Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Product Style Battery charger, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Battery Type 12V, Watts 7, Battery Included No, Panels qty. 1, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
53 of 57(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Review 1 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Charges very well

,
February 26, 2015
By Adventurer
from Adairsville
" This is a replacement for a 6watt unit on my sailboat boat. It is the only power source for charging my battery. .
This Solar Panel is;
Excellent-Maintains and recharges as advertised
Excellent- Purchase price
Excellent- Super easy to use.
Good-This space is intentionally left blank as a reference point.
Poor-Internal components are partially exposed to the elements.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLAR

,
February 23, 2015
By pinto1234
from Utah
" great product. Right price. I have another one that is over 6 years old and no problems to date. Instillation is simple. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 watt solar charger

,
February 17, 2015
By farmtom
from new tripoli, pa.
" using two of these to keep equipment batteries charged this winter. One for small equipment and the other is keeping my diesel dump truck's two big batteries topped off. So far working great and easy to install-it just sits on the dash! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comforts for camping

,
February 3, 2015
By badgerhal
from Colorado
" Bought these solar panels with the hope that it will make our camping experience a better one. Just waiting for the snow to melt so we can get the camper out. Product looks like it will be very durable and long lasting. Time will tell. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power when you need it

,
January 26, 2015
By Pollogrande
from Boise, ID
" I have several trailers that have 12 volt batteries;
3 with winches
4 with interier lights
2 with hydrolic pumps
These panels keep the batteries charged without overcharging them. They are easy to install and small enough to be safely out of the way.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Solar Power to start with

,
January 18, 2015
By ELROYP2A
from Texas
" these are good solar panels to start a power system for a small battery and light project. Learning curve will help you plan for building a bigger system. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charging well

,
January 16, 2015
By strong70
from in
" need to stack to get enough watts, to generate enough energy to run low voltage lights in barn "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel

,
January 14, 2015
By rlh999999
from arkansas
" It work's very well,Keeps everything charged up.I have been using Solar Panel for years with good results and have no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep your battery up to snuff

,
January 11, 2015
By encoresound
from Groton, MA
" I purchased an earlier model which I keep attached to the battery on my snow plow so that it's ready to start any time.
This newer version looks a little different, but seems to be well built too.
This one was purchased to keep the battery on my GMC van fully charged and ready to go anytime. Both my plow and van often sit for a week or more without being used, so the batteries loose a little charge - especially in the winter cold.
This solar panel works GREAT to keep the batteries charged, and I don't fear my batteries being over charged because of the trickle charge technology.
The 7 watts of power is sufficient to actually charge a slightly depleted battery too - - my van was hard starting, but now with the solar charger, it starts better since the battery is up to full charge,
The only negative thing about this is that the power cable is only 6 feet long -- it just makes it from my battery to the panel which I keep inside the vehicle in the windshield. Even though the panel is weather resistant, I don't want it to be subjected to more weather than necessary - especially during the winter.
I plan to splice the cable and add a couple of quick disconnect connectors so I can leave the clips attached to the battery and pull the other end into the vehicle. As is, I have to disconnect the spring clips from the batter once the truck is started. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 11, 2015
By mcarb
from miami
" does exactly what it says i own 5 of them and they keep all of my 5 cars battery fully charged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits the bill

,
January 7, 2015
By RRRancher
from Texas
" I bought one of these to charge the battery on our gate opener, which is too remote to have electricity run to it. It works great and was easy to mount to the post and holder I built for it. I have since bought four more of them to use at other remote locations on our ranch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work great

,
January 1, 2015
By handychick
from Florida & Michigan
" Have 4 of these little panels now. I use one to keep a cordless drill charged all the time in my off grid cabin. One I have hooked directly to a 12v battery to use to light a night light display panel at art shows and it is always fully charged. Another is in my van hooked directly to a 12v house battery that runs a vent fan, lights, and extra 12v plugs for phone, computer etc. With these panels I don't need to bother with a charge controller. The fourth one is the extra one for the future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look good

,
December 28, 2014
By MrBobTheBuilder
from Des Moines, IA
" I have not used the product yet, but I have it hooked up and ready to go. The quality of the product seems to be as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does the job!

,
December 28, 2014
By Pencilpusher
from Texas
" I use the solar panel to maintain the charge on the batteries to the travel trailer at our deer lease. We have no electricity and use a generator at night but the solar panel helps maintain the charge during the daylight hours. We can run a computer as well as a TV with the batteries without having to run the generator. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
December 28, 2014
By kevinjmaz
from Arizona
" I would experience dead battery in camper when out. I started using this and no longer a problem. Can use lights and things and battery recharged during the day. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good out of the box...

,
December 18, 2014
By Corvo
from Texas
" I bought this to trickle charge my sailboat battery while it is in dry dock and it easily attached to my battery and includes screws and hardware for a permanent mount "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
December 18, 2014
By Dochendrickson
from Foresthill, CA
" Well built. Panel works as advertized. This is a multiuse tool I use to recharge deep cell batteries & also amateur radio equipment. Goes with me in my go-bag every where I go! Every home should have one just as a power back up! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

diodes, diodes, diodes

,
December 1, 2014
By JUSTPAW
from South Texas
" I have two of these pannels . They both work good.
At first they (as some have said) they would discharge the battery when the sun went down if they were hooked up. I was charging some 12v. sealed led acid batt. and doing fine. Next morning they were dead. Checked another type pannel I have and it had diodes in it. Well now look at this. I dug threw my junk and found some diodes, installed them, now no discharged batteries..Working great..............Just be sure the diodes are installed correctly, other wise you get nothing.......
Paw
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

,
November 18, 2014
By JRjrjr
from Buff.,NY
" Bought this panel to "maintain" the charge on my truck battery, when I removed the panel to use the truck the battery was dead!!!!!!! I get nothing when I hook up to a meter in full sun. Waste of money!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amorphous Solar Panel

,
July 31, 2014
By Jefepedrito
from Chantilly, VA
" Seems to be enough to maintain a charge on a car parked for a long time and/or charge a cell phone. Pretty small power output. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.