Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"

"Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"

Item# 305173
"Heavy-duty Puma 20-gallon, 2 HP vertical portable air compressor is built with a durable cast iron 2-cylinder single-stage pump with aluminum heads for good heat dissipation and no transfer of heat between cylinders. Belt drive oil-lubricated pump runs quietly and delivers long pump life. Built tough enough for commercial shops. Enough capacity to operate an air ratchet, impact wrench, siphon feed sand blaster, nibbler, nailer, air brush, touch-up spray gun and more. Air Tank Size gal. 20, Amps 15/7.5, CFM at 40 PSI 7.1, CFM at 90 PSI 5.5, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, HP 2, Max. PSI 150, Motor Phases Single, Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 x 23 x 48, Drive Belt, Tank Type Vertical ASME, Volts 115/230, Pump Oil-lubricated, Stage Single, Portable or Stationary Portable. 2 HP running 5 HP peak 115V/230V 15/7.5 Amp dual voltage induction motor 2-cylinder cast iron pump in V-configuration Copper finned inter- and after-coolers provide good heat dissipation and less moisture Reed valves are made of heat-resistant alloy steel supplied from Sweden ASSAB Valves are specifically designed for maximum efficiency 20,000-hour bearing life Double ringed-style piston for very low oil consumption nd longer head life Durable alloy rods Spherodal graphite cast iron crankshafts for maximum strength ASME-certified tank is ready for use in commercial shops Ball bearings on each side of crankshaft for smooth running and durability Rebuildable pump Intake filter with heavy-duty replaceable paper element filters keep cylinder heads clean Durable metal belt guard won't break Quick coupler Oil sight gauge for easy visual oil checks Built-in regulator controls air pressure to air tools Easy-start valve puts less stress on motor in cold weather starting Wheels and handle for portability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Review 1 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for home/light shop work

,
June 4, 2014
By AMSOILER
from Fargo, ND
"I have owned this unit since 2005. It runs all my air tools very well; anticipate a little recovery time when running high consumption tools such as sanders, die grinders, drills etc. With the 100% duty cycle you can just keep going as long as you have the pressure and cfm needed for the tool you're using, if not give it a few minutes and it recovers quickly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma Air Compressor

,
April 17, 2014
By carheir
from Wilson, NC
"So far so good. Have got an air leak I haven't found yet but that isn't a deal breaker. Had a CH 20 gal horizontal model which I still have but at a different location and I much prefer the upright model. Quite pleased with the overall fit and finish of the compressor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma

,
February 4, 2014
By shorty208
from Holiday, FL, USA
"I bought this compressor to replace an old (15) year old craftsman ,this Puma exceeded my expectations by a long shot all the power I need to run all my air tools with a very Quick recovery time no where as loud as my old one overall I expect this workhorse to last a long time as I always service and care for my equipment"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Home Compressor

,
April 30, 2013
By CP215
from Minneapolis, MN
"I bought this as an all around compressor for my home and to supply woodworking. It has met all the needs I asked of it thus far with no problems. If any problems do arise, I will update this post.
Easy setup, and ease of use for daily projects.
At this point I would surely recommend this air compressor to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma Air Compressor

,
April 26, 2013
By tj316
from Tampa,FL
"I've had this compressor for about 6 months now and it works perfect , I have many air tools and a motorcycle lift table and it works them all well , it is fairly quiet . I looked at several brands before buying the Puma , Northern Tools had a good price on it and the reviews were spot on. It is a solid purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
April 23, 2013
By Razorhorn1
from Flower Mound, Texas
"I bought this compressor about three months ago, and it's been used for various home handyman and furniture building activities. I've used various sized nailers and staplers, Ingersoll Rand impact wrench, blow gun, and tire inflator attachment. The compressor has performed very well. Most surprising, it was able to keep up with the impact wrench when I rotated four tires on my daughter's car. One drawback I experienced is that the regulator failed after about two months of moderate use. This was not a big deal to me since I was planning to replace the regulator with a higher capacity model and air filter anyway, but this failure sped up my decision."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great compressor for the money

,
August 20, 2012
By Don1234
from Minneapolis,MN
"great quality, great price. I recommend this product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best out there for the money

