Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit

NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit

Item# 28520
This NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit agitates chemicals and water together while you spray, keeping the concentrate of the chemical more uniform, rather than the chemical settling to the bottom of the tank. Application Agitation kit, Dimensions L x W x H in. 4 x 4 x 4. Includes 3/8in. reinforced PVC hose, stainless steel hose clamps, nylon fittings Mounts to Item#s 2681021, 2681101, 2681201, 2287181, 26810011, 26812101, 2851701 and 2851801 Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 19(74%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Review 1 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

three way valve

,
July 21, 2014
By Nutmeg
from California
"Expensive. The three way valve failed. The three way valve really failed. The three way valve also failed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for what I needed

,
June 27, 2014
By kyhuntr
from Kentucky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The agitator was a little difficult to mount on the 26gal sprayer that I purchased. I ended up mounting it in front of the hose holder (see attached picture). For the price it does exactly what I needed. I could not use the agitator and the sprayer at the same time with the 2.2gpm pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

,
May 21, 2014
By Wadd
from Fallon, Nv.
"Added this to the 26 Gal. Sprayer with the boom attached. Works well. Read all the directions, lay out your parts, a do a dry run to make sure it ends up where it will be convenient for you. I moved mine about an 1-1/2 inches to get the support I wanted an ease of use. Works well for getting the original mix, mixed up - or if a buddy stops by and we have a beer, just turn it on and go back to work. Works well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not useful for me unfortunately

,
May 19, 2014
By Jovak
from Massachusetts
"I bought this for a sprayer I use for lawn care purposes. I thought it would be good for some herbicides and surfactants I use together to eliminate settling of the mixture in my tank. The challenge I had with operation is that my 100 PSI pump does not have enough output to have both the boom with three nozzles AND the circulation portion on at the same time. I have to choose one or the other. I would have to upgrade to a much higher output pump for this to be useful for me. It was easy to install and the directions were missing some detail, but they were clear enough for most people to fill in the blanks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Agitates!

,
February 6, 2014
By PAFarmerDan
from Lehigh Valley, PA
"I had no trouble installing this on the boomless sprayer that I also purchased from Northern Tool. Everything that I needed to install it was included and the installation process was very straightforward. The only problem I have had is that the hose is short and sometimes kinks. But, it doesn't seem to interfere too much, if at all, with the operation. I have been using it to agitate the tank while I add my minerals and organic supplements for foliar feeding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blowing them away

,
October 15, 2012
By pappy123
from Maine
"I purchased the sprayer, agitator, and broadcast lance in a package for dealing with Black Fly, and Mosquito infestations. The sprayer is amazing, shame it's no longer available. The agitator and broadcast lance worked great. All round fine products."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit

,
August 16, 2012
By jerryC111
from Mabelvale, AR
"The instructions were confusing but after a couple trips to the hardware store, I got it assembled and it works good. If you are good at figuring things out and making them work, then you will probably enjoy this challenge. If not, then you may not be happy with this product. It is my opinion that the tank should come already prepped for the agitation kit. After getting a new toy, the last thing you want to do is drill a hole in it. The first step in the agitation kit instructions says to drill a hole in your new tank."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

1 GPM pump too small for this

,
January 31, 2012
By sgf31513
from South GA
"This product did everything NorthStar said it would do but on their 10 gallon spot prayer with the 1 GPM pump it is just was not enough mixing with the small pump. Since I installed it on a new tank then filled it with water, I stuck my arm in the tank to feel the flow. It is not much with the full flow of the pump diverted to the tank. It does move the tank liquid so
On the 1 GPM pump, you cannot use the sprayer with the flow sent back to the tank but I expected that from the other reviews.
I think I can make a spray adapter to connect to the bottom of the agitator tube to reduce the flow and increase the velocity to make a spray to possibly sweep the bottom of the tank a little anyway.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practically a must-have for tank sprayers

,
October 15, 2011
By PineGroveMarina
from Pine Grove, CA
"I'm an organic gardener who uses many different things in her garden, including compost teas and horticultural oils. The tank mixer is a must if you're going to apply anything that doesn't remain in suspension. The kit is easy to install, operate and understand. Do not try to use the sprayer while using the agitation feature as pressure drops off considerably."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Agitation Kit "Kludge"

