Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Product Style Battery charger, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Panels qty. 1, Battery Type 12V, Battery Included No, Watts 7, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (93 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
84 of 93(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Review 21 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 9, 2015
By
from Plympton, MA
I attached one of these to my 4 year old sons 12Volt Jeep and haven't had to charge it in over a year.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Welbilt 7W solar panel

,
October 1, 2015
By
from Griffin, GA
Welbilt 7 Watt Solar Panel
Purchased the newer model (28650) to replace another Welbilt model I purchased 2 years earlier. This review is directed solely on the newer (28650) model. In the description, it says there is a blocking diode which prevents current from being drained out of the battery at night. It even shows a location where the diode is supposed to be located on the panel. It also says this on the box, however, there is no mention of any diode in the user manual. I viewed the entire panel from the back, under a million candle light power, and could not find any such diode. Everything else was there except this diode. Either they failed to put this diode in the panel I purchased, or there never was one to start with. None the less, the previous panel I bought seemed to work well for almost 2 years on other batteries I had before it suddenly (one night), allowed my 6-month old battery to drain down to 10 volts before I caught it, thus, all but killing my battery. I never thought to look for a diode on my old panel because it did seem to work for a while. I have not tried the new solar panel yet, and now that I know there's no diode.visible, I will probably take this one back to Northern Tools tomorrow and save myself a major problem and headache. There are better solar panels out there with controllers that guarantee the prevention of any back flow of electricity.for less that what it cost for a new battery. Luckily, my battery is less that a year old and still under warrantee.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolOctober 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. The solar panel does contain a diode to prevent overcharging of the battery. The diode is located inside of the panel.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good solar panel

,
August 28, 2015
By
from virginia
i use these solar panels to keep the battery charged on equipment out in the field. no chance of using trickle charger due to no electricity. these always make sure my equipment is read to go when i need it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Power

,
August 27, 2015
By
from Hunters, WA
A nice little solar panel for keeping 12 volt batteries charged. A handy source of power when the electricity is off. As what happens to frequently now a days.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

exceeds it's expectations

,
July 9, 2015
By
from ohio
I've bought 3 of these,they work well with keeping car batteries charged up.an excellent value.they even work in low light situations but charge slower with less light.the built in diode makes sure there is no backflow from the battery back to the panel.very well satisfied
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 Watt Solar Charger

,
June 24, 2015
By
from North Carolina
The panel arrived on schedule at my local Northern Tool store and was packaged securely. The panel and the misc parts were all there and in excellent shape. The instruction manual does not mention if the panel has a blocking diode so I only gave it 4 stars because of that. I would recommend this panel to a friend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Both bad !

,
June 14, 2015
By
from Midwest
Two panels and both are bad - they put out only 100mA and 160mA at best. That's only 1.2 watts and 1.9 watts into 12 volts. Blocking diodes may be bad too - I can measure a small amount current going into to the panel when dark.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No blocking diode to stop discharge at night

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Calder, ID
Although Northern Tool description and packaging box state Blocking diode prevents loss of charge, there is no blocking diode. This product may have ruined my 12V battery and I am not happy!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar panel

,
March 25, 2015
By
from enid, ok
This is a very good solar panel to keep a batter up on a battery fencer. I use this solar panel to charge the battery that is running my battery fence charger. It kept the battery charged for the whole wheat pasture grazing season, about 3 plus months. I was able to buy them as a hotline member, so I could buy two for the regular price of one. So, at that price, you cannot pass them up. I have bought 4 or 5 of them. Just, do not let the cattle be able to reach them. They got a hold of one of mine, and destroyed it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
March 17, 2015
By
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Product works great, the price was great. I use it to keep my boat battery charged, after the kids spend all day playing music, charging phones all with the boat motor off.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We use it all the time!

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Willcox, AZ
We are very pleased. We have several uses for this handy little panel. Great for camping, keeping a parked vehicle charged. We love it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Charger - trickle charger

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Dallas TX
The product was packaged well and arrived in perfect condition. The mounting hardware appears useful, although I have not installed it permantly yet. The unit does a good job of topping off the charge on a 12v auto battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Deep creek md
Used for farm truck and four wheelers worked great but would like to have longer leads
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

charge for the beginner

,
March 9, 2015
By
from Michigan
I use this to keep a charge on my 12 volt battery for emergey lighting and back up system for small 110v appliances. Easy to install but recomend solar battery controller to insure proper use. On sale makes this a great Bug out special
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar charger

,
March 4, 2015
By
from Ohio
I've only been using this solar charger in my truck for about a month, but it seems to be working well. I replaced the clamps with a lighter plug to charge my battery right through my 12v hot power outlet in my dash.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FULL TIME CHARGER

,
March 4, 2015
By
from NC
I maintain a disaster relief unit that uses a battery powered hydraulic system to activates slides and levelers. Due to much time spent inactive the battery tended to discharge enough to be detrimental. The on board generator had to charge the battery awhile for hydraulic operation. After installing this solar charger the battery is maintained in a fully charged state and has proven very beneficial. Hydraulics are ready to go with or without the generator running. Highly recommend
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Charges very well

,
February 26, 2015
By
from Adairsville
This is a replacement for a 6watt unit on my sailboat boat. It is the only power source for charging my battery. .
This Solar Panel is;
Excellent-Maintains and recharges as advertised
Excellent- Purchase price
Excellent- Super easy to use.
Good-This space is intentionally left blank as a reference point.
Poor-Internal components are partially exposed to the elements.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLAR

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Utah
great product. Right price. I have another one that is over 6 years old and no problems to date. Instillation is simple.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 watt solar charger

,
February 17, 2015
By
from new tripoli, pa.
using two of these to keep equipment batteries charged this winter. One for small equipment and the other is keeping my diesel dump truck's two big batteries topped off. So far working great and easy to install-it just sits on the dash!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comforts for camping

,
February 3, 2015
By
from Colorado
Bought these solar panels with the hope that it will make our camping experience a better one. Just waiting for the snow to melt so we can get the camper out. Product looks like it will be very durable and long lasting. Time will tell.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.