Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Battery Included No, Watts 7, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, LED Light No, Panels qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Battery Type 12V, Product Style Battery charger, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
48 of 52(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Review 1 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Solar Power to start with

,
January 18, 2015
By ELROYP2A
from Texas
" these are good solar panels to start a power system for a small battery and light project. Learning curve will help you plan for building a bigger system. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charging well

,
January 16, 2015
By strong70
from in
" need to stack to get enough watts, to generate enough energy to run low voltage lights in barn "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel

,
January 14, 2015
By rlh999999
from arkansas
" It work's very well,Keeps everything charged up.I have been using Solar Panel for years with good results and have no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep your battery up to snuff

,
January 11, 2015
By encoresound
from Groton, MA
" I purchased an earlier model which I keep attached to the battery on my snow plow so that it's ready to start any time.
This newer version looks a little different, but seems to be well built too.
This one was purchased to keep the battery on my GMC van fully charged and ready to go anytime. Both my plow and van often sit for a week or more without being used, so the batteries loose a little charge - especially in the winter cold.
This solar panel works GREAT to keep the batteries charged, and I don't fear my batteries being over charged because of the trickle charge technology.
The 7 watts of power is sufficient to actually charge a slightly depleted battery too - - my van was hard starting, but now with the solar charger, it starts better since the battery is up to full charge,
The only negative thing about this is that the power cable is only 6 feet long -- it just makes it from my battery to the panel which I keep inside the vehicle in the windshield. Even though the panel is weather resistant, I don't want it to be subjected to more weather than necessary - especially during the winter.
I plan to splice the cable and add a couple of quick disconnect connectors so I can leave the clips attached to the battery and pull the other end into the vehicle. As is, I have to disconnect the spring clips from the batter once the truck is started. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 11, 2015
By mcarb
from miami
" does exactly what it says i own 5 of them and they keep all of my 5 cars battery fully charged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits the bill

,
January 7, 2015
By RRRancher
from Texas
" I bought one of these to charge the battery on our gate opener, which is too remote to have electricity run to it. It works great and was easy to mount to the post and holder I built for it. I have since bought four more of them to use at other remote locations on our ranch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work great

,
January 1, 2015
By handychick
from Florida & Michigan
" Have 4 of these little panels now. I use one to keep a cordless drill charged all the time in my off grid cabin. One I have hooked directly to a 12v battery to use to light a night light display panel at art shows and it is always fully charged. Another is in my van hooked directly to a 12v house battery that runs a vent fan, lights, and extra 12v plugs for phone, computer etc. With these panels I don't need to bother with a charge controller. The fourth one is the extra one for the future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look good

,
December 28, 2014
By MrBobTheBuilder
from Des Moines, IA
" I have not used the product yet, but I have it hooked up and ready to go. The quality of the product seems to be as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does the job!

,
December 28, 2014
By Pencilpusher
from Texas
" I use the solar panel to maintain the charge on the batteries to the travel trailer at our deer lease. We have no electricity and use a generator at night but the solar panel helps maintain the charge during the daylight hours. We can run a computer as well as a TV with the batteries without having to run the generator. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
December 28, 2014
By kevinjmaz
from Arizona
" I would experience dead battery in camper when out. I started using this and no longer a problem. Can use lights and things and battery recharged during the day. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good out of the box...

,
December 18, 2014
By Corvo
from Texas
" I bought this to trickle charge my sailboat battery while it is in dry dock and it easily attached to my battery and includes screws and hardware for a permanent mount "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
December 18, 2014
By Dochendrickson
from Foresthill, CA
" Well built. Panel works as advertized. This is a multiuse tool I use to recharge deep cell batteries & also amateur radio equipment. Goes with me in my go-bag every where I go! Every home should have one just as a power back up! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

diodes, diodes, diodes

,
December 1, 2014
By JUSTPAW
from South Texas
" I have two of these pannels . They both work good.
At first they (as some have said) they would discharge the battery when the sun went down if they were hooked up. I was charging some 12v. sealed led acid batt. and doing fine. Next morning they were dead. Checked another type pannel I have and it had diodes in it. Well now look at this. I dug threw my junk and found some diodes, installed them, now no discharged batteries..Working great..............Just be sure the diodes are installed correctly, other wise you get nothing.......
Paw
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

,
November 18, 2014
By JRjrjr
from Buff.,NY
" Bought this panel to "maintain" the charge on my truck battery, when I removed the panel to use the truck the battery was dead!!!!!!! I get nothing when I hook up to a meter in full sun. Waste of money!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amorphous Solar Panel

,
July 31, 2014
By Jefepedrito
from Chantilly, VA
" Seems to be enough to maintain a charge on a car parked for a long time and/or charge a cell phone. Pretty small power output. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 Watt Solar Panel

,
June 21, 2014
By GYB1
from Coeur d Alene! ID
" This is a great little solar panel. We put it on the south side of the house. It's purpose is to keep my two ATV batteries charges year round. So far it is doing the job fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel

,
June 16, 2014
By 1703
from Daytona Beach
" Purchased four of these solar panels for our boat,dump trailer and emergency generators. So far they are working well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel for Gage

,
May 23, 2014
By wsguy
from Fort Worth, TX
" Panel is working well so far installed it as a second panel at my gate because I needed to operate more equipment. Puts out over 20 volts in full sun. One warning this panel does not appear to have a blocking diode if you use it with another panel in parallel you will need to install one yourself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
May 20, 2014
By TnT11
from Rice Lake, WI
" My husband is using the panel for science experiments with his son. Thank you for the great price and the great merchandise. Very satisfied! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work.

,
May 15, 2014
By DBT57
from Martinsville, VA
" I bought this to keep my lawn mower battery charged between mowing. My mower was cranking just fine before I bought this solar charger. I hooked it up, and the first time I went to start my mower, which was about 4 days after hooking up the solar charger, my mower would not start. The battery was dead. It almost seems that instead of charging the battery, it drained it. So, long story short, don't waste your money. Just go buy an electric trickle charger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.