
December 12, 2014
By
from Show Low, Az.
This was an easy install and lives up to its hype. I can see again! Will buy another in the next few weeks, but I wanted to see how this one performed first.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.