Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker

Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker

Item# 304451
"Kitchener lever action Pecan and Nut Cracker easily cracks medium and soft-shell nuts, including walnuts, pecans and filberts. Threaded cone adjusts to accept different-size nuts. Sturdy steel construction with wooden base and handle. Product Style Nut cracker, Material Type Wood, steel, Capacity Adjustable, Includes Wooden base, handle. Great for parties or personal use Long lasting steel construction with wooden base and handle Adjustable to accept different size nuts"
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 18(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Review 1 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker

,
April 29, 2016
By
from St. George, Utah
Very easy and simple to use. with little breaking of the nut inside. Great for anyone .
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made!

,
March 31, 2016
By
from Texas
I would not recommend this product. It's constructed poorly. The cylinder for the adjustment screw for determining the nut size is made of two pieces riveted together. When a pecan is cracked the force applied by the lever distorts the threaded cylinder making it impossible to adjust the screw by hand. It takes a channel lock tool to move the screw after force has been applied. The metal is of poor quality and it will be just a matter of time before the threads gaud. I recently found an original same designed nut cracked at an antique flee market that this nut cracked was copied from. It is well made of solid one piece construction of the treaded cylinder for the nut size adjustment screw. It's high quality all steel construction. I would recommend searching local antique shops for the original and don't waste your money on this cheap copy, I paid $4 less for the high quality original!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nutcracker

,
February 20, 2016
By
from Roanoke Rapids, NC
I Love this product. Its perfect for small jobs and just the right size for my arthritic hand. Being adjustable makes it useful for any job. I would recommend this to everyone because its easy to adjust and easy to store.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get Crackin!

,
February 18, 2016
By
from Kannapolis, NC
We have 6 pecan trees, so we don't have enough to buy a large commercial machine. But we have enough pecans that we need more than the hand held scissors type cracker. This cracker is perfect! It's adjustable to fit various size pecans, and it works great!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT NOVELTY GIFT FOR ANY OCCASION

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Virginia
I purchased the Kitchener Pecan And Nut Cracker a few years ago. I have since enjoyed the use of the
Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker. It is very easy to use, and I like the reversal cylinder to adjust for the different size of nuts. I have enjoy the use of the Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker, I have ordered three units for Christmas to give to family and friends.
I would recommend Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker to family and friends.
LC
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NUT CRACKER

,
December 21, 2015
By
from TEXAS
Nut cracker came in with out the handle so the unit is not useable
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for black walnuts

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Iowa
This nut cracker works fine for lighter shelled nuts. But when we tried to do black walnuts it pulled loose from the mounting board. I straightened the frame then remounted to a heavier board with more screws. That worked until the handle broke at the threads. I've repaired the handle but will only use on lighter shelled nuts. This is a good nut cracker but NOT built for hard shelled nuts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nut cracker

,
February 4, 2015
By
from Richmond,Va
Good overall product.
Does what it is designed to do.
shipped and arrived quickly.
Easy transaction.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nut Cracker

,
January 29, 2015
By
from San Antonio
This nut cracker is by far the best. Its easy to use, compact and sturdy. About 90% of the pecans come out whole /Halves. Well worth the money. I should have bought more as gifts!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nutcracker

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Pasco, WA
I bought one of these several years ago, and liked it so much that I've been trying to find more of them. I bought two and gave them both as gifts. They are sturdy, adjustable, and have never given a hint of problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutcracker

,
December 10, 2014
By
from Columbus, OH
Solid, works great. Haven't tried on black walnuts or hickory nuts, but those are probably too hard for it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cracker!

,
October 30, 2011
By
from Kingsburg, CA
We just finished cracking walnuts and ended up with two gallon ziplock bags. We love this nut cracker. So easy to us and for such a great price! It is built very well for being so reasonable. I highly recommend it!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nut cracker

,
November 16, 2010
By
from loganville, ga
After receiving a gift box of pecans, this tool made it very easy to crack the shells and remove the nuts. It has an adjustable end to easily change sizes for large or small nuts. The only thing that might make it better is if it had suction cups on the bottom to hold it in place while you worked with it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BREAK'EM ALL

,
May 24, 2010
By
from upper East Tennessee/Southwest Virginia
This nutcracker works very well; even on those old, HARD, Black Walnuts.
It does need to be clamped or otherwise affixed to a mount. The leverage generated is sufficient that if not securely mounted one might have to chase it all over the room.
We cracked over 2 lbs. of pecans and then about 2 lb. of Black Walnuts. Results were very good, cracking time was measured at 81 (minutes) for the whole pile of nuts.
I would recommend this item for anyone who cracks nuts - especially those which eventually appear in BROWNIES !!!
Sincerely;
A.H.McGee, AWS CWI & NT NDT Level lll
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inertia Nut cracker

,
July 15, 2009
By
from Concord, VA
This product is very well made , especially for the price. I only rated it average because it is somewhat diffucult to use. I realize it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out how to use this product but I feel it should have come with some sort of instructions, or at the very least some helpful hints on how to best use it with each kind of nut. After several attempts one can figure out the best way to position the nut so that it does not destroy the meat inside. Overall I would say it is much better than the conventional nut cracker. You can crack alot more nuts with this product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pecan Nut Cracker

,
March 16, 2009
By
from Robbinsville NC
This product does a great job and the service and shipping were first rate! Thank you!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth The Price

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Virginia Beach
Anyone who wants to crack dozens or hundreds of pecans should get this device.
It's easy to adjust for nut length, safe enough to hold the pecan while cracking, and requires minimal effort.
The nutmeat does not always come out whole, so a nut pick (I use a bamboo kabob skewer) helps if you want to get all the nutmeat.
Be aware that bits of shell may fly. I put the tool in a flat-bottomed wicker basket to solve this problem.
This is the best manual pecan cracker I and my Georgia cousins have ever found.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kitchener Pecan and Nut Cracker
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walnuts

,
March 7, 2007
By
from California
I've only used this device to crack walnuts, and it does an awesome job. If you crack your own walnuts, then I highly reccommend this cracker. It cracks the shell with very little, or no scarring to the nut.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.