Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt

Item# 28650
The Wel-Bilt 7 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel works in direct sunlight, low light, hazy and even cloudy conditions to charge a 12V battery. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Battery Included No, Watts 7, Includes Solar panel, 6 ft. wire w/battery clamps, LED Light No, Material Amorphous solar cells, aluminum frame, Panels qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 13/32 x 15 3/4 x 3/4, Battery Type 12V, Product Style Battery charger. Sturdy aluminum frame Weather-resistant 7 Watt panel Built-in trickle charger function is ideal for use with cars, boats, tractors, RVs, water pumps and more Blocking diode prevents loss of charge Includes 6 ft. of wire and battery clamps 12.4 in. L x 15.75 in. W x 0.75 in. Thick
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
35 of 38(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little panel

,
February 4, 2014
By QCSJ
from Quaker City, Ohio
"This is a nice little panel to keep a 12 volt battery up on a ATV, Lawn tractor even car and light truck. Keep in mind this is a smaller panel .583mA, a little over 1/2 amp, From my experience it will not keep a battery up that is connected to a vehicle with any drain (radio, clock etc.) It is best to have the battery disconnected from the vehicle. The leads are just long enough to reach from inside my 1990 ford f150 through the door jam under the hood to the battery."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Charger!

,
February 4, 2014
By N2Deep
from Portland, Texas
"I purchased two of these chargers. One I installed on my Dad's truck to keep a battery charged for a winch he uses during hunting season. It has bone a great job! The other charger, I installed on my pontoon boat to keep it's battery charged and ready to go. It has worked without fail. Well built and sturdy, very good quality item. It's really great when products work as advertised!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Power!

,
February 4, 2014
By G73NN
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought a couple of these for my sons treehouse. We hooked them up to a riding mower battery and created a small panel box with power converter that he can plug a light and charge his tablet and phone with. He even added a small 12v heater. These panels have kept the battery charged and ready for him. I plan on buying a few more because the operation is simple and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

,
February 4, 2014
By Ryan123456
from Nashville, TN
"I use it to keep the gas golf cart battery charged. Since adding headlights the alternator has a little trouble keeping it charged, so I leave this solar panel plugged into it while it is parked. Works great, battery is always fully charged. I'm waiting for this to go on sale again so i can get another one. This is the best deal i have seen anywhere for similar products."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Boat battery

,
February 4, 2014
By andrewsilver
from Frisco, TX
"I hang the charger from my wakeboard tower on my Yamaha jet boat. I made an extension to the power line to reach the battery through my boat cover, and added a quick connector. I put some pipe insulation foam around the lower edges so it doesn't scrape the boat. For the mounting hardware, would have appreciated some simpler hooks, but can't complain for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm impressed!

,
December 28, 2013
By Hermee
from NW Ohio
"2 of these panels arrived on Dec 27 eve. I read the instructions, then installed 1 on my 4 wheeler. Now this battery has been stone cold dead for at least 2 months. With some single digit nights I figured this battery was junk. Today, Dec 28, after 7 hrs of bright sun, I checked it out. Not only did it turn over, it fired right up! With this experience, and the way the rest of reviews sound, I would recommend this purchase to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar panel 7 watt

,
November 12, 2013
By Brinkman
from Sterling,IL
"Well I order two of thease panels and wired them toghter and they product 20 1/2 volts in full sun witch I Thought was impressive for 14 watt system .charged nicley.Im new to solar so this was experment for me and I was impressed and would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar charger

,
October 4, 2013
By Richkrt
from Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought one for maintaining charge on the battery of my Bri-mar hydraulic dump trailer. Have used it for four years and works fantastic. Prior to that, I was charging the battery with an electric charger and replacing battery every couple years. This solar charger works great for maintaining the charge in this infrequently used item. I have not had to charge this battery in four years since I installed the solar charger and the battery is fully juiced every time I need it. I bolted the solar panel right on top of the battery box of the trailer and was concerned it would not survive the abuse of trailer travel, but going strong four years later through all kinds of weather and lots of bumpy miles. Battery is always ready to perform now. (No more really bad days of getting somewhere with a load of dirt/gravel/debris and trailer won't lift cause of a weak battery)
Worked so well, I bought a second for my Tractor and four wheeler. Fantastic and free juice for maintaining 12v batteries in these. Diesel tractor sits for months in the winter without being run and now fires up even in the dead of winter
Highly recommend for tractor, 4 wheeler, boat, etc.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
21out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable and powerful...

