Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts

Item# 28650
"The 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Battery Type 12V, Product Style Battery charger, Battery Included No, Watts 7, LED Light No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Panels qty. 1, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, Material Amorphous solar cell, aluminum frame. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4in.L x 15.75in.W x 0.75in.D"
Average Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (101 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
92 of 101(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Review 21 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 watt solar panel

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Northeast Florida
Good product and well built.The only thing I would improve in this and most outdoor electronics is a heavier power cord.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POWER!

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Beulah, MI
Solar panel puts out about .5 amps and 24 Volts in full sun light. On cloudy days it does produce less power output, but does the job to maintain my farm tractor battery and gen set. The price and performance of this solar panel make this a great value for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

7 watt solar pannel

,
December 23, 2015
By
from San Antonio,TX
This one 7 watt solar panel keeps my portable solar generator fully charged. After I have the solar generator discharged to 50% it is fully charged in one day in the sun. Great product!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 17, 2015
By
from Jackson, MS
I have used one of those to keep my house battery charged on our RV and it does a great job ok keeping it topped off. I ordered a second one in case the first one dies.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does the job for a good price

,
December 17, 2015
By
from snow hill
I have several of these now to use on all my boat batteries. If you do not keep a battery charged they begin to sulfate causing buildup on the plates for an early demise. My batteries last usually 5-7 years by being on charge, particularly wintertime, while friends re-buy every 2-3 years. These charge about 20 volts, low amp, except for one I recently got, but was cheerfully replaced by Northerntool. They do not appear to have a blocking diode as stated, but it was easy to insert one in the easy to open connection case, which I also silicone sealed up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as described in write up

,
December 8, 2015
By
from CT
This unit works in full sunlight, but drains back when not in light. Description says a diode prevents battery drain but it is either missing or does not have one. The product manual makes no mention of battery drain in no light condition. Northern Tool might have provided the wrong discription
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

amorphous solar panel

,
October 11, 2015
By
from macon ga
works great have a couple of these for several years
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Maintainer

,
October 10, 2015
By
from Clarksville, IA
I have 6 of these panels along with NPower Solar Charge Controllers (52 watt) keeping my "seldom used" 12v Batteries maintained over the winter months (dump trailer, JD Gator, lawn mowers, etc.). I have not had to buy a new battery for anything in the last 5 years.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 9, 2015
By
from Plympton, MA
I attached one of these to my 4 year old sons 12Volt Jeep and haven't had to charge it in over a year.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Welbilt 7W solar panel

,
October 1, 2015
By
from Griffin, GA
Welbilt 7 Watt Solar Panel
Purchased the newer model (28650) to replace another Welbilt model I purchased 2 years earlier. This review is directed solely on the newer (28650) model. In the description, it says there is a blocking diode which prevents current from being drained out of the battery at night. It even shows a location where the diode is supposed to be located on the panel. It also says this on the box, however, there is no mention of any diode in the user manual. I viewed the entire panel from the back, under a million candle light power, and could not find any such diode. Everything else was there except this diode. Either they failed to put this diode in the panel I purchased, or there never was one to start with. None the less, the previous panel I bought seemed to work well for almost 2 years on other batteries I had before it suddenly (one night), allowed my 6-month old battery to drain down to 10 volts before I caught it, thus, all but killing my battery. I never thought to look for a diode on my old panel because it did seem to work for a while. I have not tried the new solar panel yet, and now that I know there's no diode.visible, I will probably take this one back to Northern Tools tomorrow and save myself a major problem and headache. There are better solar panels out there with controllers that guarantee the prevention of any back flow of electricity.for less that what it cost for a new battery. Luckily, my battery is less that a year old and still under warrantee.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolOctober 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. The solar panel does contain a diode to prevent overcharging of the battery. The diode is located inside of the panel.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good solar panel

,
August 28, 2015
By
from virginia
i use these solar panels to keep the battery charged on equipment out in the field. no chance of using trickle charger due to no electricity. these always make sure my equipment is read to go when i need it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Power

,
August 27, 2015
By
from Hunters, WA
A nice little solar panel for keeping 12 volt batteries charged. A handy source of power when the electricity is off. As what happens to frequently now a days.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

exceeds it's expectations

,
July 9, 2015
By
from ohio
I've bought 3 of these,they work well with keeping car batteries charged up.an excellent value.they even work in low light situations but charge slower with less light.the built in diode makes sure there is no backflow from the battery back to the panel.very well satisfied
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

7 Watt Solar Charger

,
June 24, 2015
By
from North Carolina
The panel arrived on schedule at my local Northern Tool store and was packaged securely. The panel and the misc parts were all there and in excellent shape. The instruction manual does not mention if the panel has a blocking diode so I only gave it 4 stars because of that. I would recommend this panel to a friend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Both bad !

,
June 14, 2015
By
from Midwest
Two panels and both are bad - they put out only 100mA and 160mA at best. That's only 1.2 watts and 1.9 watts into 12 volts. Blocking diodes may be bad too - I can measure a small amount current going into to the panel when dark.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No blocking diode to stop discharge at night

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Calder, ID
Although Northern Tool description and packaging box state Blocking diode prevents loss of charge, there is no blocking diode. This product may have ruined my 12V battery and I am not happy!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar panel

,
March 25, 2015
By
from enid, ok
This is a very good solar panel to keep a batter up on a battery fencer. I use this solar panel to charge the battery that is running my battery fence charger. It kept the battery charged for the whole wheat pasture grazing season, about 3 plus months. I was able to buy them as a hotline member, so I could buy two for the regular price of one. So, at that price, you cannot pass them up. I have bought 4 or 5 of them. Just, do not let the cattle be able to reach them. They got a hold of one of mine, and destroyed it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
March 17, 2015
By
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Product works great, the price was great. I use it to keep my boat battery charged, after the kids spend all day playing music, charging phones all with the boat motor off.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We use it all the time!

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Willcox, AZ
We are very pleased. We have several uses for this handy little panel. Great for camping, keeping a parked vehicle charged. We love it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Battery Charger - trickle charger

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Dallas TX
The product was packaged well and arrived in perfect condition. The mounting hardware appears useful, although I have not installed it permantly yet. The unit does a good job of topping off the charge on a 12v auto battery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.