Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Battery Type 12V, Product Style Battery charger, Battery Included No, Watts 7, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Panels qty. 1, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (101 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
92 of 101(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Review 1 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small panel

,
March 11, 2016
By
from Fountain Hills
Works as it should. This is the second one I've bought from Northern Tool. Hooked up the first one a couple months ago and no measurable discharge to my trailer battery, so I bought a second one for my RV. A+++
Always great service from Northern. I had an issue with a damaged compressor and they shipped another right away. They are very committed to customer service in my experience.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery maintainer

,
March 5, 2016
By
from san diego, ca
Was so pleased with these panels, that ordered more. Two panels are used on top of a small motorhome to maintain the house battery and now the chassis has its own maintainer. The racer car trailer has its own panel to keep the winch battery charged. Other panels of this size and cost, do not compare.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar charger

,
February 26, 2016
By
from Bay area, CA
We use this panel to charge a 18k winch battery on the back of one of our construction trucks. I was surprised when I measured the voltage, it puts out over 20 volts, about 0.5 amps of charge. We need a couple more for sure.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery charger

,
February 18, 2016
By
from Wautoma, WI
It works okay, but one must come up with your own mounting system.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

car solar battery charger

,
February 18, 2016
By
from new york
very good product and good price its works very well and most useful when you are not using your vehicle for long periods to time by not letting your battery go dead
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

,
February 17, 2016
By
from Murfreesboro,TN
This is very easy to just plug it on the battery and keep the battery charged, not having to drag out the extension cord to a outside building that doesn't have electricity, mower will be ready when I need it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
February 17, 2016
By
from Oklahoma
Using this to keep battery charged on enclosed car hauler to power the led lites and wench. No worrries about trailer sitting for long periods of time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amorphous solar panel- 7 watt

,
February 14, 2016
By
from Anselmo, Nebr
Put it on a tractor with 2 12 volt battery's in parallel that are weak. It charged them up enought in a few days of sunlight to start the tractor. I will be charging my irrigation batterys at the well sights next.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel

,
February 4, 2016
By
from Temple, Texas
Everything seems to working good. Only had a few weeks but already charging my batteries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel Looks Good But

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Central Florida
This 7 watt panel has alligator clips. It would be a better setup if it had a male/female plug with alligator clips as an accessory. The 1.5 watt solar panel has this setup.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solar charger

,
January 16, 2016
By
from SC
Purchased for my garden tractor due to it sitting a lot over winter. Battery is probably at replacement stage due to being over 3 years old and is dead after a week of sitting. Hooked up the 7 watt panel and within a day the old battery was starting the mower like new again. The best part was the price. I recommend it to anyone who has riding mowers, tractors or any vehicle that sits a lot. The only downside is the cables need to be longer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar panel

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Ohio
Arrived quickly. Very happy with it. Appears t o be of good quality. Charged up yesterday in only partial sunlight. Wanted to charge up batteries for motorcycle and lawn mower over the winter. Think I'm going to like it.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

convenient

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Shelby,MI
The product was nice to put in one of my south windows of my garage and plug into my zero turn mower.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cord too short

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Saginaw, TX
As a solar charger one would expect a longer cord. I have a motorhome and a Tractor/trailer. The plan was to put the panels on the roof of the MH and Truck, to charge the batteries in those vehicles. With the short cord it wouldn't work on either the MH or the Truck. I will use them out at my farm where a short cord will work.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 watt solar pannel

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Louisville kentucky
I have only had these panels for a few weeks when I wrote this. The panel has a small junction box on the back of it. I like this because it allows me to replace the power cord if it gets damaged. Some of my older panels do not give me this option and when the cords become too damaged the panel becomes useless or simply not worth the effort to repair.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product for the price

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Montana
Only have used it a couple of times so far, but seems to work real well. Could use longer power leads though.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Online Solar Panel Order

,
December 28, 2015
By
from Florida
I had no problem placing the order online. The delivery time was very fast and the solar panel I ordered fully meets my expectations.
Many thanks to the Northern Tool Team!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
December 28, 2015
By
from FL
Use to maintain boat, does the job! Keeps the battery charged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel 7 watt,

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Tonasket,Wa.
Using it to keep the farm gate mover charged, that is powered by a car battery, in order to open and close the gate and not have to get out of the tractor. Not close to electricity, so this is perfect for the job. Also can open the gate and not have to worry about taking a battery charger down to keep the battery charged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
December 25, 2015
By
from Northeastern, PA
As a rule, 12 volt solar panels are more expensive per watt than the larger commercial panels, but they are a great entry level choice. These panels were an especially great choice because they are very reasonably priced and they do work as designed. The mounting hardware is sturdy and works well, especially if you mount them to some sort of aluminum frame like I did.
I tested the battery voltage prior to hooking up the 3 panels wired in parallel and I easily topped off my battery in a couple of hours. Note that if you use more than one panel at a time you should also use a charge controller, but I didn't for my short test-will install one later.
I then left the panels hooked up overnight to see if they drained the battery, and again they tested fine. I have run into this problem with other panels with bad diodes but these seemed to test out fine, although it was only a one day test.
These panels are a great choice for someone that wants a good entry level product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.