Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall

Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall

Item# 29753
With heavy-gauge steel construction, this ornamental windmill adds a touch of rural charm that's built to last. This mill isn't entirely ornamental, however. The rotation of the wheel and the orientation of the wind vane are a great way to determine wind speed and direction. Finish Type Powder-coat, Wheel Diameter in. 22, Includes Anchor stakes, Material Type Galvanized steel, Product Type Aerator, Assembly Required Yes, Color Grey/red, Dimensions W x H ft. 2 x 8. Sealed roller bearings with greased zerks on the wheel for quiet operation Durable grey powder coat outdoor finish with attractive red trim on blades and vane
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Review 1 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love!

,
July 23, 2014
By Wannabefarmer
from Hull, MA
"Put this together in less than 2hrs- very easy. Great quality. Exactly what I was looking for and is perfect in my yard. I love seeing it when I look out my kitchen window."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks Good

,
July 8, 2014
By sage2506
from Cle Elum, Wa.
"Got this when it was on sale. Great price. It was just like putting together a large Erector Set, for those that remember them. Very pleased. Looks great out in the yard."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my purchase

,
June 9, 2014
By Laz38
from Fl
"Overal a great company to conduct bussnes with for my home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fairly Happy

,
June 5, 2014
By Grandpafillups
from Texas
"Put it together and the fan has a wobble in it. Other than that I'm pleased with it.
Called the 800 number given and I'm happy to say they are going to ship me another fan part.
I'm glad to do business with somebody that when there's a problem they readily will make things right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so good

,
May 22, 2014
By G00BER
from In my lawn chair
"The quality of the windmill seems to be OK but the powder coating on the braces is falling off and rusted underneath."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

blowing in the wind

,
May 20, 2014
By 49duffy
from nevada
"Upon opening the box I was immediately impressed with the overall quality of the windmill compared to some of the others I have seen. The instructions could have been a little bit more detailed but since I have a lot of experience working with tools and assembling things such as this I had very little problem getting it together. I assembled it in my living room and moved it outside to the garden. The only problem I had was that the stakes provided with the windmill were not long enough to secure it to the ground. I ended up using some foot long concrete stakes driven in to the ground at the legs and secured them with some clamps I fabricated. We have had a lot of wing here in the LV valley lately so it has not had much rest since I placed it in the yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good windmill

,
May 18, 2014
By Rogers1
from boulder creek, ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"It was a good addition to our front garden area. It was simple to build if you just take your time and don't jump ahead of yourself (like I did). I ended up stripping out the phillips screw heads on a couple of the pieces of hardware. Overall, it was a good purchase at a good price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoying Our Windmill

,
May 17, 2014
By Snick
from Oklahoma
"Enjoying Our Windmill. Holding up well in the Oklahoma wind. Great product and a good value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Windmill

,
May 12, 2014
By ChrisSpring
from Spring, Texas
"To be honest, I really bought it for my little daughter. She loves windmill and this was perfect. It's pretty sturdy and didn't take long to put together. I was surprised of how big it is in my backyard even thought the box did say 8-foot. I also got it on sale so it was perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windmill Update

,
May 10, 2014
By Vandy59
from Rock Island, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is a follow up to my previous review of this product. It's listed below under my other moniker. Well, about three weeks ago, everything went to blah! The nubs that hold the fan assembly in place so that it doesn't move backwards, were ground down by the constant pressure of the fan. The fan rotated back into the stand and tore 3 blades loose and broke the smaller outer welds. So while I had it apart for repair, I figured on a repaint job. The newer bearings I installed last August have held up nicely. Anyway, I am about to purchase two more and repaint them. One in Marine Corp fashion to honor my late father-in -law; and my best friend from the service and work of 30 years. The other will be in US Army colors to honor my first late father-in-law and family members."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Windmill power.....

,
April 18, 2014
By CharlieGV
from Rock Island, IL
"I was given one of these about three years ago. Greased and installed it in the wife's flowerbed on four 16x16 concrete patio blocks using concrete anchors and foot lengths of 1/4 galvanized chain. It never fell down, but the blade bearings went bad. Since the bearings are press- fitted, wound up heating the unit and popping the old out races out. Finding exact units to fit is not possible ( found comparable units through McMaster-Carr) so I compensated with a pair of bearings that were 1/16 under and made up the difference by cutting strips from a laundry soap jug. Thing ran like a champ these past 6 months until the heavy winds took their toll. The back pinch that keeps the blade unit in place wore down allowing the fan to rotate back on the shaft to where it meets the stand. The unit looks like it went to a war, took a beating and is done for. It's on the workbench waiting to be welded and repaired. Looking to purchase another this next week."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement for identical 13 year old wind mill.

,
September 17, 2013
By TxAnnie
from Texas
"We have had one of these in our back yard for 13 years now and we love it. I have painted it once since it's first installation to an all copper color just using rustoleum spray paint and it still looks great. Last winter the barrings ring started to fall apart and the windmill stopped spinning. We looked everywhere for the exact same model and found it here at northern tools. It was the same one all the way. It's out in my yard spinning its fool head off quiet as always and we still love it after all this time. I have a fire bush planted directly under it and am happy we found it here."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE

,
May 25, 2013
By PYRAMID
from MISSOURI
"LOVE THIS ITEM, BOUGHT ONE FOR MYSELF AND NOW MY MOM WANTS ONE, EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, TOOK NO TIME AT ALL, HAVE HAD NO ISSUES WITH IT BLOWING IT OVER."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made Windmill

,
April 26, 2013
By Tripod7734
from Indiana
"I just bought another one of these, bought one several years ago, and outside a greasing once a year, it is doing well. Moles hate these things for some reason. You have to put the legs in six inch holes, and then drive the anchors in toward the center, otherwise, they will blow over. I'm just saying. So I think I will let the moles on the other side of the yard have their very own Windmill. Very well constructed, tried another one form a different company, wheel keeps coming off and the bearing it sits in keeps wearing out. Of course it only cost 1/3 of
what this one does. Get what you pay for I guess.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ornamental Windmill - 8-Ft. Tall
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mast Head holes on the wrong side.

,
February 17, 2013
By zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
from Nebraska
"Product was strong, easy to put together until I reached the point of placing the masthead. The masthead holes are a mirror image of what they should be. Now I have to take it apart and go through the drill of returning and awaiting a replacement. I am not a happy camper. Poor quality control equals poor customer experience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.