,
August 20, 2012
By MTLUVER
from Boone NC
"This compressor has did everything I have ask it to do,the first thing I did was paint a full size long bed pickup,base coat clear coat two tone the compressor did not miss a beat. I never had to wait on the compressor.I was using a low pressure high volume spray gun that also came from NT,just be sure you buy a real good filter to remove moisture,and maybe even a in line filter with the regular filter when painting.I filled it with oil did the break in just as it said and then changed the oil again just to be sure,never had any trouble. bought it about 6 months ago love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
August 13, 2012
By CWB60
from Raleigh
"This compressor has plenty of power for anything I have used it for but the best thing about this particular compressor is how quiet it is. You can hardly tell it's running. This is a great thing! I was looking at the IR compressor having heard great things about it, but when I looked at them side by side in the store, about the only difference I could see was the color. Well that and the price. This compressor was about $100 cheaper. Very happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good little compressor....

,
August 13, 2012
By Madhater
from Gardner, MA
"I needed a compressor that would run off of 120v.
I have a small auto repair and custom shop.
After checking around I found this com- to be the same as the big names out there.
But at a more affordable price. It runs all my air guns & paint guns.
It's pretty quite and keeps up with me when painting a car.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home Unit

,
July 15, 2012
By edga
from Atlanta, GA
"I was in the market for an air compressor for home to do light work with. I didn't want anything loud or too big in my garage. I was looking at the Ingersoll P1.5IU-A9 and also a Dewalt unit when I stumbled across the Puma unit. I drove up to my local Northern tool and they had the Puma unit sitting right next to the IR unit. They are complete identical units other than the color and the price. I had a coupon so I went ahead and purchased the Puma unit. This compressor has been perfect. VERY quiet to the point my wife doesnt even realize it is on. My previous compressor would shake the house it seemed when it was on. Has worked perfectly for all the automotive repairs I have done at my house. I have already turned a few friends toward this compressor and they are all very happy with it as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made Compressor

,
May 22, 2012
By helious74
from Virginia Beach
"I was looking around for a portable compressor for woodworking and Automotive work. This compressor drives my IR 2135TIMAX. The compressor has some better features than the IR Garadge Mate 20 gal. The two ARE made in the same shop by Puma. This one has run flat tires on it and the IR has air tires. I even tried a 1/2" air drill on it and it drove it until the pump cant keep up!! about five minutes of running it free spinning. Kept air in the tank with no leaks. This compressor is very quiet in operation. The only downside is its weight of 200 pounds and with the oil in it you cant lay it down to carry it. But it dose not matter. The quality is there and its on par with its twin the IR Garadge Mate 20 Gal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the home DIY'er

,
May 4, 2012
By CuppyT
from Fort Worth, TX
"I pick this compressor up about 1 month ago mostly based on the reviews i read here on this site and reviews i have read about the Puma compressor's on other sites.
First i would like to say this is my first air compressor and i was very skeptical about this compressor and the price. I am very picky about the tools i buy as i think most of us our. I always shop around, read reviews, get as much info as possible and then make a purchase.
After comparing the Ingersoll Rand and the Puma i found no real difference between the two and bit the bullet on the Puma.
Now i have no real experience with air compressors other than the industrial size one i use to use on the job site so i was expecting a loud, pain in the butt experience with a compressor in my garage. But this compressor is very quite, fills rather quickly and i have yet to find a tool that does not work well or feels under powered.
With its small capacity it does turn on quite frequently when in constant use but i was expecting that and i dont look at that as a fault.
So far this air compressor has been the best bang for the buck tool purchase i have made, i am very happy with this compressor and i would definitely recommend this one to any of my family or friends if they are in the market to purchase an air compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now this is an Air Compressor!

,
January 16, 2012
By 4israel
from Hutchinson, KS.
"I a while back I purchased the Puma 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP. After using a number of oil-less air compressors I finely wised up and bought a real Air compressor. The Puma is fast holds its pressure and is soooooo quiet when its running, I wondered if it was working properly at first. The workmanship is topnotch and well constructed, in fact it was setting next to an Ingersoll Rand Compressor Model P1.5IU-A9 and I was hard pressed to spot any difference except in price where there was a big difference. It is exceeding all my expectations, fact is I haven't even really even challenged it yet. It runs my impact wrenches and nail gun with ease and is very efficient. If your looking for a great air compressor for your home shop or garage you will be hard pressed to top this Puma."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Damaged on Arrival

