Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Product Style Battery charger, Battery Type 12V, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Battery Included No, Panels qty. 1, Watts 7, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (93 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
84 of 93(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Review 1 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel

,
February 4, 2016
By
from Temple, Texas
Everything seems to working good. Only had a few weeks but already charging my batteries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Panel Looks Good But

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Central Florida
This 7 watt panel has alligator clips. It would be a better setup if it had a male/female plug with alligator clips as an accessory. The 1.5 watt solar panel has this setup.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solar charger

,
January 16, 2016
By
from SC
Purchased for my garden tractor due to it sitting a lot over winter. Battery is probably at replacement stage due to being over 3 years old and is dead after a week of sitting. Hooked up the 7 watt panel and within a day the old battery was starting the mower like new again. The best part was the price. I recommend it to anyone who has riding mowers, tractors or any vehicle that sits a lot. The only downside is the cables need to be longer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar panel

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Ohio
Arrived quickly. Very happy with it. Appears t o be of good quality. Charged up yesterday in only partial sunlight. Wanted to charge up batteries for motorcycle and lawn mower over the winter. Think I'm going to like it.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

convenient

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Shelby,MI
The product was nice to put in one of my south windows of my garage and plug into my zero turn mower.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cord too short

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Saginaw, TX
As a solar charger one would expect a longer cord. I have a motorhome and a Tractor/trailer. The plan was to put the panels on the roof of the MH and Truck, to charge the batteries in those vehicles. With the short cord it wouldn't work on either the MH or the Truck. I will use them out at my farm where a short cord will work.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 watt solar pannel

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Louisville kentucky
I have only had these panels for a few weeks when I wrote this. The panel has a small junction box on the back of it. I like this because it allows me to replace the power cord if it gets damaged. Some of my older panels do not give me this option and when the cords become too damaged the panel becomes useless or simply not worth the effort to repair.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product for the price

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Montana
Only have used it a couple of times so far, but seems to work real well. Could use longer power leads though.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Online Solar Panel Order

,
December 28, 2015
By
from Florida
I had no problem placing the order online. The delivery time was very fast and the solar panel I ordered fully meets my expectations.
Many thanks to the Northern Tool Team!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
December 28, 2015
By
from FL
Use to maintain boat, does the job! Keeps the battery charged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel 7 watt,

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Tonasket,Wa.
Using it to keep the farm gate mover charged, that is powered by a car battery, in order to open and close the gate and not have to get out of the tractor. Not close to electricity, so this is perfect for the job. Also can open the gate and not have to worry about taking a battery charger down to keep the battery charged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
December 25, 2015
By
from Northeastern, PA
As a rule, 12 volt solar panels are more expensive per watt than the larger commercial panels, but they are a great entry level choice. These panels were an especially great choice because they are very reasonably priced and they do work as designed. The mounting hardware is sturdy and works well, especially if you mount them to some sort of aluminum frame like I did.
I tested the battery voltage prior to hooking up the 3 panels wired in parallel and I easily topped off my battery in a couple of hours. Note that if you use more than one panel at a time you should also use a charge controller, but I didn't for my short test-will install one later.
I then left the panels hooked up overnight to see if they drained the battery, and again they tested fine. I have run into this problem with other panels with bad diodes but these seemed to test out fine, although it was only a one day test.
These panels are a great choice for someone that wants a good entry level product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 watt solar panel

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Northeast Florida
Good product and well built.The only thing I would improve in this and most outdoor electronics is a heavier power cord.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POWER!

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Beulah, MI
Solar panel puts out about .5 amps and 24 Volts in full sun light. On cloudy days it does produce less power output, but does the job to maintain my farm tractor battery and gen set. The price and performance of this solar panel make this a great value for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 watt solar pannel

,
December 23, 2015
By
from San Antonio,TX
This one 7 watt solar panel keeps my portable solar generator fully charged. After I have the solar generator discharged to 50% it is fully charged in one day in the sun. Great product!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 17, 2015
By
from Jackson, MS
I have used one of those to keep my house battery charged on our RV and it does a great job ok keeping it topped off. I ordered a second one in case the first one dies.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does the job for a good price

,
December 17, 2015
By
from snow hill
I have several of these now to use on all my boat batteries. If you do not keep a battery charged they begin to sulfate causing buildup on the plates for an early demise. My batteries last usually 5-7 years by being on charge, particularly wintertime, while friends re-buy every 2-3 years. These charge about 20 volts, low amp, except for one I recently got, but was cheerfully replaced by Northerntool. They do not appear to have a blocking diode as stated, but it was easy to insert one in the easy to open connection case, which I also silicone sealed up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as described in write up

,
December 8, 2015
By
from CT
This unit works in full sunlight, but drains back when not in light. Description says a diode prevents battery drain but it is either missing or does not have one. The product manual makes no mention of battery drain in no light condition. Northern Tool might have provided the wrong discription
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

amorphous solar panel

,
October 11, 2015
By
from macon ga
works great have a couple of these for several years
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Maintainer

,
October 10, 2015
By
from Clarksville, IA
I have 6 of these panels along with NPower Solar Charge Controllers (52 watt) keeping my "seldom used" 12v Batteries maintained over the winter months (dump trailer, JD Gator, lawn mowers, etc.). I have not had to buy a new battery for anything in the last 5 years.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.