Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker

Item# 304451
"Kitchener lever action Pecan and Nut Cracker easily cracks medium and soft-shell nuts, including walnuts, pecans and filberts. Threaded cone adjusts to accept different-size nuts. Sturdy steel construction with wooden base and handle. Capacity Adjustable, Material Type Wood and steel, Includes Wooden base and handle, Product Style Nut cracker. Great for parties or personal use Long lasting steel construction with wooden base and handle Adjustable to accept different size nuts"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Review 1 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for black walnuts

,
February 12, 2015
By Bait4bears
from Iowa
" This nut cracker works fine for lighter shelled nuts. But when we tried to do black walnuts it pulled loose from the mounting board. I straightened the frame then remounted to a heavier board with more screws. That worked until the handle broke at the threads. I've repaired the handle but will only use on lighter shelled nuts. This is a good nut cracker but NOT built for hard shelled nuts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nut cracker

,
February 4, 2015
By redmape
from Richmond,Va
" Good overall product.
Does what it is designed to do.
shipped and arrived quickly.
Easy transaction.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nut Cracker

,
January 29, 2015
By 198564M
from San Antonio
" This nut cracker is by far the best. Its easy to use, compact and sturdy. About 90% of the pecans come out whole /Halves. Well worth the money. I should have bought more as gifts!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nutcracker

,
January 1, 2015
By AgMan1
from Pasco, WA
" I bought one of these several years ago, and liked it so much that I've been trying to find more of them. I bought two and gave them both as gifts. They are sturdy, adjustable, and have never given a hint of problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutcracker

,
December 10, 2014
By DirtyBoots
from Columbus, OH
" Solid, works great. Haven't tried on black walnuts or hickory nuts, but those are probably too hard for it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cracker!

,
October 30, 2011
By Hoferman
from Kingsburg, CA
" We just finished cracking walnuts and ended up with two gallon ziplock bags. We love this nut cracker. So easy to us and for such a great price! It is built very well for being so reasonable. I highly recommend it!!! "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nut cracker

,
November 16, 2010
By 1958resorter
from loganville, ga
" After receiving a gift box of pecans, this tool made it very easy to crack the shells and remove the nuts. It has an adjustable end to easily change sizes for large or small nuts. The only thing that might make it better is if it had suction cups on the bottom to hold it in place while you worked with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BREAK'EM ALL

,
May 24, 2010
By SuthrnGntlman
from upper East Tennessee/Southwest Virginia
" This nutcracker works very well; even on those old, HARD, Black Walnuts.
It does need to be clamped or otherwise affixed to a mount. The leverage generated is sufficient that if not securely mounted one might have to chase it all over the room.
We cracked over 2 lbs. of pecans and then about 2 lb. of Black Walnuts. Results were very good, cracking time was measured at 81 (minutes) for the whole pile of nuts.
I would recommend this item for anyone who cracks nuts - especially those which eventually appear in BROWNIES !!!
Sincerely;
A.H.McGee, AWS CWI & NT NDT Level lll "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inertia Nut cracker

,
July 15, 2009
By jbalsak
from Concord, VA
" This product is very well made , especially for the price. I only rated it average because it is somewhat diffucult to use. I realize it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out how to use this product but I feel it should have come with some sort of instructions, or at the very least some helpful hints on how to best use it with each kind of nut. After several attempts one can figure out the best way to position the nut so that it does not destroy the meat inside. Overall I would say it is much better than the conventional nut cracker. You can crack alot more nuts with this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pecan Nut Cracker

,
March 16, 2009
By Buddyg
from Robbinsville NC
" This product does a great job and the service and shipping were first rate! Thank you! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth The Price

,
November 18, 2008
By taxciter
from Virginia Beach
" Anyone who wants to crack dozens or hundreds of pecans should get this device.
It's easy to adjust for nut length, safe enough to hold the pecan while cracking, and requires minimal effort.
The nutmeat does not always come out whole, so a nut pick (I use a bamboo kabob skewer) helps if you want to get all the nutmeat.
Be aware that bits of shell may fly. I put the tool in a flat-bottomed wicker basket to solve this problem.
This is the best manual pecan cracker I and my Georgia cousins have ever found.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walnuts

,
March 7, 2007
By somwon
from California
" I've only used this device to crack walnuts, and it does an awesome job. If you crack your own walnuts, then I highly reccommend this cracker. It cracks the shell with very little, or no scarring to the nut. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.