,
October 11, 2011
By fredro
from Texas
"This "add on" product does come with just enough parts to do the job... the preformance is more of a mixing tool than a continous agitator... without a pressure gage and "flow restrictor", you need to rely on a slightly open diverter valve for agitation... the over-all finish is a messy add-on, but... it works... attention: read the instructions closely twice before installation... the instructions call for drilling a hole in the plastic tank which turns out to be on a seam... I recomend moving the hole slightly off of the seam..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agitation Kit

,
March 25, 2011
By Brianj67
"This could it works really well and it's easy to install. I purchased to help me start whatever product I have in the sprayer. It also works well if I have to let disperse it for any period of time when applying the product. Simple inexpensive and works great. Thanks Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Agitation Kit

,
June 3, 2010
By BobofBCC
from Black Canyon City AZ
"The kit is a smart add-on to tank sprayers. I used the sprayer without the kit installed and observed the weed kill seemed spotty. After adding the kit the dispersal concentration must have significantly improved because the kill is very even."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

more than 1 use

,
February 26, 2010
By Anonymous
from CT
"I am using this kit to connect the suction side of an electric diaphram pump to two tanks. The plastic tube that goes into the tank had to be made longer so that it could reach the bottom of the tank so I added a small piece of rubber hose and clamped it onto the tube. It works great, the pump actually draws both tanks down evenly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK with mods, pricey

,
October 19, 2009
By LawrenceR
from Rural NC
"The item is clearly pictured. You get plastic valves and fittings, clamps, a tube (that's too short) and a short hose. Not a lot considering the price. The main reason I got it was to be able to regulate pressure to a spray boom, so the pump doesn't cycle on/off while running. It works well for that. On the negative side, the hose supplied is too short to make the sharp bend required and crimped after I installed it. I inserted a short piece of neoprene hose into the supplied hose, which provided enough support to keep it from crimping, and still allows enough flow for pressure regulation. This may be reducing the capacity for agitation (which is weak), but not as much as if the hose was crimped."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sprayer Agitation Kit

,
August 11, 2008
By DennisB
from CT
"Very poorly made product. The valve assembly is made of soft plastic and lasted for one use. I've contacted NorthStar with my concern/dissatisfaction with the product and they have not responded (it has been more than a month)
The 1.8 GPM is barely sufficient to operate both agitation and sprayer at the same time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar Agitation Kit

,
August 11, 2008
By Trigger
from Cincinnati, OH
"Simple poly-tubing, fittings and band clamps that tie into the poly tank and allow users to mix tank contents BEFORE spraying.
There isn't enough flow/pressure to allow you to spray AND mix at same time. The high pressure loop (wand or broadcast sprayers) will drop off signifiantly if the mixer is engaged while you try to spray.
If you plan to use granular additives in your tank, this kit is a MUST.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Sprayer Agitation Kit

,
April 14, 2008
By jerrymc
from Harvest, AL
"I bought the agitation kit because I was applying a very heavy water and lime mixture that I had been having problems spraying. The lime would settle out of the water very quickly and plug every sprayer I used. Frustrated is not adequate to describe how I felt.
After attached the Sprayer Agitation Kit, my frustrations were over!! The kit kept the mixture in suspension and it did not plug the hoses or nozzles! You can imagine how happy I was. I suppose that my lawn was even happier!!
Great product, I recommend it to everyone. Well, what are you waiting for--order one now, when the word gets out, they will probably all be gone!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must for chemicals

,
January 14, 2008
By longleafer
from Central Alabama
"I purchased the agitation kit to go along with the 4gpm sprayer. The installation was easy and works well. I would recommend it to anyone using chemicals to spray."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Sprayer Agitation Kit
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Agitator

,
July 9, 2007
By Sprayman
from Springfield IL
"I used the sprayer with this agitation kit for 2 tank fulls of herbicide. The unit sat in my shop for 2 weeks. I went to load up another tank to spray and the plastic valve housing cracked spewing liquid everywhere. This should have lasted longer than this."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.