,
October 17, 2011
By BobDav
from Eastern Tennessee
"This air compressor arrived with two non functioning guages and a small air leak. The guages were clearly damaged as a result of the way the unit was assembled. There was no evidence of container damage having been the cause.
I am working my way through the compressor trying to isolate the leak. Not yet complete.
There does not appear to be adequate quality checks at the manufacturer"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good compressor

,
April 30, 2011
By kencal51
"I was shopping for a portable compressor to replace my 35 year old unit of about this same size. While in my local Northern Tools store, I saw this unit and after looking it and it's specs over and comparing it to other similar units, I decided to purchase. I also noticed in the store was a Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate unit. Other than the different color and different decals, they looked the same, and the Puma cost less. This compressor is well made and performs to my expectations. It does seem a little less noisy than my old unit. One thing that impressed me was the fact that this compressor did not loose pressure while idle, it will stay at the cut out pressure for days without moving. I also like the fact that it will run on 120 volts, which makes it more portable than my old unit, which required 240."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Compressor!!

,
April 28, 2011
By Vike
from Zimmerman,Mn.
"Just picked it up today and it looks beautiful.Really! Me AND my neighbors looked it over and could not find any flaws.Appearance is great,started right up and ran great.I will give it a good workout and repost how it performs.If it runs as good as it looks....you just can't beat it.Like it says on the front....Simply The Best"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Puma Oil-Lube Belt Drive Single-Stage Portable Air Compressors - 2 HP, 20-Gallon, Vertical, 5.5 CFM, Model# PK5020VP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puma Single-Stage Portable Air Compressor

,
March 21, 2011
By RZ12062
from Minneapolius, MN
"My old air compressor died and I was looking for a new portable compressor for my shop. I mainly do woodworking and needed this to power my nailers and other shop chores. The compressor is much quieter than my old compressor and reaches max pressure quickly. I would recommend this compressor to any one who needs a reliable compressor at a very reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
20out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
RW5207
Parker, Texas 
 
Please wait while more information about RW5207 is loaded.
Additional information about RW5207 could not be loaded.
Very impressive and cost effective
December 31, 2011
"I purchased this on sale and with a coupon, to make it one of the best deals of the year for me. I replaced my circa 1985 Campbell Hausfeld horizonal 2hp compressor (a great one, by the way) with this Puma. Like the others, except for the color, it is hard to tell the difference between this one and the Ingersoll Rand sitting next to it. I'm assuming they come from the same factory.
The vertical form factor has both good an bad points. Unfortunately, it doesn't fit in the same spot as well (under my workbench), so I'll be "modifying" the space to accomodate it. However, it is a little less noisey than the previous compressor and holds its charge without any leakdown.
It arrived in perfect condition to my local NT store and I picked it up on my utility trailer. It has very nice pneumatic tires, so it's easy to roll around and won't damage any surfaces upon which its rolled.
I think I'll convert my old CH from electric to gas with a cheap Harbor Freight motor...."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Vike
Zimmerman,Mn. 
 
Please wait while more information about Vike is loaded.
Additional information about Vike could not be loaded.
1st day of use
April 29, 2011
"It ran great thruough break in but the oil was dirty so i decided to change it."be careful to read everything! They do not install the drain pipe at the factory,it comes in a little plastic bag.It comes with a plug in it so i filled it(without installing the drain pipe).What a mess when i drained it! Install the drain pipe first thing and you will be ok."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Vike
Zimmerman,Mn. 
 
Please wait while more information about Vike is loaded.
Additional information about Vike could not be loaded.
Awesome Compressor!!
April 28, 2011
"Just picked it up but on first impression it is perfect.Me AND my neighbors looked it over an could not find anything to give it a bad rap.Beautiful compressor,hope it works as good as it looks.I will repost after a good workout."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Vike
Zimmerman,Mn. 
 
Please wait while more information about Vike is loaded.
Additional information about Vike could not be loaded.
Awesome Compressor
April 28, 2011
"Just purchased it today and out of the box the quality is great.I looked it over as soon as i took it out of the box and it looked flawless,and i am very picky.i will repost after a few weeks of a workout but if it works as good as it looks....well...it has impressed me AND my neighbors."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (4)