,
September 17, 2013
By Nathan881397
from VT
"What a great way to charge your stuff... Got one and have used it on the four wheeler, the waverunner and my neighbors vehicle. Light wieght and can be placed almost anywhere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont know if its ok or not

,
September 16, 2013
By gixer
from Va
"Well it does not keep my battery charged. It wont charge it like others have said. I have put my meeter up to it and it does seem to put out some juice but it does not help my battery out in any way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
June 22, 2013
By user1010
from san diego, ca
"Got this to keep my car battery charged as I rarely drive it. Battery was very low, wouldn't start. Sunny day here, put out charger on roof of car. 5 hours later car started right up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maintains charge easily and safely

,
April 24, 2013
By Boxerdog
from Norton, Va.
"I purchased the 7 watt panel a few months ago. It will safely maintain your 12 volt battery anywhere even if there is limited/overcast sun exposure. I currently use 3 types/wattages of panels to maintain my batteries and I recommend the 7 watt panel for most uses."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality charger.

,
April 24, 2013
By 1mudbogger
from New England
"This unit will maintain a large 12 volt battery no problem. It will not overcharge and is weatherproof. It maintains our tractor that is stored far away from a power source. Very convenient to have a fully charged battery all the time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solid solar panel for a great price

,
April 23, 2013
By RedB
from Virginia
"I recently picked up a few of these solar panels on sale and I couldn't be happier. It has a very sturdy aluminum frame that can be adapted to many installations. I have used one to replace an old panel on a livestock fence charger.
This panel is strong enough to keep large batteries fully charged. I use one on my work truck over the weekend because it has a flashlight charger and a GPS. No more weak starts on Monday morning, even in the dead of winter.
A longer cord would be nice but that is easily modified."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar charger

,
April 23, 2013
By Rt66
from Dwight,Il.
"Charges very well, wish it had mounting tabs but overall well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Panel

,
April 1, 2013
By Hefner
from Venice, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Works great! My wife has a 24v electic trike (see pics.) I added a 12v battery system for the automotive head lights, tail lights, turn signals and the all important 110 db dual horns. The panel fully charges the 12v battery during the day allowing for about 2 - 2 1/2 hours night riding with the headlights on. I am now in search of a good deal on a 24v panel for the drive system.
While I didn't need the mounting hardware, if you do, you may have to get creative. What they send is pretty much useless.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had my Doubts

,
March 9, 2013
By Dprobkw
from Fort Worth, Tx
"WOW. I was impressed. Didnt think it would work very well and bought it for fun for a test project. I was dumb enough to test it first with my tongue. This panel works well would recommend to anyone. Have only had it for a week and still working well for my lighting."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Amorphous Solar Panel - 7 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Simple (Relatively) Cheap Solar Cell

,
January 31, 2013
By 57Scotty
from Illinois
"I gave this five stars because it does exactly what it says it's supposed to - puts out power in the sunshine. I've had one of these (same unit from another supplier) keeping the battery on my sailboat charged for 4+ years now and it works fine and has not degrading noticeably with age. Set it and forget it.
The 7W output means you don't need a charge controller for a single deep-cycle battery*. Sturdier than it looks - so far it has survived being stepped on once or twice, but I wouldn't bet on its indefinite survivability under these conditions since it is a glass-faced cell.
Comes with little feet to prop it up etc, which I didn't use, and I added a lighter plug as the connector to the boat since I put it away when we're underway.
*I check the fluid levels intermittently and don't have to add water often even in our brutal summers so it's not boiling the cells."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-38 of 38