Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Product Style Battery charger, Battery Included No, Battery Type 12V, Panels qty. 1, Watts 7, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
63 of 69(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Review 1 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

exceeds it's expectations

,
July 9, 2015
By chuckier
from ohio
" I've bought 3 of these,they work well with keeping car batteries charged up.an excellent value.they even work in low light situations but charge slower with less light.the built in diode makes sure there is no backflow from the battery back to the panel.very well satisfied "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 Watt Solar Charger

,
June 24, 2015
By Gatorfrank
from North Carolina
" The panel arrived on schedule at my local Northern Tool store and was packaged securely. The panel and the misc parts were all there and in excellent shape. The instruction manual does not mention if the panel has a blocking diode so I only gave it 4 stars because of that. I would recommend this panel to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Both bad !

,
June 14, 2015
By SEL1969
from Midwest
" Two panels and both are bad - they put out only 100mA and 160mA at best. That's only 1.2 watts and 1.9 watts into 12 volts. Blocking diodes may be bad too - I can measure a small amount current going into to the panel when dark. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No blocking diode to stop discharge at night

,
May 6, 2015
By DustyF
from Calder, ID
" Although Northern Tool description and packaging box state Blocking diode prevents loss of charge, there is no blocking diode. This product may have ruined my 12V battery and I am not happy! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar panel

,
March 25, 2015
By farmer71
from enid, ok
" This is a very good solar panel to keep a batter up on a battery fencer. I use this solar panel to charge the battery that is running my battery fence charger. It kept the battery charged for the whole wheat pasture grazing season, about 3 plus months. I was able to buy them as a hotline member, so I could buy two for the regular price of one. So, at that price, you cannot pass them up. I have bought 4 or 5 of them. Just, do not let the cattle be able to reach them. They got a hold of one of mine, and destroyed it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
March 17, 2015
By trialbend
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
" Product works great, the price was great. I use it to keep my boat battery charged, after the kids spend all day playing music, charging phones all with the boat motor off. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We use it all the time!

,
March 12, 2015
By sandipanda59
from Willcox, AZ
" We are very pleased. We have several uses for this handy little panel. Great for camping, keeping a parked vehicle charged. We love it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Charger - trickle charger

,
March 12, 2015
By TexasBest
from Dallas TX
" The product was packaged well and arrived in perfect condition. The mounting hardware appears useful, although I have not installed it permantly yet. The unit does a good job of topping off the charge on a 12v auto battery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger

,
March 12, 2015
By 1970mach
from Deep creek md
" Used for farm truck and four wheelers worked great but would like to have longer leads "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charge for the beginner

,
March 9, 2015
By Shoefits
from Michigan
" I use this to keep a charge on my 12 volt battery for emergey lighting and back up system for small 110v appliances. Easy to install but recomend solar battery controller to insure proper use. On sale makes this a great Bug out special "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar charger

,
March 4, 2015
By SomeGuyinOhio
from Ohio
" I've only been using this solar charger in my truck for about a month, but it seems to be working well. I replaced the clamps with a lighter plug to charge my battery right through my 12v hot power outlet in my dash. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FULL TIME CHARGER

,
March 4, 2015
By jfnc
from NC
" I maintain a disaster relief unit that uses a battery powered hydraulic system to activates slides and levelers. Due to much time spent inactive the battery tended to discharge enough to be detrimental. The on board generator had to charge the battery awhile for hydraulic operation. After installing this solar charger the battery is maintained in a fully charged state and has proven very beneficial. Hydraulics are ready to go with or without the generator running. Highly recommend "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Charges very well

,
February 26, 2015
By Adventurer
from Adairsville
" This is a replacement for a 6watt unit on my sailboat boat. It is the only power source for charging my battery. .
This Solar Panel is;
Excellent-Maintains and recharges as advertised
Excellent- Purchase price
Excellent- Super easy to use.
Good-This space is intentionally left blank as a reference point.
Poor-Internal components are partially exposed to the elements.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLAR

,
February 23, 2015
By pinto1234
from Utah
" great product. Right price. I have another one that is over 6 years old and no problems to date. Instillation is simple. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 watt solar charger

,
February 17, 2015
By farmtom
from new tripoli, pa.
" using two of these to keep equipment batteries charged this winter. One for small equipment and the other is keeping my diesel dump truck's two big batteries topped off. So far working great and easy to install-it just sits on the dash! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comforts for camping

,
February 3, 2015
By badgerhal
from Colorado
" Bought these solar panels with the hope that it will make our camping experience a better one. Just waiting for the snow to melt so we can get the camper out. Product looks like it will be very durable and long lasting. Time will tell. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power when you need it

,
January 26, 2015
By Pollogrande
from Boise, ID
" I have several trailers that have 12 volt batteries;
3 with winches
4 with interier lights
2 with hydrolic pumps
These panels keep the batteries charged without overcharging them. They are easy to install and small enough to be safely out of the way.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Solar Power to start with

,
January 18, 2015
By ELROYP2A
from Texas
" these are good solar panels to start a power system for a small battery and light project. Learning curve will help you plan for building a bigger system. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charging well

,
January 16, 2015
By strong70
from in
" need to stack to get enough watts, to generate enough energy to run low voltage lights in barn "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel

,
January 14, 2015
By rlh999999
from arkansas
" It work's very well,Keeps everything charged up.I have been using Solar Panel for years with good results and have no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.