Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity

NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity

Item# 296025
"Quickly turn brush into uniformly sized chips with this NorTrac PTO Chipper. Mount this heavy-duty unit to a Category 1 tractor with at least 20 HP using the included driveline. The durable 6 1/2in. knife is made of hardened steel and is attached to a 75-lb. balanced steel flywheel that provides enough inertia to power through logs and brush up to 5 1/2in. in diameter. Dimensions L x W x H in. 54 x 34 x 60, Chipper Yes, Max. Cutting Thickness in. 5 1/2, Application Chipper, Shredder No, Vacuum No, HP 20, Max. RPM 540. Chips wood and branches up to 5 1/2in. thick Large vertically oriented hopper opening requires less pruning Hopper chute is angled so brush is self-fed into the chipping knife for easy chipping Elevated discharge chute is perfect for filling a wheelbarrow or other receptacle 75-lb. flywheel provides the inertia to power through all types of wood Reversible hardened steel chipping knife can be sharpened Requires a 6-tooth spline PTO at 540 RPM"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Review 1 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nortrac chipper

,
February 8, 2016
By
from South Carolina
Haven't used it but twice so far, but very pleased with the performance so far, it handles hard woods such as hickory and oak better than I expected!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Chipper

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Cypress, TX
First, let me explain my 4 stars. I've only used this a time or two so I can't really speak to the long-term reliability of the unit. But I will provide a review of the unit after about 1 month of very limited use. So I didn't feel based upon this limited use I could give it all 5 stars. However, if it holds up well and continues to function as it has thus far I'd say it probably would deserve 5 stars.
First, for a unit that can, per the specs, handle 5 inch limbs it is a pretty good price. I had it shipped to the store. It is heavy so you will need a way to unload it if you pick it up yourself. It comes on a wood pallet and is very well secured to the pallet.
It requires some setup. Basically just putting the feed hopper together and installing it on the unit. It is a two person job but my wife and I did it. I lifted it into place and she ran the bolts.
Once it was installed I attached it to my John Deere tractor. It was the easiest attachment I have installed, though that was due to it being lighter than my rotary cutter and box blade so aligning it was easy since I could move it into position by hand.
After it was connected I tried it out. If there were no side branches on the branches it pretty much self-fed (at least what I was chipping). However, if there were branches sticking out it required making a pushing device to get the branch in. I'll know to trim these branches with my chainsaw in the future or break them off by hand. When it was able to self-feed or feed with minimal assistance from me it did a great job chipping the branches I had trimmed.
So far I am happy with the purchase and hope to save a lot of money from no longer having to take tree cuttings to the dump.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WoodChipper

,
August 5, 2015
By
from Michigan
Chipper was easy to assemble and seems to work very well for my needs. We had no problems with it chipping the branches that we fed into it, and it seems very sturdy. Happy with it so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity

,
July 1, 2015
By
from Rome, NY
Just received the chipper and only used it twice... but love it so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PTO Chipper

,
May 29, 2015
By
from MN
Chipper works great. Feeds well, takes big and small pieces without slowing down. Makes great mulch that we know is feed of chemicals and junk.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorTrac 5 1/2 PTO chipper

,
March 23, 2015
By
from Murfreesboro, Tn.
This unit is for wood & not leaves and such. Havent got to use it yet because the PTO shaft is too short. Have one on order from AgriSupply co. Will let you know later how it works. Seems to be well built compared to other low line chippers. Buyer should have the option of a longer PTO shaft.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

51/2 Inch Nortrac Chipper

,
July 6, 2014
By
from Bailey, CO
Product was easy to set up for initial use. Product performed as expected on a very large pile of debris from recently cut down trees. After the first use I did need to sharpen the chipper blade. Blade could be a little easier to get at but overall not bad. My only real issue with the unit is the lower bearing grease fitting is difficult to access. This is a nice product for the money and does perform as expected.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job - you need to work, too.

,
May 30, 2014
By
from WNC
Used it about three weeks. Cleaning up a power line easement that was recently cleared though our property.
Works well on the poplar, locust and other brush/limbs cut by the power company. Larger ones need some prep to get them to feed. High end diameter pieces cause some belt squealing and slow the tractor's motor (Massey Ferg. 240- 40 HP @ PTO). Also belt squealing at start-up unless the clutch is eased out real slow.
The required greasing of bearings every ten hours is a bit of a pain. Lower one requires a cover plate to be removed - 4 bolts on the bottom on the unit.
So far it is up to the task. we have worked it hard. Already using the chips.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Tazewell, Tennessee
Very pleased with this wood chipper. I pit it together in no time by myself. Hooked up to the tractor and started chipping. Works great and looks well built. Well worth the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Virginia
Works great with my sub-compact John Deere tractor. I would recommend this to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

woodchipper

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Wash stae
Works very well on large branches.You must keep them fairly straight as side branches won't feed very well.However, the maintenance of the bearings is made difficult by the poor design.4 bearings must be greased often (10 hrs) and it is very time consuming accessing the lower front fitting..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Chipper

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Washington State
I needed a chipper to help me clean up my 25 acres of trees. This past winter we had an ice storm that resulted in many broken branches and snapped off tree tops. This chipper makes short work of all the debree. Branches feed easily into the hopper. The chip size is great and my wife has plans for using the chips through- out our property.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorTrac PTO Chipper - 5 1/2in. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chipper

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Columbus, Ohio
I did quite a bit of research and comparison shopping before ordering the Nortrac PTO Chipper. The item was shipped promptly by Northern Tools and although I could not be home to unload it, the delivery guy did the unload and placed it in the garage at my wife's request. The chipper was well packaged on a skid and the minimal amount of assembly required took about 45 minutes. The only problem that I encountered was that the PTO drive shaft would NOT FIT over my tractor's PTO ( I have a John Deere 4310 ). I called Northern Tools and after convincing them that it wasn't because I was too stupid to properly attach it they shipped me a new PTO drive shaft which fit perfectly. I have been able to use it with no difficulty since.
The chipping performance is as expected. It will self feed for the most part if the chipping material is fairly straight without a lot of side branches or twigs, but it does need some encouragement if there are a lot of branches, twigs and leaves attached. It will not perform as well as some of the larger units I have used with hydraulic feed, but it costs thousands less and gets the job done. Overall, I rate the unit very highly, and other than the initial difficulty with the drive shaft it has met all of my expectations.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+27points
33out of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.