Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Product Style Battery charger, Battery Type 12V, Battery Included No, Panels qty. 1, Watts 7, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (66 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
61 of 66(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Review 21 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work great

,
January 1, 2015
By handychick
from Florida & Michigan
" Have 4 of these little panels now. I use one to keep a cordless drill charged all the time in my off grid cabin. One I have hooked directly to a 12v battery to use to light a night light display panel at art shows and it is always fully charged. Another is in my van hooked directly to a 12v house battery that runs a vent fan, lights, and extra 12v plugs for phone, computer etc. With these panels I don't need to bother with a charge controller. The fourth one is the extra one for the future. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look good

,
December 28, 2014
By MrBobTheBuilder
from Des Moines, IA
" I have not used the product yet, but I have it hooked up and ready to go. The quality of the product seems to be as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does the job!

,
December 28, 2014
By Pencilpusher
from Texas
" I use the solar panel to maintain the charge on the batteries to the travel trailer at our deer lease. We have no electricity and use a generator at night but the solar panel helps maintain the charge during the daylight hours. We can run a computer as well as a TV with the batteries without having to run the generator. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
December 28, 2014
By kevinjmaz
from Arizona
" I would experience dead battery in camper when out. I started using this and no longer a problem. Can use lights and things and battery recharged during the day. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good out of the box...

,
December 18, 2014
By Corvo
from Texas
" I bought this to trickle charge my sailboat battery while it is in dry dock and it easily attached to my battery and includes screws and hardware for a permanent mount "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
December 18, 2014
By Dochendrickson
from Foresthill, CA
" Well built. Panel works as advertized. This is a multiuse tool I use to recharge deep cell batteries & also amateur radio equipment. Goes with me in my go-bag every where I go! Every home should have one just as a power back up! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

diodes, diodes, diodes

,
December 1, 2014
By JUSTPAW
from South Texas
" I have two of these pannels . They both work good.
At first they (as some have said) they would discharge the battery when the sun went down if they were hooked up. I was charging some 12v. sealed led acid batt. and doing fine. Next morning they were dead. Checked another type pannel I have and it had diodes in it. Well now look at this. I dug threw my junk and found some diodes, installed them, now no discharged batteries..Working great..............Just be sure the diodes are installed correctly, other wise you get nothing.......
Paw
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

,
November 18, 2014
By JRjrjr
from Buff.,NY
" Bought this panel to "maintain" the charge on my truck battery, when I removed the panel to use the truck the battery was dead!!!!!!! I get nothing when I hook up to a meter in full sun. Waste of money!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amorphous Solar Panel

,
July 31, 2014
By Jefepedrito
from Chantilly, VA
" Seems to be enough to maintain a charge on a car parked for a long time and/or charge a cell phone. Pretty small power output. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 Watt Solar Panel

,
June 21, 2014
By GYB1
from Coeur d Alene! ID
" This is a great little solar panel. We put it on the south side of the house. It's purpose is to keep my two ATV batteries charges year round. So far it is doing the job fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel

,
June 16, 2014
By 1703
from Daytona Beach
" Purchased four of these solar panels for our boat,dump trailer and emergency generators. So far they are working well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel for Gage

,
May 23, 2014
By wsguy
from Fort Worth, TX
" Panel is working well so far installed it as a second panel at my gate because I needed to operate more equipment. Puts out over 20 volts in full sun. One warning this panel does not appear to have a blocking diode if you use it with another panel in parallel you will need to install one yourself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
May 20, 2014
By TnT11
from Rice Lake, WI
" My husband is using the panel for science experiments with his son. Thank you for the great price and the great merchandise. Very satisfied! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work.

,
May 15, 2014
By DBT57
from Martinsville, VA
" I bought this to keep my lawn mower battery charged between mowing. My mower was cranking just fine before I bought this solar charger. I hooked it up, and the first time I went to start my mower, which was about 4 days after hooking up the solar charger, my mower would not start. The battery was dead. It almost seems that instead of charging the battery, it drained it. So, long story short, don't waste your money. Just go buy an electric trickle charger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Inconsistent and insufficient power generation

,
May 8, 2014
By BrokenMan
from PA
" I have bought several of these panels over the last 2 years. Initially the first few produced enough voltage to keep a few ATV batteries from discharging while storing them for the winter, however the last several I've purchased just don't have the same quality. They have varied greatly in their voltage output. For example, 2 panels placed side by side produced 15.4 v and 19.8 v at the same time. The next day neither panel produced over 15 volts, yet my larger panels were producing over 20 volts in the same conditions. They could not keep a car battery charged even when connected in parallel to up the amperage. I tried to use them on smaller batteries such as those in my generators and found they wouldn't work there either. Don't know if the manufacturer has changed but they are pretty worthless now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one I ever used

,
February 15, 2014
By Dieseldeliveries
from Chicago
" I use these to keep batteries charged for a Biodiesel final product pump. Heavy duty frame, quality product, good price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
February 7, 2014
By Mark76
from California
" Keeps Rv batteries charged and ready for use!!!!
Going to purchase a second for riding lawn mower.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little panel

,
February 6, 2014
By Diesel5
from Lockport, Ny
" This is a great small solar panel. Come with many mounting options and is very well built. Don't expect to run your house off this or anything directly for that matter, it's not meant for that. Its perfect just plugging on a battery and leaving it alone, will keep a battery charged and ready to go all the time. I have battery's in my trailer so i can just walk in and flip lights on and drive my sleds out. I leave battery hooked up to panel on top of my trailer and it keeps it charged even on the coldest of days. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
February 6, 2014
By RexImbrum
from Oneonta, NY
" I received the panel and charger and immediately hooked it up to an outdoor battery system I have on a cart for yard work/ outdoor activities. My phone charger beeped that it was charging and the stereo began to play. This was within 2 minutes of hooking up the unit on a sunny day.
I recommend it for any use at home. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
February 5, 2014
By soil13
from Canton, TX
" I bought this solar panel to put on my diesel tractor to keep the battery charged in the winter. It works great. I will probably buy one for my ATV. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.